The double patenting rejection is maintained and is not repeated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 21-22, 25-29, 31-35, 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson Aguilar “How to Bypass an iPhine’s Lock Screen Using Siri in iOS 7.02 to Send Messages (youtube) 10/1/2013 in view of Wang et al. (Wang) EP 2838246 A1 and Shultz et al. (Shultz) US 2014/0232633
In regard to claim 1, Nelson disclose A method, (the method of accessing an iphone) comprising:
receiving, by a terminal when a display screen of the terminal is in a locked state, a first operation from a user, (press the button under the touch screen by a user while displaying the lock screen, the display screen is in a locked state, see youtube at 0:35/2:09) wherein personal information stored in the terminal is protected in the locked state; (the screen is locked and information is protected on the iphone and the screen is on, see youtube at 0:35-0:40/2:09)
starting a voice service application in response to the first operation; (start a voice service when the button is pressed down, see youtube at 0:35-0:40/2:09)
receiving a voice instruction that is associated with contact information stored in the terminal, wherein the contact information is associated with a remote device; (receive a voice input to call Justin (which contact information is stored at the iphone, it is well known to the people with the skill in the art) at youtube 0:38-0:42/2:09)
dialing the remote device in response to the voice instruction; (the calling is made with Justin’s device at youtube 0:47-0:54/2:09)
But Nelson fail to explicitly disclose “and by maintaining the display screen in the locked state both while dialing the remote device and during a call with the remote device.”
Wang disclose and by maintaining the display screen in the locked state both while dialing the remote device and during a call with the remote device. ([0018]-[0023][0060]-[0064] dial the number and establish a link and made the phone calls when the lock screen is maintained, and to maintain the function of the lock screen)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to Wang’s locking screen while making a call into Nelson’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of method of voice communication and displaying information on a user interface. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Wang’s locking screen while making a call would help to protect information while making a call to Nelson’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that locking screen while making a call would help to provide more intuitive ways to manipulate with the mobile device and therefore improve the user experience using the mobile device.
But Nelson and Wang fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the personal information stored in the terminal is protected from access by the user while the display screen is in the locked state; preventing the user from accessing personal information stored in the terminal when the display screen is in the locked state.”
Shultz disclose wherein the personal information stored in the terminal is protected from access by the user while the display screen is in the locked state; preventing the user from accessing personal information stored in the terminal when the display screen is in the locked state. ([0003][0020]-0021] [0030]-[0031] the information is prevented to access by the user while the screen is in the locked state)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to Shultz’s mobile application information into Wang and Nelson’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of method of mobile application. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Shultz’s preventing access information in a locked screen would help to protect information into Wang and Nelson’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that protecting information while in a locked state would help to provide information protection with the mobile device and therefore improve the user experience using the mobile device.
In regard to claim 21, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 1,
Nelson disclose wherein while dialing the remote device, the method further comprises: displaying the contact information on the display screen; (the screen is locked while dialing the number at 0:46-0:48, the lock screen is displayed again before change and displaying the name of called and keep the screen locked during the call and displaying the lock interface at youtube 1:00-1:04)
But Nelson and Shultz fail to explicitly disclose “and preventing the user from accessing personal information stored in the terminal by maintaining the display screen in the locked state while displaying the contact information on the display screen.”
Wang disclose and preventing the user from accessing personal information stored in the terminal by maintaining the display screen in the locked state while displaying the contact information on the display screen. ([0018]-[0023][0060]-[0064] dial the number and made the phone calls when the lock screen is maintained, and to maintain the function of the lock screen to prevent other operations which inherently disclose to prevent accessing the information stored which is an operation)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to Wang’s locking screen while making a call into Shultz and Nelson’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of method of voice communication and displaying information on a user interface. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Wang’s locking screen while making a call would help to protect information while making a call to Shultz and Nelson’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that locking screen while making a call would help to provide more intuitive ways to manipulate with the mobile device and therefore improve the user experience using the mobile device.
In regard to claim 22, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 1,
Nelson disclose wherein the contact information comprises a name of a called party or a call number. (the screen is locked while dialing the number at 0:46-0:48, the lock screen is displayed again before change and displaying the name of called and keep the screen locked during the call and displaying the lock interface at youtube 1:00-1:04)
In regard to claim 25, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 21,
Nelson disclose wherein while dialing the remote device, the method further comprises: receiving a user input on a call hang-up button on the terminal; and aborting the dialing in response to the user input. (tapping on the end button on the screen and aborting the call in response to the input, at youtube 0:50-0:54)
In regard to claim 26, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 25,
Nelson disclose wherein after aborting the dialing, the method further comprises displaying a first interface to indicate that the display screen is in the locked state. (display the lock screen interface after ending the call youtube at youtube 1:05 or push the ending button and the display the lock screen using iPhone with iOS 7.02)
In regard to claim 27, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 1,
Nelson disclose further comprising notifying the user to input the voice instruction by playing an alert tone or providing a vibration. (provide a prompt “what can I help you with” on the screen at youtube 0:40-0:42)
In regard to claim 28, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 1,
Nelson disclose wherein the first operation from the user comprises an operation of pressing and holding a button. (press and hold the button on the iphone under the touch screen to receive input from a user while displaying the lock screen and the screen is on state, see youtube at 0:35-0:38/2:09)
In regard to claim 29, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 28,
Nelson disclose wherein the button is of the terminal or of a headset connected to the terminal. (press and hold the button on the iphone under the touch screen to receive input from a user while displaying the lock screen and the screen is on state, see youtube at 0:35-0:38/2:09)
In regard to claim 31, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 29,
But Nelson and Shultz fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the headset is a Bluetooth headset or a wired headset.”
Wang disclose wherein the headset is a Bluetooth headset or a wired headset. (col. 5, line 11-29, the headset is a Bluetooth headset)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to Wang’s Bluetooth headset into Shultz and Nelson’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of method of voice communication and displaying information on a user interface. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Wang’s Bluetooth headset would help to control the mobile using the headset into Shultz and Nelson’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that controlling the mobile using the headset would improve the user experience using the mobile device.
In regard to claim 32, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 1,
But Nelson and Shultz fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the personal information comprises address book data.”
Wang disclose wherein the personal information comprises address book data. (col. 5, line 28-37, col. 11, line 65-col. 12, line 13, contact list)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to Wang’s locking screen into Shultz and Nelson’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of method of voice communication and displaying information on a user interface. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Wang’s locking screen would help to prevent content being accessed into Shultz and Nelson’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that preventing content being accessed when displaying lock screen would improve the user experience using the mobile device.
In regard to claims 33-35, 38-39, claims 33-35, 38-39 are terminal claims corresponding to the method claims 1, 21-22, 25-26 above and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 1, 21-22, 25-26.
Claims 23-24, 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson Aguilar “How to Bypass an iPhine’s Lock Screen Using Siri in iOS 7.02 to Send Messages (youtube) 10/1/2013 and Wang et al. (Wang) EP 2838246 A1, Shultz et al. (Shultz) US 2014/0232633 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Arrehn et al. (Arrehn) US 9152309
In regard to claim 23, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 21,
But Nelson and Wang, Shultz fail to explicitly disclose “wherein after ending the call to the remote device, the method further comprises: displaying a first interface to indicate that the display screen is in the locked state; and preventing the user from accessing personal information stored in the terminal while displaying the first interface.”
Arrehn disclose wherein after ending the call to the remote device, the method further comprises: displaying a first interface to indicate that the display screen is in the locked state; and preventing the user from accessing personal information stored in the terminal while displaying the first interface. (col. 4, line 1-13, col. 8, line 17-38, col. 10, line 39-52, after ending the call, display the locked screen which prevent the user from input and then prevent access the information in the terminal)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to Arrehn’s locking screen after ending the call into Shultz, Wang and Nelson’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of method of voice communication and displaying information on a user interface. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Arrehn’s locking screen after ending the call would help to protect information during the calling process to Shultz, Wang and Nelson’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that locking screen after the call would help to provide more intuitive ways to manipulate with the mobile device and therefore improve the user experience using the mobile device.
In regard to claim 24, Nelson, Wang, Shultz and Arrehn disclose The method of claim 23,
Nelson disclose wherein the display screen is in a screen-on state while receiving the voice instruction, while dialing the remote device, during the call with the remote device, and while displaying the first interface, and wherein the display screen is powered-on in the screen-on state. (the lock screen is displayed and information is protected on the iphone and the screen is on, see youtube at 0:35-0:59 when receiving voice instruction, dialing and during the call)
In regard to claims 36-37, claims 36-37 are terminal claims corresponding to the method claims 23-24 above and, therefore, are rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejections of claims 23-24.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson Aguilar “How to Bypass an iPhine’s Lock Screen Using Siri in iOS 7.02 to Send Messages (youtube) 10/1/2013 and Wang et al. (Wang) EP 2838246 A1, Shultz et al. (Shultz) US 2014/0232633 as applied to claim 1, further in view of Xie CN103369143A
In regard to claim 30, Nelson and Wang, Shultz disclose The method of claim 29,
But Nelson and Wang, Shultz fail to explicitly disclose “wherein the button of the terminal is a volume down button, a volume up button, or a power button.”
Xie disclose “wherein the button of the terminal is a volume down button, a volume up button, or a power button. (abstract, [0003] the user presses a power button)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made to Xie’s power button into Shultz, Wang and Nelson’s invention as they are related to the same field endeavor of method of mobile device. The motivation to combine these arts, as proposed above, at least because Xie’s method of using power button to provide input would help to provide more input methods to Shultz, Wang and Nelson’s system. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention was made that using power button to provide input would help to provide more intuitive ways to interact with the mobile device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 21-39 filed on 5/26/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Documents PATENT DATE INVENTOR(S) TITLE
US 2015/0002441 2015-01-01 Brunet et al.
Method For Changing The Detection Range Of A Touch Sensor
Brunet et al. disclose In one embodiment, a method for changing the detection range of a touch sensor includes receiving a signal associated with an operation of a device having a touch sensor, and in response to the signal, determining that a detection mode of the touch sensor associated with the device is to be changed. In response to the determination, decreasing sensitivity of a portion, but not all, of the touch sensor… see abstract.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
XUYANG XIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2143
/XUYANG XIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143