DETAILED ACTION
PRIOR ART
The following references are prior art:
1. US 2011/0105032 A1 (“Maru”) is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) since it published May 5, 2011 before Oct 16, 2020 the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIM REJECTIONS — 35 U.S.C. 102
35 U.S.C. 102 Conditions for patentability; novelty.
(a) NOVELTY; PRIOR ART.—A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
CLAIMS 1, 3-13, and 15-20
Claims 1, 3-13, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maru (US 2011/0105032 A1) for the reasons given below.
Claim 1
With respect to claim 1, Maru disclosed:
A network node configured for wirelessly transceiving signals for operating in a wireless communications network (Maru disclosed [0001] The present invention relates to a technical field of wireless communication in which wireless communication is implemented by using radio beams that are set based on the communication quality. [0019] FIG. 4 shows a configuration of an apparatus used in a beam forming… A transmitter 401 has a transmitting antenna array including m antenna elements 405-1 to 405-m. A receiver 402 has a receiving antenna array including n antenna elements 411-1 to 411-n… );
wherein the network node is to form a response beam pattern responsive to a recognized stimulus of a stimulating node based on a criterion (Maru disclosed [0019] a processing/arithmetic circuit 406 provides instructions on the phase combination of the amplitude/phase variable circuits 404-1 to 404-m through a control circuit 407. With the phase change given to each signal, it is possible to control the direction, the width, and the like of the beam emitted from the transmitter 401. Meanwhile, the receiver 402 has the reversed configuration to that of the transmitter 401. That is, signals received by the receiving antenna array composed of the antenna elements 411-1 to 411-n are adjusted in their phases in amplitude/phase variable circuits 410-1 to 410-n, and then combined. A receiving circuit 409 demodulates the combined signal, and externally outputs the received data. [0020] The transmitter 401 and the receiver 402 are linked through a MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output) channel response matrix. It has been known that if this channel response matrix is obtained, the optimal setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array of the transmitter-and-receiver (hereinafter called "antenna weight vector") can be obtained by using SYD (Singular-value Decomposition). [0024] A method according to a first exemplary aspect of the present invention is a method of controlling a wireless communication system which includes a transmitter having a transmitting antenna array and a receiver having a receiving antenna array. The control method includes the following processes (a) to (d) that are performed when amplitudes and phases of signals to be transmitted from at least two antenna elements among a plurality of antenna elements constituting the transmitting antenna array are independently controlled and amplitudes and phases of signals to be received at least two antenna elements among a plurality of antenna elements constituting the receiving antenna array are independently controlled, the processes (a) to (d) being: (a) obtaining a channel response matrix by performing a training process to obtain an optimal signal phase of the antenna array at least between the transmitter and the receiver; (b) performing singular-value decomposition process to decompose the channel response matrix into a correlation matrix and eigenvalues; (c) obtaining a diagonal matrix having square roots of the eigenvalues obtained in the singular-value decomposition process as its components; and (d) replacing all but one of diagonal components included in the diagonal matrix with zeros, and obtaining an antenna weight vector to be applied to the antenna array having optimal communication quality for use in wireless communication between the transmitter and the receiver based on a channel response matrix reconstructed by using the component-replaced diagonal matrix. [0028] Furthermore, the control unit adjusts the beam direction by supplying one antenna weight vector selected from a plurality of antenna weight vectors to the transmitting antenna array, and performs control such that the antenna weight vector to be supplied to the transmitting antenna array is switched to a different one of the plurality of antenna weight vectors in response to deterioration in communication quality with a receiving apparatus. Note that each of the plurality of antenna weight vectors corresponds to one of a plurality of eigenpaths of a radio transmission path between the transmitting apparatus and the receiving apparatus, the plurality of eigenpaths being obtained by performing a singular- value decomposition of a channel response matrix with regard to the radio transmission path. [0043] In S12, a transmitter 401 and a receiver 402 perform an initial training in order to optimize amplitude/phase variable circuits 404-1 to 404-m and 410-1 to 410-n provided in the transmitter 401 and receiver 402. In S13, a processing/arithmetic circuit 406 or 412, or both of them in cooperation calculate a plurality of candidate antenna weight vectors. The calculation method for the plurality of candidate antenna weight vectors in S13 is described later. The obtained plurality of candidate antenna weight vectors are recorded as a data string in storage circuits 408 and 414. [0044] the monitoring of the communication state by the transmitter 401 may be implemented by measuring the reception state of a communication quality deterioration alert or the reception state of a reception acknowledgement response (ACK) transmitted from the receiver 402. [0045] When deterioration in the communication quality such as disconnected communication is detected while the communication is continued, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select another antenna weight vector from the data string recorded in the storage circuit 408 or 414 (S15). [0046] In S16, it is determined whether the quality of the communication using the newly selected antenna weight vector is satisfactory or not. For example, the pass/fail of the communication quality may be determined by measuring a received-signal level, an SNR, or the like in the receiving circuit 409 or the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 included in the receiver 402. When the communication quality is determined to be satisfactory in S16, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 return to the communication state (S12). On the other hand, when the communication quality is determined to be unsatisfactory in Sl 6, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 transit to S16 to select another antenna weight vector again. [0048] Next, a calculation procedure for a plurality of candidate antenna weight vectors in S13 of FIG. 1 is explained hereinafter. For the calculation of candidate antenna weight vectors, a MIMO channel response matrix A is obtained by using a result of the initial training in S12. The channel response matrix is expressed by the following Formula (1). [0049] A component AiJ of the channel response matrix A represents the response of a signal that is transmitted from ith antenna 405-i of the transmitter 401 and received by jth antenna 411-j of the receiver 402. The Examiner finds that the communication beam from the transmitter in Maru reads on the claimed stimulus and that the antenna weight vectors in Maru read on the claimed criterion. Specifically, Maru disclosed that the network node is to form a response beam pattern (i.e., direction, amplitude, phase) responsive to a recognized stimulus (i.e., deterioration of communication quality) of a stimulating node based on a criterion (i.e., the antenna weight vectors correspond to eigenpaths obtained by SDV of a channel response matrix). In Maru, when deterioration in the communication quality is detected the receiver selects another antenna weight vector, which controls beam direction/pattern, and determines pass/fail quality of the antenna weight vector, selecting another until one passes, reading on the limitation wherein the network node is to form a response beam pattern responsive to a recognized stimulus of a stimulating node based on a criterion));
wherein the network node is to receive a signal comprising a request to influence the criterion (Maru disclosed [0046] when the communication quality is determined to be unsatisfactory in S16, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 transit to S16 to select another antenna weight vector again. [0047] When no antenna weight vector with which a satisfactory communication state is achieved is found from the antenna weight vectors recorded in the storage circuits 408 and 414, the process returns to the initial training (S12) and is repeated from there. [0062] the transmitter 401 sends a training signal for training the receiver 402 (S606-T). During this process, the receiver 402 sets a phase for training in the amplitude/phase control circuits 410-1 to 410-n (S605-R), and receives the training signal (S606-R). The receiver 402 repeats the training signal receiving process until the signal receiving processes in all of the predetermined amplitude-and-phase settings are completed (S607-R). [0063] In the step S608-R, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 performs an SYD process by using measurement data obtained in the steps S603-R to S607-R. Further, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 obtains a plurality of antenna weight vectors (setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array). The Examiner finds that the training signal in Maru is a signal comprising a request to influence the criterion (i.e., a request to obtain new antenna weight vectors));
wherein the network node is to influence the criterion based on the request (Maru disclosed [0063] In the step S608-R, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 performs an SYD process by using measurement data obtained in the steps S603-R to S607-R. Further, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 obtains a plurality of antenna weight vectors (setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array)… 414. The transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select an optimal antenna weight vector from the common databases, for example, in the descending order of the eigenvalues (S611-T, R), set an amplitude and phase corresponding to the selected antenna weight vector in the amplitude/phase variable circuits, and start communication (S612-T, R).).
Claim 3
With respect to claim 3, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 1 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node is to form the response beam pattern as a reproducible combination of input factors comprising at least one parameter of the stimulus (Maru disclosed [0020] The transmitter 401 and the receiver 402 are linked through a MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output) channel response matrix. It has been known that if this channel response matrix is obtained, the optimal setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array of the transmitter-and-receiver (hereinafter called "antenna weight vector") can be obtained by using SVD (Singular-value Decomposition). [0029] The receiving antenna array includes a plurality of antenna elements. Further, the control unit changes a beam direction of the receiving antenna array by controlling amplitudes and phases of signals to be received by at least two antenna elements among the plurality of antenna elements. [0030] Furthermore, the control unit adjusts the beam direction by supplying one antenna weight vector selected from a plurality of antenna weight vectors to the receiving antenna array). [0050] In this exemplary embodiment, a transmission signal vector T and a received signal vector R are expressed by the following Formulas (2) and (3). [0051] an antenna weight vector wr that is set to the amplitude/phase variable circuits 410-1 to 410-n of the receiver 402 is expressed by the following Formula (5). [0052] In Formula ( 6), the matrix W, is a diagonal matrix that has components of the antenna weight vector w, on the transmission side as diagonal components. Further, the matrix wr- 1 in Formula (6) is the inverse matrix of a diagonal matrix W r that has components of the antenna weight vector w r on the reception side as diagonal components. The definitions of the diagonal matrixes W, and Wr are shown in the following Formulas (7) and (8). [0054] the channel response matrix A can be decomposed as shown in the following Formula (13). The decomposition process of Formula (13) is called "singular value decomposition (SYD)". [0056] the channel response matrix A2 reconstructed by using the matrix D2 is expressed by Formula (16). From this channel response matrix A2, one candidate antenna weight vector can be obtained. Maru disclosed that the response beam pattern (i.e., beam direction) comprises at least one parameter of the stimulus since the stimus is a received signal (i.e., deteriorated signal).).
Claim 4
With respect to claim 4, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 3 (see rejection above),
wherein the combination is a linear combination (Maru disclosed [0054] the channel response matrix A can be decomposed as shown in the following Formula (13). [Formula (13)]
A
=
E
r
D
E
t
H
=
∑
i
=
1
M
0
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
i
ԑ
t
,
i
H
[0056] the channel response matrix A2 reconstructed by using the matrix D2 is expressed by Formula (16).From this channel response matrix A2 , one candidate antenna weight vector can be obtained. [Formula (16)]
A
2
=
E
r
D
2
E
t
H
=
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
2
ԑ
t
,
2
H
. The Examiner finds that the summation in equation 13 is a linear combination, and referring back to claim 3, the response beam pattern (i.e., the direction and width set by the antenna weight vector) is a reproducible combination (linear combination in equation 13) of input factors comprising at least one parameter of the stimulus as shown in equations 1-16, especially 13 and 16).
Claim 5
With respect to claim 5, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 4 (see rejection above),
wherein the combination is a non-linear combination (Maru disclosed [0054] the channel response matrix A can be decomposed as shown in the following Formula (13). [Formula (13)]
A
=
E
r
D
E
t
H
=
∑
i
=
1
M
0
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
i
ԑ
t
,
i
H
[0056] the channel response matrix A2 reconstructed by using the matrix D2 is expressed by Formula (16).From this channel response matrix A2 , one candidate antenna weight vector can be obtained. [Formula (16)]
A
2
=
E
r
D
2
E
t
H
=
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
2
ԑ
t
,
2
H
. The Examiner finds that equation 16 involving multiplication is a nonlinear combination, and the response beam pattern (i.e., the direction and width set by the antenna weight vector) is a reproducible combination (nonlinear combination in equation 16) of input factors comprising at least one parameter of the stimulus as shown in equations 1-16).
Claim 6
With respect to claim 6, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 3 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node is to implement the combination of input factors by implementing a sensitivity matrix and to use the input factors at least as an input vector for the sensitivity matrix so as to acquire a result vector indicating the response beam pattern or providing for a basis of decision making for a selection of a response beam pattern, wherein the criterion relates to at least one matrix element of the sensitivity matrix (Maru disclosed [0054] the channel response matrix A can be decomposed as shown in the following Formula (13). [Formula (13)]
A
=
E
r
D
E
t
H
=
∑
i
=
1
M
0
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
i
ԑ
t
,
i
H
[0056] the channel response matrix A2 reconstructed by using the matrix D2 is expressed by Formula (16).From this channel response matrix A2 , one candidate antenna weight vector can be obtained. [Formula (16)]
A
2
=
E
r
D
2
E
t
H
=
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
2
ԑ
t
,
2
H
. [0057] By repeating the above-described procedure, M0 candidate antenna weight vectors, at the maximum, corresponding to the eigenvalues
λ
1
λ
2
,
…
,
λ
M
0
respectively are obtained. The transmitter 401 and receiver 402 store at least a part of these M0 candidate antenna weight vectors as a data string (database) in the storage circuits 408 and 414. As described previously, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select one antenna weight vector from the data string to start communication (S13 and S14 in FIG. 1).).
Claim 7
With respect to claim 7, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 3 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node is to implement the combination of input factors by implementing a lookup table or a weighting of the input factors in the combination, wherein the criterion relates to at least one weight of the weighting (Maru disclosed [0063] In the step S608-R, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 performs an SYD process by using measurement data obtained in the steps S603-R to S607-R. Further, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 obtains a plurality of antenna weight vectors ( setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array) in accordance with the previously-described procedure, creates a data string (database) including these candidate antenna weight vectors, and stores the data string to the storage circuit 414 (S609-R). Further, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 transmits the created database to the transmitter 401 by using the transmission path in the reverse direction (not shown) (S610-T, R). The transmitter 401 stores the received database to the storage circuit 408. At this point, the common contents are stored in both the storage circuits 408 and 414. The transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select an optimal antenna weight vector from the common databases, for example, in the descending order of the eigenvalues (S611-T, R), set an amplitude and phase corresponding to the selected antenna weight vector in the amplitude/phase variable circuits, and start communication (S612-T, R). The Examiner finds that the list of Maru reads on a look-up table. The antenna weight vectors correspond to weighting of the input factors).
Claim 8
With respect to claim 8, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 1 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node is to implement the criterion as a sensitivity matrix that combines at least the stimulus as a stimulus vector to acquire an output vector indicating the response beam pattern or forming a basis for a decision of the response beam pattern (Maru disclosed [0054] the channel response matrix A can be decomposed as shown in the following Formula (13). [Formula (13)]
A
=
E
r
D
E
t
H
=
∑
i
=
1
M
0
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
i
ԑ
t
,
i
H
[0056] the channel response matrix A2 reconstructed by using the matrix D2 is expressed by Formula (16).From this channel response matrix A2 , one candidate antenna weight vector can be obtained. [Formula (16)]
A
2
=
E
r
D
2
E
t
H
=
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
2
ԑ
t
,
2
H
. [0057] By repeating the above-described procedure, M0 candidate antenna weight vectors, at the maximum, corresponding to the eigenvalues
λ
1
λ
2
,
…
,
λ
M
0
respectively are obtained. The transmitter 401 and receiver 402 store at least a part of these M0 candidate antenna weight vectors as a data string (database) in the storage circuits 408 and 414. As described previously, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select one antenna weight vector from the data string to start communication (S13 and S14 in FIG. 1).).
Claim 9
With respect to claim 9, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 8 (see rejection above),
comprising a plurality of pre-defined sensitivity matrices, wherein the network node is to select one of the plurality or a specific combination of the plurality of sensitivity matrices based on the request; or wherein the network node comprises at least one sensitivity matrix and is to influence or change at least one element of the sensitivity matrix responsive to the request (Maru disclosed [0056] the channel response matrix A2 reconstructed by using the matrix D2 is expressed by Formula (16).From this channel response matrix A2 , one candidate antenna weight vector can be obtained. [Formula (16)]
A
2
=
E
r
D
2
E
t
H
=
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
2
ԑ
t
,
2
H
. [0057] By repeating the above-described procedure, M0 candidate antenna weight vectors, at the maximum, corresponding to the eigenvalues
λ
1
λ
2
,
…
,
λ
M
0
respectively are obtained. The transmitter 401 and receiver 402 store at least a part of these M0 candidate antenna weight vectors as a data string (database) in the storage circuits 408 and 414. As described previously, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select one antenna weight vector from the data string to start communication (S13 and S14 in FIG. 1).).
Claim 10
With respect to claim 10, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 1 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node is to determine the stimulus as being mapped to at least one carrier of the wireless communication network; and to form the response beam pattern on at least one same or different carrier; and/or wherein the network node is to determine the stimulus as being mapped to a first channel set of the wireless communication network; and to form the response beam pattern on a different second channel set (Maru disclosed [0079] A fourth exemplary embodiment is characterized in that the training and the acquisition/setting of antenna weight vectors are performed at a low rate (with a narrow band) and actual communication is performed at a relatively high rate (with a wide band).).
Claim 11
With respect to claim 11, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 1 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node is to determine a plurality of signals comprising a plurality of potential stimuli and to select, from the plurality of potential stimuli a selected stimulus as the stimulus to be responded to (Maru disclosed [0030] each of the plurality of antenna weight vectors corresponds to one of a plurality of eigenpaths of a radio transmission path between the transmitting apparatus and the receiving apparatus, the plurality of eigenpaths being obtained by performing a singular-value decomposition of a channel response matrix with regard to the radio transmission path. [0043] processing/arithmetic circuit 406 or 412, or both of them in cooperation calculate a plurality of candidate antenna weight vectors. The calculation method for the plurality of candidate antenna weight vectors in S13 is described later. The obtained plurality of candidate antenna weight vectors are recorded as a data string in storage circuits 408 and 414. [0044] In S14, one candidate is selected from the plurality of candidate phase combination obtained in S13 to perform communication. [0071] Further, in millimeter wave communication, a propagation path may be sometimes created by local reflection. FIGS. 8A and 8B show aspects of such a situation. In FIG. 8A, there are a transceiver 81 and a receiver 82, and it is assumed that there are propagation paths in the beam forming including a direct wave A, a local reflected wave B, and a reflected wave C propagating through a long path… When there is a high correlation between the propagation path A (direct wave A) and the propagation path B (reflected wave B), they are not decomposed by SVD. Therefore, the same antenna weight vector is applied to the propagation paths A and B. Therefore, it is possible to eliminate candidate antenna weight vectors that are simultaneously shielded in this exemplary embodiment. However, when the correlation between the propagation paths A and B is low, they could become different candidate antenna weight vectors.).
Claim 12
With respect to claim 12, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 1 (see rejection above),
wherein the criterion is influenced so as to adapt beamforming of the network node for a wireless communication with the stimulating network node (Maru [claim 14] disclosed a receiving apparatus that performs communication with a transmitting apparatus, comprising: a receiving antenna array comprising a plurality of antenna elements; and control unit adapted to change a beam direction of the receiving antenna array by controlling an antenna weight vector of a signal to be received by at least two antenna elements among the plurality of antenna elements, wherein the control unit adjusts the beam direction by supplying one antenna weight vector selected from a plurality of antenna weight vectors to the receiving antenna array, and performs control such that the antenna weight vector to be supplied to the receiving antenna array is switched to a different one of the plurality of antenna weight vectors in response to deterioration in communication quality between the transmitting apparatus, each of the plurality of antenna weight vectors corresponds to one of a plurality of eigenpaths of a radio transmission path between the transmitting apparatus and the receiving apparatus, the plurality of eigenpaths being obtained by performing a singular-value decomposition of a channel response matrix with regard to the radio transmission path.).
Claim 13
With respect to claim 13, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 1 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node is to implement the criterion as a plurality of partial criteria so as to provide for a weighted mapping of at least one input comprising the stimulus to at least one output comprising the response beam pattern, wherein the network node is to adapt, based on the request, at least one partial criteria (Maru disclosed [0051] an antenna weight vector w r that is set to the amplitude/phase variable circuits 410-1 to 410-n of the receiver 402 is expressed by the following Formula (5). [0056] the channel response matrix A2 reconstructed by using the matrix D2 is expressed by Formula (16).From this channel response matrix A2 , one candidate antenna weight vector can be obtained. [Formula (16)]
A
2
=
E
r
D
2
E
t
H
=
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
2
ԑ
t
,
2
H
. [0057] By repeating the above-described procedure, M0 candidate antenna weight vectors, at the maximum, corresponding to the eigenvalues
λ
1
λ
2
,
…
,
λ
M
0
respectively are obtained. The transmitter 401 and receiver 402 store at least a part of these M0 candidate antenna weight vectors as a data string (database) in the storage circuits 408 and 414. As described previously, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select one antenna weight vector from the data string to start communication (S13 and S14 in FIG. 1). The Examiner finds that the antenna weight vectors of Maru read are implemented as a plurality of partial criteria (i.e., the elements of the vector)).
Claim 15
Claim 15 recites limitations similar to limitations of claim 1 and is rejected by the same reasoning given in claim 1.
Claim 16
With respect to claim 16, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 15 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node has access to information indicating a structure of partial criterions of the responding node and for generating the stimulus so as to result in a favoured beam pattern selected by the network node based on the structure of partial criterions (Maru disclosed [0051] an antenna weight vector w r that is set to the amplitude/phase variable circuits 410-1 to 410-n of the receiver 402 is expressed by the following Formula (5). [0056] the channel response matrix A2 reconstructed by using the matrix D2 is expressed by Formula (16).From this channel response matrix A2 , one candidate antenna weight vector can be obtained. [Formula (16)]
A
2
=
E
r
D
2
E
t
H
=
λ
i
ԑ
r
,
2
ԑ
t
,
2
H
. [0057] By repeating the above-described procedure, M0 candidate antenna weight vectors, at the maximum, corresponding to the eigenvalues
λ
1
λ
2
,
…
,
λ
M
0
respectively are obtained. The transmitter 401 and receiver 402 store at least a part of these M0 candidate antenna weight vectors as a data string (database) in the storage circuits 408 and 414. As described previously, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select one antenna weight vector from the data string to start communication (S13 and S14 in FIG. 1)).
Claim 17
With respect to claim 17, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 15 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node has access to information indicating a structure of partial criterions of the responding node and to generate the request so as to request a influence of at least one partial criterion (Maru disclosed [0046] when the communication quality is determined to be unsatisfactory in S16, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 transit to S16 to select another antenna weight vector again. [0047] When no antenna weight vector with which a satisfactory communication state is achieved is found from the antenna weight vectors recorded in the storage circuits 408 and 414, the process returns to the initial training (S12) and is repeated from there. [0051] an antenna weight vector wr that is set to the amplitude/phase variable circuits 410-1 to 410-n of the receiver 402 is expressed by the following Formula (5). [0057] By repeating the above-described procedure, M0 candidate antenna weight vectors, at the maximum, corresponding to the eigenvalues
λ
1
λ
2
,
…
,
λ
M
0
respectively are obtained. The transmitter 401 and receiver 402 store at least a part of these M0 candidate antenna weight vectors as a data string (database) in the storage circuits 408 and 414. As described previously, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select one antenna weight vector from the data string to start communication (S13 and S14 in FIG. 1). [0062] the transmitter 401 sends a training signal for training the receiver 402 (S606-T). During this process, the receiver 402 sets a phase for training in the amplitude/phase control circuits 410-1 to 410-n (S605-R), and receives the training signal (S606-R). The receiver 402 repeats the training signal receiving process until the signal receiving processes in all of the predetermined amplitude-and-phase settings are completed (S607-R). [0063] In the step S608-R, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 performs an SVD process by using measurement data obtained in the steps S603-R to S607-R. Further, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 obtains a plurality of antenna weight vectors (setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array)).
Claim 18
With respect to claim 18, Maru disclosed:
The network node of claim 17 (see rejection above),
wherein a partial criterion implements a weighting within a selection procedure of the responding node to select the response beam pattern from a plurality of possible beam patterns, wherein the network node is to generate the request to modify the weighting (Maru disclosed [0051] an antenna weight vector wr that is set to the amplitude/phase variable circuits 410-1 to 410-n of the receiver 402 is expressed by the following Formula (5). [0057] By repeating the above-described procedure, M0 candidate antenna weight vectors, at the maximum, corresponding to the eigenvalues
λ
1
λ
2
,
…
,
λ
M
0
respectively are obtained. The transmitter 401 and receiver 402 store at least a part of these M0 candidate antenna weight vectors as a data string (database) in the storage circuits 408 and 414. As described previously, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 select one antenna weight vector from the data string to start communication (S13 and S14 in FIG. 1)).
Claim 19
Claim 19 recites limitations similar to claim 1 and is rejected by the same reasoning.
Claim 20
Claim 20 recites limitations similar to claim 15 and is rejected by the same reasoning.
CLAIM REJECTIONS — 35 U.S.C. 103
35 U.S.C. 103 Conditions for patentability; non-obvious subject matter.
CLAIMS 2 AND 14
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maru (US 2011/0105032 A1).
Claim 2
With respect to claim 2, Maru taught:
The network node of claim 1 (see rejection above),
wherein the stimulus is representable as at least an element of at least a stimulus vector (Maru taught [0020] the optimal setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array of the transmitter-and-receiver (hereinafter called "antenna weight vector"). [0063] set an amplitude and phase corresponding to the selected antenna weight vector in the amplitude/phase variable circuits, and start communication (S612-T, R). The Examiner finds that the communication beam from the transmitter in Maru reads on the claimed stimulus);
wherein the criterion is representable as a sensitivity matrix indicating a behaviour of the network node, wherein a combination of the stimulus vector and the sensitivity matrix provide for a reaction vector indicating the response beam pattern (Maru taught [0020] The transmitter 401 and the receiver 402 are linked through a MIMO (Multi-Input Multi-Output) channel response matrix. It has been known that if this channel response matrix is obtained, the optimal setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array of the transmitter-and-receiver (hereinafter called "antenna weight vector") can be obtained by using SYD (Singular-value Decomposition).[0048] a calculation procedure for a plurality of candidate antenna weight vectors in S13 of FIG. 1 is explained hereinafter. For the calculation of candidate antenna weight vectors, a MIMO channel response matrix A is obtained by using a result of the initial training in S12. The channel response matrix is expressed by the following Formula (1). [0049] A component Aij of the channel response matrix A represents the response of a signal that is transmitted from ith antenna 405-i of the transmitter 401 and received by jth antenna 411-j of the receiver 402. [0050] In this exemplary embodiment, a transmission signal vector T and a received signal vector R are expressed by the following Formulas (2) and (3). In Formulas, a component t, of the transmission signal vector T represents the input signal of ith amplitude/phase variable circuit 404-i. Further, a component r, of the received signal vector R represents the output signal of ith amplitude/phase variable circuit 410-i. In the configuration example shown in FIGS. 4 and 5, since the signal from the transmitting circuit 403 is equally branched into the amplitude/phase variable circuits 404-1 to 404-m, relations "t1=t2= ... tm" and "r1=r2= ... r /' are satisfied. [0051] Further, an antenna weight vector w, that is set to the amplitude/phase variable circuits 404-1 to 404-m of the transmitter 401 is expressed by the following Formula (4). Furthermore, an antenna weight vector wr that is set to the amplitude/phase variable circuits 410-1 to 410-n of the receiver 402 is expressed by the following Formula (5). [0052] By using the definitions of the above-shown Formulas (1) to (5), the signal response of the transmission/reception including the amplitude/phase variable circuits 404-1 to 404-m on the transmission side and the amplitude/phase variable circuits 410-1 to 410-n on the reception side is expressed by Formula (6) shown below. In Formula (6), the matrix W, is a diagonal matrix that has components of the antenna weight vector w, on the transmission side as diagonal components. [0053] The channel response matrix A can be obtained by performing training while changing the antenna weight vectors wt and wr. The Examiner finds that the antenna weight vector in Maru reads on the claimed reaction vector indicating the response beam pattern. The Examiner finds that the channel response matrix in Maru is a sensitivity matrix because a sensitivity matrix is a rectangular array of numerical values that maps the relationship between a set of input variables and a set of output variables within a model or system, and that is what the channel response matrix of Maru is.);
and wherein changing the criterion leads to a different response beam pattern based on a same stimulus vector (Maru taught [0020] the optimal setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array of the transmitter-and-receiver (hereinafter called "antenna weight vector". [0030] the control unit adjusts the beam direction by supplying one antenna weight vector selected from a plurality of antenna weight vectors to the receiving antenna array, and performs control such that a phase combination to be supplied to the receiving antenna array is switched to a different one of the plurality of phase combinations in response to deterioration in communication quality with a transmitting apparatus.);
wherein the request is related to a request to influence or change at least one element of the stimulus matrix (Maru taught [0030] each of the plurality of antenna weight vectors corresponds to one of a plurality of eigenpaths of a radio transmission path between the transmitting apparatus and the receiving apparatus, the plurality of eigenpaths being obtained by performing a singular-value decomposition of a channel response matrix with regard to the radio transmission path. 0046] when the communication quality is determined to be unsatisfactory in S16, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 transit to S16 to select another antenna weight vector again. [0047] When no antenna weight vector with which a satisfactory communication state is achieved is found from the antenna weight vectors recorded in the storage circuits 408 and 414, the process returns to the initial training (S12) and is repeated from there. [0062] the transmitter 401 sends a training signal for training the receiver 402 (S606-T). During this process, the receiver 402 sets a phase for training in the amplitude/phase control circuits 410-1 to 410-n (S605-R), and receives the training signal (S606-R). The receiver 402 repeats the training signal receiving process until the signal receiving processes in all of the predetermined amplitude-and-phase settings are completed (S607-R). [0063] In the step S608-R, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 performs an SYD process by using measurement data obtained in the steps S603-R to S607-R. Further, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 obtains a plurality of antenna weight vectors (setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array). The Examiner finds that the training signal in Maru is a signal comprising a request to influence the criterion (i.e., a request to obtain new antenna weight vectors)).
Maru taught the limitations of claim 1 above, including “wherein changing the criterion leads to a different response beam pattern.” However Maru did not explicitly teach that that this was “based on a same stimulus vector.” Instead, Maru’s statements teach a different response beam pattern regardless of whether the stimulus vector (i.e., the communication beam from the transmitter) is the same or different.
The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains that changing the antenna weight vector (reading on the claimed criterion) would lead to a different response beam pattern (i.e., direction and width of the beam as discussed in Maru) even “based on a same stimulus vector” as claimed since Maru [0030] changing the antenna weight vector to the receiving antenna array adjusts the beam direction and does not rely on the stimulus vector to be changed to do so.
Claim 14
With respect to claim 14, Maru taught
The network node of claim 1 (see rejection above),
wherein the network node is to receive a signal from the wireless communication network, the signal comprising information indicating a request to a different node, the request being associated with a specific area or node of the wireless communication network (Maru taught [0046] when the communication quality is determined to be unsatisfactory in S16, the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 transit to S16 to select another antenna weight vector again. [0047] When no antenna weight vector with which a satisfactory communication state is achieved is found from the antenna weight vectors recorded in the storage circuits 408 and 414, the process returns to the initial training (S12) and is repeated from there. [0062] the transmitter 401 sends a training signal for training the receiver 402 (S606-T). During this process, the receiver 402 sets a phase for training in the amplitude/phase control circuits 410-1 to 410-n (S605-R), and receives the training signal (S606-R). The receiver 402 repeats the training signal receiving process until the signal receiving processes in all of the predetermined amplitude-and-phase settings are completed (S607-R). [0063] In the step S608-R, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 performs an SYD process by using measurement data obtained in the steps S603-R to S607-R. Further, the processing/arithmetic circuit 412 obtains a plurality of antenna weight vectors (setting of the amplitude and phase of a signal to be applied to the antenna array).)
and to store the information in a memory of the network node for a later use (Maru taught [0018] apparatuses capable of temporally storing received data… a huge buffer memory to cope with a long transmission-disconnected time).
Maru failed to explicitly teach that the request is “request to a different node” that is “associated with a specific area or node of the wireless communication network.”
Notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, the Examiner finds that the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art identified above are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Specifically, Maru [0017], [0071], and FIG. 8A and 8B describe propagation of reflected waves, which suggests the possibility of a device unintentionally receiving a “request to a different node” which would be “associated with a specific area or node of the wireless communication network” (i.e., the request is associated with a specific node which is the different node that the request is for). As another rationale, claim 14 is covered by a situation similar to claim 1 (which is disclosed by Maru as discussed above) but where a wave for a different node is reflected, unintentionally received, and then buffered by the receiver at least until it is dropped when it is determined to be for a different device. While this situation is not explicitly disclosed by Mari, Maru describes the situation in which this can occur and so it would obvious in view of Maru’s disclosure that the situation of claim 14 was possible.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 1, filed 10-13-2025, with respect to the claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claims 2 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 1, filed 10-13-2025, with respect to the §112 rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under §112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks p. 1-8, filed 10-13-2025, with respect to the §102 and §103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 3, Applicant argued that “Maruhashi does not disclose, teach, or suggest forming a response beam pattern responsive to a recognized stimulus. Maruhashi selects a different set of antenna weight factors in view of disturbed communication.” The Examiner disagrees. The rejection above has been expanded upon to address Applicant’s concerns. As explained in the rejection, the Examiner finds that the communication beam from the transmitter in Maru reads on the claimed stimulus and that the antenna weight vectors in Maru read on the claimed criterion. Specifically, Maru disclosed that the network node is to form a response beam pattern (i.e., direction, amplitude, phase) responsive to a recognized stimulus (i.e., deterioration of communication quality) of a stimulating node based on a criterion (i.e., the antenna weight vectors correspond to eigenpaths obtained by SDV of a channel response matrix. In Maru, when deterioration in the communication quality is detected the receiver selects another antenna weight vector, which controls beam direction/pattern, and determines pass/fail quality of the antenna weight vector, selecting another until one passes, reading on the limitation wherein the network node is to form a response beam pattern responsive to a recognized stimulus of a stimulating node based on a criterion).
On page 3 Applicant argued that “Each of Figs. 1, 2 and 3 of Maruhashi shows a step "start", followed by "initial training" followed by "obtain antenna weight factor", "obtain optimal antenna weight factor", respectively. However, Applicant respectfully submits these operations do not teach forming a response beam pattern responsive to a recognized stimulus.” The Examiner disagrees. As mentioned just above, in Maru, when deterioration in the communication quality is detected the receiver selects another antenna weight vector, which controls beam direction/pattern, and determines pass/fail quality of the antenna weight vector, selecting another until one passes, reading on the limitation wherein the network node is to form a response beam pattern responsive to a recognized stimulus of a stimulating node based on a criterion.
On page 4 Applicant argued “claim 1 defines that the criterion upon which the response beam pattern is generated is changed. However, Maruhashi is silent about such a recognition.” The Examiner disagrees because in Maru, when deterioration in the communication quality is detected the receiver selects another antenna weight vector, which controls beam direction/pattern. For instance, Maru disclosed [0028] Furthermore, the control unit adjusts the beam direction by supplying one antenna weight vector selected from a plurality of antenna weight vectors.
On page 4, Applicant presents a single sentence paragraph: “In a case of a disconnection, the same criterion is applied in Maruhashi, a difference is that upon the changed scenario different signals of the training signals are received.” No assertion with respect to the claim is made.
On page 5, Applicant argued “Even if interpreting the communication quality deterioration notification of step S703-R as being a stimulus to the transmitter in Fig. 7 and even if considering the communication performed in step S706-T as being a response beam pattern responsive to the stimulus (Applicant respectfully disagrees with these interpretations), then there is still no signal comprising a request to influence the criterion that would be required to be sent from the receiver to the transmitter.” The Examiner disagrees. As stated in the rejection, the Examiner finds that the training signal in Maru is a signal comprising a request to influence the criterion (i.e., a request to obtain new antenna weight vectors)).
On page 4 and 5, Applicant argued: “To the contrary, the same criterion is applied to select a different beam. Paragraph [0065] of Maruhashi teaches that each of the transmitter 401 and receiver 402 obtains the next candidate antenna weight vector from their common database. Even if failing to communicate as described in paragraph [0066], where the transceiver cannot receive an ACK signal from the receiver, it is still used by the next candidate antenna weight vector as long as there is another candidate or else the candidate and receiver return to the initial training.” Applicant does not assert anything about the claim here but the Examiner believes this argument is related to the previous assertion that “there is still no signal comprising a request to influence the criterion that would be required to be sent from the receiver to the transmitter.” As explained in the rejection, the Examiner found that Maru disclosed the criterion (i.e., the antenna weight vectors correspond to eigenpaths obtained by SDV of a channel response matrix) and found that the training signal in Maru is a signal comprising a request to influence the criterion (i.e., a request to obtain new antenna weight vectors)).
On page 5 Applicant concludes “Maruhashi lacks at least a teaching that a node is to receive a signal comprising a request to influence the criterion and to influence the criterion based on the request.” The Examiner disagrees for the reasons given above in this Response to Arguments section.
On page 6 Applicant argued “Claim 2 requires that the stimulus is representable as at least an element of at least a stimulus vector and that the criterion is representable as a sensitivity matrix indicating a behavior of the network node. Claim 2 further defines that change in the criterion leads to a different response beam pattern based on a same stimulus vector. In contrast, Maruhashi teaches that both the transmitter and the receiver select the next element in their common database. Accordingly, the subject matter of claims I and 2 may not be obtained when implementing Maruhashi.” The Examiner disagrees. The channel response matrix of Maru is a sensitivity matrix as discussed in the rejection above. The Examiner also found that the antenna weight vector in Maru reads on the claimed reaction vector indicating the response beam pattern. The antenna weight vector is used to adjust beam direction.
On page 6, Applicant argued “With respect to claim 3, Applicant respectfully submits that Maruhashi does not disclose, teach, or suggest at least, "wherein the network node is to form the response beam pattern as a reproducible combination of input factors comprising at least one parameter of the stimulus," as recited in claim 3. At most, the communication quality deterioration notification of Fig. 7 might form a stimulus signal. However, Maru does not teach a response beam pattern that is a reproducible combination of input factors comprising at least one parameter of the stimulus.” The Examiner disagrees. Paragraphs [0048]-[0058] of Maru described equations for calculation of candidate antenna weight vectors and obtaining a MIMO channel response matrix A, which is based on a received signal vector R (see [0050]). As such, Maru disclosed that the response beam pattern (i.e., beam direction) comprises at least one parameter of the stimulus since the stimulus is a received signal (i.e., deteriorated signal). If Applicant intends something more specific, it should be explicitly claimed.
On pages 6 and 7, Applicant argued “With respect to claims 4 and 5, Applicant respectfully submits that Maruhashi does not disclose, teach, or suggest at least, "wherein the combination is a linear combination," as recited in claim 4, and "wherein the combination is a non-linear combination," as recited in claim 5. The selection according to eigenvalues contained in Maruhashi are neither a linear combination (claim 4 of the present application) nor a non-linear combination (claim 5 of the present application). The SVD of Maruhashi is performed to obtain the eigenvalues (see abstract of Maruhashi). Therefore, for at least these additional reasons, claims 4 and 5 are patentably distinguishable from the applied reference.” As explained in the rejection, The Examiner finds that the summation in equation 13 is a linear combination, and referring back to claim 3, the response beam pattern (i.e., the direction and width set by the antenna weight vector) is a reproducible combination (linear combination in equation 13) of input factors comprising at least one parameter of the stimulus as shown in equations 1-16, especially 13 and 16. And, The Examiner finds that equation 16 involving multiplication is a nonlinear combination, and the response beam pattern (i.e., the direction and width set by the antenna weight vector) is a reproducible combination (nonlinear combination in equation 16) of input factors comprising at least one parameter of the stimulus as shown in equations 1-16.
On page 7, Applicant argued “Applicant respectfully submits Maru also fails to disclose, teach, or suggest at least, "wherein the network node is to implement the combination of input factors by implementing a lookup table or a weighting of the input factors in the combination, wherein the criterion relates to at least one weight of the weighting," as recited in claim 7. Applicant respectfully submits that that Maruhashi does not teach a key feature of claim 7 defining that the network node is to implement the combination of input factors by implementing a look-up table or a weighting of the input factors in the combination, wherein the criterion relates to at least one weight of the weighting. In contrast, Maru teaches to have a list of eigenvalues and to use them according to a respective order. Therefore, for at least these additional reasons, claim 7 is patentably distinguishable from the applied reference.” The Examiner finds that the list of Maru reads on a look-up table. The antenna weight vectors correspond to weighting of the input factors.
CONCLUSION
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Christopher Davis whose telephone number is 703-756-1832. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri from 11AM to 7PM ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayaz Sheikh, can be reached at telephone number 571-272-3795. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/C.R.D./
Examiner, Art Unit 2476
/AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476