This office action is in response to remarks filed on 09/25/2025.
Claims 1 and 3-16 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1 and 3-9 are amended. Claim 2 is canceled. Claims 15 and 16 are added.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1 and 3-9 have been considered based on amendments.
Claims 15 and 16 have been added and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US20150126205A1)) (hereinafter "Kim '205") in view of Tachikawa et al (US20160270143A1) (hereinafter "Tachikawa").
Regarding claim 1, Kim '205 discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receive, in a connected mode, a configuration for cell measurement in an idle mode ([0029] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating an MDT measurement process in which a terminal logs measurement information in an idle mode and then reports the measurement information in a connected mode. [0030] Referring to FIG. 2, at step 210, eNB 205 transmits information required for configuring MDT, i.e., channel measurement configuration information (hereinafter, MDT configuration), through a LoggedMeasurementConfiguration message to UE 200 which is in the connected mode.);
perform a set of cell measurements in the idle mode in response to the configuration and based at least in part on a failure to establish a connection with a first base station ([0007] This operation, performed at the terminal, of transmitting the radio cell measurement information and any other additional information to the base station may be referred to as an MDT measurement information report. [0032] If an RRC state of the UE 200 is changed to the idle mode from the connected mode, the UE 200 starts performing MDT at step 215. [0050] Accordingly, the present invention proposes an embodiment, in case of a failure in RRC connection establishment, in which the UE logs useful information associated with a connection failure and then reports this to the eNB.);
after performing a cell reselection with a second base station, transmit a report comprising the logged set of parameters associated with the set of base stations during the idle mode ([0079] At step 455, if the logged Selected PLMN value is identical to a current RPLMN, and if there is effective information logged at a failure in RRC connection establishment, and further if the connEstFail-ReportReq IE received from the eNB 405 is set as 'true', the UE 400 includes logged measurement information associated with a connection failure in a connEstFail-Report IE. At step 460, the UE 400 transmits, to the eNB 405, the UE information response message including the connEstFail-Report IE.).
Kim '205 fails to disclose a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: log a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations based at least in part on the set of cell measurements in the idle mode, wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of the set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both; and
wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
However, Tachikawa discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and ([0037] The memory 150 and the processor 160 configure a controller.)
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to ([0037] The memory 150 and the processor 160 configure a controller.):
log a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations based at least in part on the set of cell measurements in the idle mode, wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of the set of base stations ([0075] AP identifier), a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations ([0076] geographical location), or both; and ([0075] In Step S15, the UE 100 performs a WLAN connection procedure including an authentication process required for a WLAN connection for the detected AP 300. The WLAN connection procedure includes radio authentication (Step 515a) that is authentication between the UE 100 and the AP 300 and network authentication (Step S15b) that is authentication between the UE 100 and the WLAN-side server 500. In a case where the radio authentication is performed using the AP identifier (SSID), while the radio authentication is successful, the network authentication fails, and accordingly, the UE 100 determines an authentication failure (Step S16). [0076] In addition, the report information may further include at least one of the location information relating to the geographical location of the detected AP 300 and the time information relating to authentication failure time for the detected AP 300.)
wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station ([0076] The UE 100 determining the authentication failure generates report information relating to the AP 300 for which the authentication has failed. As described above, the report information includes at least one of the identifier of the AP (“spoofing AP”) 300 detected by the UE 100, the WLAN authentication information used in the authentication process for the detected AP 300, and an authentication scheme used for the authentication process for the detected AP 300. In addition, the report information may further include at least one of the location information relating to the geographical location of the detected AP 300 and the time information relating to authentication failure time for the detected AP 300.).
Kim '205 and Tachikawa are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reporting, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Tachikawa to create a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: log a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations based at least in part on the set of cell measurements in the idle mode, wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of the set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both; and wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to notify the network of measurement anomalies which could signal a spoofing attempt.
Regarding claim 8, Kim '205 discloses a base station, comprising:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) in a connected mode, a configuration for cell measurement in an idle mode; and ([0029] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating an MDT measurement process in which a terminal logs measurement information in an idle mode and then reports the measurement information in a connected mode. [0030] Referring to FIG. 2, at step 210, eNB 205 transmits information required for configuring MDT, i.e., channel measurement configuration information (hereinafter, MDT configuration), through a LoggedMeasurementConfiguration message to UE 200 which is in the connected mode.);
receive a report comprising a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations ([0079] At step 455, if the logged Selected PLMN value is identical to a current RPLMN, and if there is effective information logged at a failure in RRC connection establishment, and further if the connEstFail-ReportReq IE received from the eNB 405 is set as 'true', the UE 400 includes logged measurement information associated with a connection failure in a connEstFail-Report IE. At step 460, the UE 400 transmits, to the eNB 405, the UE information response message including the connEstFail-Report IE.).
Kim '205 fails to disclose a base station, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of a set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both, wherein the set of parameters are in accordance with the configuration for the cell measurement in the idle mode, and wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
However, Tachikawa discloses a base station, comprising:
at least one memory; and ([0037] The memory 150 and the processor 160 configure a controller.)
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to ([0037] The memory 150 and the processor 160 configure a controller.):
wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of a set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both, wherein the set of parameters are in accordance with the configuration for the cell measurement in the idle mode, and wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station. ([0076] The UE 100 determining the authentication failure generates report information relating to the AP 300 for which the authentication has failed. As described above, the report information includes at least one of the identifier of the AP (“spoofing AP”) 300 detected by the UE 100, the WLAN authentication information used in the authentication process for the detected AP 300, and an authentication scheme used for the authentication process for the detected AP 300. [0078] Then, after being connected to the cellular network 1, the UE 100 notifies the maintained report information to the cellular-side server 400.)).
Kim '205 and Tachikawa are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reporting, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Tachikawa to create a base station, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to: wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of a set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both, wherein the set of parameters are in accordance with the configuration for the cell measurement in the idle mode, and wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to notify the network of measurement anomalies which could signal a spoofing attempt.
Regarding claim 9, Kim '205 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, in a connected mode, a configuration for cell measurement in an idle mode ([0029] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating an MDT measurement process in which a terminal logs measurement information in an idle mode and then reports the measurement information in a connected mode. [0030] Referring to FIG. 2, at step 210, eNB 205 transmits information required for configuring MDT, i.e., channel measurement configuration information (hereinafter, MDT configuration), through a LoggedMeasurementConfiguration message to UE 200 which is in the connected mode.);
performing a set of cell measurements in the idle mode in response to the received configuration and based at least in part on a failure to establish a connection with a first base station ([0007] This operation, performed at the terminal, of transmitting the radio cell measurement information and any other additional information to the base station may be referred to as an MDT measurement information report. [0032] If an RRC state of the UE 200 is changed to the idle mode from the connected mode, the UE 200 starts performing MDT at step 215. [0050] Accordingly, the present invention proposes an embodiment, in case of a failure in RRC connection establishment, in which the UE logs useful information associated with a connection failure and then reports this to the eNB.);
after performing a cell reselection with a second base station, transmitting a report comprising the logged set of parameters associated with the set of base stations during the idle mode ([0079] At step 455, if the logged Selected PLMN value is identical to a current RPLMN, and if there is effective information logged at a failure in RRC connection establishment, and further if the connEstFail-ReportReq IE received from the eNB 405 is set as 'true', the UE 400 includes logged measurement information associated with a connection failure in a connEstFail-Report IE. At step 460, the UE 400 transmits, to the eNB 405, the UE information response message including the connEstFail-Report IE.).
Kim '205 fails to disclose a method, comprising:
logging a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations based at least in part on the set of cell measurements in the idle mode, wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of the set of base stations ([0075] AP identifier), a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations ([0076] geographical location), or both; and
wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station
However, Tachikawa discloses a method, comprising:
logging a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations based at least in part on the set of cell measurements in the idle mode, wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of the set of base stations ([0075] AP identifier), a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations ([0076] geographical location), or both; and ([0075] In Step S15, the UE 100 performs a WLAN connection procedure including an authentication process required for a WLAN connection for the detected AP 300. The WLAN connection procedure includes radio authentication (Step 515a) that is authentication between the UE 100 and the AP 300 and network authentication (Step S15b) that is authentication between the UE 100 and the WLAN-side server 500. In a case where the radio authentication is performed using the AP identifier (SSID), while the radio authentication is successful, the network authentication fails, and accordingly, the UE 100 determines an authentication failure (Step S16). [0076] In addition, the report information may further include at least one of the location information relating to the geographical location of the detected AP 300 and the time information relating to authentication failure time for the detected AP 300.)
wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station ([0076] The UE 100 determining the authentication failure generates report information relating to the AP 300 for which the authentication has failed. As described above, the report information includes at least one of the identifier of the AP (“spoofing AP”) 300 detected by the UE 100, the WLAN authentication information used in the authentication process for the detected AP 300, and an authentication scheme used for the authentication process for the detected AP 300. In addition, the report information may further include at least one of the location information relating to the geographical location of the detected AP 300 and the time information relating to authentication failure time for the detected AP 300.).
Kim '205 and Tachikawa are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reporting, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Tachikawa to create a method, comprising: logging a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations based at least in part on the set of cell measurements in the idle mode, wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of the set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both; and wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to notify the network of measurement anomalies which could signal a spoofing attempt.
Regarding claim 15, Tachikawa discloses a method, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) in a connected mode, a configuration for cell measurement in an idle mode; and ([0029] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating an MDT measurement process in which a terminal logs measurement information in an idle mode and then reports the measurement information in a connected mode. [0030] Referring to FIG. 2, at step 210, eNB 205 transmits information required for configuring MDT, i.e., channel measurement configuration information (hereinafter, MDT configuration), through a LoggedMeasurementConfiguration message to UE 200 which is in the connected mode.);
receiving a report comprising a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations ([0079] At step 455, if the logged Selected PLMN value is identical to a current RPLMN, and if there is effective information logged at a failure in RRC connection establishment, and further if the connEstFail-ReportReq IE received from the eNB 405 is set as 'true', the UE 400 includes logged measurement information associated with a connection failure in a connEstFail-Report IE. At step 460, the UE 400 transmits, to the eNB 405, the UE information response message including the connEstFail-Report IE.).
Kim '205 fails to disclose a method, comprising:
wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of a set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both, wherein the set of parameters are in accordance with the configuration for the cell measurement in the idle mode, and wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
However, Tachikawa discloses a method, comprising:
wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of a set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both, wherein the set of parameters are in accordance with the configuration for the cell measurement in the idle mode, and wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station ([0076] The UE 100 determining the authentication failure generates report information relating to the AP 300 for which the authentication has failed. As described above, the report information includes at least one of the identifier of the AP (“spoofing AP”) 300 detected by the UE 100, the WLAN authentication information used in the authentication process for the detected AP 300, and an authentication scheme used for the authentication process for the detected AP 300. [0078] Then, after being connected to the cellular network 1, the UE 100 notifies the maintained report information to the cellular-side server 400.)).
Kim '205 and Tachikawa are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reporting, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Tachikawa to create a method, comprising: wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of a set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both, wherein the set of parameters are in accordance with the configuration for the cell measurement in the idle mode, and wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to notify the network of measurement anomalies which could signal a spoofing attempt.
Claims 3, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '205 in view of Tachikawa, and further in view of Lee et al (WO2014010963A1) (hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding claim 3, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the UE wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
However, Lee discloses the UE wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells ([0123] As another example, in a specific cell group, base stations constituting the corresponding cell group may be formed and selected by the base stations performing a predefined rule-based process).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for enabling a terminal to perform a measurements in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Lee to create the UE wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to perform measurements on a specific cell group to improve radio resource management of a terminal in a wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
However, Lee discloses the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells ([0123] As another example, in a specific cell group, base stations constituting the corresponding cell group may be formed and selected by the base stations performing a predefined rule-based process).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for enabling a terminal to perform a measurements in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Lee to create the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to perform measurements on a specific cell group to improve radio resource management of a terminal in a wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 16, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
However, Lee discloses the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells ([0123] As another example, in a specific cell group, base stations constituting the corresponding cell group may be formed and selected by the base stations performing a predefined rule-based process).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for enabling a terminal to perform a measurements in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Lee to create the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to perform measurements on a specific cell group to improve radio resource management of a terminal in a wireless communication system.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, in view of Sarkar et al (US8437769B1) (hereinafter "Sarkar").
Regarding claim 4, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the UE configured to: measure, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations.
However, Sarkar discloses the UE configured to: measure, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations (Col. 5, Lines 14-16 The method may begin when a mobile station (e.g., mobile station 18) is in an idle state monitoring the paging channel of its primary BTS, as indicated by block 100. Col. 6, Lines 14-18 To determine whether any neighbor-set BTS is a candidate for an idle handoff, the mobile station may compare the pilot signal strength that the mobile station measured for its primary BTS to the pilot signal strengths that the mobile station measured for its neighbor-set BTSs).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Sarkar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of monitoring a channel for system information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Sarkar to create the UE configured to: measure, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine whether a neighboring base station is a good candidate for handoff.
Regarding claim 11, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the method wherein performing the set of cell measurements in the idle mode comprises: measuring, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations.
However, Sarkar discloses the method wherein performing the set of cell measurements in the idle mode comprises: measuring, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations (Col. 5, Lines 14-16 The method may begin when a mobile station (e.g., mobile station 18) is in an idle state monitoring the paging channel of its primary BTS, as indicated by block 100. Col. 6, Lines 14-18 To determine whether any neighbor-set BTS is a candidate for an idle handoff, the mobile station may compare the pilot signal strength that the mobile station measured for its primary BTS to the pilot signal strengths that the mobile station measured for its neighbor-set BTSs).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Sarkar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of monitoring a channel for system information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Sarkar to create the method wherein performing the set of cell measurements in the idle mode comprises: measuring, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine whether a neighboring base station is a good candidate for handoff.
Claims 5-7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, in view of Fujishiro et al (US20180014275A1) (hereinafter "Fujishiro").
Regarding claim 5, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the UE wherein the processor is configured to cause the UE to switch from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration.
However, Fujishiro discloses the UE wherein the processor is configured to cause the UE to switch from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of receiving and storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro to create the UE wherein the processor is configured to cause the UE to switch from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 6, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the UE wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
However, Fujishiro discloses the UE wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro to create the UE wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 7, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the UE wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode.
However, Fujishiro discloses the UE wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro to create the UE wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 12, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the method further comprising: switching from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration.
However, Fujishiro discloses the method further comprising: switching from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro to create the method further comprising: switching from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 13, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the method wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
However, Fujishiro discloses the method further comprising: switching from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro to create the method wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 14, Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, fails to disclose the method wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode
However, Fujishiro discloses the method further comprising: switching from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Tachikawa, and Fujishiro to create the method wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419