This office action is in response to remarks filed on 04/20/2026.
Claims 1 and 3-16 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 8, 9, and 15 are amended.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 8, 9, and 15 have been considered based on amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US20150126205A1)) (hereinafter "Kim '205") in view of Shaik et al (US20190110205A1) (hereinafter "Shaik") and Norrman et al (US20160309332A1) (hereinafter "Norrman").
Regarding claim 1, Kim '205 discloses a user equipment (UE), configured to:
receive, in a connected mode, a configuration for cell measurement in an idle mode ([0030] Referring to FIG. 2, at step 210, eNB 205 transmits information required for configuring MDT, i.e., channel measurement configuration information (hereinafter, MDT configuration), through a LoggedMeasurementConfiguration message to UE 200 which is in the connected mode.);
perform a set of cell measurements in the idle mode in response to the configuration and based at least in part on a failure to establish a connection with a first base station ([0032] If an RRC state of the UE 200 is changed to the idle mode from the connected mode, the UE 200 starts performing MDT at step 215. [0009] The present invention is to attain a technical solution for providing a method in which user equipment can suitably report, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network. [0011] … receiving from the terminal a UE information response message including the measurement information associated with the connection failure.);
log a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations based at least in part on the set of cell measurements in the idle mode, wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of the set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both ([0033] The MDT measurement information is logged for each measurement sample at step 230. The logged MDT measurement information may include therein the ID of a serving cell (i.e., Global cell ID), channel measurement information of a serving cell (i.e., RSRP/RSRQ value, etc.), channel measurement information of neighbor cells, UE location information, relative time information, and the like.).
transmit, to the second base station, a report comprising the logged set of parameters associated with the set of base stations during the idle mode ([0029] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating an MDT measurement process in which a terminal logs measurement information in an idle mode and then reports the measurement information in a connected mode. [0034] When the UE 200 enters the connected mode at step 235, the UE 200 notifies the presence or absence of logged MDT measurement information to the eNB 205 at step 240. Depending on circumstances, the eNB 205 may request a report. If there is a request, the UE 200 reports the logged MDT measurement information to the eNB 205 and deletes the reported information.).
Kim '205 fails to disclose a user equipment (UE), configured to:
perform in the idle mode, a cell reselection to select a second base station;
wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
However, Shaik discloses a user equipment (UE), configured to:
perform in the idle mode, a cell reselection to select a second base station; and ([0118] FIG. 2(a+b) shows a flow chart of one preferred embodiment of the inventive method. The flow charts starts in step S1 with a wireless communication device which is camping on a base station. Camping in this context means that, in particular after powering on, the wireless communication device first selects an appropriate cellular network that it will register with. Then it selects a cell, resp. the base station of a cell, receives broadcasted information from this base station, in particular including the cellular network the base station belongs to and a cell ID, and then sends a registration request. When this is approved by the base station, the wireless communication device is operating in idle mode in association to this base station. [0157] During the following steps, should the second base station not provide a conspicuous behaviour—or the wireless communication device has not implemented the embodiment shown in FIGS. 2a+b—then the second base station was chosen for reselection. Consequently in step S20 the reselection is carried out to the second base station.)
wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station ([0091] It is hence proposed a method further comprising in case of rating the second base station as fake base station the step of sending an alert message to at least one of: [0092] the cellular network via the first base station, and [0093] at least one other wireless communication device connected by means of a device-to-device communication link. [0130] According to the exemplary embodiment shown in FIG. 2a, it is first checked in step S6 if the new base station is part of the neighbour cell list of the serving base station. [0132] For simple fake base station it is typical that they provide a fantasy cell ID. It is very unlikely that such a fantasy cell ID is by accident part of the neighbour cell list of the serving base station. [0137] Hence it is advantageous to continue with more steps for adjusting the fake base station rating, now with step S9. [0138] In this step it is checked the signal strength of the new base station. This signal strength is in particular measured by way of reference signal received power (RSRP) or wideband RSRP. One or both of it are measured in step S9 for the new base station. [0145] Here it is checked the content of the received SIBs from the new base station with that of the serving base station.).
Kim '205 and Shaik are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of determining suitable base stations for cell selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Shaik to create a user equipment (UE), configured to: perform in the idle mode, a cell reselection to select a second base station; wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to identify base stations that are appropriate for selection and to recognize base stations that may be invalid.
Kim '205 fails to disclose a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory.
However, Norrman discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising:
at least one memory; and ([0168] The network device 120 may further comprise a memory 905 comprising one or more memory units.)
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory ([0167] The embodiments herein for detecting a false base station may be implemented through one or more processors, such as the processing unit 904 in the network device 120 depicted in FIG. 9, together with computer program code for performing the functions and actions of the embodiments herein.).
Kim '205 and Norrman are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reporting, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Norrman to create a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need prevent the user device from further attempting to connect to an unauthorized base station.
Regarding claim 8, Kim '205 discloses a base station, configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) in a connected mode, a configuration for cell measurement in an idle mode ([0030] Referring to FIG. 2, at step 210, eNB 205 transmits information required for configuring MDT, i.e., channel measurement configuration information (hereinafter, MDT configuration), through a LoggedMeasurementConfiguration message to UE 200 which is in the connected mode.);
receive a report comprising a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations ([0029] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating an MDT measurement process in which a terminal logs measurement information in an idle mode and then reports the measurement information in a connected mode. [0034] When the UE 200 enters the connected mode at step 235, the UE 200 notifies the presence or absence of logged MDT measurement information to the eNB 205 at step 240. Depending on circumstances, the eNB 205 may request a report. If there is a request, the UE 200 reports the logged MDT measurement information to the eNB 205 and deletes the reported information.), wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of a set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both ([0033] The MDT measurement information is logged for each measurement sample at step 230. The logged MDT measurement information may include therein the ID of a serving cell (i.e., Global cell ID), channel measurement information of a serving cell (i.e., RSRP/RSRQ value, etc.), channel measurement information of neighbor cells, UE location information, relative time information, and the like.), wherein the set of parameters are in accordance with the configuration for the cell measurement in the idle mode ([0032] If an RRC state of the UE 200 is changed to the idle mode from the connected mode, the UE 200 starts performing MDT at step 215. [0009] The present invention is to attain a technical solution for providing a method in which user equipment can suitably report, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network. [0011] … receiving from the terminal a UE information response message including the measurement information associated with the connection failure.).
Kim '205 fails to disclose a base station, comprising: wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
However, Shaik discloses a base station, comprising:
wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station ([0091] It is hence proposed a method further comprising in case of rating the second base station as fake base station the step of sending an alert message to at least one of: [0092] the cellular network via the first base station, and [0093] at least one other wireless communication device connected by means of a device-to-device communication link. [0130] According to the exemplary embodiment shown in FIG. 2a, it is first checked in step S6 if the new base station is part of the neighbour cell list of the serving base station. [0132] For simple fake base station it is typical that they provide a fantasy cell ID. It is very unlikely that such a fantasy cell ID is by accident part of the neighbour cell list of the serving base station. [0137] Hence it is advantageous to continue with more steps for adjusting the fake base station rating, now with step S9. [0138] In this step it is checked the signal strength of the new base station. This signal strength is in particular measured by way of reference signal received power (RSRP) or wideband RSRP. One or both of it are measured in step S9 for the new base station. [0145] Here it is checked the content of the received SIBs from the new base station with that of the serving base station.).
Kim '205 and Shaik are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of determining suitable base stations for cell selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Shaik to create a base station, comprising: wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to identify base stations that are appropriate for selection and to recognize base stations that may be invalid.
Kim '205 fails to disclose a base station, comprising:
at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit, to the UE, an alarm identifying the false base station.
However, Norrman discloses a base station, comprising:
at least one memory; and ([0168] The network device 120 may further comprise a memory 905 comprising one or more memory units.)
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to ([0167] The embodiments herein for detecting a false base station may be implemented through one or more processors, such as the processing unit 904 in the network device 120 depicted in FIG. 9, together with computer program code for performing the functions and actions of the embodiments herein.):
transmit, to the UE, an alarm identifying the false base station ([0132] The network node 110 provides an indication that a false base station may be present when the collected information differs from the target information, or if there is a deviation or anomaly between the logged data and the data expected from cell planning and configuration. The indication may be provided by triggering an alarm, which may raise the alert level, or raising a warning message providing an alert on a possible presence of a false or rogue base station in the area.).
Kim '205 and Norrman are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reporting, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Norrman to create a base station, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: transmit, to the UE, an alarm identifying the false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prevent the user device from further attempting to connect to an unauthorized base station.
Regarding claim 9, Kim '205 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, in a connected mode, a configuration for cell measurement in an idle mode ([0030] Referring to FIG. 2, at step 210, eNB 205 transmits information required for configuring MDT, i.e., channel measurement configuration information (hereinafter, MDT configuration), through a LoggedMeasurementConfiguration message to UE 200 which is in the connected mode.);
performing a set of cell measurements in the idle mode in response to the received configuration and based at least in part on a failure to establish a connection with a first base station ([0032] If an RRC state of the UE 200 is changed to the idle mode from the connected mode, the UE 200 starts performing MDT at step 215. [0009] The present invention is to attain a technical solution for providing a method in which user equipment can suitably report, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network. [0011] … receiving from the terminal a UE information response message including the measurement information associated with the connection failure.);
logging a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations based at least in part on the set of cell measurements in the idle mode, wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of the set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both ([0033] The MDT measurement information is logged for each measurement sample at step 230. The logged MDT measurement information may include therein the ID of a serving cell (i.e., Global cell ID), channel measurement information of a serving cell (i.e., RSRP/RSRQ value, etc.), channel measurement information of neighbor cells, UE location information, relative time information, and the like.);
transmitting, to the second base station, a report comprising the logged set of parameters associated with the set of base stations during the idle mode ([0029] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating an MDT measurement process in which a terminal logs measurement information in an idle mode and then reports the measurement information in a connected mode. [0034] When the UE 200 enters the connected mode at step 235, the UE 200 notifies the presence or absence of logged MDT measurement information to the eNB 205 at step 240. Depending on circumstances, the eNB 205 may request a report. If there is a request, the UE 200 reports the logged MDT measurement information to the eNB 205 and deletes the reported information.).
Kim '205 fails to disclose a method, comprising:
performing, in the idle mode, a cell reselection to select a second base station;
wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
However, Shaik discloses a method, comprising:
performing, in the idle mode, a cell reselection to select a second base station; ([0118] FIG. 2(a+b) shows a flow chart of one preferred embodiment of the inventive method. The flow charts starts in step S1 with a wireless communication device which is camping on a base station. Camping in this context means that, in particular after powering on, the wireless communication device first selects an appropriate cellular network that it will register with. Then it selects a cell, resp. the base station of a cell, receives broadcasted information from this base station, in particular including the cellular network the base station belongs to and a cell ID, and then sends a registration request. When this is approved by the base station, the wireless communication device is operating in idle mode in association to this base station. [0157] During the following steps, should the second base station not provide a conspicuous behaviour—or the wireless communication device has not implemented the embodiment shown in FIGS. 2a+b—then the second base station was chosen for reselection. Consequently in step S20 the reselection is carried out to the second base station.)
wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station ([0091] It is hence proposed a method further comprising in case of rating the second base station as fake base station the step of sending an alert message to at least one of: [0092] the cellular network via the first base station, and [0093] at least one other wireless communication device connected by means of a device-to-device communication link. [0130] According to the exemplary embodiment shown in FIG. 2a, it is first checked in step S6 if the new base station is part of the neighbour cell list of the serving base station. [0132] For simple fake base station it is typical that they provide a fantasy cell ID. It is very unlikely that such a fantasy cell ID is by accident part of the neighbour cell list of the serving base station. [0137] Hence it is advantageous to continue with more steps for adjusting the fake base station rating, now with step S9. [0138] In this step it is checked the signal strength of the new base station. This signal strength is in particular measured by way of reference signal received power (RSRP) or wideband RSRP. One or both of it are measured in step S9 for the new base station. [0145] Here it is checked the content of the received SIBs from the new base station with that of the serving base station.).
Kim '205 and Shaik are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of determining suitable base stations for cell selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Shaik to create a method, comprising: performing, in the idle mode, a cell reselection to select a second base station; wherein one or more of the logged set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to identify base stations that are appropriate for selection and to recognize base stations that may be invalid.
Regarding claim 15, Kim '205 discloses a method performed by a base station, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE) in a connected mode, a configuration for cell measurement in an idle mode ([0030] Referring to FIG. 2, at step 210, eNB 205 transmits information required for configuring MDT, i.e., channel measurement configuration information (hereinafter, MDT configuration), through a LoggedMeasurementConfiguration message to UE 200 which is in the connected mode.);
receiving a report comprising a set of parameters associated with a set of base stations ([0029] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating an MDT measurement process in which a terminal logs measurement information in an idle mode and then reports the measurement information in a connected mode. [0034] When the UE 200 enters the connected mode at step 235, the UE 200 notifies the presence or absence of logged MDT measurement information to the eNB 205 at step 240. Depending on circumstances, the eNB 205 may request a report. If there is a request, the UE 200 reports the logged MDT measurement information to the eNB 205 and deletes the reported information.), wherein the set of parameters comprises a respective identity associated with each base station of a set of base stations, a respective location associated with each base station of the set of base stations, or both ([0033] The MDT measurement information is logged for each measurement sample at step 230. The logged MDT measurement information may include therein the ID of a serving cell (i.e., Global cell ID), channel measurement information of a serving cell (i.e., RSRP/RSRQ value, etc.), channel measurement information of neighbor cells, UE location information, relative time information, and the like.), wherein the set of parameters are in accordance with the configuration for the cell measurement in the idle mode ([0032] If an RRC state of the UE 200 is changed to the idle mode from the connected mode, the UE 200 starts performing MDT at step 215. [0009] The present invention is to attain a technical solution for providing a method in which user equipment can suitably report, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network. [0011] … receiving from the terminal a UE information response message including the measurement information associated with the connection failure.).
Kim '205 fails to disclose a method, comprising: wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
However, Shaik discloses a method, comprising:
wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station ([0091] It is hence proposed a method further comprising in case of rating the second base station as fake base station the step of sending an alert message to at least one of: [0092] the cellular network via the first base station, and [0093] at least one other wireless communication device connected by means of a device-to-device communication link. [0130] According to the exemplary embodiment shown in FIG. 2a, it is first checked in step S6 if the new base station is part of the neighbour cell list of the serving base station. [0132] For simple fake base station it is typical that they provide a fantasy cell ID. It is very unlikely that such a fantasy cell ID is by accident part of the neighbour cell list of the serving base station. [0137] Hence it is advantageous to continue with more steps for adjusting the fake base station rating, now with step S9. [0138] In this step it is checked the signal strength of the new base station. This signal strength is in particular measured by way of reference signal received power (RSRP) or wideband RSRP. One or both of it are measured in step S9 for the new base station. [0145] Here it is checked the content of the received SIBs from the new base station with that of the serving base station.).
Kim '205 and Shaik are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of determining suitable base stations for cell selection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Shaik to create a method, comprising: wherein one or more of the set of parameters are indicative of a false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to identify base stations that are appropriate for selection and to recognize base stations that may be invalid.
Kim '205 fails to disclose a method, comprising: transmitting, to the UE, an alarm identifying the false base station.
However, Norrman discloses a method, comprising:
transmitting, to the UE, an alarm identifying the false base station ([0132] The network node 110 provides an indication that a false base station may be present when the collected information differs from the target information, or if there is a deviation or anomaly between the logged data and the data expected from cell planning and configuration. The indication may be provided by triggering an alarm, which may raise the alert level, or raising a warning message providing an alert on a possible presence of a false or rogue base station in the area.).
Kim '205 and Norrman are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of reporting, to a network, measurement information associated with a case in which the terminal fails to connect with the network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205 with Norrman to create a method, comprising: transmitting, to the UE, an alarm identifying the false base station.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to prevent the user device from further attempting to connect to an unauthorized base station.
Claims 3, 10, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '205 in view of Shaik and Norrman, and further in view of Lee et al (WO2014010963A1) (hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding claim 3, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the UE wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
However, Lee discloses the UE wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells ([0123] As another example, in a specific cell group, base stations constituting the corresponding cell group may be formed and selected by the base stations performing a predefined rule-based process).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for enabling a terminal to perform a measurements in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Lee to create the UE wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to perform measurements on a specific cell group to improve radio resource management of a terminal in a wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
However, Lee discloses the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells ([0123] As another example, in a specific cell group, base stations constituting the corresponding cell group may be formed and selected by the base stations performing a predefined rule-based process).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for enabling a terminal to perform a measurements in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Lee to create the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to perform measurements on a specific cell group to improve radio resource management of a terminal in a wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 16, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
However, Lee discloses the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells ([0123] As another example, in a specific cell group, base stations constituting the corresponding cell group may be formed and selected by the base stations performing a predefined rule-based process).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Lee are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of methods for enabling a terminal to perform a measurements in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Lee to create the method wherein each base station of the set of base stations is associated with a cell of a set of cells.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to perform measurements on a specific cell group to improve radio resource management of a terminal in a wireless communication system.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, in view of Sarkar et al (US8437769B1) (hereinafter "Sarkar").
Regarding claim 4, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the UE configured to: measure, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations.
However, Sarkar discloses the UE configured to: measure, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations (Col. 5, Lines 14-16 The method may begin when a mobile station (e.g., mobile station 18) is in an idle state monitoring the paging channel of its primary BTS, as indicated by block 100. Col. 6, Lines 14-18 To determine whether any neighbor-set BTS is a candidate for an idle handoff, the mobile station may compare the pilot signal strength that the mobile station measured for its primary BTS to the pilot signal strengths that the mobile station measured for its neighbor-set BTSs).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Sarkar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of monitoring a channel for system information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Sarkar to create the UE configured to: measure, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine whether a neighboring base station is a good candidate for handoff.
Regarding claim 11, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the method, wherein performing the set of cell measurements in the idle mode comprises: measuring, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations.
However, Sarkar discloses the method, wherein performing the set of cell measurements in the idle mode comprises: measuring, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations (Col. 5, Lines 14-16 The method may begin when a mobile station (e.g., mobile station 18) is in an idle state monitoring the paging channel of its primary BTS, as indicated by block 100. Col. 6, Lines 14-18 To determine whether any neighbor-set BTS is a candidate for an idle handoff, the mobile station may compare the pilot signal strength that the mobile station measured for its primary BTS to the pilot signal strengths that the mobile station measured for its neighbor-set BTSs).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Sarkar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of monitoring a channel for system information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Sarkar to create the method, wherein performing the set of cell measurements in the idle mode comprises: measuring, in the idle mode, a respective signal strength associated with each base station of the set of base stations.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine whether a neighboring base station is a good candidate for handoff.
Claims 5-7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, in view of Fujishiro et al (US20180014275A1) (hereinafter "Fujishiro").
Regarding claim 5, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the processor is configured to cause the UE to switch from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration.
However, Fujishiro discloses the UE, wherein the processor is configured to cause the UE to switch from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of receiving and storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro to create the UE, wherein the processor is configured to cause the UE to switch from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 6, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
However, Fujishiro discloses the UE, wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro to create the UE, wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 7, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode.
However, Fujishiro discloses the UE, wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro to create the UE, wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 12, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: switching from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration.
However, Fujishiro discloses the method, further comprising: switching from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro to create the method, further comprising: switching from a connected mode to the idle mode in response to the received configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 13, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the method, wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
However, Fujishiro discloses the method, wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro to create the method, wherein the connected mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) connected mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Regarding claim 14, Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, fails to disclose the method, wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode.
However, Fujishiro discloses the method, wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode ([0109] the eNB 200-1 transmits, to the UE 100, an RRC Connection Release including the extended DRX configuration information, … In response to this, the UE 100 releases the RRC connection with the eNB 200-1 (transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC idle state) and configures the extended DRX, based on the received extended DRX configuration information).
Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of storing system configuration from the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings Kim '205, as modified by Shaik and Norrman, and Fujishiro to create the method, wherein the idle mode comprises a radio resource control (RRC) idle mode.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have a baseline in which decisions regarding mobility can be made.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8, 9, and 15, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hapsari et al (US20130102303A1) discloses a user equipment configured to measure radio quality in the idle mode in accordance with measurement target information indicating that the user equipment is preset to report a measurement value of the radio quality to a base station.
Moisanen et al (US20170215132A1) discloses a method for avoiding reselection of a fake cell in a wireless communication network, involving selecting cell from other cells that are not included in set-aside cell list to request network service.
Miao et al (WO2018218518A1) discloses a method for performing fake base station detection, involves comparing score with threshold, and barring communication with base station for time period when comparison indicates that base station is likely fake.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419