DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/1/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the Examiner has considered the IDS as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 12-14, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110705730 A, hereafter J in view of Pátkai, Béla, and Duncan McFarlane. "RFID-based sensor integration in aerospace." Integration 2 (2006): 1, hereafter Patkai.
Regarding Claim 1: The reference discloses An electronic system for modeling an aircraft in a testing tunnel, the electronic system comprising:
a scale model of the aircraft that includes a plurality of components installed in the testing tunnel to form a first model configuration; (J. [0004] The wind tunnel mainly comprises a tunnel body, a driving system and a measurement and control system, generates and controls airflow in an artificial mode, is used for simulating the flowing condition of air around an aircraft or an entity, can measure the action effect of the airflow on the entity and observe physical phenomena, is one of the most common and effective tools for aerodynamic experiments,)
wherein each of the components include an identifier having unique identification information for the respective components, wherein each of the components is identifiable by the identifier when the respective components are installed in the testing tunnel for the first model configuration; (J. [0008] The technical scheme of the invention is as follows: the RFID identification intelligent wind tunnel system based on the Internet of things comprises a passage door, a tool library, a local server and a cloud server, wherein the local server is connected with a WEB end, and the cloud server is connected with a mobile platform; the passage door comprises a frame-shaped door body, an RFID collector and a large-screen intelligent operating system are arranged on the frame-shaped door body, and the large-screen intelligent operating system and the RFID collector are both connected with the local server; the tool library comprises various overhaul tools pasted with RFID labels)
a host machine configured to select data about the components installed for the first model configuration, wherein the host machine is configured to execute instructions from a memory, via a processor; and (J. [0008] The technical scheme of the invention is as follows: the RFID identification intelligent wind tunnel system based on the Internet of things comprises a passage door, a tool library, a local server and a cloud server, wherein the local server is connected with a WEB end, and the cloud server is connected with a mobile platform;)
wherein the host machine is configured to:
receive the unique identification information from the components …(J. [0036] performing air inlet tunnel management and control when a maintainer enters the wind tunnel, applying for a borrowing tool process by the maintainer through the mobile platform 6 in advance to complete borrowing approval, logging in the intelligent device operation client 122 of the large-screen intelligent operation system 12, checking and electronically registering tools on the maintainer through the access door 1, sending read data to the local server 3 through the RFID collector 11, comparing the read data with an applied tool list, acquiring images of the maintainer through the face recognition module 123 after the comparison is successful, allowing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel for operation, and refusing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel if the comparison is failed.)
determine if the unique identification information corresponds to the selected data; and (J. [0036] performing air inlet tunnel management and control when a maintainer enters the wind tunnel, applying for a borrowing tool process by the maintainer through the mobile platform 6 in advance to complete borrowing approval, logging in the intelligent device operation client 122 of the large-screen intelligent operation system 12, checking and electronically registering tools on the maintainer through the access door 1, sending read data to the local server 3 through the RFID collector 11, comparing the read data with an applied tool list, acquiring images of the maintainer through the face recognition module 123 after the comparison is successful, allowing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel for operation, and refusing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel if the comparison is failed.)
output a notification if the selected data does not match the unique identification information. (J. [0036] performing air inlet tunnel management and control when a maintainer enters the wind tunnel, applying for a borrowing tool process by the maintainer through the mobile platform 6 in advance to complete borrowing approval, logging in the intelligent device operation client 122 of the large-screen intelligent operation system 12, checking and electronically registering tools on the maintainer through the access door 1, sending read data to the local server 3 through the RFID collector 11, comparing the read data with an applied tool list, acquiring images of the maintainer through the face recognition module 123 after the comparison is successful, allowing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel for operation, and refusing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel if the comparison is failed.)
J does not explicitly recite the components of the first model configuration…
However, Patkai recites component of a first model configuration (Patkai. Page 6, Section 1.3.4, 2nd paragraph, “In case a part has a unique ID, the ‘state’ usually means location in either a supply chain or in the custody of an end user. Adding more ‘state’ information by linking sensor data to the part creates new opportunities for tracking and tracing. When querying tags or information systems new types of questions can be asked about the state of uniquely identified objects; the only limitation is the existence of an appropriate sensor on the object or in its environment.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the model configuration of parts of Patkai with the RFID system of tools of J since “Integration of sensors with either the tags (hardware integration) or their data streams (virtual integration) will lead to a higher level of synergy and more technological possibilities.” (Patkai. Page 3, Section 1.1, 2nd paragraph)
Regarding Claim 2: The reference discloses The electronic system of claim 1 wherein the identifier includes a radio frequency identification (RFID) tag that stores the unique identification information for each of the components, and the host machine includes an RFID reader configured to receive the unique identification information from each identifier, and wherein the host machine is configured to receive the unique identification information from the RFID reader. (J. [0036] performing air inlet tunnel management and control when a maintainer enters the wind tunnel, applying for a borrowing tool process by the maintainer through the mobile platform 6 in advance to complete borrowing approval, logging in the intelligent device operation client 122 of the large-screen intelligent operation system 12, checking and electronically registering tools on the maintainer through the access door 1, sending read data to the local server 3 through the RFID collector 11, comparing the read data with an applied tool list, acquiring images of the maintainer through the face recognition module 123 after the comparison is successful, allowing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel for operation, and refusing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel if the comparison is failed.)
Regarding Claim 3: J does not explicitly recite The electronic system of claim 1 wherein the identifier includes a transducer electronic data sheet (TEDS) chip having a transducer, and the TEDS chip stores the unique identification information for each of the components, and the host machine includes a TEDS network configured to receive the unique identification information from each identifier via the transducer of the TEDS chip.
However, Patkai recites wherein the identifier includes a transducer electronic data sheet (TEDS) chip having a transducer, and the TEDS chip stores the unique identification information for each of the components, and the host machine includes a TEDS network configured to receive the unique identification information from each identifier via the transducer of the TEDS chip. (Patkai. Page 15, Section 3.3, 1st paragraph, “The IEEE 1451 family of standards establishes the necessary interfaces and protocols for sensors, actuators, microprocessors and instruments to cooperate harmoniously. The Transducer Electronic Data Sheet (TEDS) allows the self-description of the individual sensors and, by connecting through one of the standard wireless (1451.5) analogue or digital interfaces to the network, they can provide data to the chosen destination. These standards do not provide any RFID functionality, they integrate sensors only. However, if integration of a greater number of sensors is required, the use of these standards is very convenient.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the TEDS aspect of Patkai with the RFID system of J since it “establishes the necessary interfaces and protocols for sensors, actuators, microprocessors and instruments to cooperate harmoniously. …allows the self-description of the individual sensors and, by connecting through one of the standard wireless (1451.5) analogue or digital interfaces to the network, they can provide data to the chosen destination. … the use of these standards is very convenient” (Patkai. Page 15, Section 3.3, 1st paragraph)
Regarding Claim 5: The reference discloses The electronic system of claim 1 wherein the notification includes a visual indicator. (J. 0008] The technical scheme of the invention is as follows: the RFID identification intelligent wind tunnel system based on the Internet of things comprises a passage door, a tool library, a local server and a cloud server, wherein the local server is connected with a WEB end, and the cloud server is connected with a mobile platform; the passage door comprises a frame-shaped door body, an RFID collector and a large-screen intelligent operating system are arranged on the frame-shaped door body, and the large-screen intelligent operating system and the RFID collector are both connected with the local server;)
Regarding Claim 7: The reference discloses The electronic system of claim 1 wherein the notification includes a locking feature that prevents operation of the testing tunnel. (J. [0036] performing air inlet tunnel management and control when a maintainer enters the wind tunnel, applying for a borrowing tool process by the maintainer through the mobile platform 6 in advance to complete borrowing approval, logging in the intelligent device operation client 122 of the large-screen intelligent operation system 12, checking and electronically registering tools on the maintainer through the access door 1, sending read data to the local server 3 through the RFID collector 11, comparing the read data with an applied tool list, acquiring images of the maintainer through the face recognition module 123 after the comparison is successful, allowing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel for operation, and refusing the maintainer to enter the wind tunnel if the comparison is failed.)
Regarding Claim 8: The reference discloses The electronic system of claim 1 wherein:
J does not explicitly recite the components include a base component and a plurality of interchangeable components interchangeably attached to the base component; the base component and each of the interchangeable components are different from each other; and the base component includes at least one identifier and the interchangeable components each include at least one identifier.
However, Patkai discloses the components include a base component and a plurality of interchangeable components interchangeably attached to the base component; the base component and each of the interchangeable components are different from each other; and the base component includes at least one identifier and the interchangeable components each include at least one identifier. (Patkai. Page 21, Section 6.1, 3rd paragraph “The configuration of the aircraft will be known more precisely, parts will have a unique ID and on-board data can be more meaningful in the light of lifecycle data collected about parts. Whenever a part is exchanged between aircraft, not just the usually-required documentation will travel with the part; depending on the type of integration, sensor data on the tag or a link to the database of the previous owner where more information is available, will also travel.” Examiner Notes the aircraft reads on the claimed “base component” and the parts read on the “interchangeable components.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the model configuration of Patkai with the RFID system of J since “Integration of sensors with either the tags (hardware integration) or their data streams (virtual integration) will lead to a higher level of synergy and more technological possibilities.” (Patkai. Page 3, Section 1.1, 2nd paragraph)
Regarding Claim 12: See rejection for claim 1.
Regarding Claim 13: See rejection for claim 2.
Regarding Claim 14: See rejection for claim 3.
Regarding Claim 16: The reference discloses The method of claim 12 wherein
J does not explicitly recite the memory of the host machine includes a library containing a plurality of possible components to be used to form a model configuration including the first model configuration, wherein selecting the data includes accessing the library via the processor and selecting the components from the possible components as the data from the library.
However, Patkai discloses the memory of the host machine includes a library containing a plurality of possible components to be used to form a model configuration including the first model configuration, wherein selecting the data includes accessing the library via the processor and selecting the components from the possible components as the data from the library. (Patkai, Page16, Section 4, 1st paragraph, “Virtual integration mostly assumes the application of Networked RFID (often referred to as NRFID), which is the combination of a unique identifier (for example, an Electronic Product Code/EPC) stored on a tag and a back-end database storing complementary data related to physical objects. Practically it means that the tag is at least sometimes ‘online’, that is, connected to a computer network. Data is transmitted to and from the tag and additional data is stored at the back-end.” See also Figure 6.1 showing parts connected to RFID tags and a database)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the model configuration of Patkai with the RFID system of J since “Integration of sensors with either the tags (hardware integration) or their data streams (virtual integration) will lead to a higher level of synergy and more technological possibilities.” (Patkai. Page 3, Section 1.1, 2nd paragraph)
Regarding Claim 17: See rejection for claim 5.
Regarding Claim 19: See rejection for claim 7.
5. Claim(s) 6, 9-10, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN110705730, hereafter J in view of Patkai further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200183424, hereafter Li.
Regarding Claim 6: J and Patkai do not explicitly recite The electronic system of claim 1 wherein the notification includes an auditory indicator.
However Li recites wherein the notification includes an auditory indicator. (Li. [0074] “The enhanced accuracy of the estimated dynamic pressure results in fewer spurious alarms generated by the common mode monitor when compared to conventional systems.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize an audio alarm as in Li for the RFID/model system of J and Patkai since an audio alarm is a well known and understood methodology of informing people of an event.
Regarding Claim 9: J discloses The electronic system of claim 8 wherein: the testing tunnel includes a fluid testing tunnel configured to receive the first model configuration. (J. [0004] The wind tunnel mainly comprises a tunnel body, a driving system and a measurement and control system, generates and controls airflow in an artificial mode, is used for simulating the flowing condition of air around an aircraft or an entity, can measure the action effect of the airflow on the entity and observe physical phenomena, is one of the most common and effective tools for aerodynamic experiments,)
J does not explicitly recite the interchangeable components and to form the first model configuration.
However, Patkai recites the interchangeable components and to form the first model configuration. (Patkai. Page 6, Section 1.3.4, 2nd paragraph, “In case a part has a unique ID, the ‘state’ usually means location in either a supply chain or in the custody of an end user. Adding more ‘state’ information by linking sensor data to the part creates new opportunities for tracking and tracing. When querying tags or information systems new types of questions can be asked about the state of uniquely identified objects; the only limitation is the existence of an appropriate sensor on the object or in its environment.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the model configuration of parts of Patkai with the RFID system of tools of J since “Integration of sensors with either the tags (hardware integration) or their data streams (virtual integration) will lead to a higher level of synergy and more technological possibilities.” (Patkai. Page 3, Section 1.1, 2nd paragraph)
J and Patkai do not explicitly recite the base component includes a plurality of fuselages of the aircraft; include a plurality of wings of the aircraft and a plurality of high-lift devices of the wing; one of the plurality of high-lift devices is attached to a selected one of the wings to define the selected one of the wings having the selected one of the high-lift devices thereon, and the selected one of the wings is attached to a selected one of the fuselages
However Li recites the base component includes a plurality of fuselages of the aircraft; (Li. [0036] “The static ports 64 are located on a fuselage 66 in a location aft of the plurality of pitot tubes 40, and adjacent to the wings 70.”) include a plurality of wings of the aircraft (Li. [0036] “The static ports 64 are located on a fuselage 66 in a location aft of the plurality of pitot tubes 40, and adjacent to the wings 70.”) and a plurality of high-lift devices of the wing; one of the plurality of high-lift devices is attached to a selected one of the wings to define the selected one of the wings having the selected one of the high-lift devices thereon, and the selected one of the wings is attached to a selected one of the fuselages (Li. [0038] “The control surfaces 68 (FIG. 3) of the aircraft 10 are now described. The wings 70 both include a leading edge 84 and a trailing edge 86. Both wings 70 include corresponding leading edge slats 88 located at the leading edge 84 of each wing 70 and corresponding trailing edge flaps 90 located at the trailing edge 86 of each wing 70.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the parts of an aircraft from Li with the RFID modeling system of J and Patkai since the fuselage, wings, and flaps represent standard parts of an aircraft.
Regarding Claim 10: J discloses The electronic system of claim 9 wherein the fluid testing tunnel is a wind testing tunnel, (J. [0004] The wind tunnel mainly comprises a tunnel body, a driving system and a measurement and control system, generates and controls airflow in an artificial mode, is used for simulating the flowing condition of air around an aircraft or an entity, can measure the action effect of the airflow on the entity and observe physical phenomena, is one of the most common and effective tools for aerodynamic experiments. See also [0010] In the intelligent wind tunnel system based on the RFID identification of the Internet of things, the local server comprises a database and a management platform.”)
J and Patkai do not explicitly recite and wherein the host machine is configured to store, via the memory, results from operation of the wind testing tunnel of the first model configuration in an aerodynamic database of the memory.
However Li discloses wherein the host machine is configured to store, via the memory, results from operation of the wind testing tunnel of the first model configuration in an aerodynamic database of the memory. (Li. [0058] “The coefficient three-dimensional look-up tables 220 are derived from data collected during testing (e.g., wind-tunnel test data) and data collected during flight testing.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the testing database of Li with the RFID modeling system of J and Patkai since it would allow for a centralized location to access necessary data for reference or calculation.
Regarding Claim 18: See rejection for claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 4, 11, 15, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 4: The reference discloses The electronic system of claim 1 wherein each of the components include electrical circuitry, and wherein the identifier includes a resistor having a predetermined resistance for each of the components, and wherein the components are assembled relative to each other such that the resistor of each of the components close a loop of the electrical circuitry to provide a sum of resistance as the unique identification information, and wherein the host machine is configured to calculate the sum of resistance as the unique identification information.
Claim 11: The electronic system of claim 9 wherein: the host machine is configured to identify any of the base components and the interchangeable components that caused the notification to occur to define an improper component; the improper component is detached from the selected one of the base components or detached from the selected one of the interchangeable components of the first model configuration; a proper component is attached to the selected one of the base components or attached to the selected one of the interchangeable components to form a corrected first model configuration; and the host machine is configured to: identify, via the identifier, each of the components, including the base components and the interchangeable components, installed in the testing tunnel for the corrected first model configuration; receive, via the host machine, the unique identification information from the components of the corrected first model configuration; determine if the unique identification information for the corrected first model configuration corresponds to the selected data; and allow operation of the fluid testing tunnel if the selected data matches the unique identification information for the corrected first model configuration.
Claim 15: The method of claim 12 wherein each of the components include electrical circuitry, and wherein the identifier includes a resistor having a predetermined resistance for each of the components, and wherein installing the components includes assembling the components relative to each other such that the resistor of each of the components close a loop of the electrical circuitry to provide a sum of resistance as the unique identification information, and wherein receiving the unique identification information includes calculating the sum of resistance via the host machine.
Claim 20: The method of claim 12 further comprising: removing one or more of the components from the first model configuration that does not match the selected data due to the outputted notification; replacing the removed one or more of the components with a proper one or more of the components to form a corrected first model configuration; identifying, via the identifier, each of the components installed in the testing tunnel for the corrected first model configuration; receiving, via the host machine, the unique identification information from the components of the corrected first model configuration; determining if the unique identification information for the corrected first model configuration corresponds to the selected data; and operating the test tunnel if the selected data matches the unique identification information for the corrected first model configuration.
The closest prior art of record includes:
Schmalzel, John, et al. "Smart sensor demonstration payload." IEEE instrumentation & measurement magazine 13.5 (2010): 8-15 which teaches the use of RFID in sensors of aerospace systems.
Śliwa, Romana Ewa, et al. "The latest advances in wireless communication in aviation, wind turbines and bridges." Inventions 7.1 (2022): 18 which teaches the use of wireless communication such as RFID in aviation systems.
Bowman, Daniel D. "Implementing RFID Automation into a Small Scale Aircraft Maintenance System." (2010) which teaches the use of RFID in aircraft maintenance systems.
However, the closest prior art of record does not explicitly teach or render obvious the limitations above,
particularly in combination with the other limitations within the claims. The dependent claims are allowable for at least the same reasons as their respective independent claims.
Conclusion
7. Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-14, and 16-19 are rejected.
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schmalzel, John, et al. "Smart sensor demonstration payload." IEEE instrumentation & measurement magazine 13.5 (2010): 8-15 which teaches the use of RFID in sensors of aerospace systems.
Śliwa, Romana Ewa, et al. "The latest advances in wireless communication in aviation, wind turbines and bridges." Inventions 7.1 (2022): 18 which teaches the use of wireless communication such as RFID in aviation systems.
Bowman, Daniel D. "Implementing RFID Automation into a Small Scale Aircraft Maintenance System." (2010) which teaches the use of RFID in aircraft maintenance systems.
SAA
/SAIF A ALHIJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2186