DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. (US 5,137,607) in view of Mailey (US 1,969,655).
Regarding claim 1, the reference Anderson et al. teaches an apparatus, suitable for food processing (see Abstract; col. 1, lines 6-11; Fig. 1), comprising:
a reaction tank (10) that has an internal space (18) for storing a reactant, the reactant being in a liquid state (see col. 3, lines 2-27; Fig. 1);
a cooler (12) that cools the reactant, which is stored in the reaction tank (see col. 3, lines 2-11; Fig. 1); and
a catalytic reactor (32) that is disposed in the internal space (18) (see col. 3, lines 43-66; Fig. 1),
wherein the catalytic reactor (32) includes a reaction tube (32) and a light source (34) disposed in an interior of the reaction tube (see col. 3, lines 43-66; Fig. 1),
wherein an outer surface of the reaction tube (32) is provided with a photocatalyst (40) (see col. 3, lines 58-66; col. 5, lines 35-38; Fig. 1),
wherein the reaction tube (32) allows light radiated from the light source to pass through the reaction tube (see col. 3, lines 43-57; Fig. 1),
wherein the reaction tube has a first end, and the first end is closed in such a manner as to serve as a bottom surface of the reaction tube (see col. 3, lines 50-52; Fig. 3).
The reference Anderson et al. is, however, silent with respect to the interior of the reaction tube being filled with a dry gas. The reference Mailey teaches an apparatus for carrying a chemical reaction under the influence of actinic light including ultra violet light in which the desired rays are caused to pass to a reaction chamber through a screen of gas which is transparent to such rays (see page 1, lines 1-7; Fig. 1). The reference Mailey teaches that by surrounding the radiant energy source with gaseous screens that transmit the whole range of energy or that may selectively absorb certain wave-lengths, the nature of and the extent of certain chemical reactions may suitably be controlled (see page 1, lines 17-25). The reference Mailey further teaches the efficiency in the use of ultraviolet rays in connection with chemical reactions can be improved by arranging the apparatus for carrying such reactions such that UV radiation passes from a UV source (1) to the substance to be irradiated (3) through gases such as hydrogen, nitrogen, helium, or argon which are transparent to a short wave ultraviolet light (see page 1, lines 26-35; page 2, lines 23-43; Fig. 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Anderson et al. and Mailey, and filled the interior of the reaction tube (32) of Anderson et al. with any suitable ultraviolet transparent gas, including a dry gas, as claimed by applicant, since the reference Mailey teaches that efficiency in the use of ultraviolet radiation in connection with chemical reactions can be improved by arranging the apparatus for carrying such reactions such that the UV radiation passes from a UV source (1) to the substance to be irradiated (3) through gases known to be transparent to UV radiation at the desired wavelengths (see page 1, lines 26-53; page 2, lines 23-43; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the references Anderson et al. and Mailey disclose the apparatus, wherein the reaction tube has a second end sealed with a sealer, and the second end faces the first end (see Mailey: page 2, lines 1-14; Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, the references Anderson et al. and Mailey disclose the apparatus, wherein the catalytic reactor further includes a pressure regulator that is disposed at a second end and that adjusts a pressure inside the reaction tube by introducing a gas into the interior of the reaction tube or discharging a gas from the interior of the reaction tube, and the second end faces the first end (see Mailey: page 2, lines 24-37).
Regarding claim 7, the references Anderson et al. and Mailey disclose the apparatus, wherein the catalytic reactor further includes an introduction tube that allows the dry gas to be introduced into the reaction tube, and a discharge tube that allows the dry gas, which has been introduced into the reaction tube through the introduction tube, to be discharged outside the reaction tube (see Mailey: page 2, lines 24-37; Fig. 1).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. in view of Mailey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2016/0349223).
Regarding claim 3, the references Anderson et al. and Mailey are silent with respect to the catalytic reactor further including a color-changing member that is disposed in the interior of the reaction tube and whose color changes when the color-changing member comes into contact with moisture. The reference Kim et al. teaches a moisture sensing color change sensor whose color changes when the sensor comes into contact with moisture (see Abstract: paras. [0004]; [0006]; [0012]). The reference Kim et al. teaches that the sensor may find applications where detection of water, either as vapor or liquid, in industrial or health care environments is crucial for proper operations of systems, or to monitor the health and safety of the environment (see para. [0002]). The reference Kim et al. further teaches that in various environments, the presence of water would typically indicates the breakdown of controlled devices such as seals (see para. [0002]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a color changing sensor as taught by Kim et al. in the interior of the reaction tube (32) of Anderson et al. and Mailey to monitor for ingress of moisture into in the interior of the reaction tube (32) where presence of water or water vapor may not be desired for proper functioning of the light source (34) arranged within the reactor tube, since the reference Kim et al. teaches that the sensor may suitably find application where detection of water, either as vapor or liquid, in industrial or health care environments is crucial for proper operations of systems, or to monitor the health and safety of the environment (see para. [0002]).
Regarding claim 4, the references Anderson et al. and Mailey are silent with respect the catalytic reactor further including a moisture sensor that is disposed in the interior of the reaction tube (32) and that detects moisture. The reference Kim et al. teaches a moisture sensing color change sensor whose color changes when the sensor comes into contact with moisture (see Abstract: paras. [0004]; [0006]; [0012]). The reference Kim et al. teaches that the sensor may find applications where detection of water, either as vapor or liquid, in industrial or health care environments is crucial for proper operations of systems, or to monitor the health and safety of the environment (see para. [0002]). The reference Kim et al. further teaches that in various environments, the presence of water would typically indicates the breakdown of controlled devices such as seals (see para. [0002]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the moisture sensing color changing sensor as taught by Kim et al. in the interior of the reaction tube (32) of Anderson et al. and Mailey to monitor for ingress of moisture into in the interior of the reaction tube (32) where presence of water or water vapor may not be desired for proper functioning of the light source (34) arranged within the reactor tube, since the reference Kim et al. teaches that the sensor may suitably find application where detection of water, either as vapor or liquid, in industrial or health care environments is crucial for proper operations of systems, or to monitor the health and safety of the environment (see para. [0002]).
Claim 8 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. in view of Mailey as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Graentzel (US 3,993,911).
Regarding claim 8, the references Anderson et al. and Mailey do not specifically disclose wherein a distance between the introduction tube and the first end is shorter than a distance between the introduction tube and a second end, wherein the introduction tube has an introduction port through which the dry gas is introduced into the reaction tube, wherein a distance between the discharge tube and the second end is shorter than a distance between the discharge tube and the first end, and wherein the discharge tube has a discharge port through which a gas inside the reaction tube is discharged.
The reference Graentzel teaches an improved photochemical reactor which includes a reaction vessel (45), a UV-radiation source (40) arranged within the reaction vessel (45), and a quartz tube (43) enveloping the UV-radiation source (40) and defining an annular space between the reaction vessel (45) and the radiation source (40) (see Abstract; col. 4, lines 15-33; Fig. 3). The improvement being the provision of a luminescent material (40) which transforms the UV-light of the radiation source (38) into a specific wavelength characteristic of the luminescent material (40) in an intermediate space (41) between the reaction vessel (45) and the radiation source (38) (see col. 4, lines (see col 4, lines 15-33; Fig. 3). The reference Graentzel further teaches that the quartz tube (43) tube has a first end, and the first end is closed and defines a bottom surface of the quartz tube (43) (see col. 4, lines 15-33; Fig. 3). The reference Graentzel further teaches that the quartz tube (43) has a second end sealed with a sealer, and the second end faces the first end. The reference Graentzel further teaches that the quartz tube (43) includes an introduction tube (46) that allows a cooling gas to be introduced into the reaction tube, and a discharge tube (47) that allows the cooling gas to be discharged from the quartz tube (43) (see col. 4, lines 31-33; Fig. 3). The reference Graentzel further teaches wherein a distance between the introduction tube and the first end (i.e., the bottom surface of the quartz tube 43) is shorter than a distance between the introduction tube and a second end (i.e., a top end of the quartz tube 43), wherein the introduction tube has an introduction port through which the cooling gas is introduced into the quartz tube (43), wherein a distance between the discharge tube (47) and the second end (i.e., the top end of the quartz tube 43) is shorter than a distance between the discharge tube (46) and the first end (i.e., the bottom surface of the quartz tube 43) and wherein the discharge tube (47) has a discharge port through which a gas inside the quartz tube (43) is discharged ) (see Fig. 3).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reaction tube (32) of Anderson et al. and Mailey to include a gas introduction tube and discharge tube, as taught by Graentzel, and claimed by applicant, so as to conveniently allow charging and discharging of a UV transparent gas through a top end of the reaction tube (32) for cooling the UV radiation source (see col. 31-33; Fig. 3).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson et al. in view of Mailey as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Naito (US 2020/0178573).
Regarding claim 10, the references Anderson et al. and Mailey do not specifically disclose wherein the light source includes at least one of a fluorescent lamp that emits an ultraviolet ray or a light emitting diode (LED) that emits an ultraviolet ray. The reference Naito teaches an apparatus for sterilization treatment of beverages using an ultraviolet light having an emission wavelength of 280-320 nm (see Abstract; para. [0012]). The reference Naito teaches that suitable ultraviolet light irradiation devices for providing an ultraviolet light with a main emission wavelength of 280-320 nm can be an ultraviolet light emitting fluorescent lamp or an ultraviolet light emitting LED lamp (see paras. [0035]-[0037]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an ultraviolet light emitting fluorescent lamp or an ultraviolet light emitting LED lamp as taught by Naito in place of the UV light source of Anderson et al. and Mailey, since the reference Naito teaches that, as compare to conventional low-pressure mercury lamp (which has a main emission wavelength of 254 nm), the ultraviolet light emitting fluorescent lamp and ultraviolet light emitting LED lamp as taught by Naito, advantageously suppress deterioration of flavor while ensuring a sterilization effect (see paras. [0009]; [0013]; [0034]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest for the provision of a controller that stops light emission of the light source when moisture is detected by the moisture sensor, as required in claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature: wherein the catalytic reactor further includes a rectifier that is disposed near the introduction port of the introduction tube such that a gap is formed between the rectifier and an inner surface of the reaction tube, the introduction tube extending through the rectifier, as required in claim 9.
Conclusion
/LESSANEWORK SEIFU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774