DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 1/28/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/5/23 and 9/4/23 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/31/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The specific terminology used in Claim 1 creates an ambiguity regarding the identity of the electrical components. Claim 1 initially introduces "a terminal pole which is passed through an aperture in the cover plate". Later in the same claim, the text refers to the contact sheet metal member as being "electrically connected to the terminal passing through the aperture in the cover plate." The term "the terminal" lacks a proper antecedent basis because it was never previously introduced in the claim. While it may be inferred that "the terminal" refers to the previously introduced "terminal pole," the use of distinct terms for the same element suggests they might be different parts, leading to confusion regarding the scope of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/239492 A1 (WO’492) in view of DE 10 2017 216871 A1 (DE’871).
As to Claim 1:
WO’492 discloses:an energy storage element (lithium-ion cell) comprising an air- and liquid-tight sealed housing including a metallic, cup-shaped housing part (101) having a housing bottom (101a), a circumferential side wall (101b), and a terminal opening (pp. 7, 17–18; Figs. 7–8); and
a lid assembly (102) which closes the terminal opening, the lid assembly including a metallic cover plate and a terminal pole (108) passed through an aperture in the cover plate and electrically insulated (106) from the cover plate (pp. 18–20; Fig. 8);
an electrode-separator assembly (104) disposed in the housing comprising a first flat terminal end face and a second flat terminal end face (pp. 2–4, 17–18; Fig. 7);
an anode having an anode current collector (110) with a first edge (110e), a main region loaded with a layer of negative electrode material (122), and a free edge strip (121) extending along its first edge which is not loaded with the electrode material (pp. 2–4, 17–18; Fig. 3); and
a cathode having a cathode current collector (115) with a first edge (115e), a main region loaded with a layer of positive electrode material (116), and a free edge strip (117) extending along its first edge which is not loaded with the electrode material (pp. 2–4, 17–18; Figs. 7–8);
a contact sheet metal member (105) directly seated on the first edge (115e) of the cathode current collector and electrically connected to the terminal (108) (pp. 18–19; Fig. 7);
wherein the anode and the cathode are arranged such that the first edge of the anode current collector (110e) protrudes from the first terminal end face and the first edge of the cathode current collector (115e) protrudes from the second terminal end face (pp. 2–4; Fig. 2);
wherein the first edge of the anode current collector (110e), which is not in direct contact with the contact sheet metal member (105), is electrically connected to the housing bottom (101a) (pp. 17–18; Fig. 7); and wherein the terminal pole (108) sits directly on the contact sheet metal member (105) and is connected to it by welding (pp. 18–19; Fig. 8).
However, WO’492 does not explicitly disclose that the terminal pole is electrically insulated from the cover plate by a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material.
DE’871 discloses a lid (100) for a battery cell including a cover plate (102) and a terminal (104) passing through a breakthrough in the cover plate, wherein the terminal is electrically insulated and sealed from the cover plate by an electrically insulating cast adhesive (110) or molded cast body (pp. 2–4; Fig. 1). The cast adhesive corresponds to a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material, which fills the overlap region and provides electrical isolation and sealing (pp. 2–3).
WO’492 and DE’871 are analogous arts because both references are directed to electrochemical energy storage cells and address structural sealing and electrical insulation of terminals passing through metallic housings.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cured potting compound (cast adhesive) of DE’871 into the terminal insulation of WO’492. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because DE’871 teaches that the cast adhesive provides a robust, gas-tight, and hermetic seal in the overlapping area of the lid assembly while maintaining reliable electrical insulation (pp. 2–4). Substituting the insulation of WO’492 with the potting compound of DE’871 would have yielded the predictable result of improving the air- and liquid-tight sealing performance of the energy storage element while maintaining electrical isolation of the terminal.
As to Claim 2:
WO’492 further discloses a contact sheet metal member (105) directly seated on the first edge (115e) of the cathode current collector and electrically connected to the terminal (108); wherein the anode and cathode are arranged such that the first edges (110e, 115e) protrude (d1, d2) from the terminal end faces; wherein the first edge (110e) of the current collector not in contact with the contact sheet metal member (105) is electrically connected to the housing bottom (101a); and wherein the terminal pole (108) sits directly on the contact sheet metal member (105) and is connected to it by welding (pp. 17–19; Figs. 7–8).
However, WO’492 does not explicitly disclose a terminal pole electrically insulated from the cover plate by a cured potting compound, nor does it explicitly disclose an annular gap between the cover plate and the contact sheet metal member filled with such compound, or the gap being bounded radially outwardly by an O-ring-shaped insulating washer.
DE’871 discloses a cover (100) for a battery cell including a cover plate (102) and a terminal (104) passing through the cover plate, wherein an overlapping area (108) is formed between the terminal and the cover plate (pp. 2–3; Fig. 1). DE’871 teaches the use of an electrically insulating cast adhesive (110), corresponding to a cured potting compound, for electrically insulating and sealing the terminal relative to the cover plate (pp. 2–4). DE’871 further discloses that a plate portion of the terminal is arranged on an inner side of the cover plate such that a gap between the cover plate and the plate portion is filled with the adhesive (pp. 2–3).
Additionally, DE’871 discloses a gasket or sealing collar (112) that extends annularly around the overlapping area, the gasket being made of an electrically insulating plastic material and configured to seal the gap and prevent outward flow of the adhesive, thereby bounding the gap radially outwardly in an annular (O-ring-shaped) configuration (pp. 2–4; Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cast adhesive and annular gasket of DE’871 into the terminal assembly of WO’492. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because DE’871 teaches that the use of a cast adhesive in a gap bounded by an annular gasket prevents uncontrolled adhesive flow and enables a robust joining process while ensuring reliable electrical insulation and a hermetic seal (pp. 2–4). Applying these teachings to the energy storage element of WO’492 would have resulted in the predictable improvement of providing a leak-proof and electrically insulated terminal assembly.
As to Claim 3:
WO’492 further discloses that the cup-shaped housing part is electrically connected to the cathode; that the contact sheet metal member (155) sits on the first edge of the anode current collector (110e) and is joined to it by welding; that the cup-shaped housing part (101) consists of aluminum or an aluminum alloy; that the cover plate (102) consists of aluminum or an aluminum alloy; and that the contact sheet metal member (105) is in direct contact with the terminal pole (108) guided through the aperture in the cover plate and is connected thereto by welding (pp. 8–9, 19–20).
However, WO’492 does not explicitly disclose that the terminal pole is electrically insulated from the cover plate by a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material.
DE’871 discloses a cover (100) for a battery cell including a cover plate (102) and a terminal (104), wherein the terminal is electrically insulated and sealed from the cover plate by an electrically insulating cast adhesive (110) (pp. 2–4; Fig. 1). The cast adhesive corresponds to a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material (pp. 2–3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cured potting compound (cast adhesive) of DE’871 into the lid assembly of WO’492. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because DE’871 teaches that the use of a cast adhesive provides a robust, gas-tight, and hermetic seal in the overlapping area of the lid assembly while ensuring reliable electrical isolation (pp. 2–4). Substituting the insulation (106) of WO’492 with the potting compound of DE’871 would have yielded the predictable result of improving the air- and liquid-tight sealing performance of the energy storage element while maintaining electrical insulation of the terminal.
As to Claim 4:
WO’492 further discloses that the cup-shaped housing part (101) is electrically connected to the anode; that the contact sheet metal member (105) is seated on the first edge (115e) of the cathode current collector and is joined to it by welding; that the cup-shaped housing part (101) and the cover plate (102) are metallic components suitable for forming current paths; and that the contact sheet metal member (105) is in direct contact with the terminal pole (108) guided through the aperture in the cover plate and is connected thereto by welding (pp. 8–9, 19–21; Figs. 8–11).
However, WO’492 does not explicitly disclose that the terminal pole is electrically insulated from the cover plate by a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material.
DE’871 discloses a cover (100) for a battery cell including a cover plate (102) and a terminal (104) passing through a breakthrough in the cover plate, wherein the terminal is electrically insulated and sealed from the cover plate by an electrically insulating cast adhesive (110) (pp. 2–4; Fig. 1). The cast adhesive is applied in a liquid or viscous state and subsequently cured to form a potting compound that fills and seals the overlapping region between the terminal and the cover plate (pp. 3–4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cured potting compound (cast adhesive) of DE’871 into the lid assembly of WO’492. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because DE’871 teaches that the use of a cast adhesive provides a robust, gas-tight, and hermetic seal in the overlapping area of the lid assembly while maintaining reliable electrical insulation (pp. 2–4). Substituting the insulation of WO’492 with the potting compound of DE’871 would have yielded the predictable result of improving the air- and liquid-tight sealing performance of the energy storage element while maintaining electrical isolation of the terminal.
As to Claim 9:
WO’492 further discloses that a metallic membrane in the form of a pressure relief valve (141), such as a bursting cross, is provided on and fixed to the bottom of the housing, including by welding, to provide pressure relief functionality (pp. 20–21).
However, WO’492 does not explicitly disclose that the terminal pole is electrically insulated from the cover plate by a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material.
DE’871 discloses a lid assembly (100) for a battery cell including a cover plate (102) and a terminal (104) passing through a breakthrough in the cover plate, wherein the terminal is electrically insulated and sealed from the cover plate by an electrically insulating cast adhesive (110) or molded cast body (pp. 2–4; Fig. 1). The cast adhesive corresponds to a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cured potting compound (cast adhesive) of DE’871 into the terminal assembly of WO’492. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because DE’871 teaches that the use of a cast adhesive provides a robust, gas-tight, and hermetic seal in the overlapping area of the lid assembly while maintaining reliable electrical insulation (pp. 2–4). Substituting the insulation (106) of WO’492 with the potting compound of DE’871 would have yielded the predictable result of improving the air- and liquid-tight sealing performance of the energy storage element while maintaining electrical isolation of the terminal.
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/239492 A1 (WO’492) in view of DE 10 2017 216871 A1 (DE’871) and JP 2008-311184 A (JP’184).
As to Claim 5:
WO’492 further discloses that the contact sheet metal member (105) may consist of nickel, copper, titanium, or stainless steel; that the terminal pole is welded to the contact sheet metal member; and that the contact sheet metal member and the anode current collector may consist of the same material (e.g., copper or nickel) to facilitate electrical connection and welding compatibility (pp. 11–13).
However, WO’492 does not explicitly disclose that the terminal pole is electrically insulated from the cover plate by a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material, nor does it explicitly disclose that the terminal pole is a bimetallic terminal pole comprising a pole base part and a pole top part made of different metals.
DE’871 discloses a lid (100) for a battery cell including a cover plate (102) and a terminal (104) passing through a breakthrough in the cover plate, wherein the terminal is electrically insulated and sealed from the cover plate by an electrically insulating cast adhesive (110) or molded cast body (pp. 2–4; Fig. 1). The cast adhesive corresponds to a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material.
JP’184 discloses a terminal assembly (lid 12) for a battery in which different metal members, including a copper disk (19) and an aluminum peripheral cover (13), are integrally combined via an electrically insulating resin, thereby forming an assembled structure that transitions between different materials within the terminal region (JP’184, pp. 4–6; Figs. 1, 8). This teaches the use of multiple metals within a terminal assembly to accommodate differing electrical and structural requirements.
WO’492, DE’871, and JP’184 are analogous arts because each reference is directed to electrochemical battery cell assemblies and addresses structural and material requirements for sealing housing components and electrically insulating terminal conductors.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cured potting compound (cast adhesive) of DE’871 and the multi-material terminal construction of JP’184 into the cell of WO’492. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the potting compound of DE’871 to provide a more robust, gas-tight hermetic seal in the overlapping area of the lid assembly while maintaining electrical insulation (pp. 2–4). Furthermore, JP’184 teaches combining different metals in a terminal assembly to accommodate internal and external material requirements, thereby suggesting the use of a bimetallic terminal structure. Applying these teachings to WO’492 would have yielded the predictable result of an improved, air- and liquid-tight energy storage element with enhanced sealing performance and material compatibility at the terminal interface.
As to Claim 8:
WO’492 further discloses that the housing bottom (101a) of the cup-shaped housing part includes a primary protection against internal overpressure in the form of an aperture (109) closed by a metallic membrane, such as a pressure relief valve (141) in the form of a bursting cross (pp. 20–21; Fig. 8).
However, WO’492 does not explicitly disclose that the terminal pole is electrically insulated from the cover plate by a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material, nor does it explicitly disclose that the housing bottom has a secondary protection against internal overpressure in the form of at least one groove on its inner side or outer side.
DE’871 discloses a lid assembly (100) for a battery cell including a cover plate (102) and a terminal (104), wherein the terminal is electrically insulated and sealed from the cover plate by an electrically insulating cast adhesive (110) or molded cast body (pp. 2–4; Fig. 1). The cast adhesive corresponds to a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material that is applied in a liquid or viscous state and subsequently cured to fill and seal the overlapping area between the terminal and the cover plate.
JP’184 discloses a battery container (10) in which grooves (16) are formed on the outer bottom surface of the container (JP’184, pp. 4–6; Figs. 1–2). These grooves act as weakened or thinned regions that facilitate rupture of the container wall under excessive internal pressure, thereby providing a secondary overpressure protection mechanism.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cured potting compound (cast adhesive) of DE’871 and the bottom groove structure of JP’184 into the energy storage element of WO’492. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the potting compound of DE’871 to provide a more robust, gas-tight hermetic seal for the terminal passing through the lid assembly while maintaining reliable electrical insulation (pp. 2–4). Furthermore, JP’184 teaches the use of grooves in the bottom surface of a battery container to facilitate controlled rupture under excess pressure, thereby suggesting an additional safety mechanism. Applying such grooves to the housing bottom of WO’492 would have provided a secondary overpressure protection feature complementing the primary membrane valve. The combination of these known structural and safety features would have yielded the predictable result of an improved, air- and liquid-tight energy storage element with enhanced safety redundancy.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/239492 A1 (WO’492) in view of DE 10 2017 216871 A1 (DE’871) and JP 2004-119330 A (JP’330).
As to Claim 7:
WO’492 further discloses that the contact sheet metal member is a plate-shaped component having opposing flat sides and extending substantially in one dimension; that the contact sheet metal member may be configured as a disc or polygonal plate; and that such sheet metal members are thin plate elements suitable for welding and current collection, including metal plates with a thickness in the range from 50 μm to 600 μm (pp. 11–12). In cylindrical embodiments, WO’492 also teaches disk-shaped contact plates used at the end face of the wound electrode assembly (pp. 12–13, 18–21; Figs. 7–11).
However, WO’492 does not explicitly disclose that the terminal pole is electrically insulated from the cover plate by a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material, nor does it explicitly disclose that the contact sheet metal member includes at least one bead in the form of an elongated depression on one side and a corresponding elevation on the opposite side that rests on the current collector edge and is welded in the region of the bead.
DE’871 discloses a lid assembly (100) for a battery cell in which the terminal (104) is electrically insulated and sealed from the cover plate (102) by an electrically insulating cast adhesive (110) or molded cast body (pp. 2–4; Fig. 1). The cast adhesive is applied in a liquid or viscous state and cured in place, corresponding to a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material (pp. 2–4).
JP’330 discloses a current collector plate (5) having a plurality of protrusions (52) projecting toward a surface, each protrusion having grooves (56), such that the protrusions form bead-like structures that appear as elevations on one side and corresponding depressions on the opposite side (pp. 8–9; Figs. 10–12). JP’330 further teaches that these protrusions are pressed against the edge of an electrode body (current collector edge), and that laser welding is applied in the region of the protrusions to join the plate to the electrode body, thereby improving contact pressure and welding reliability (pp. 8–10; Figs. 10–13).
WO’492, DE’871, and JP’330 are analogous arts because each reference is directed to electrochemical energy storage element assemblies and addresses structural and electrical requirements for sealing housing components and forming reliable electrical connections between current collectors and conductive members.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cured potting compound (cast adhesive) of DE’871 and the bead structures of JP’330 into the energy storage element of WO’492. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the potting compound of DE’871 to achieve a robust, gas-tight hermetic seal in the lid assembly while maintaining reliable electrical insulation (pp. 2–4). Furthermore, JP’330 teaches that bead-like protrusions improve localized contact pressure and focus welding energy, thereby enhancing the mechanical and electrical integrity of connections between a plate and an electrode edge (pp. 8–10). Applying these bead structures to the contact sheet metal member of WO’492 would have yielded the predictable result of improved welding performance and electrical connectivity. The combination of these known structural and sealing features would therefore result in an improved, air- and liquid-tight energy storage element with enhanced electrical connection reliability.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/239492 A1 (WO’492) in view of DE 10 2017 216871 A1 (DE’871) and JP 2017-037702 A (JP’702).
As to Claim 10:
WO’492 further discloses an aperture (hole 109) positioned in the housing bottom (101a) which is closed by means of a metallic membrane, such as a pressure relief valve (141), to provide primary overpressure protection (pp. 20–21; Fig. 8).
However, WO’492 does not explicitly disclose that the terminal pole is electrically insulated from the cover plate by a cured potting compound of an electrically insulating plastic material, nor does it explicitly disclose that the housing bottom includes star-configured beads or grooves with the current collector edge seated on an inner elevation of a bead and welded in that region.
DE’871 discloses a lid assembly (100) for a battery cell including a cover plate (102) and a terminal (104), wherein the terminal is electrically insulated and sealed from the cover plate by an electrically insulating cast adhesive (110) or molded cast body (pp. 2–4; Fig. 1). The cast adhesive is applied in a liquid or viscous state and subsequently cured to form a potting compound that fills and seals the overlapping region between the terminal and the cover plate (pp. 2–4).
JP’702 discloses a battery case (20) having a bottom portion in which a first gas discharge portion (31) is formed at a substantially central position of the bottom (pp. 5–6; Fig. 1). JP’702 further discloses that grooves are formed radially in the bottom wall portion to facilitate controlled rupture and gas discharge, the grooves being arranged in a star-shaped configuration around the central discharge portion and interconnected by a surrounding groove portion (pp. 6–8; Figs. 2–4). These grooves form locally thinned regions in the bottom wall and inherently produce corresponding depressions on one side and elevations on the opposite side of the metallic housing bottom.
WO’492, DE’871, and JP’702 are analogous arts because each reference is directed to electrochemical battery cell assemblies and addresses structural requirements for sealing housing lids, providing overpressure safety features, and forming electrical and mechanical connections within battery housings.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cured potting compound (cast adhesive) of DE’871 and the central aperture and star-shaped groove configuration of JP’702 into the energy storage element of WO’492. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize the potting compound of DE’871 to achieve a robust, gas-tight hermetic seal for the terminal in the lid assembly while maintaining electrical insulation (pp. 2–4). Furthermore, JP’702 teaches that star-configured grooves around a central aperture provide controlled pressure-relief functionality and structural weakening for safety purposes (pp. 6–8). Applying such groove structures to the housing bottom of WO’492 would provide an additional safety mechanism. Utilizing the resulting inner elevations of these groove structures as localized contact regions for seating and welding the current collector edge would have been a predictable modification to facilitate stable electrical connection and effective welding. The combination of these known structural and safety features would therefore yield the predictable result of an improved, air- and liquid-tight energy storage element with enhanced safety and connectivity characteristics.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 4401065 B2 discloses a secondary battery in which an electrode body serving as a secondary battery element is accommodated in a battery can and power generated by the electrode body can be taken out from a pair of electrode terminal portions provided in the battery can.
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723