Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 11-12, filed 04/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-5, 23-26, and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito US 20130054025 A1 (“Ito”), have been fully considered and are persuasive. The amendments to the claims have distinguished the claims from Ito. Specifically, it is the element “wherein, after the carriage is moved, the movable unit moves the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points” that is distinct from anything taught in Ito or the reference Keshmiri et al. US 20170364076 A1 (“Keshmiri”), previously relied upon to teach the elements of claim 22, which claimed some of the elements of the amended claim 1, but not the element “wherein, after the carriage is moved, the movable unit moves the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points”, which was neither claimed in the previous set of claims or disclosed by Keshmiri or Reekmans. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Ito in combination with Konolige et al. US 20160136808 A1 (“Konolige”).
Applicant's arguments, see pages 12-15, filed 04/28/2026, regarding the rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Ito in combination with Ooba US 20210064009 A1 (“Ooba”) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 13 that Ooba’s camera is not capturing images in order to generate virtual models but rather capturing images for background images of the AR images. This language is directly related to the claim language of claim 8, which reads “wherein the setting information includes information regarding number of times of measurement performed by the measurement unit at the predetermined measurement points” as recited in claim 8. Ooba is clearly capturing setting information by collecting background images, while also updating positions of virtual articles, along with virtual lanes that are target articles for a robot shown in FIG. 4 of Ooba. This clearly relates to the claim language as written in claim 8. It also teaches the plurality of times of measurement in claim 10. Applicant fails to explain how capturing images for backgrounds of the AR images does not read on capturing images in order to generate virtual models; it seems inherent that images for backgrounds are a requirement for generating the virtual models. For these reasons, claims 8 and the claims dependent on claim 8 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 19, 23-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito US 20130054025 A1 (“Ito”) in combination with Konolige et al. US 20160136808 A1 (“Konolige”).
Regarding Claim 1. Ito teaches an information processing system comprising:
a device that includes a movable unit;
a measurement unit provided with the movable unit and configured to measure a target (A camera is shown at 103 of FIG. 1, and the camera at 103 may be a single-lens camera for obtaining two-dimensional luminance image information, or a distance measuring sensor such as a stereo camera, a TOF sensor, or a laser range finder for obtaining distance information [paragraph 30]. FIG. 11A shows the state where an on-hand camera at 117 is mounted on the hand mechanism of the robot arm illustrated in FIG. 1, and this camera at 117 is capable of the same functionality as the camera at 102 regarding measurement and calculation of a target object’s orientation and position, as shown by the methods in FIGS. 5A-5B and 9A-9B [paragraph 102]); and
a simulation unit that performs an operation simulation for the device in a virtual space by using a virtual model (Referring to a Japanese patent, which discloses a master component, in which a simulation component that simulates an installation portion of a second component to be installed on an installation portion of a first component is installed in a position corresponding to a target position, is secured to a pallet, and a camera fixed to the pallet captures an image [paragraph 6]. This is improved upon in the method disclosed in FIGS. 9A and 9B, with FIG. 10 showing an example of the virtual space, including the robot and a target [paragraphs 95-97]),
wherein the target is placed on a pedestal (FIG. 1 shows the target at 104 located on a pedestal at 116),
wherein the movable unit moves the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points (The teaching data generation unit 113 set, to the robot control unit 111, the candidate position/orientation of the hand mechanism calculated by the hand position/orientation candidate calculation unit 112 as a target state. The robot control unit 111 controls driving of the robot arm 101 and the hand mechanism 102 so as to be in the target state [paragraph 40]. Since this can be combined with the camera at 117 mounted on the robot arm, this reads on moving the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points),
wherein the measurement unit measures the target at each of the predetermined measurement points in real space where the device and the target exist, and the measurement unit obtains shape information of the target in association with position information in real space by using a measurement result and information of the predetermined measurement points (FIG. 2 shows an example of a geodesic dome with a basic shape of a regular icosahedron. The gravity center of a target object in a prescribed orientation is arranged so as to agree with the center point of the regular icosahedron, and for example, appearances of the target object seen from viewpoints that are the center points of the vertexes and triangle surface elements are defined as the representative orientations [paragraph 43], which reads on the measurement unit obtaining shape information of the target in association with position information in real space by using a measurement result and information of the predetermined measurement points, and this process is built upon to better assemble the image and position information [paragraph 44]), and
wherein the simulation unit constructs the virtual model in the virtual space, which corresponds to a position and a shape of the target in the real space, based on the shape information and the position information (In FIG. 10, data on the operation environment including the installation target component 1002 in a state of being installed, the installation recipient component 1003 arranged in a prescribed position, the component supply tray 1004, the working table 1005, and the like is modeled using a combination of cuboids fixed in the virtual space [paragraph 98]. FIG. 10 explicitly shows the position and shape of the target in real space, based on shape and position information, which are discussed in further detail in FIG. 6, at S603, wherein the component position/orientation detection processing unit performs the processing for fitting with the component shape data [paragraph 84]).
Ito does not teach:
wherein the device is mounted on a carriage, and
after the carriage is moved, the movable unit moves the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points.
However, Konolige teaches:
wherein the device is mounted on a carriage (FIG. 1A shows the device mounted on a mobile unit/carriage), and
after the carriage is moved, the movable unit moves the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points (FIG. 3 shows the process by which the movable unit moves to pick up the object with the end effector based on a plurality of possible trajectories and a plurality of object measurements. As with Ito, a camera is shown attached to the moveable arm at 106 of FIGS. 2B-2c, meaning that at least one measurement unit is moving to predetermined measurement points as well).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein the device is mounted on a carriage, and after the carriage is moved, the movable unit moves the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points as taught by Konolige so as to allow the system of Ito to be applied to a robotic manipulator on a moveable base, something that is common in the art.
Regarding Claim 2. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Ito also teaches:
wherein the information regarding the predetermined measurement points includes information regarding a position and a measurement direction of the measurement unit based on a position of the device (The robot is capable of calculating the hand position/orientation, and this information is used in determining the position of the target component [paragraph 13]). Regarding Claim 3. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Ito also teaches:
wherein the predetermined measurement points are registered based on setting information input by an operator (Ito incorporates by reference Japanese Patent No. 04167954, a user who performs a teaching operation specifies a target point on an image captured by an arm camera. The user then specifies a spatial position of the target point by moving the arm camera based on the position information and specifying the same target point on a newly captured image [paragraph 5]).
Regarding Claim 4. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 3.
Ito also teaches:
wherein the setting information is information input by the operator while operating the device in advance (Ito incorporates by reference Japanese Patent No. 04167954, a user who performs a teaching operation specifies a target point on an image captured by an arm camera. The user then specifies a spatial position of the target point by moving the arm camera based on the position information and specifying the same target point on a newly captured image [paragraph 5]).
Regarding Claim 5. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 3.
Ito also teaches:
wherein the setting information includes information regarding a measurement target area including the target (In the Ito invention, the teaching processing is started in a state where the installation target component is installed on the installation recipient component and arranged at a prescribed position in advance by a user. The prescribed position is the same position as the position in which the installation recipient component is arranged when the robot performs the installation operation [paragraph 62]).
Regarding Claim 19. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Ito also teaches, as best as can be understood:
wherein the predetermined measurement points are divided into at least two layers based on a measurement area related to the measurement (The robot is capable of selecting a component located in an uppermost layer, which implies that there is at least one layer beneath it [paragraph 37], which reads on at least two layers in a measurement area), and
a point interfering with the model is excluded from the predetermined measurement points based on the layers (this is implied. There is no mention of a point interfering with the model being included, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to extend the disclosure of Ito to not include the interfering measurement point).
Regarding Claim 23. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches an information processing method for performing motion simulation in virtual space using a virtual model, executed by the information processing system according to claim 1,
Ito also teaches:
the method comprising:
obtaining shape information of a target in association with position information in real space by using a measurement result of the target at predetermined measurement points in the real space where the target exists and information of the predetermined measurement points in the real space where the target exists and information of the predetermined measurement points (FIG. 2 shows an example of a geodesic dome with a basic shape of a regular icosahedron. The gravity center of a target object in a prescribed orientation is arranged so as to agree with the center point of the regular icosahedron, and for example, appearances of the target object seen from viewpoints that are the center points of the vertexes and triangle surface elements are defined as the representative orientations [paragraph 43], which reads on the measurement unit obtaining shape information of the target in association with position information in real space by using a measurement result and information of the predetermined measurement points, and this process is built upon to better assemble the image and position information [paragraph 44]. FIG. 10 shows an example of the robot arm, hand mechanism, and the installation target component at 1002, along with the 3-Dimensional coordinate axis [paragraphs 97-98], wherein the model is acquired based on three-dimensional point data), and
constructing the virtual model in the virtual space, which corresponds to a position and a shape of the target in the real space, based on the shape information and the position information (In FIG. 10, data on the operation environment including the installation target component 1002 in a state of being installed, the installation recipient component 1003 arranged in a prescribed position, the component supply tray 1004, the working table 1005, and the like is modeled using a combination of cuboids fixed in the virtual space [paragraph 98]. FIG. 10 explicitly shows the position and shape of the target in real space, based on shape and position information, which are discussed in further detail in FIG. 6, at S603, wherein the component position/orientation detection processing unit performs the processing for fitting with the component shape data [paragraph 84]).
Regarding Claim 24. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium recording a program for causing a computer to execute the information processing method according to claim 23 (Ito describes the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium in claim 13, in addition to the disclosure of a medium in paragraph 118).
Regarding Claim 25. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Ito also teaches:
wherein the device is a robot (FIG. 1).
Regarding Claim 26. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches a robot system control method comprising:
creating, by using the information processing system according to claim 25, a control program for the robot by performing the operation simulation for the robot in the virtual space (The program recorded on a memory device to perform the functions of the invention is described in paragraph 118 of Ito. FIG. 10 of Ito shows the virtual space).
Regarding Claim 28. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Ito also teaches:
wherein the position information of the target includes a position relative to a reference position for controlling the device in a surrounding environment of the device (the position of a reference point (an object center or the like) of the installation target component 104 in the camera coordinate system is represented as a translation vector Pw from an origin of the camera coordinate system [paragraph 50]).
Claim(s) 6-7, 9, 11-17, 20-21, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito US 20130054025 A1 (“Ito”) in combination with Konolige et al. US 20160136808 A1 (“Konolige”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ooba US 20210064009 A1 (“Ooba”).
Regarding Claim 6. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 3.
Ito does not teach:
wherein the setting information includes information of a movement-prohibited area to which the movable unit is prohibited from moving.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein the setting information includes information of a movement-prohibited area to which the movable unit is prohibited from moving (the control unit 110 may generate an AR image of a motion restriction area of the robot 300. The motion restriction area is set around an operator, peripheral devices, or the like, and is an area where the motion of the robot 300 is stopped or restricted. With the AR image of the motion restriction area, the user of the augmented reality display device 200 can intuitively recognize a set range of the motion restriction area [paragraph 79]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein the setting information includes information of a movement-prohibited area to which the movable unit is prohibited from moving as taught by Ooba so as to allow the user to input settings for a prohibited area that the robot should avoid, particularly to prevent collisions with obstacles and personnel.
Regarding Claim 7. Ito in combination with Konolige and Ooba teaches the information processing system according to claim 6.
Ito does not teach:
wherein the movement-prohibited area is settable by a preset virtual model of a peripheral object existing in the surrounding environment.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein the movement-prohibited area is settable by a preset virtual model of a peripheral object existing in the surrounding environment (the control unit 110 may generate an AR image of a motion restriction area of the robot 300. The motion restriction area is set around an operator, peripheral devices, or the like, and is an area where the motion of the robot 300 is stopped or restricted. With the AR image of the motion restriction area, the user of the augmented reality display device 200 can intuitively recognize a set range of the motion restriction area [paragraph 79]. Also, the augmented reality display device receives input given by a user through an input unit, which can be used to adjust the regions of the AR image [paragraphs 34-35, 78-79]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein the movement-prohibited area is settable by a preset virtual model of a peripheral object existing in the surrounding environment as taught by Ooba so as to allow the user to input the movement-prohibited area.
Regarding Claim 9. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 3.
Ito does not teach:
wherein the setting information and/or the information regarding the predetermined measurement points are displayed on a display unit.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein the setting information and/or the information regarding the predetermined measurement points are displayed on a display unit (The display unit 220 of FIG. 1 is a liquid crystal display or the like, and displays the real space image captured by the camera 210 together with AR image data created by the conveyance simulation device 100 [paragraph 31]. Further, as shown in FIG. 4, the control unit 110 may generate an AR image of a reference coordinate system OC that is set with respect to the robot 300, and an AR image of the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120. These AR images allow the user of the augmented reality display device 200 to visually check a relationship between the reference coordinate system OC and the conveying direction MD, and to check whether the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120 is suitable with respect to the settings such as the reference coordinate system OC [paragraph 80]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein the setting information and/or the information regarding the predetermined measurement points are displayed on a display unit as taught by Ooba so as to allow a user to read the setting information.
Regarding Claim 11. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Ito also teaches:
wherein the target is placed on the pedestal (FIG. 1).
Ito does not teach:
wherein a plurality of measurement points is registered as the predetermined measurement points in such a way that a whole measurement range of the measurement unit at the plurality of measurement points covers the target placed on the pedestal.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein a plurality of measurement points is registered as the predetermined measurement points in such a way that a whole measurement range of the measurement unit at the plurality of measurement points covers the target placed on the pedestal (FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating the simulation process of the conveyance simulation device 100. The set of steps in the shown flowchart is repeatedly executed during the simulation process [paragraph 87], including updating positions of the virtual articles, wherein those articles represent items, particularly 71 and 72 in FIG. 3, on virtual lanes that are target articles for a robot shown in FIG. 4. The virtual article management unit 140 sequentially updates the positions of the virtual articles 71, 72 in the conveyance coordinate system based on, for example, the settings of the virtual conveyance unit 120 such as the position and attitude, the virtual conveying velocity, and the virtual lanes 121, 122, and the settings of the virtual article feeding unit 130 such as the feeding schedules [paragraph 66]. The AR image may be a three-dimensional image [paragraph 83]. FIG. 3 shows, as random offset areas 131, 132, predetermined ranges which are each set with reference to the virtual article generation position [paragraph 55]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein a plurality of measurement points is registered as the predetermined measurement points in such a way that a whole measurement range of the measurement unit at the plurality of measurement points covers the target placed on the pedestal as taught by Ooba so as to allow the system to monitor a region of points where the target can be located.
Regarding Claim 12. Ito in combination with Konolige and Ooba teaches the information processing system according to claim 11.
Ito also teaches:
wherein the target is placed on the pedestal (FIG. 1).
Ito does not teach:
wherein measurement results obtained at the plurality of measurement points are synthesized to acquire three-dimensional point cloud data including the position information of the target.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein measurement results obtained at the plurality of measurement points are synthesized to acquire three-dimensional point cloud data including the position information of the target (FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating the simulation process of the conveyance simulation device 100. The set of steps in the shown flowchart is repeatedly executed during the simulation process [paragraph 87], including updating positions of the virtual articles, wherein those articles represent items, particularly 71 and 72 in FIG. 3, on virtual lanes that are target articles for a robot shown in FIG. 4. The virtual article management unit 140 sequentially updates the positions of the virtual articles 71, 72 in the conveyance coordinate system based on, for example, the settings of the virtual conveyance unit 120 such as the position and attitude, the virtual conveying velocity, and the virtual lanes 121, 122, and the settings of the virtual article feeding unit 130 such as the feeding schedules [paragraph 66]. The AR image may be a three-dimensional image [paragraph 83], and can the functions of the simulation device may be implemented using a virtual server function or the like on a cloud [paragraphs 149-151]. Updating the position information is a form of synthesizing data measurement points).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein measurement results obtained at the plurality of measurement points are synthesized to acquire three-dimensional point cloud data including the position information of the target as taught by Ooba so that the system can update its measurements of the target position information.
Regarding Claim 13. Ito in combination with Konolige and Ooba teaches the information processing system according to claim 10.
Ito also teaches:
wherein after synthesizing the measurement results, filter processing is performed on the three-dimensional point cloud data (Paragraph 59 describes how noise can be eliminated through edge extraction, and improvement in detection accuracy can be expected as a result).
Regarding Claim 14. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Ito does not teach:
wherein the simulation unit is configured to display the virtual model of the target set in the virtual space on a display unit.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein the simulation unit is configured to display the virtual model of the target set in the virtual space on a display unit (The display unit 220 of FIG. 1 is a liquid crystal display or the like, and displays the real space image captured by the camera 210 together with AR image data created by the conveyance simulation device 100 [paragraph 31]. Further, as shown in FIG. 4, the control unit 110 may generate an AR image of a reference coordinate system OC that is set with respect to the robot 300, and an AR image of the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120. These AR images allow the user of the augmented reality display device 200 to visually check a relationship between the reference coordinate system OC and the conveying direction MD, and to check whether the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120 is suitable with respect to the settings such as the reference coordinate system OC [paragraph 80]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein the simulation unit is configured to display the virtual model of the target set in the virtual space on a display unit as taught by Ooba so that the user can view the virtual model of the target in virtual space.
Regarding Claim 15. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Ito does not teach:
wherein a setting screen with which information regarding the measurement unit and information regarding a measurement area related to the measurement are settable by a user is displayed.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein a setting screen with which information regarding the measurement unit and information regarding a measurement area related to the measurement are settable by a user is displayed (The display unit 220 of FIG. 1 is a liquid crystal display or the like, and displays the real space image captured by the camera 210 together with AR image data created by the conveyance simulation device 100 [paragraph 31]. Further, as shown in FIG. 4, the control unit 110 may generate an AR image of a reference coordinate system OC that is set with respect to the robot 300, and an AR image of the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120. These AR images allow the user of the augmented reality display device 200 to visually check a relationship between the reference coordinate system OC and the conveying direction MD, and to check whether the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120 is suitable with respect to the settings such as the reference coordinate system OC [paragraph 80]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein a setting screen with which information regarding the measurement unit and information regarding a measurement area related to the measurement are settable by a user is displayed as taught by Ooba so as to allow the user to view the settings they have input.
Regarding Claim 16. Ito in combination with Konolige and Ooba teaches the information processing system according to claim 15.
Ito also teaches, as best can be understood:
wherein the predetermined measurement points are automatically acquired based on the information set (The display unit 220 of FIG. 1 is a liquid crystal display or the like, and displays the real space image captured by the camera 210 together with AR image data created by the conveyance simulation device 100 [paragraph 31]. Further, as shown in FIG. 4, the control unit 110 may generate an AR image of a reference coordinate system OC that is set with respect to the robot 300, and an AR image of the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120. These AR images allow the user of the augmented reality display device 200 to visually check a relationship between the reference coordinate system OC and the conveying direction MD, and to check whether the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120 is suitable with respect to the settings such as the reference coordinate system OC [paragraph 80]. The system performs the process of acquiring the measurement point once these settings are input).
Ito does not teach:
the information is set using the setting screen.
However, Ooba teaches:
the information is set using the setting screen (The display unit 220 of FIG. 1 is a liquid crystal display or the like, and displays the real space image captured by the camera 210 together with AR image data created by the conveyance simulation device 100 [paragraph 31]. Further, as shown in FIG. 4, the control unit 110 may generate an AR image of a reference coordinate system OC that is set with respect to the robot 300, and an AR image of the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120. These AR images allow the user of the augmented reality display device 200 to visually check a relationship between the reference coordinate system OC and the conveying direction MD, and to check whether the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120 is suitable with respect to the settings such as the reference coordinate system OC [paragraph 80]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with the information is set using the setting screen as taught by Ooba so as to allow the user to view the settings they have input.
Regarding Claim 17. Ito in combination with Konolige and Ooba teaches the information processing system according to claim 6.
Ito also teaches:
wherein at least two postures of the measurement unit are set at each of the predetermined measurement points (The hand orientation capable of gripping a single portion is not always defined uniquely, and usually, as shown in FIGS. 8A and 8B, the orientations in a certain range in which the hand is rotated around the gripped portion are grippable orientations. A plurality of orientations determined by sampling the orientation within this range at every prescribed angle are extracted as the candidate hand gripping orientations [paragraph 71]).
Ito does not teach:
in a case where the measurement unit interferes with the movement-prohibited area due to movement of the measurement unit to the predetermined measurement points, the predetermined measurement points interfering with the movement-prohibited area is excluded.
However, Ooba teaches:
in a case where the measurement unit interferes with the movement-prohibited area due to movement of the measurement unit to the predetermined measurement points, the predetermined measurement points interfering with the movement-prohibited area is excluded (Further, the control unit 110 may generate an AR image of a motion restriction area of the robot 300. The motion restriction area is set around an operator, peripheral devices, or the like, and is an area where the motion of the robot 300 is stopped or restricted. With the AR image of the motion restriction area, the user of the augmented reality display device 200 can intuitively recognize a set range of the motion restriction area [paragraph 79]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with in a case where the measurement unit interferes with the movement-prohibited area due to movement of the measurement unit to the predetermined measurement points, the predetermined measurement points interfering with the movement-prohibited area is excluded as taught by Ooba so as to allow the system to prevent the robot from moving through an area that the robot should avoid, particularly to prevent collisions with obstacles and personnel.
Regarding Claim 20. Ito in combination with Konolige and Ooba teaches the information processing system according to claim 14.
Ito does not teach:
wherein the simulation unit is configured to display the virtual model of the target set in the virtual space on a tablet terminal or a head mounted display.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein the simulation unit is configured to display the virtual model of the target set in the virtual space on a tablet terminal or a head mounted display (The augmented reality display device 200 is embodied as a smartphone, a tablet terminal, a head-mounted display, glasses with augmented reality (AR) display function, or the like [paragraph 29]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein the simulation unit is configured to display the virtual model of the target set in the virtual space on a tablet terminal or a head mounted display as taught by Ooba so as to allow the user to view the virtual model on a portable device, rather than rely on a stationary display device.
Regarding Claim 21. Ito in combination with Konolige and Ooba teaches the information processing system according to claim 14.
Ito does not teach:
wherein the simulation unit is configured to display the virtual model of the target in a form of any one of virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), and cross reality (XR).
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein the simulation unit is configured to display the virtual model of the target in a form of any one of virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), and cross reality (XR) (The display unit 220 of FIG. 1 is a liquid crystal display or the like, and displays the real space image captured by the camera 210 together with AR image data created by the conveyance simulation device 100 [paragraph 31]. Further, as shown in FIG. 4, the control unit 110 may generate an AR image of a reference coordinate system OC that is set with respect to the robot 300, and an AR image of the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120. These AR images allow the user of the augmented reality display device 200 to visually check a relationship between the reference coordinate system OC and the conveying direction MD, and to check whether the conveying direction MD of the virtual conveyance unit 120 is suitable with respect to the settings such as the reference coordinate system OC [paragraph 80]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein the simulation unit is configured to display the virtual model of the target in a form of any one of virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), and cross reality (XR) as taught by Ooba because this is a common solution in the art for displaying a virtual model, particularly for a virtual reality model.
Regarding Claim 27. Ito in combination with Konolige teaches a method for manufacturing an article by using a robot system, the method comprising:
performing, by using the robot system control method according to claim 26.
Ito does not teach:
a simulation related to an operation of the robot for manufacturing the article in the virtual space;
creating a control program for the robot related to the manufacturing of the article; and
operating the robot by using the control program to manufacture the article.
However, Ooba teaches:
a simulation related to an operation of the robot for manufacturing the article in the virtual space (FIG. 4 shows an example of what is displayed by an augmented reality display device, including a robot working on articles on a conveyor belt);
creating a control program for the robot related to the manufacturing of the article (paragraph 33); and
operating the robot by using the control program to manufacture the article (paragraph 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with a simulation related to an operation of the robot for manufacturing the article in the virtual space; creating a control program for the robot related to the manufacturing of the article; and operating the robot by using the control program to manufacture the article as taught by Ooba so as to allow the system to plan the robot’s motion in virtual space before performing the operation in real space.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in combination with Ooba US 20210064009 A1 (“Ooba”).
Regarding Claim 8. Ito teaches an information processing system, comprising:
a device that includes a movable unit;
a measurement unit provided with the movable unit and configured to measure a shape of a target (A camera is shown at 103 of FIG. 1, and the camera at 103 may be a single-lens camera for obtaining two-dimensional luminance image information, or a distance measuring sensor such as a stereo camera, a TOF sensor, or a laser range finder for obtaining distance information [paragraph 30]. FIG. 11A shows the state where an on-hand camera at 117 is mounted on the hand mechanism of the robot arm illustrated in FIG. 1, and this camera at 117 is capable of the same functionality as the camera at 102 regarding measurement and calculation of a target object’s orientation and position, as shown by the methods in FIGS. 5A-5B and 9A-9B [paragraph 102]); and
a simulation unit that performs an operation simulation for the device in a virtual space by using a virtual model (Referring to a Japanese patent, which discloses a master component, in which a simulation component that simulates an installation portion of a second component to be installed on an installation portion of a first component is installed in a position corresponding to a target position, is secured to a pallet, and a camera fixed to the pallet captures an image [paragraph 6]. This is improved upon in the method disclosed in FIGS. 9A and 9B, with FIG. 10 showing an example of the virtual space, including the robot and a target [paragraphs 95-97]),
wherein the movable unit moves the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points (The teaching data generation unit 113 set, to the robot control unit 111, the candidate position/orientation of the hand mechanism calculated by the hand position/orientation candidate calculation unit 112 as a target state. The robot control unit 111 controls driving of the robot arm 101 and the hand mechanism 102 so as to be in the target state [paragraph 40]. Since this can be combined with the camera at 117 mounted on the robot arm, this reads on moving the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points),
wherein the predetermined measurement points are registered based on setting information input by an operator (Ito incorporates by reference Japanese Patent No. 04167954, a user who performs a teaching operation specifies a target point on an image captured by an arm camera. The user then specifies a spatial position of the target point by moving the arm camera based on the position information and specifying the same target point on a newly captured image [paragraph 5]),
wherein the measurement unit measures the target at each of the predetermined measurement points in real space where the device and the target exist, and the measurement unit obtains shape information of the target in association with position information in real space by using a measurement result and information of the predetermined measurement points (FIG. 2 shows an example of a geodesic dome with a basic shape of a regular icosahedron. The gravity center of a target object in a prescribed orientation is arranged so as to agree with the center point of the regular icosahedron, and for example, appearances of the target object seen from viewpoints that are the center points of the vertexes and triangle surface elements are defined as the representative orientations [paragraph 43], which reads on the measurement unit obtaining shape information of the target in association with position information in real space by using a measurement result and information of the predetermined measurement points, and this process is built upon to better assemble the image and position information [paragraph 44]),
wherein the simulation unit constructs the virtual model in the virtual space, which corresponds to a position and a shape of the target in the real space, based on the shape information and the position information (In FIG. 10, data on the operation environment including the installation target component 1002 in a state of being installed, the installation recipient component 1003 arranged in a prescribed position, the component supply tray 1004, the working table 1005, and the like is modeled using a combination of cuboids fixed in the virtual space [paragraph 98]. FIG. 10 explicitly shows the position and shape of the target in real space, based on shape and position information, which are discussed in further detail in FIG. 6, at S603, wherein the component position/orientation detection processing unit performs the processing for fitting with the component shape data [paragraph 84]).
Ito does not teach:
wherein the setting information includes information regarding number of times of measurement performed by the measurement unit at the predetermined measurement points.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein the setting information includes information regarding number of times of measurement performed by the measurement unit at the predetermined measurement points (FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating the simulation process of the conveyance simulation device 100. The set of steps in the shown flowchart is repeatedly executed during the simulation process [paragraph 87], including updating positions of the virtual articles, wherein those articles represent items, particularly 71 and 72 in FIG. 3, on virtual lanes that are target articles for a robot shown in FIG. 4. The virtual article management unit 140 sequentially updates the positions of the virtual articles 71, 72 in the conveyance coordinate system based on, for example, the settings of the virtual conveyance unit 120 such as the position and attitude, the virtual conveying velocity, and the virtual lanes 121, 122, and the settings of the virtual article feeding unit 130 such as the feeding schedules [paragraph 66]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein the setting information includes information regarding number of times of measurement performed by the measurement unit at the predetermined measurement points as taught by Ooba so that the system can update the measurements performed by the system, and the updating settings can be input by a user.
Regarding Claim 10. Ito teaches an information processing system, comprising:
a device that includes a movable unit;
a measurement unit provided with the movable unit and configured to measure a shape of a target (A camera is shown at 103 of FIG. 1, and the camera at 103 may be a single-lens camera for obtaining two-dimensional luminance image information, or a distance measuring sensor such as a stereo camera, a TOF sensor, or a laser range finder for obtaining distance information [paragraph 30]. FIG. 11A shows the state where an on-hand camera at 117 is mounted on the hand mechanism of the robot arm illustrated in FIG. 1, and this camera at 117 is capable of the same functionality as the camera at 102 regarding measurement and calculation of a target object’s orientation and position, as shown by the methods in FIGS. 5A-5B and 9A-9B [paragraph 102]); and
a simulation unit that performs an operation simulation for the device in a virtual space by using a virtual model (Referring to a Japanese patent, which discloses a master component, in which a simulation component that simulates an installation portion of a second component to be installed on an installation portion of a first component is installed in a position corresponding to a target position, is secured to a pallet, and a camera fixed to the pallet captures an image [paragraph 6]. This is improved upon in the method disclosed in FIGS. 9A and 9B, with FIG. 10 showing an example of the virtual space, including the robot and a target [paragraphs 95-97]),
wherein the movable unit moves the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points (The teaching data generation unit 113 set, to the robot control unit 111, the candidate position/orientation of the hand mechanism calculated by the hand position/orientation candidate calculation unit 112 as a target state. The robot control unit 111 controls driving of the robot arm 101 and the hand mechanism 102 so as to be in the target state [paragraph 40]. Since this can be combined with the camera at 117 mounted on the robot arm, this reads on moving the measurement unit to predetermined measurement points),
wherein the predetermined measurement points are registered based on setting information input by an operator (Ito incorporates by reference Japanese Patent No. 04167954, a user who performs a teaching operation specifies a target point on an image captured by an arm camera. The user then specifies a spatial position of the target point by moving the arm camera based on the position information and specifying the same target point on a newly captured image [paragraph 5]),
wherein the measurement unit measures the target at each of the predetermined measurement points in real space where the device and the target exist, and the measurement unit obtains shape information of the target in association with position information in real space by using a measurement result and information of the predetermined measurement points (FIG. 2 shows an example of a geodesic dome with a basic shape of a regular icosahedron. The gravity center of a target object in a prescribed orientation is arranged so as to agree with the center point of the regular icosahedron, and for example, appearances of the target object seen from viewpoints that are the center points of the vertexes and triangle surface elements are defined as the representative orientations [paragraph 43], which reads on the measurement unit obtaining shape information of the target in association with position information in real space by using a measurement result and information of the predetermined measurement points, and this process is built upon to better assemble the image and position information [paragraph 44]),
wherein the simulation unit constructs the virtual model in the virtual space, which corresponds to a position and a shape of the target in the real space, based on the shape information and the position information (In FIG. 10, data on the operation environment including the installation target component 1002 in a state of being installed, the installation recipient component 1003 arranged in a prescribed position, the component supply tray 1004, the working table 1005, and the like is modeled using a combination of cuboids fixed in the virtual space [paragraph 98]. FIG. 10 explicitly shows the position and shape of the target in real space, based on shape and position information, which are discussed in further detail in FIG. 6, at S603, wherein the component position/orientation detection processing unit performs the processing for fitting with the component shape data [paragraph 84]).
Ito also teaches:
wherein a measurement is performed at each of the predetermined measurement points, measurement results of the measurement are used to acquire three-dimensional point cloud data including the position information of the target, and the virtual model is constructed based on the three-dimensional point cloud data (FIG. 10 shows an example of the robot arm, hand mechanism, and the installation target component at 1002, along with the 3-Dimensional coordinate axis [paragraphs 97-98], wherein the model is acquired based on three-dimensional point data).
Ito does not teach:
wherein a plurality of times of measurement is performed, and
measurement results of the plurality of times of measurement are synthesized to acquire the three-dimensional data.
However, Ooba teaches:
wherein a plurality of times of measurement is performed, and
measurement results of the plurality of times of measurement are synthesized to acquire the three-dimensional data (FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating the simulation process of the conveyance simulation device 100. The set of steps in the shown flowchart is repeatedly executed during the simulation process [paragraph 87], including updating positions of the virtual articles, wherein those articles represent items, particularly 71 and 72 in FIG. 3, on virtual lanes that are target articles for a robot shown in FIG. 4. The virtual article management unit 140 sequentially updates the positions of the virtual articles 71, 72 in the conveyance coordinate system based on, for example, the settings of the virtual conveyance unit 120 such as the position and attitude, the virtual conveying velocity, and the virtual lanes 121, 122, and the settings of the virtual article feeding unit 130 such as the feeding schedules [paragraph 66]. The AR image may be a three-dimensional image [paragraph 83], and can the functions of the simulation device may be implemented using a virtual server function or the like on a cloud [paragraphs 149-151]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein a plurality of times of measurement is performed, and measurement results of the plurality of times of measurement are synthesized to acquire the three-dimensional data as taught by Ooba so as to allow the system to update its position measurements and acquire three-dimensional data accordingly.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito US 20130054025 A1 (“Ito”) in combination with Konolige et al. US 20160136808 A1 (“Konolige”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keshmiri et al. US 20170364076 A1 (“Keshmiri”).
Regarding Claim 18. Ito teaches the information processing system according to claim 1.
Ito does not explicitly teach:
wherein the predetermined measurement points that is outside a movable range of the device is excluded.
Ito does show in FIG. 10 an example of a virtual space, wherein the robot arm 101 and the hand mechanism 102 are modeled based on connected links 1001, each link being an axis extending from one joint to the next joint, using cuboids respectively fixed to the links 1001. The connected links have mechanical constraints on the angles therebetween, and possible rotational direction and angles are within a prescribed range [paragraph 97], which means that the only possible measurement points that are included are points within the range of the robot links. However, Ito does not explicitly state that points outside of the robot’s movable range are excluded.
However, Keshmiri teaches:
wherein the predetermined measurement points that is outside a movable range of the device is excluded (Typically, path planning for a robotic system is accomplished through either a series of rapid moves of a robot executed in a joint space or a series of feed moves of a robot executed in a Cartesian space. In particular, joint-space planning involves planning joint moves of a robot by specifying a set of joint parameters that describes the configuration of the robot. Joint-space planning does not require verification of the path for robotic errors, such as singularity errors or out of reach errors [paragraph 6]. Specifically, for the tessellated points that are associated with a certain type of error (e.g., singularity, collision and/or out-of-reach), the points are displayed in a specific color, along with segments of the path connecting these points. For example, an affected path segment associated with (i) a singularity error can be coded red, (ii) a collision error can be coded dark red and (iii) an out-of-reach error can be coded blue, where the robot is unlikely to be able to reach that path section [paragraph 48]. This reads on excluding points that are out-of-reach of the robot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the invention of Ito with wherein the predetermined measurement points that is outside a movable range of the device is excluded as taught by Keshmiri because excluding the points that the robot cannot move to would save the robot system on processing data in displaying its virtual model, and leave the virtual model less cluttered with irrelevant points to which the movement cannot reach.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON G CAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656