DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 and its dependent claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11/629,301. Although the claim at issue is not identical, it is not patentably distinct because the patented claim anticipates the present claim.
Claims 2-6, 8-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-6, 7-13, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11/629,301. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims anticipate the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by McAlister (US 8916735 B2).
Regarding claim 1, McAlister discloses a biosolids treatment system that treats human biosolids to produce beneficial use products including low carbon ash, high carbon activated biochar, and Class A biosolids (the system is capable of treating human biosolids and producing the biochar and biosolids, i.e., renewable fuel/carbon byproducts; see col. 14, lines 33-36 and abstract), the system comprising:
a variable feed conveyor (352+356) that conveys a biosolid feed (Fig. 2; 214) into a dryer (222/314/614);
a dryer that dries the biosolid feed to a predetermined moisture content to create one of a beneficial use products, wherein the predetermined moisture content is controlled by varying a speed of the variable feed conveyor (desired feed throughput controlled by the engine; col. 6, lines 17-19 and col. 7, lines 3-8); and
a gasifier (220/341/610) that converts the biosolid feed into usable thermal energy (renewable fuels such as hydrogen) for system use and at least one of the beneficial use products (carbon byproducts) (see abstract and col. 6, lines 28-38).
Regarding claim 2, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the dryer creates low carbon ash and the gasifier creates high carbon activated biochar and Class A biosolids (the dryer is capable of creating low carbon ash and the gasifier is capable of creating high carbon activated biochar and Class A biosolids, since all of the elements necessary to produce these products are recited in claim 1).
Regarding claim 5, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the system is configured to control carbon content of the biochar. The carbon content is what remains after the water and gases are expelled from the biosolid feed. The amount of water expelled can be controlled by the extruder/conveyor of the dryer, and the volume of gases released is controlled by the drying and gasification temperatures.
Regarding claim 6, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the biochar is used to filter air emissions from the system prior to discharge to atmosphere (the biochar is capable of being used to filter air emissions) (note: this is an intended use claim and is not given patentable weight).
Regarding claim 7, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the biochar is mixed with the human biosolids as exclusive fuel for the gasifier. The system is capable of treating biochar mixed with human biosolids as exclusive fuel for the gasifier.
Regarding claim 10, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the treatment system is capable of using different moisture content biosolid fuel sources. The system discloses all of the elements recited in claim 1; therefore, it is capable of using different moisture content biosolid fuel sources.
Regarding claim 11, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, wherein the treatment system is configured to use comingled materials generated by a wastewater treatment facility (WWTF) including grit and screenings, fats/oils/grease (FOG), anaerobically digested biosolids, biosolids post thermal hydrolysis treatment, primary/secondary waste activate sludge, non-activated sludge in varying percent of composition as fuel sources for the gasifier without need for supplemental fuel. The system discloses all of the elements recited in claim 1; therefore, it is capable of using different moisture content biosolid fuel sources.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAlister (US 8916735 B2) in view of Srinivasachar (US 20100178624 A1).
Regarding claim 3, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, except wherein the treatment system includes a blended air intake to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein the blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer.
However, Srinivasachar teaches a system for producing carbon-rich products, wherein a treatment system includes a blended air intake to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein the blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer (para. 180).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify McAlister wherein the treatment system includes a blended air intake to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein the blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer. The motivation to combine is to help expel moisture from the biosolids using convective drying. For example, the biosolids could first be dried using convective drying (Srinivasachar) and then squeeze-dried (McAlister).
Regarding claim 4, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, except wherein the treatment system includes a fan to recirculate moist dryer exhaust to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer and reduces NOx emissions.
However, Srinivasachar teaches a system for producing carbon-rich products, wherein the treatment system includes a fan to recirculate moist dryer exhaust to temper flue gas entering a dryer (see para. 206 and Fig. 5), wherein blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer and reduces NOx emissions (this is intended use language and is given limited patentable weight; moreover, this intended use would inherently be present if the first limitation in this claim is present).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify McAlister wherein the treatment system includes a fan to recirculate moist dryer exhaust to temper flue gas entering a dryer, wherein blended air controls a target temperature in the dryer and reduces NOx emissions. The motivation to combine is to help expel moisture from the biosolids using convective drying. For example, the biosolids could first be dried using convective drying (Srinivasachar) and then squeeze-dried (McAlister).
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAlister (US 8916735 B2) in view of Hansen (US 20120308441 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 9, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, except further including a water quench that cools the low carbon ash or the high carbon biochar prior to leaving the gasifier (as recited in claim 8), and further including a water quench that serves as an air lock to the gasifier enabling a negative pressure draft to be controlled within the gasifier (as recited in claim 9).
However, Hansen teaches a water quench that cools the carbon ash/ char prior to leaving the gasifier (para. 66), and further including a water quench that serves as an air lock to the gasifier enabling a negative pressure draft to be controlled within the gasifier (paras. 26, 42).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify McAlister to further include a water quench that cools the low carbon ash or the high carbon biochar prior to leaving the gasifier (as recited in claim 8), and to further include a water quench that serves as an air lock to the gasifier enabling a negative pressure draft to be controlled within the gasifier (as recited in claim 9). The motivation to combine is to cool the ash/biochar so it can be used for downstream purposes.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McAlister (US 8916735 B2) in view of Leary (US 4954066 A).
Regarding claims 16-18, McAlister discloses the biosolids treatment system of claim 1, except wherein the variable feed conveyor is driven by a chain (as recited in claim 16), wherein the chain is cooled by cooling rails that extend along a length of the chain (as recited in claim 17), and wherein the cooling rails comprise a duct with an inlet and outlet (as recited in claim 18).
However, Leary teaches a feed conveyor driven by a chain (abstract), wherein the chain is cooled by cooling rails (26) that extend along a length of the chain (24), and wherein the cooling rails comprise a duct (78) with an inlet and outlet (col. 5, lines 36-45).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify McAlister to include a chain driven variable feed conveyor, wherein the chain is cooled by cooling rails that extend along a length of the chain, and wherein the cooling rails comprise a duct with an inlet and outlet. The motivation to combine is to provide a conveyor that is resistant to the heat from the hopper (see McAlister, col. 3, lines 54-67, discussing where the hopper is heated). Cooling the conveyor would prolong the life of the conveyor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-15, 19, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and by filing a terminal disclaimer for the double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762