DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Chen (US Patent Number 2021/0208364 A1) in view of Dang (CN 106707514 A).
Chen teaches, as in claim 1, an interpupillary distance adjustment assembly (10,¶0002 “head-mounted display apparatus that is capable adjusting the interpupillary distance (IPD)”), comprising a left frame (left portion of 10 +40) and a right frame (right portion of 10+40), wherein an adjustable clip (120) with an adjustable width is provided between the left frame and the right frame (see Fig. 5), and the adjustable clip (120) is detachably connected (see element 14 of the frame and 94 of base 100) to the left frame (left portion of 10 +40) and the right frame (right portion of 10+40), respectively, wherein for each frame of the left frame and the right frame, an opaque cover1(81 and 82, ¶0023 “display module 80 may be a liquid crystal display (LCD) module (LCM), an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) panel”), an installation groove (13) is provided on an inner ring of each frame of the left frame (left portion of 10+40) and the right frame (right portion of 10 +40) opposite to a side where the opaque cover is installed (See Fig. 2), and an inner wall of the installation groove is provided with a limiting protruding rib (See annotated figure below).
Chen fails to teach, wherein for each frame of the left frame and the right frame, an opaque cover is detachably provided on the frame, and a small hole is provided in a middle of the opaque cover. In a related art, Dang teaches wherein for each frame of the left frame and the right frame (See Fig, 3 and 4), an opaque cover (21) is detachably provided on the frame (“the light shielding plate can be buckled on the optical lens 20 and the fixing device 211 inserted into the slot 201 for fixing”), and a small hole (212) is provided in a middle of the opaque cover (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the an interpupillary distance adjustment assembly, as taught by Chen, with the opaque cover, as taught by Dang, for the purpose of providing a near-eye display device that provides images, that are clearly projected on the retina of the human (Page 1, bridging paragraph).
Claims 5, 6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US Patent Number 2021/0208364 A1) in view of Dang (CN 106707514 A) and in further view of Woo Chang-Gi (KR 20150003566 U)
Chen teaches, as in claim 5, an opaque cover2 (81 and 82, ¶0023 “display module 80 may be a liquid crystal display (LCD) module (LCM), an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) panel”).
Chen and Dang fail to teach wherein at least one first protruding hull protruding outward is provided on an edge of the left frame, and the cover is provided with a second protruding hull matched with the first protruding hull, and a magnetic adsorption part is placed in the first protruding hull and the second protruding hull; and the edge each frame of the left frame and right frame is also provided with a blocking rib. In a related art, Woo Chang-Gi teaches eyeglasses (Figs. 1a-5a) wherein at least one first protruding hull (27) protruding outward is provided on an edge of the each left frame (22) and right frame, and the cover (13) have is provided with a second protruding hull (17) matched with the first protruding hull (27), and a magnetic adsorption part (15 and 25) is placed in the first protruding hull (17) and the second protruding hull (27); and edge each frame of the left frame and right frame is also provided with a blocking rib (16, See Fig. 5b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the an interpupillary distance adjustment assembly, as taught by Chen and Dang, with the protruding hulls, as taught by Woo Chang-Gi, for the purpose of providing a way to reliably and easily detach the clip on the general glasses (¶0041).
Chen and Dang fail to teach, as in claim 6, the edge of each frame of the left frame and right frame is further provided with a third protruding hull protruding outward for connecting to an external lens. In a related art, Woo Chang-Gi the edge of each frame of the left frame and right frame is further provided with a third protruding hull protruding outward for connecting to an external lens 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the an interpupillary distance adjustment assembly, as taught by Chen and Dang, with the protruding hulls, as taught by Woo Chang-Gi, for the purpose of providing a way to reliably and easily detach the clip on the general glasses (¶0041).
Chen and Dang fail to teach, as in claim 9, wherein a front end or a rear end of the left frame or the right frame is provided with a detachable additional frame. In a related art, Woo Chang-Gi teaches wherein a front end of the left frame (22) is provided with a detachable additional frame (Fig. 3a; see frame around lens 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the an interpupillary distance adjustment assembly, as taught by Chen and Dang, with the detachable frame, as taught by Woo Chang-Gi, for the purpose of providing a way to reliably and easily detach the clip on the general glasses (¶0041).
Chen and Dang fail to teach, as in claim 10, wherein the front end or the rear end of the left frame or the right frame is provided with a magnetic adsorption part by setting a first installation groove; and the additional frame is provided with another magnetic adsorption part by setting a second installation groove corresponding to the first installation groove. In related art, Woo Chang-Gi teaches wherein the front end of the left frame (22) is provided with a magnetic adsorption part (25) by setting a first installation groove (magnet 25 is embedded in a hole see Fig. 2a); and the additional frame (Fig. 3a; see frame around lens 11) is provided with another magnetic adsorption part (17) by setting a second installation groove (magnet 15 is embedded in a hole see Fig. 2a) corresponding to the first installation groove (See Fig. 4 magnets 15 and 25 cause a bond between each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the an interpupillary distance adjustment assembly, as taught by Chen and Dang, with the detachable frame, as taught by Woo Chang-Gi, for the purpose of providing a way to reliably and easily detach the clip on the general glasses (¶0041).
Chen and Dang fail to teach, as in claim 11, wherein the left frame is provided with at least one protruding hull on an edge of the frame. In a related art, Woo Chang-Gi teaches wherein the left frame is provided with at least one protruding hull (27) on an edge of the frame and the first installation groove (magnet 25 is embedded in a hole see Fig. 2a) is provided on the protruding hull (27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the an interpupillary distance adjustment assembly, as taught by Chen and Dang, with the detachable frame, as taught by Woo Chang-Gi, for the purpose of providing a way to reliably and easily detach the clip on the general glasses (¶0041).
Chen and Dang fail to teach, as in claim 12, wherein an edge of the left frame or the right frame is provided with an arc-shaped blocking rib extending backward or forward. In a related art, Woo Chang-Gi teaches wherein an edge of the left frame (22) is provided with an arc-shaped blocking rib 16, See Fig. 5b) extending backwards.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the an interpupillary distance adjustment assembly, as taught by Chen and Dang, with the detachable frame, as taught by Woo Chang-Gi, for the purpose of providing a way to reliably and easily detach the clip on the general glasses (¶0041).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art fails to teach all of the limitations of claim 7 which includes wherein an outer wall of the frame is provided with a connecting block protruding outward, and the connecting block is provided with a through hole, the adjustable clip includes a connecting rod, two ends of the connecting rod are provided with a support leg, and the support leg is inserted into the through hole.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOURNEY F. SUMLAR
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
24 June 2026
/SHARRIEF I BROOME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 Standard LCDs and OLEDs are inherently opaque.
2 Standard LCDs and OLEDs are inherently opaque.
3 Woo Chang-Gi teaches four hulls between the left and right frame and both sides of the cover. 1st protruding hull is the left frame projection 27, second protruding hull is the left projection 17 of the cover, and the third protruding hull is the right frame projection 27.