DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 6-12, 14-17, 20-23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 14-17, 20, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2015/0237671).
Consider claim 1; Wu discloses a user information sending method, performed by a terminal and comprising:
re-initializing transmission of user information (par. 154, lines 1-5), in response to that a transmission of user information is initialized [e.g. auxiliary information (par. 40, lines 1-7)] before a preset duration (par. 46, lines 1-5; par. 68, lines 1-8) before a target message is received [e.g. handover command (par. 40, lines 1-7)], and a second preset condition for sending the user information is met (par. 42, lines 1-6),
wherein the second preset condition comprises:
a network side device (e.g. source base station) configures a terminal in a corresponding cell to provide the user information [e.g. auxiliary information (par. 42, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 2; Wu discloses the user information is not transmitted or not successfully transmitted before the target message is received [e.g. the user information is not transmitted in the destination cell (par. 43, lines 5-10)].
Consider claim 6; Wu discloses the user information comprises related user information, and/or other user information of the terminal (par. 146); and the related user information (par. 146) is user information concerned in transmission initialization or transmission before the target message is received (par. 147).
Consider claim 7; Wu discloses the initializing transmission of user information specifically comprises: initializing transmission of the related user information and/or the other user information of the terminal (par. 146); or retransmitting the related user information.
Consider claim 8; Wu discloses the initializing transmission of user information specifically comprises: initializing transmission of the related user information and/or the other user information of the terminal or retransmitting the related user information in the corresponding cell (par. 37, 145).
Consider claim 9; Wu discloses starting or restarting a prohibit timer related to the related user information and/or the other user information of the terminal (par. 43, lines 1-10).
Consider claim 10; Wu discloses the target message comprises: a handover command (par. 40, lines 1-7), a synchronous reconfiguration message, a reconfiguration message, a reestablishment message, a primary secondary cell change message, a primary secondary cell addition message, a primary secondary cell modification message, a secondary cell change message, a secondary cell addition message, a secondary cell dormancy message, a secondary cell group deactivation message, a secondary cell group suspension message, or a secondary cell group dormancy message.
Consider claim 11; Wu discloses initializing transmission of user information comprises: initializing transmission of the user information after a specified moment or at a specified moment [e.g. based on the configuration or change in content (par. 146).
Consider claim 12; Wu discloses the specified moment comprises at least one of the following moments, and the following moments comprise: a moment of successful completion of handover (par. 38), synchronous reconfiguration, reconfiguration, reestablishment, primary secondary cell change, primary secondary cell addition, primary secondary cell modification, secondary cell change, secondary cell addition, secondary cell dormancy, secondary cell group deactivation, secondary cell group suspension, or secondary cell group dormancy; a moment of successful access to a target node or cell; and a moment of successful completion of a random access process.
Consider claim 14; Wu discloses the preset duration is determined based on at least one of the following processes, and the following processes comprise: a related preparation stage of a process corresponding to the target message (par. 67); and a process of transmitting the user information, wherein the process of transmitting the user information comprises: a process of initializing transmission or a process of initializing transmission and a transmission process, wherein the process of initializing transmission comprises at least one of the following: a parameter initialization process, a parameter loading process, and a process of transmitting the information to a lower layer; or the transmission process comprises a process of transmitting the information from a lower layer to a network side device and/or a retransmission process.
Consider claim 15; Wu discloses the user information comprises at least one of the following information, and the following information comprises: user assistance information, sidelink user information, terminal capability information (par. 59), temporary capability information, a terminal request, and configuration information reported by the terminal.
Consider claim 16; Wu discloses a terminal, comprising: a processor (par. 197, 222), a memory (par. 197, 222), and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor (par. 197, 222), wherein the program or instructions, when being executed by the processor, causes the processor (par. 197, 222) to re-initializing transmission of user information (par. 154, lines 1-5), in response to that a transmission of user information is initialized [e.g. auxiliary information (par. 40, lines 1-7)] before a preset duration (par. 46, lines 1-5; par. 68, lines 1-8) before a target message is received [e.g. handover command (par. 40, lines 1-7)], and a second preset condition for sending the user information is met (par. 42, lines 1-6),
wherein the second preset condition comprises:
a network side device (e.g. source base station) configures a terminal in a corresponding cell to provide the user information [e.g. auxiliary information (par. 42, lines 1-6)].
Consider claim 17; Wu discloses the user information is not transmitted or not successfully transmitted before the target message is received [e.g. the user information is not transmitted in the destination cell (par. 43, lines 5-10)].
Consider claim 20; Wu discloses a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and the program or instructions, when being executed by a processor (par. 222), causes the processor to implement the method according to claim 1 (par. 40, lines 1-7; par. 46, lines 1-5; par. 68, lines 1-8; par. 154, lines 1-5).
Consider claim 21; Wu discloses a user information sending method, performed by a terminal and comprising:
in a case that {this claim is invalid if this condition is not met. In other words, this is a contingent limitation that is not required based on the broadest reasonable interpretation. See MPEP 2111.04(ii)} transmission of user information is initialized [e.g. auxiliary information (par. 40, lines 1-7)] before a preset duration (par. 46, lines 1-5; par. 68, lines 1-8) before a target message is received [e.g. handover command (par. 40, lines 1-7)] and a second preset condition for sending the user information is met (par. 42, lines 1-6), re-initializing transmission of user information (par. 154, lines 1-5); otherwise, not triggering a process of re-initializing transmission of the user information (par. 42, lines 6-9),
wherein the second preset condition comprises:
a network side device (e.g. source base station) configures a terminal in a corresponding cell to provide the user information [e.g. auxiliary information (par. 42, lines 1-6)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2015/0237671) in view of Yie et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2015/0208404).
Consider claim 22, as applied in claim 1; Wu discloses the claimed invention except: the preset duration is one second.
In an analogous art Yie discloses that it is well known in the field of art that the preset duration is one second (par. 163, lines 4-14; par. 169, lines 1-4; par. 180, lines 5-8).
It is an object of Wu’s invention to provide a method of transmitting information. It is an object of Yie’s invention to provide a method of data transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Wu by including a one second duration, as taught by Yie, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 23, as applied in claim 16; Wu discloses the claimed invention except: the preset duration is one second.
In an analogous art Yie discloses that it is well known in the field of art that the preset duration is one second (par. 163, lines 4-14; par. 169, lines 1-4; par. 180, lines 5-8).
It is an object of Wu’s invention to provide a method of transmitting information. It is an object of Yie’s invention to provide a method of data transmission. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Wu by including a one second duration, as taught by Yie, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646