DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 11/10/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, 15, 17, and 19 are amended. No claims are cancelled or added.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obvious-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8, 24, and 29 of copending application 17/221,631 (hereinafter ‘631) in view of Kang (US 20230132757 A1, hereinafter “Kang”).
Regarding Claim 1, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each because Claim 1 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of Claim 8 of the copending application by eliminating elements and their functions of the claims set forth below.
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 8 as depending from claim 1 of App. 17/221,631 Dated 11/06/2022
Preamble: An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE)
Preamble: Claim 1 A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
Limitation 1: comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and
Limitation 1: Claim 1 a memory; and
Limitation 2: one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the UE to:
Limitation 2: Claim 1 one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to:
Limitation 3: receive, from a base station, downlink control information (DCI) associated with transmission configuration information, the transmission configuration information including a plurality of indicators of respective reference signals,
Limitation 3: Claim 1 receive, from a base station, downlink control information (DCI) associated with transmission configuration information for full duplex transmissions, the transmission configuration information including a plurality of indicators of respective reference signals; and
Limitation 3 added amendment: and the DCI including a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second field associated with a second TCI state; and
Claim 8 (depending on 4 on 1)
wherein the DCI includes a plurality of fields, the plurality of fields including at least a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indictor (TCI) state that includes the first indicator of the plurality of indicators and a second field associated with a second TCI state that includes the second indicator of the plurality of indicators.
Limitation 4: communicate, with the base station, in accordance with the transmission configuration information.
Limitation 3: Claim 1 communicate, with the base station, in accordance with the transmission configuration information.
In view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 1 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of Claim 1 of the copending application by reciting the italicized portions of the preamble, limitations 1, and 2. In regards to limitation 1 of “one or more memories storing processor-executable code;”, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that a memory coupled to a processor contains the code that is executable by the processor in order to carry out the intended function(s).
Regarding Claim 2, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein the transmission configuration information is associated with a downlink channel configuration associated with the DCI.
However, Kang discloses
The apparatus, wherein the transmission configuration information is associated with a downlink channel configuration associated with the DCI (UE receives list of a number of TCI states. ¶0205; TCI state ID indicated through DCI. ¶0211; UE configured with a number of TCI state configurations per PDCCH having DCI intended for corresponding UE. ¶0215; UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 3, instant application discloses “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first TCI state includes a first indicator of plurality of indicators and the second TCI state includes a second indicator of the plurality of indicators.” (See ‘631, Claim 8)
Regarding Claim 4, instant application discloses “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of indicators includes at least a first indicator associated with a first reference signal of the respective reference signals, and a second indicator associated with a second reference signal of the respective reference signals.” (See ‘631, Claim 4, “The UE of claim 1, wherein the plurality of indicators includes at least a first indicator associated with a first reference signal of the respective reference signals, and a second indicator associated with a second reference signal of the respective reference signals, the first reference signal being associated with an uplink, and the second reference signal being associated with a downlink.”)
Regarding Claim 5, instant application discloses “The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of indicators includes at least one indicator associated with a pair of TCI states.” A first TCI state and a second TCI state is a pair of TCI states. (See ‘631, Claim 8, “The UE of claim 4, wherein the DCI includes a plurality of fields, the plurality of fields including at least a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indictor (TCI) state that includes the first indicator of the plurality of indicators and a second field associated with a second TCI state that includes the second indicator of the plurality of indicators.” ).
Regarding Claim 6, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein the plurality of indicators are associated with at least two transmit beams.
However, Kang discloses:
The apparatus, wherein the plurality of indicators are associated with at least two transmit beams (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 7, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of indicators are associated with at least two receive beams.
However, Kang discloses:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the plurality of indicators are associated with at least two receive beams (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327, ¶¶0304-0306, Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 8, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink, and the transmission configuration information is indicated using an uplink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state or uplink spatial relation information, and wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to communicate with the base station, is configured to: transmit a message or a sequence to the base station concurrent with receiving a message or a sequence from the base station
However, Kang discloses:
The apparatus, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327), and the transmission configuration information is indicated using an uplink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state or uplink spatial relation information (Each TCI state may be set to one reference signal, RS, set, a plurality. ¶¶0205-0207; Tx-Rx beam pair for spatial division duplexing. ¶0303, Fig. 16; DL BM may include DL reference signals, RSs, e.g. CSI-RS or SS Block. ¶0142; UL BM with UE configured for one or more SRS resource sets. ¶0233, Fig. 12; Spatial parameter for relationship of CSI-RS resource or SSB and paired relationship with UL Tx beam corresponding to the DL beam. ¶0364), and wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to communicate with the base station (Simultaneous performing DL/UL beam managed based on spatial division duplexing, SDD, technology. ¶¶0301-0302; Base station transmission/reception point, TRP, for transmitting DL signal and receiving UL signal from UE. ¶0307), is configured to: transmit a message or a sequence to the base station concurrent with receiving a message or a sequence from the base station (UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225; UE reports combination information of Tx beam(s) and RX beam(s) in which spatial division duplexing is enabled. The reference signal, RS, transmitted by the UE may be an UL RS. ¶¶0309-0311).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 9, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each because Claim 9 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of Claim 24 of the copending application by eliminating elements and their functions of the claims set forth below.
Claim 9 of instant application
Claim 24 as depending from claim 14 of App. 17/221,631 Dated 11/06/2022
Preamble: An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
Preamble: Claim 14 A base station for wireless communication, comprising:
Limitation 1: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and
Limitation 1: Claim 14 a memory; and
Limitation 2: one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories, at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the base station to:
Limitation 2: Claim 14 one or more processors coupled to the memory, the one or more processors configured to:
Limitation 3: provide transmission configuration information that includes a plurality of indicators of respective reference signals; and
Limitation 3: Claim 14 generate transmission configuration information, for full duplex transmissions, that includes a plurality of indicators of respective reference signals; and
Limitation 3 added amendment: and the DCI including a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second field associated with a second TCI state; and
Claim 24 (depending on 20 on 14)
wherein the DCI includes a plurality of fields, the plurality of fields including at least a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indictor (TCI) state that includes the first indicator of the plurality of indicators and a second field associated with a second TCI state that includes the second indicator of the plurality of indicators.
Limitation 4: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) associated with the transmission configuration information.
Limitation 3: Claim 14 transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) associated with the transmission configuration information.
In view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 9 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of Claim 14 of the copending application by reciting the italicized portions of the preamble, limitations 1, and 2. In regards to limitation 1 of “one or more memories storing processor-executable code;”, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that a memory coupled to a processor contains the code that is executable by the processor in order to carry out the intended function(s).
Regarding Claim 10, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein, to provide the transmission configuration information, at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to: provide the transmission configuration information on a downlink channel configuration.
However, Kang discloses:
The apparatus, wherein, to provide the transmission configuration information, at least one processor of the one or more processors (¶¶0407, 0418, Fig. 19:1911, 1912) is configured to: provide the transmission configuration information on a downlink channel configuration (UE receives list of a number of TCI states. ¶0205; TCI state ID indicated through DCI. ¶0211; UE configured with a number of TCI state configurations per PDCCH having DCI intended for corresponding UE. ¶0215; UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 11, instant application discloses “The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the first TCI state includes a first indicator of the plurality of indicators and the second indicator of the plurality of indicators.” (See ‘631, Claim 24)
Regarding Claim 12, instant application discloses “The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the plurality of indicators includes at least a first indicator associated with a first reference signal of the respective reference signals and a second indicator associated with a second reference signal of the respective reference signals.” (See ‘631, Claim 20)
Regarding Claim 13, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink, the uplink including at least two beams for receiving data from the UE.
However, Kang discloses:
The apparatus, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink, the uplink including at least two beams for receiving data from the UE (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 14, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with a downlink, the downlink including at least two beams for transmitting data to the UE.
However, Kang dislcoes:
The apparatus, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with a downlink, the downlink including at least two beams for transmitting data to the UE (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327, ¶¶0304-0306, Fig. 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 15, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink, and the transmission configuration information is indicated using an uplink TCI state or uplink spatial relation information, and wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to:
transmit a message or a sequence to the UE concurrent with receiving a message or a sequence from the UE.
However, Kang discloses:
The apparatus, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327), and the transmission configuration information is indicated using an uplink TCI state or uplink spatial relation information (Each TCI state may be set to one reference signal, RS, set, a plurality. ¶¶0205-0207; Tx-Rx beam pair for spatial division duplexing. ¶0303, Fig. 16; DL BM may include DL reference signals, RSs, e.g. CSI-RS or SS Block. ¶0142; UL BM with UE configured for one or more SRS resource sets. ¶0233, Fig. 12; Spatial parameter for relationship of CSI-RS resource or SSB and paired relationship with UL Tx beam corresponding to the DL beam. ¶0364), and wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to:
transmit a message or a sequence to the UE concurrent with receiving a message or a sequence from the UE (UE reports combination information of Tx beam(s) and RX beam(s) in which spatial division duplexing is enabled. The reference signal, RS, transmitted by the UE may be an UL RS. ¶¶0309-0311; Simultaneous performing DL/UL beam managed based on spatial division duplexing, SDD, technology. ¶¶0301-0302; Base station transmission/reception point, TRP, for transmitting DL signal and receiving UL signal from UE. ¶0307).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 16, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The apparatus, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to: communicate, with the UE, in accordance with the transmission configuration information.
However, Kang discloses:
The apparatus, wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to: communicate, with the UE, in accordance with the transmission configuration information (UE receives list of a number of TCI states. ¶0205; TCI state ID indicated through DCI. ¶0211; UE configured with a number of TCI state configurations per PDCCH having DCI intended for corresponding UE. ¶0215; UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225’ Simultaneous performing DL/UL beam managed based on spatial division duplexing, SDD, technology. ¶¶0301-0302; Base station transmission/reception point, TRP, for transmitting DL signal and receiving UL signal from UE. ¶0307).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 17, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each because Claim 17 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of Claim 29 of the copending application by eliminating elements and their functions of the claims set forth below.
Claim 17 of instant application
Claim 29 as depending on claim 27 of App. 17/221,631 Dated 11/06/2022
Preamble: A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Preamble: Claim 27 A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Limitation 1: receiving, from a base station, downlink control information (DCI) associated with transmission configuration information,
Limitation 1: Claim 27 receiving, from a base station, downlink control information (DCI) associated with transmission configuration information for full duplex transmissions,
Limitation 2: the transmission configuration information including a plurality of indicators of respective reference signals; and
Limitation 2: Claim 27 the transmission configuration information including a plurality of indicators of respective reference signals; and
Limitation 2 added amendment: and the DCI including a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second field associated with a second TCI state; and
Claim 29 (depending on 27)
wherein the DCI includes a plurality of fields, the plurality of fields including at least a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indictor (TCI) state that includes the first indicator of the plurality of indicators and a second field associated with a second TCI state that includes the second indicator of the plurality of indicators.
Limitation 3: communicating, with the base station, in accordance with the transmission configuration information.
Limitation 3: Claim 27 communicating, with the base station, in accordance with the transmission configuration information.
In view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because Claim 17 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of Claim 27 of the copending application, i.e. removing “for full duplex transmissions” of the copending application Claim 27 limitation 1 versus instant application claim 17 limitation 1.
Regarding Claim 18, the instant application discloses “The method of claim 17, wherein the transmission configuration information is associated with a downlink channel configuration associated with the DCI.” (See ‘631, Claim 27 Limitation 1: “receiving, from a base station, downlink control information (DCI) associated with transmission configuration information for full duplex transmissions,
Full duplex includes a downlink channel”)
Regarding Claim 19, the instant application discloses “The method of claim 17, wherein the first TCI state includes a first plurality of the plurality of indicators and the second TCI state includes a second indicator of the plurality of indicators.” (See ‘631, Claim 29)
Regarding Claim 20 Limitation 2, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
wherein communicating with the base station includes transmitting a message or a sequence to the base station concurrent with receiving a message or a sequence from the base station.
However, Kang discloses:
wherein communicating with the base station includes transmitting a message or a sequence to the base station concurrent with receiving a message or a sequence from the base station (UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225; UE reports combination information of Tx beam(s) and RX beam(s) in which spatial division duplexing is enabled. The reference signal, RS, transmitted by the UE may be an UL RS. ¶¶0309-0311).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Regarding Claim 20 Limitation 1, ‘631 does not explicitly disclose:
The method, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink, and the transmission configuration information is indicated using an uplink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state or uplink spatial relation information,
However, Kang discloses:
The method, wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327), and the transmission configuration information is indicated using an uplink transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state or uplink spatial relation information (Each TCI state may be set to one reference signal, RS, set, a plurality. ¶¶0205-0207; Tx-Rx beam pair for spatial division duplexing. ¶0303, Fig. 16; DL BM may include DL reference signals, RSs, e.g. CSI-RS or SS Block. ¶0142; UL BM with UE configured for one or more SRS resource sets. ¶0233, Fig. 12; Spatial parameter for relationship of CSI-RS resource or SSB and paired relationship with UL Tx beam corresponding to the DL beam. ¶0364),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to combine the configuration for duplex communication disclosed in 17/221,631 with the additional configuration information for spatial division duplexing (SDD) disclosed in Kang.
adjustment in real time.
The motivation is to improve beam pair relationship management between a UE and a base station through DCI and TCI to determine reference signals for multiple beam pairs and self-interference. (17/221,631: Abstract, ¶¶0006-0008, 0087; Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0005, 0007, 0014-0015, 0211)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Kang (US 20230132757 A1, hereinafter “Kang”), in view of Muruganathan et al. (US 20220338221 A1, hereinafter “Muruganathan”)
RE Claim 1 and 17, Kang discloses an apparatus or method:
for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (¶¶0408-0411, Fig. 19:1920), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (¶¶0408-0411, 0418, Fig. 19:1922); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (¶¶0408-0411, 0418, Fig. 19:1921), at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the UE to:
receive, from a base station, downlink control information (DCI) associated with transmission configuration information (UE receives list of a number of TCI states. ¶0205; TCI state ID indicated through DCI. ¶0211; UE configured with a number of TCI state configurations per PDCCH having DCI intended for corresponding UE. ¶0215; UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225), the transmission configuration information including a plurality of indicators of respective reference signals (Quasi co-location indicator. Each TCI state may be set to one reference signal, RS, set. ¶¶0205-0207; ‘SpatialRelationInfo’ is a parameter representing a configuration of a spatial relation between the reference RS, downlink, and the target SRS, uplink, a plurality of indicators. ¶0248. Reference signal, RS, may be SSB, CSI-RS or SRS corresponding to ‘SRS-SpatialRelationInfo’. Usage is set for each SRS resource set. UE determines a TX beam for an SRS resource to be transmitted based on SRS-SpatialRelation Info includes in the SRS-Config IE. 0249-0251); and
communicate, with the base station (Simultaneous performing DL/UL beam managed based on spatial division duplexing, SDD, technology. ¶¶0301-0302; Base station transmission/reception point, TRP, for transmitting DL signal and receiving UL signal from UE. ¶0307), in accordance with the transmission configuration information (UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225; UE reports combination information of Tx beam(s) and RX beam(s) in which spatial division duplexing is enabled. The reference signal, RS, transmitted by the UE may be an UL RS. ¶¶0309-0311).
Kang does not explicitly disclose:
and the DCI including a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second field associated with a second TCI state;
However, Muruganathan discloses:
and the DCI including a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second field associated with a second TCI state (In NR Rel-15, only one TCI state can be indicated. It has been agreed that up to two TCI states can be indicated in DCI in NR Rel-16. The TCI state(s) indicates which TRP(s) the PDSCH is transmitted from. ¶0034; To facilitate receiving PDSCH data from different TRPs or beams, a UE may be indicated with two TCI states, each associated with a TRP or a beam, by a single codepoint of a TCI field in a DCI. ¶0106, Fig. 10);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, UE receives DCIs with multiple TCIs indicating associated reference signals, with the teachings of Muruganathan, indication of two TCI states in a single DCI to receive PDSCH from two different beams to a UE.
The motivation in doing so would be for method for TCI state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping of multiple TCI states in a single DCI for transmitting PDSCH over multiple beams to improve data rates and latency. (Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0005-0006, 0007-0013, 0016; Muruganathan: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0010-0013, 0034, 0107-0109, 0127-0128, 0201)
RE Claim 2 and 18, Kang discloses an apparatus or method:
wherein the transmission configuration information is associated with a downlink channel configuration associated with the DCI (UE receives list of a number of TCI states. ¶0205; TCI state ID indicated through DCI. ¶0211; UE configured with a number of TCI state configurations per PDCCH having DCI intended for corresponding UE. ¶0215; UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225).
RE Claim 3, 11, and 19, Kang does not explicitly disclose an apparatus or method:
wherein the first TCI state includes a first indicator of plurality of indicators and the second TCI state includes a second indicator of the plurality of indicators.
However, Muruganathan discloses:
wherein the first TCI state includes a first indicator of plurality of indicators and the second TCI state includes a second indicator of the plurality of indicators (Each TCI state contains QCL information, i.e., one or two source DL RSs, reference signals as indicators, each source RS associated with a QCL type. ¶0033, Reference Signal, indicator, types such as DMRS. ¶¶0025-0026; In NR Rel-15, only one TCI state can be indicated. It has been agreed that up to two TCI states can be indicated in DCI in NR Rel-16. The TCI state(s) indicates which TRP(s) the PDSCH is transmitted from. ¶0034; To facilitate receiving PDSCH data from different TRPs or beams, a UE may be indicated with two TCI states, each associated with a TRP or a beam, by a single codepoint of a TCI field in a DCI. ¶0106, Fig. 10; ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, UE receives DCIs with multiple TCIs indicating associated reference signals, with the teachings of Muruganathan, indication of two TCI states in a single DCI and associated reference signals of two different beams to a UE.
The motivation in doing so would be for method for TCI state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping of multiple TCI states in a single DCI with associated reference signals for the multiple beams to enable accurate beamforming and channel estimation of each beam. (Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0005-0006, 0007-0013, 0016; Muruganathan: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0010-0013, 0034, 0107-0109, 0127-0128, 0201)
RE Claim 4 and 12, Kang discloses an apparatus:
wherein the plurality of indicators includes at least a first indicator associated with a first reference signal of the respective reference signals, and a second indicator associated with a second reference signal of the respective reference signals (Beam management procedure, BM, divided into downlink, DL, BM using CSI-RS, a first indicator. Uplink, UL, BM uses a sounding reference signal, SRS, a second indicator. ¶0138; DL BM may include DL reference signals, RSs, e.g. CSI-RS or SS Block. ¶0142; UL BM with UE configured for one or more SRS resource sets. ¶0233, Fig. 12.)
RE Claim 5, Kang discloses an apparatus:
wherein the plurality of indicators includes at least one indicator associated with a pair of TCI states (Each TCI state may be set to one reference signal, RS, set, a plurality. ¶¶0205-0207; Tx-Rx beam pair for spatial division duplexing. ¶0303, Fig. 16; DL BM may include DL reference signals, RSs, e.g. CSI-RS or SS Block. ¶0142; UL BM with UE configured for one or more SRS resource sets. ¶0233, Fig. 12.).
RE Claim 6, Kang discloses an apparatus:
wherein the plurality of indicators are associated with at least two transmit beams (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327).
RE Claim 7, Kang discloses an apparatus:
wherein the plurality of indicators are associated with at least two receive beams (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327, ¶¶0304-0306, Fig. 16).
RE Claim 8 and 20, Kang discloses an apparatus or method:
wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327), and the transmission configuration information is indicated using an uplink TCI state or uplink spatial relation information (Each TCI state may be set to one reference signal, RS, set, a plurality. ¶¶0205-0207; Tx-Rx beam pair for spatial division duplexing. ¶0303, Fig. 16; DL BM may include DL reference signals, RSs, e.g. CSI-RS or SS Block. ¶0142; UL BM with UE configured for one or more SRS resource sets. ¶0233, Fig. 12; Spatial parameter for relationship of CSI-RS resource or SSB and paired relationship with UL Tx beam corresponding to the DL beam. ¶0364), and wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors, to communicate with the base station (Simultaneous performing DL/UL beam managed based on spatial division duplexing, SDD, technology. ¶¶0301-0302; Base station transmission/reception point, TRP, for transmitting DL signal and receiving UL signal from UE. ¶0307), is configured to:
transmit a message or a sequence to the base station concurrent with receiving a message or a sequence from the base station (UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225; UE reports combination information of Tx beam(s) and RX beam(s) in which spatial division duplexing is enabled. The reference signal, RS, transmitted by the UE may be an UL RS. ¶¶0309-0311).
RE Claim 9, Kang discloses an apparatus:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (¶0407, Fig. 19), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code (¶¶0407, 0418, Fig. 19:1912); and
one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (¶¶0407, 0418, Fig. 19:1911, 1912), at least one processor of the one or more processors configured to cause the base station to:
provide transmission configuration information that includes a plurality of indicators of respective reference signals (Quasi co-location indicator. Each TCI state may be set to one reference signal, RS, set. ¶¶0205-0207; ‘SpatialRelationInfo’ is a parameter representing a configuration of a spatial relation between the reference RS, downlink, and the target SRS, uplink, a plurality of indicators. ¶0248. Reference signal, RS, may be SSB, CSI-RS or SRS corresponding to ‘SRS-SpatialRelationInfo’. Usage is set for each SRS resource set. UE determines a TX beam for an SRS resource to be transmitted based on SRS-SpatialRelation Info includes in the SRS-Config IE. 0249-0251); and
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), downlink control information (DCI) associated with the transmission configuration information (UE receives list of a number of TCI states. ¶0205; TCI state ID indicated through DCI. ¶0211; UE configured with a number of TCI state configurations per PDCCH having DCI intended for corresponding UE. ¶0215; UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225),
Kang does not explicitly disclose:
the DCI including a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second field associated with a second TCI state.
However, Muruganathan discloses:
the DCI including a first field associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state and a second field associated with a second TCI state (In NR Rel-15, only one TCI state can be indicated. It has been agreed that up to two TCI states can be indicated in DCI in NR Rel-16. The TCI state(s) indicates which TRP(s) the PDSCH is transmitted from. ¶0034; To facilitate receiving PDSCH data from different TRPs or beams, a UE may be indicated with two TCI states, each associated with a TRP or a beam, by a single codepoint of a TCI field in a DCI. ¶0106, Fig. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kang, UE receives DCIs with multiple TCIs indicating associated reference signals, with the teachings of Muruganathan, indication of two TCI states in a single DCI to receive PDSCH from two different beams to a UE.
The motivation in doing so would be for method for TCI state activation and codepoint to TCI state mapping of multiple TCI states in a single DCI for transmitting PDSCH over multiple beams to improve data rates and latency. (Kang: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0005-0006, 0007-0013, 0016; Muruganathan: Abstract, ¶¶0002, 0010-0013, 0034, 0107-0109, 0127-0128, 0201)
RE Claim 10, Kang discloses an apparatus
The apparatus, wherein, to provide the transmission configuration information, at least one processor of the one or more processors (¶¶0407, 0418, Fig. 19:1911, 1912) is configured to:
provide the transmission configuration information on a downlink channel configuration (UE receives list of a number of TCI states. ¶0205; TCI state ID indicated through DCI. ¶0211; UE configured with a number of TCI state configurations per PDCCH having DCI intended for corresponding UE. ¶0215; UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225).
RE Claim 13, Kang discloses an apparatus
wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink, the uplink including at least two beams for receiving data from the UE (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327).
RE Claim 14, Kang discloses an apparatus
wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with a downlink, the downlink including at least two beams for transmitting data to the UE (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327, ¶¶0304-0306, Fig. 16).
RE Claim 15, Kang discloses an apparatus
wherein at least one indicator of the plurality of indicators is associated with an uplink (UE transmits a transmission signal, e.g. SRS reference signal indicator, to one or each of a plurality of Tx beams paired with a specific Rx beam reported as the UE capability. ¶0327), and the transmission configuration information is indicated using an uplink TCI state or uplink spatial relation information (Each TCI state may be set to one reference signal, RS, set, a plurality. ¶¶0205-0207; Tx-Rx beam pair for spatial division duplexing. ¶0303, Fig. 16; DL BM may include DL reference signals, RSs, e.g. CSI-RS or SS Block. ¶0142; UL BM with UE configured for one or more SRS resource sets. ¶0233, Fig. 12; Spatial parameter for relationship of CSI-RS resource or SSB and paired relationship with UL Tx beam corresponding to the DL beam. ¶0364), and wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to:
transmit a message or a sequence to the UE concurrent with receiving a message or a sequence from the UE (UE reports combination information of Tx beam(s) and RX beam(s) in which spatial division duplexing is enabled. The reference signal, RS, transmitted by the UE may be an UL RS. ¶¶0309-0311; Simultaneous performing DL/UL beam managed based on spatial division duplexing, SDD, technology. ¶¶0301-0302; Base station transmission/reception point, TRP, for transmitting DL signal and receiving UL signal from UE. ¶0307).
RE Claim 16, Kang discloses an apparatus
wherein at least one processor of the one or more processors is configured to:
communicate, with the UE, in accordance with the transmission configuration information (UE receives list of a number of TCI states. ¶0205; TCI state ID indicated through DCI. ¶0211; UE configured with a number of TCI state configurations per PDCCH having DCI intended for corresponding UE. ¶0215; UE receives activation command to map TCI states to a codepoint of the DCI field ‘Transmission Configuration Indication’. ¶0225’ Simultaneous performing DL/UL beam managed based on spatial division duplexing, SDD, technology. ¶¶0301-0302; Base station transmission/reception point, TRP, for transmitting DL signal and receiving UL signal from UE. ¶0307).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 9, 11, 17, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US-20210258940-A1 Kim et al.
US-20220200777-A1 Lee et al.
US 20200229161 A1 Raghavan et al.
US 20230300835 A1 Muruganathan et al.
US 20220338221 A1 Muruganathan et al.
US 20220399983 A1 Muruganathan et al.
US 20230132040 A1 Gao et al.
US 20230114662 A1 Matsumura et al.
The above references disclose various aspects of improving operation of wireless full duplex with multiple beams and interference.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419