Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 4, 6, 7, 25, 27-29, 35-37 and 39 in the reply filed on 1/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4, 6, 7, 25, 27, 35 – 37, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) by Zheng, US20210094841A1 (in IDS filed 10/31/23).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng teaches a pre-aged, desodiated nickelate material (stabilized nickelate material)[0014], said pre-aged, desodiated nickelate material having an X-ray diffraction (XRD) pattern comprising:
(i) a first peak from about 11.9°-13.8° 2Θ, a second peak from about 17°-19.5° 2Θ, a third peak from about 24.7°-26.5° 2Θ, a fourth set of peaks from about 36.3°-39.2° 2Θ, a fifth set of peaks from about 41.9°-45.7° 2Θ, a sixth peak from 47.5°-49.5° 2Θ, a seventh peak from about 50.3°-52° 2Θ, an eighth peak from about 57.4°-58.7° 2Θ, and a ninth set of peaks from about 65°-68° 2Θ [fig. 2]; or
(ii) a first peak from about 11.1°-14.4° 2Θ, a second set of peaks from about 17.2°-19.9° 2Θ, a third peak from about 24.1°-26.0° 2Θ, a fourth set of peaks from about 35.8°-39.3° 2Θ, a fifth set of peaks from about 43.4°-45.4° 2Θ, a sixth peak from 47.7°-49.4° 2Θ, a seventh peak from about 56.8°-59.6° 2Θ, an eighth peak from about 62.8°-64.5° 2Θ, a ninth peak from about 65°-67.4° 2Θ, and a tenth peak from about 68.1°-69.2° 2Θ [fig. 2].
Regarding claim 6, Zheng teaches the pre-aged, desodiated nickelate material of claim 4, wherein said pre-aged, desodiated nickelate material has been prepared by pre-aging a desodiated nickelate precursor using a pre-aging solution comprising one or more agents selected from the group consisting of hydroxides (KOH)[0014].
Regarding claim 7, Zheng teaches the pre-aged, desodiated nickelate material of claim 6, wherein the pre-aging solution comprises a hydroxide selected from the group consisting of LiOH, NaOH, and other alkali and alkaline earth metal hydroxides (KOH)[0014].
Regarding claim 25, Zheng teaches an alkaline cathode composition comprising the pre-aged, desodiated nickelate material of claim 4 and electrolytic manganese dioxide [0083].
Regarding claim 27, Zheng teaches the alkaline cathode composition of claim 25, further comprising graphite and a binder [0085][0086].
Regarding claim 35, Zheng teaches the nickelate material of claim 4, wherein said nickelate material exhibits three discharge plateaus vs. Zn/ZnO reference electrode during discharge to 1.0V voltage at 10 mA/g discharge rate [0098].
Regarding claim 36, Zheng teaches the nickelate material of claim 35, wherein said nickelate material exhibits a discharge plateau at about 1.85-1.80 V during discharge at 10 mA/g discharge rate [fig. 3].
Regarding claim 37, Zheng teaches the nickelate material of claim 35, wherein said nickelate material exhibits a discharge curve vs. Zn/ZnO at 10 mA/g discharge rate, wherein the discharge curve depicts voltage vs. specific capacity; wherein the specific capacity is separated into a first region, from OCV to 1.63 V; a second region, from 1.63 V to 1.45 V; and a third region, from 1.45 V to 1.00 V; wherein the capacity contribution of a given region is the difference between the capacity at the end of that region and the beginning of that region; and i) the ratio of the capacity contribution of the second region to the capacity contribution of the first region is less than 10; o ii) the capacity contribution of the first region is at least 7.0% relative to the total capacity contribution of the first, second, and third regions [fig. 3].
Regarding claim 39, Zheng teaches the alkaline electrochemical cell comprising a nickelate material of claim 4 [0001].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28 – 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng, US20210094841A1 (in IDS filed 10/31/23).
Regarding claim 28, Zheng teaches the composition of claim 27, wherein the pre-aged, desodiated nickelate material is present in an amount of about 8.8-45.1 wt. %, the electrolytic manganese dioxide is present in an amount of about 48-84.3 wt. %, the graphite is present in an amount of about 3-8 wt. %, and the binder is present in an amount of about 0.1-1.0 wt. % [0082][0083][0097]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Regarding claim 29, Zheng teaches the composition of claim 27, wherein the pre-aged, desodiated nickelate material and EMD, together, are present in an amount of about 92-97 wt. %, the graphite is present in an amount of about 3-8 wt. %, and the binder is present in an amount of about 0.1-1.0 wt. % [0082][0083][0097]. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724