DETAILED ACTION
Priority
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 10-15 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1,2,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanigawa et al. USP 10,348,920.
Tanigawa discloses, regarding claim 1, A recording-medium processing apparatus, comprising:
a mobile body (62) that supports a to-be-pressed portion against which a first end portion of a recording medium that is to undergo a folding process is pressed, the mobile body allowing the to-be-pressed portion to move relative to the mobile body; and
a moving mechanism that includes a driving source, and moves the to-be-pressed portion relative to the mobile body (see at least fig.2, C9/L23-37).
Regarding claim 2, further comprising: a processor configured to:
set a distance of movement of the to-be-pressed portion,
wherein the processor is configured to set the distance of movement based on a quantity of displacement of a fold formed in a processed recording medium that is the recording medium subjected to the folding process after having the first end portion pressed against the to-be-pressed portion (see at least fig.4).
Regarding claim 16, An image forming system (10; fig.1), comprising:
an image forming apparatus (12) that forms an image on a recording medium; and
a recording-medium processing apparatus (16) that performs a process on the recording medium on which the image is formed by the image forming apparatus,
wherein the recording-medium processing apparatus includes the recording-medium processing apparatus (18) according to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa et al. USP 10,348,920 in view of Iida USP 9,902,586.
Tanigawa discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶5 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 3.
Iida teaches wherein the processor is configured to: specify the quantity of displacement of the fold based on a captured image obtained by capturing an image of the processed recording medium; and set the distance of movement based on the quantity of displacement of the fold specified based on the captured image (see at least C32/L15-19,60-C33/L).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure the processor to specify the quantity of displacement of the fold based on a captured image obtained by capturing an image of the processed recording medium; and set the distance of movement based on the quantity of displacement of the fold specified based on the captured image, as taught by Iida, in the device of Tanigawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of printing the images at the correct locations with respect to the folding position (C32/L65-C33/L3).
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa et al. USP 10,348,920 in view of Anezaki USP 10,367,959.
Tanigawa discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶5 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 4.
Anezaki teaches wherein the processor is configured to set a distance of movement of the to-be-pressed portion, wherein the processor is configured to: obtain image information serving as information on an image formed on the recording medium; and set the distance of movement of the to-be-pressed portion based on the image information (see at least fig.15,18, C9/L24-37).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to configure the processor to set a distance of movement of the to-be-pressed portion, wherein the processor is configured to: obtain image information serving as information on an image formed on the recording medium; and set the distance of movement of the to-be-pressed portion based on the image information, as taught by Anezaki, in the device of Tanigawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of obtaining a high quality booklet and preventing wasted sample output (C9/L37-42).
9. Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa et al. USP 10,348,920 in view of Kobayashi USP 5,944,645.
Tanigawa discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶5 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claims 6,7.
Kobayashi teaches [regarding claim 6] wherein the driving source (210) and the moving mechanism (215,216,217,223) are disposed at the mobile body, [regarding claim 7] wherein the mobile body includes an actuator (211,212,213) that operates by receiving a driving force from the driving source to touch the recording medium, and wherein the driving force is fed to both of the to-be-pressed portion and the actuator from the driving source used in common (see at least fig.3,5,6, C25/L30-32).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to dispose the driving source and the moving mechanism at the mobile body, wherein the mobile body includes an actuator that operates by receiving a driving force from the driving source to touch the recording medium, and wherein the driving force is fed to both of the to-be-pressed portion and the actuator from the driving source used in common, as taught by Kobayashi, in the device of Tanigawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of providing a compact device for simpler repair and replacement for a user.
Regarding claim 8, Tanigawa, as modified by Kobayashi, does not expressly disclose the moving mechanism including a disconnector that disconnect the driving force transmitted from the driving source toward the to-be-pressed portion; however, Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the moving mechanism with a disconnector that disconnects the driving force transmitted from the driving source toward the to-be-pressed portion, with a reasonable expectation of success, since the use of clutches to disconnect driving force from a driving source is a well known feature in the art. An advantage of adding a disconnector would be to simplify the apparatus for operation without having to add a second motor or other devices.
10. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa et al. USP 10,348,920 in view of Yamada USP 6,343,785.
Tanigawa discloses substantially all the limitations of the claims (see ¶4 above), but does not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 9.
Yamada teaches the to-be-pressed portion includes a first edge-side portion (19c) against which a first edge portion of the first end portion of the recording medium in a longitudinal direction is pressed, and a second edge-side portion (19d) against which a second edge portion of the first end portion of the recording medium in the longitudinal direction is pressed, and wherein the moving mechanism moves the to-be-pressed portion to change a positional relationship between the first edge-side portion and the second edge-side portion in a direction crossing the longitudinal direction (see at least fig.4, C4/L16-24).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the to-be-pressed portion with a first edge-side portion (19c) against which a first edge portion of the first end portion of the recording medium in a longitudinal direction is pressed, and a second edge-side portion (19d) against which a second edge portion of the first end portion of the recording medium in the longitudinal direction is pressed, and wherein the moving mechanism moves the to-be-pressed portion to change a positional relationship between the first edge-side portion and the second edge-side portion in a direction crossing the longitudinal direction, as taught by Yamada, in the device of Tanigawa, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of preventing skew by maintaining rear alignment of the recording medium regardless of the position of a postprocessor.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
12. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wakai (USP 9,298,148) discloses generating a print image for the adjustment of a folding position (See at least S511,S512,S513 in fig.5A).
/LESLIE A NICHOLSON III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653 3/16/2026