DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris (US 2024/0140161 A1) and in view of Jeong (US 2021/0252942 A1) and further in view of Kim (US 2021/0053412 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Morris discloses an integrated thermal management system (thermal management system 840, see figs. 13-15 and paragraph 51) comprising: a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant flow path 842) comprising a compressor (compressor, paragraphs 69, 77, and fig. 13), a condenser (condenser/heat exchanger 630”, fig. 13 and paragraph 77), an expander (expansion valve, paragraph 77), and an evaporator (evaporator refrigerant flow channel as part of heat exchanger 610, paragraph 77);
a first coolant line (see below annotated fig. 13 and paragraph 68) comprising a first heat exchanger (water flow channel through part of heat exchanger 610 that is connect to the first coolant line and on-board charging 855, see fig. 13 and paragraphs 68, 74) configured to exchange heat with the evaporator of the refrigerant circuit (refrigerant flow channels of evaporator heat exchanger 610 exchanging heat with water coolant first line passing through heat exchanger 610, see fig. 13 and paragraphs 68, 77) and
an internal heat exchanger (internal heat exchanger 630’) configured to adjust a temperature of air-conditioning air (by operation of fan adjacent heat exchanger 630’) through heat exchange with a coolant (heat exchange between coolant of loop 843 and air by operation of fan at internal heat exchanger 630’, see fig. 13);
first and second switching valves (see 4-way valves below annotated fig. 13 and paragraph 74) respectively disposed at front and rear ends of the internal heat exchanger in the first coolant line (4-way valves before and after heat exchanger 630’ in the first coolant line, see fig. 13);
a second coolant line (flow path 844) connected to the first and second switching valves (see fig. 13) and comprising a second heat exchanger (coolant flow channels through heat exchanger 630” that exchange heat with the refrigerant flow channels through condenser 630”, see fig. 13; Also see second heat exchangers 630, see below annotated fig. 13) configured to exchange heat with the condenser of the refrigerant circuit (via flow path 844, where second heat exchangers 630 exchange heat with condenser 630; fig. 13);
a third coolant line (coolant line containing battery, see figs. 15, 13) connected to the first coolant line (see figs. 15, 13) and comprising a battery (400); and
a fourth coolant line (coolant line containing PTC element 854, on-board charging OBC 855, see figs. 13-15) connected to the first coolant line (see figs. 13-15) and comprising a PE component (PTC element 854, on-board charging OBC 855, see figs. 13-15); and wherein,
the first switching valve comprises a four-way valve (see 4-way valve, below annotated fig. 14) and has a first port (a first port of 4-way valve connected to first heat exchanger, see below annotated fig. 14), a second port connected to a front end of the internal heat exchanger of the first coolant line (a second port of 4-way valve connected to internal heat exchanger 630’, see below annotated fig. 14), a third port connected to a rear end of the second heat exchanger of the second coolant line (a third port of 4-way valve connected to second heat exchanger 630, see below annotated fig. 14), and a fourth port connected to a front end of the battery of the third coolant line (a fourth port of 4-way valve connected to the battery 400 of the third coolant line, see below annotated fig. 14).
However, Morris does not explicitly teach that the third and fourth coolant lines are branching off.
Jeong teaches an integrated thermal management system (see abstract and fig. 2) comprising: a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit through compressor 59, see fig. 2) comprising a compressor (59), a condenser (52, 55), an expander (56, 64), and an evaporator (60, 57); a first coolant line (21, 11) comprising a first heat exchanger configured to exchange heat with the evaporator of the refrigerant circuit (heat exchange between refrigerant and coolant at heat exchanger/evaporator 53, 60, see fig. 2 and paragraph 93) and a third coolant line (80) branching off from the first coolant line (21, 31 and paragraph 97) and comprising a battery (30, see fig. 2 and paragraph 93); and a fourth coolant line (coolant line 11, 18) branching off from the first coolant line (via valves V1, V2, see paragraphs 92, 170, and fig. 2) and comprising a PE component (electrical component 15, see paragraph 78 and fig. 2). In addition, Jeong further discloses that the first coolant line (21, 11) further comprises: a branch tube (branch tubes 18, 80, 90) disposed between the first heat exchanger (heat exchange channel through heat exchangers 53 or 60 for coolant in lines 21, 11, see figs. 2-4) and the first switching valve (branches 18, 80, 90 between heat exchangers 53 or 60, and valves V1, V2 or valve on line 90, see figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the integrated thermal management system of Morris by providing a branch tube disposed between the first heat exchanger and the first switching valve; and a third coolant line branching off from the first coolant line and comprising a battery and a fourth coolant line branching off from the first coolant line and comprising a PE component based on the teachings of Jeong in order to selectively isolate the heated or cooled battery and the internal heat exchanger from heat generating PE components by providing branches and switching valves upstream and downstream of the first heat exchanger to maintain the temperature of cool supply air.
Morris also does not explicitly teach that one of the ports of the four-way switching valve is connected to a branch tube.
However, Kim discloses an integrated thermal management system (see abstract and figs. 1-4) comprising: a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit through compressor 59, air conditioner 50, see figs. 1-4) comprising a compressor (59), a condenser (53, 54), an expansion valve (55, 63), an evaporator (56, 30); a first coolant line (11, 31, 21) further comprises: a branch tube (branch tube 35) disposed between the first heat exchanger (heat exchange channel through heat exchanger 30 for coolant in lines 21, 11, see figs. 1-4) and a first switching valve (valve V3, figs. 1-4) comprising a four-way valve (4-way valve V3, see figs. 1-4), wherein the first switching four-way valve has a first port (coolant line 11 connected to first port of valve V3, see figs. 1-4) connected to the branch tube (line 11 connected to branch tube 35, see figs. 1-4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first coolant line of the integrated thermal management system of Morris as modified by providing a branch tube disposed between the first heat exchanger and the first switching valve; wherein the first switching four-way valve has a first port connected to the branch tube as taught by Kim in order to selectively direct the coolant towards radiator or battery for utilizing the coolant for extracting heat from the radiator or battery after passing the coolant through the evaporator to conserve energy of the system by minimizing use of external energy to cool down the radiator and the battery.
In regards to claim 2, Morris as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Jeong further discloses that the first coolant line (21, 11) further comprises: a branch tube (branch tubes 18, 80, 90); and a third switching valve (valve on branch 90, see paragraph 96 and/or valves V1, V2, see fig. 2) disposed between the first heat exchanger (HX 53 or 60) and the second switching valve (valve on branch 90 which is between HX 53 or 60 and valve V1, see figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first coolant line of the integrated thermal management system of Morris as modified by providing a branch tube disposed between the first heat exchanger and the first switching valve; and a third switching valve disposed between the first heat exchanger and the second switching valve based on the teachings of Jeong in order to selectively isolate the heated or cooled battery and the internal heat exchanger from heat generating PE components by providing branches and switching valves upstream and downstream of the first heat exchanger to maintain the temperature of cool supply air.
In regards to claim 3, Morris as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and Jeong further discloses that the second coolant line (11) further comprises: a radiator (radiators 12); and a fourth switching valve (V2) configured to allow the coolant to selectively flow to the radiator (by bypassing the radiator 12 through branch 18, see figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second coolant line of the integrated thermal management system of Morris as modified by providing a radiator and a fourth switching valve configured to allow the coolant to selectively flow to the radiator based on the teachings of Jeong to the second coolant line of Morris in order to preserve the cooling/heating extracted from the first/second heat exchangers for utilizing as cooling/heating means for the PE component or the battery and consequently increase the efficiency of the system by reutilizing the heating/cooling generating in the system at the condenser.
In regards to claim 7, Morris discloses an integrated thermal management system (thermal management system 840, see figs. 13-15 and paragraph 51) comprising:
a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant flow path 842) comprising a compressor (compressor, paragraphs 69, 77, and fig. 13), a condenser (condenser/heat exchanger 630”, fig. 13 and paragraph 77), an expander (expansion valve, paragraph 77), and an evaporator (evaporator refrigerant flow channel as part of heat exchanger 610, paragraph 77);
a first coolant line (see below annotated fig. 13 and paragraph 68) comprising a first heat exchanger (water flow channel through part of heat exchanger 610 that is connect to the first coolant line and on-board charging 855, see fig. 13 and paragraphs 68, 74) configured to exchange heat with the evaporator of the refrigerant circuit (refrigerant flow channels of evaporator heat exchanger 610 exchanging heat with water coolant first line passing through heat exchanger 610, see fig. 13 and paragraphs 68, 77) and
an internal heat exchanger (internal heat exchanger 630’) configured to adjust a temperature of air-conditioning air (by operation of fan adjacent heat exchanger 630’) through heat exchange with a coolant (heat exchange between coolant of loop 843 and air by operation of fan at internal heat exchanger 630’, see fig. 13);
first and second switching valves (see 4-way valves below annotated fig. 13 and paragraph 74) respectively disposed at front and rear ends of the internal heat exchanger in the first coolant line (4-way valves before and after heat exchanger 630’ in the first coolant line, see fig. 13);
a second coolant line (flow path 844) connected to the first and second switching valves (see fig. 13) and comprising a second heat exchanger (coolant flow channels through heat exchanger 630” that exchange heat with the refrigerant flow channels through condenser 630”, see fig. 13; Also see second heat exchangers 630, see below annotated fig. 13) configured to exchange heat with the condenser of the refrigerant circuit (via flow path 844, where second heat exchangers 630 exchange heat with condenser 630; fig. 13);
a third coolant line (coolant line containing battery, see figs. 15, 13) branching off from the first coolant line (see figs. 15, 13) and comprising a battery (400); and
a fourth coolant line (coolant line containing PTC element 854, on-board charging OBC 855, see figs. 13-15) branching off from the first coolant line (see figs. 13-15) and comprising a PE component (PTC element 854, on-board charging OBC 855, see figs. 13-15); and wherein,
the second switching valve comprises a four-way valve (see 4-way valve, below annotated fig. 14) and has a first port (a first port of 4-way valve connected to first heat exchanger, see below annotated fig. 14), a second port connected to the rear end of the internal heat exchanger of the first coolant line (a second port of 4-way valve connected to the rear end of the internal heat exchanger 630’, see below annotated fig. 14), a third port connected to a front end of the second heat exchanger of the second coolant line (a third port of 4-way valve connected to front end of second heat exchanger 630, see below annotated fig. 14), and a fourth port connected to the rear end of the battery of the third coolant line (a fourth port of 4-way valve connected to the rear end of the battery 400 of the third coolant line, see below annotated fig. 14).
However, Morris does not explicitly teach that the third and fourth coolant lines are branching off.
Jeong teaches an integrated thermal management system (see abstract and fig. 2) comprising: a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit through compressor 59, see fig. 2) comprising a compressor (59), a condenser (52, 55), an expander (56, 64), and an evaporator (60, 57); a first coolant line (21, 11) comprising a first heat exchanger configured to exchange heat with the evaporator of the refrigerant circuit (heat exchange between refrigerant and coolant at heat exchanger/evaporator 53, 60, see fig. 2 and paragraph 93) and a third coolant line (80) branching off from the first coolant line (21, 31 and paragraph 97) and comprising a battery (30, see fig. 2 and paragraph 93); and a fourth coolant line (coolant line 11, 18) branching off from the first coolant line (via valves V1, V2, see paragraphs 92, 170, and fig. 2) and comprising a PE component (electrical component 15, see paragraph 78 and fig. 2). In addition, Jeong further discloses that the first coolant line (21, 11) further comprises a third switching valve (valve on branch 90, see paragraph 96 and/or valves V1, V2, see fig. 2) disposed between the first heat exchanger (HX 53 or 60) and the second switching valve (valve on branch 90 which is between HX 53 or 60 and valve V1, see figs. 2-4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the integrated thermal management system of Morris by providing a branch tube disposed between the first heat exchanger and the first switching valve; and a third coolant line branching off from the first coolant line and comprising a battery and a fourth coolant line branching off from the first coolant line and comprising a PE component based on the teachings of Jeong in order to selectively isolate the heated or cooled battery and the internal heat exchanger from heat generating PE components by providing branches and switching valves upstream and downstream of the first heat exchanger to maintain the temperature of cool supply air.
Morris also does not explicitly teach that one of the ports of the four-way switching valve is connected to another switching valve.
However, Kim discloses an integrated thermal management system (see abstract and figs. 1-4) comprising: a refrigerant circuit (refrigerant circuit through compressor 59, air conditioner 50, see figs. 1-4) comprising a compressor (59), a condenser (53, 54), an expansion valve (55, 63), an evaporator (56, 30); a first coolant line (11, 31, 21) further comprises: a branch tube (branch tube 35) disposed between the first heat exchanger (heat exchange channel through heat exchanger 30 for coolant in lines 21, 11, see figs. 1-4) and a second switching valve (valve V3, figs. 1-4) comprising a four-way valve (4-way valve V3, see figs. 1-4), wherein the second switching four-way valve has a first port (coolant line 11 connected to first port of valve V3, see figs. 1-4) connected to a third switching valve (valves V1, V2) of the first coolant line (line 11 from second switching valve V3 connects valves V1 and V2 of first coolant line 35, 31, see figs. 1-4).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first coolant line of the integrated thermal management system of Morris as modified by providing second switching four-way valve that has a first port connected to the third switching valve of the first coolant line as taught by Kim in order to selectively direct the coolant towards radiator or battery for utilizing the coolant for extracting heat from the radiator or battery after passing the coolant through the evaporator to conserve energy of the system by minimizing use of external energy to cool down the radiator and the battery.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's argument, "claims 4-7 are indicated as allowable and since independent claim 1 includes the limitations of claim 5, claim 1 should now be allowable," examiner points out that claims 4-7 were objected to as being dependent upon rejected claims. In addition, the allowability of the claims depended upon rewriting the claims in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Since, independent claim 1 did not include all the limitations of the intervening claim (i.e. claim 4), claim 1 is not yet allowable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-22 are allowed.
Claims 4, 6 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763