DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that the combination of Mothier with Sonnekalb to provide the compressor would not teach amended claim 1, particularly “the thermal management system configured such that activation and deactivation of the compressor controls whether the first cooling liquid is, or is not, being cooled.”
Applicant argues that Mothier provides that the cooling circuits L1, L2, and L3 operate independently from one another and components in the cooling circuits L2 and L3 does not control the cooling of cooling circuit L1.
However, firstly, the independent operation of cooling circuits L1, L2, and L3 are only in one of the operating conditions. As shown in fig. 1 and described in at least [0095] and [0104], there are other operating conditions which utilize three-way valves 36 and 56 to operate auxiliary branches 32 and 50, which couple the cooling circuits together. Therefore, there is heat exchange between the cooling circuits, and Mothier specifically discloses that the third coolant C3 may reject heat into cooling circuits L1 and L2 (see e.g., Mothier; [0095]). Therefore, the cooling circuits and structurally and functionally do not operate independently from one another.
Secondly, Sonnekalb discloses a cooling circuit that may include a compressor (see e.g., Sonnekalb; fig. 1, [0006], [0025], regarding compressor 3), wherein the compressor is positioned behind heat exchangers 7 which connect two cooling circuits together (see e.g., Sonnekalb; fig. 1). Sonnekalb is further analogous art because Sonnekalb discloses the thermal management system which is provided with a plurality of cooling circuits having independent cooling fluids which is used in a fuel cell vehicle (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0001]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermal management system of Mothier by providing a compressor in a position such as next to the heat exchangers 54 and 34 in the second or third cooling loops L2 or L3 of Mothier, because Sonnekalb discloses the compressor next to a pair of heat exchangers positioned between coolant loops. As mentioned above, Mothier discloses that in certain operating modes, heat is rejected into the first cooling circuit L1 from the third cooling circuit L3 when the three-way valves open the auxiliary branches (see e.g., Mothier; [0095], [0104]). A compressor positioned next to the heat exchangers 54 and 34 in a position such as cooling loop L3 would thereby raise the temperature of the cooling fluid and activation and deactivation of the compressor would influence the heat being rejected or not rejected into the first cooling circuit, which corresponds with the claimed compressor activating and deactivating to control whether the first cooling fluid is, or is not, being cooled. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to decrease the time taken by the battery to reach operating temperature, reduce requirements for the heater, downsize the cooling circuit to thereby reduce size, cost, and weight of the system (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0104]). In this configuration, the compressor does control the cooling or not-cooling state of the first coolant C1 in cooling circuit L1.
Applicant submits that C1 would continue to be cooled by its own heat rejection portion 26 irrespective of compressor state. However, the provided compressor of modified Mothier can still influence the cooling or not-cooling state of the first cooling circuit L1 because of the heat exchanger. That is, while heat rejection portion 26 is rejecting heat, the temperature of the first cooling circuit L1 is still dependent on the compressor and therefore activation and deactivation of the compressor leads to cooling or non-cooling states.
Moreover, Mothier provides an embodiment wherein auxiliary branch 32 bypasses the heat rejection portion of 26 (see e.g., Mothier; [0106]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermal management system of Mothier as provided in claim 1 with the embodiment of bypassing the heat rejection portion 26 as disclosed in an alternative embodiment of Mothier in order to optimize heating of the battery 32 (see e.g., Mothier; [0106]). In this configuration, the compressor of modified Mothier would more heavily influence the cooling or not-cooling state of cooling circuit L1 as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothier (US-20230104670-A1), and in further view of Durrani (US-20210291622-A1) and Sonnekalb (US-20190047365-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mothier discloses a thermal management system comprising:
a first cooling circuit configured to circulate a first cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; annotated fig. 1, wherein L1 is a first cooling circuit, [0059]-[0060], regarding first coolant C1 is a first cooling fluid), the first cooling fluid comprising a dielectric thermal fluid (see e.g., Mothier; [0060], regarding a first coolant C 1 may be glycol loaded water or glycolated water, which is dielectric), the first cooling circuit including one or more batteries (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding battery 16 in L1);
a second cooling circuit configured to circulate a second cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; annotated fig. 1, wherein L3 is a second cooling circuit, [0072]-[0073], regarding C3 is a second cooling fluid), the second cooling circuit being directly thermally coupled to the first cooling circuit such that a heat entrained in the first cooling fluid is transferable to the second cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 34 coupling the first and second cooling circuits);
and a third cooling circuit configured to circulate a third cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; annotated fig. 1, wherein L2 is a third cooling circuit, [0066]-[0067], regarding coolant C2 as a third cooling fluid), the third cooling circuit being directly thermally coupled to the second cooling circuit such that a heat entrained in the second cooling fluid is transferable to the third cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, [0078], regarding heat exchanger 54 coupling the third and second cooling circuits).
Regarding wherein one of the second cooling circuit of the third cooling circuit circulates a refrigerant, and the other of the second cooling circuit and the third cooling circuit circulates an electrically conductive cooling fluid, Mothier discloses wherein the third cooling fluid C2 may be glycol loaded water or glycolated water (see e.g., Mothier; [0067]), which is electrically conductive cooling fluid. Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the second cooling fluid is a refrigerant. However, Durrani discloses that a circuit in a cooling system may be a refrigerant, such as R134a (see e.g., Durrani; [0054]). Durrani is further analogous art because Durrani discloses that the cooling system has three circuits like Mothier (see e.g., Durrani; fig. 1, [0067]) and specifically applied in vehicles (see e.g., Durrani; [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the third cooling fluid of Mothier to be a refrigerant such as R134a as disclosed by Durrani in order to provide a high efficiency heat transfer medium (see e.g., Mothier; [0073]).
Alternatively, in a second case, Mothier may correspond with instant claim 1 wherein L1 is the first cooling circuit, L2 is the second cooling circuit, and L3 is the third cooling circuit (see e.g., Mothier; annotated fig. 1 below).
In this second case, the second cooling fluid is C3 and the third cooling fluid is C2, the second cooling circuit (L3) being directly thermally coupled to the first cooling circuit (L1) such that a heat entrained in the first cooling fluid is transferable to the second cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, [0078], regarding heat exchangers 34, 54 which may be considered as directly thermally coupling L1 to L2), the third cooling circuit (L2) being directly thermally coupled to the second cooling circuit (L3) such that a heat entrained in the second cooling fluid is transferable to the third cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 54 which directly thermally couples L2 to L3). Regarding wherein the second cooling fluid is one of an electrically conductive cooling fluid or a refrigerant, the third cooling fluid being the other of the electrically conductive cooling fluid and the refrigerant, Mothier discloses the third cooling fluid C2 as glycol loaded water or glycolated water which is electrically conductive, and the same modification with Durrani may be applied to change the second cooling fluid C3 into a refrigerant such as R134a.
Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the second cooling circuit or the third cooling circuit comprises a compressor, the thermal management system configured such that activation and deactivation of the compressor controls whether the first cooling fluid is, or is not, being cooled. However, Sonnekalb discloses a cooling circuit that may include a compressor (see e.g., Sonnekalb; fig. 1, [0006], [0025], regarding compressor 3), wherein the compressor is positioned behind heat exchangers 7 which connect two cooling circuits together (see e.g., Sonnekalb; fig. 1). Sonnekalb is further analogous art because Sonnekalb discloses the thermal management system which is provided with a plurality of cooling circuits having independent cooling fluids which is used in a fuel cell vehicle (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0001]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermal management system of Mothier by providing a compressor in a position such as next to the heat exchangers 54 and 34 in the second or third cooling loops L2 or L3 of Mothier, because Sonnekalb discloses the compressor next to a pair of heat exchangers between coolant loops. Mothier discloses that in certain operating modes, heat is rejected into the first cooling circuit L1 from the third cooling circuit L3 when the three-way valves open the auxiliary branches (see e.g., Mothier; [0095], [0104]). A compressor positioned next to the heat exchangers 54 and 34 in a position such as cooling loop L3 would thereby raise the temperature of the cooling fluid and activation and deactivation of the compressor would influence the heat being rejected or not rejected into the first cooling circuit, which corresponds with the claimed compressor activating and deactivating to control whether the first cooling fluid is, or is not, being cooled. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to decrease the time taken by the battery to reach operating temperature, reduce requirements for the heater, downsize the cooling circuit to thereby reduce size, cost, and weight of the system (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0104]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 1. As above regarding claim 1, modified Mothier teaches wherein the second cooling fluid is the electrically conductive cooling fluid and the third cooling fluid is the refrigerant.
As in the second case above regarding claim 1, Mothier discloses wherein the second cooling circuit further includes at least one electronic unit that is electrically coupled to the one or more batteries (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, [0055], regarding L2 having power electronics 18 which manages battery 16).
Regarding claim 9, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 1. As above regarding claim 1 in the first case, modified Mothier teaches wherein the second cooling fluid C3 is modified to be refrigerant, wherein the third cooling fluid C2 is the electrically conductive cooling fluid, and wherein the third cooling circuit further includes at least one electronic unit that is electrically coupled to the one or more batteries (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, wherein power electronics 18 managing batteries 16 is in the third cooling circuit L2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 9. As in the first case described above regarding claim 9, Mothier discloses wherein the heat entrained in the first cooling fluid is transferred from the first cooling fluid to the second cooling fluid at a first heat exchanger (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 34 which couples the first and second circuits), and the heat entrained in the second cooling fluid is transferred from the second cooling fluid to the third cooling fluid at a second heat exchanger (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 54 which couples the second and third circuits) and wherein a temperature of the third cooling fluid outputted from the at least one electronic unit is reduced at a coolant circuit radiator of the third cooling circuit (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, [0098], regarding heat rejection portion 46 positioned after the power electronics 18) before the temperature of the third cooling fluid is elevated at the second heat exchanger and circulated to the at least one electronic unit (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, [0095], regarding heat exchanger 54 which is positioned after the heat rejection portion 46 flows back towards the power electronics 18 and which receives heat from the first cooling fluid C1).
Claim(s) 3, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothier (US-20230104670-A1), Durrani (US-20210291622-A1), and Sonnekalb (US-20190047365-A1), and further in view of Sakaray (US-20220045380-A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 2. Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one electronic unit comprises at least one inverter. However, Sakaray discloses a power electronics unit which comprises an inverter (see e.g., Sakaray; [0016], [0026], regarding inverter 110). Sakaray is further analogous art because Sakaray discloses the electronics unit in the same context of a thermal management system (see e.g., Sakaray; [0001]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an inverter as disclosed by Sakaray in the power electronics unit of Mothier in order to convert DC to AC power and vice versa (see e.g., Sakaray; [0016], [0026]), which is necessary to power certain electronic components.
Regarding claim 10, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 9. Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one electronic unit is at least one inverter. However, Sakaray discloses a power electronics unit which comprises an inverter (see e.g., Sakaray; [0016], [0026], regarding inverter 110). Sakaray is further analogous art because Sakaray discloses the electronics unit in the same context of a thermal management system (see e.g., Sakaray; [0001]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included an inverter as disclosed by Sakaray in the power electronics unit of Mothier in order to convert DC to AC power and vice versa (see e.g., Sakaray; [0016], [0026]), which is necessary to power certain electronic components.
Claim(s) 4-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothier (US-20230104670-A1), Durrani (US-20210291622-A1), and Sonnekalb (US-20190047365-A1), and further in view of Schmidt (US-20240128547-A1 publication, US202017769427A application).
Regarding claim 4, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 2. As in the second case above regarding claim 2, Mothier discloses further including: a first heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchangers 34, 54), the second heat exchanger being fluidly coupled to the second and third cooling circuits (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 54 which couples L2 and L3),
Mothier does not explicitly disclose a first heat exchanger, the first heat exchanger being fluidly coupled to the first and second cooling circuits. However, Schmidt discloses the use of a countercurrent heat exchanger (see e.g., Schmidt; [0191]-[0194]), which may be used to modify Mothier such that the counter flow heat exchanger fluidly couples the first and second cooling circuits. Schmidt discloses that the countercurrent heat exchanger receives a first fluid and a second fluid (see e.g., Schmidt; [0193]), and is used between two different coolant loops (see e.g., Schmidt; fig. 1) in order to provide system temperature regulation (see e.g., Schmidt; [0013]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the countercurrent heat exchanger disclosed by Schmidt fluidly coupled to the first and second cooling circuits of Mothier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order because of the heat-transfer effectiveness of the countercurrent heat exchanger (see e.g., Schmidt; [0192]). This modification is further applicable because Mothier discloses that the location of heat exchangers may be modified (see e.g., Mothier; [0078]). This modification is further applicable because Schmidt similarly discloses that the countercurrent heat exchanger and thermal system may be implemented in vehicles for managing the temperature of vehicle components (see e.g., Schmidt; [0039]). Furthermore, Mothier discloses that heater 40 may be used to heat the battery and cold start the vehicle (see e.g., Mothier; [0064]), but with the modification of the countercurrent heat exchanger, heat from the second cooling circuit may be transferred to the first cooling circuit to assist with the cold start. Mothier further discloses that the second cooling circuit has lots of excess heat due to power electronics module 18 (see e.g., Mothier; [0070]), so instead of wasting energy by discharging through the radiator, having a countercurrent heat exchanger may transfer the thermal energy to the first cooling circuit. In summary, the modification adding a countercurrent heat exchanger to fluidly connect the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit would further enable fine control of heat exchanges between the three cooling circuits (see e.g., Mothier; [0097]).
With the modification of Schmidt, the structure of modified Mothier is the same as instantly claimed. Therefore, the claimed function of “wherein a temperature of the second cooling fluid outputted from the at least one electronic unit is reduced at the second heat exchanger before the second cooling fluid is circulated to the first heat exchanger, the temperature of the second cooling fluid being increased at the first heat exchanger before the second cooling fluid is delivered to the at least one electronic unit,” may be achieved. That is, the countercurrent heat exchanger disclosed by Schmidt may be positioned after the second heat exchanger 54. Then, when the temperature of the second cooling fluid output from the power electronics 18 is higher than the temperature of the third cooling fluid, the temperature of the second cooling fluid may be reduced at the second heat exchanger 54 before proceeding to the first heat exchanger. Additionally, when the temperature of the second cooling fluid is lower than the first cooling fluid, the temperature of the second cooling fluid may be increased at the first heat exchanger of Schmidt before proceeding to the power electronics 18. This operation is further ordinary because Mothier discloses that the fuel cell in the first cooling circuit needs to reject sufficient heat in order to maintain normal operating conditions (see e.g., Mothier; [0094]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 2. Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the second cooling circuit does not include a radiator.
Mothier discloses that the second cooling circuit has a heat rejection portion 46 (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1). However, Mothier may be modified with Schmidt by adding a countercurrent heat exchanger to fluidly connect the first and second cooling circuits. With this addition, the heat rejection portion 46 of Mothier is redundant and may be removed because heat from the second cooling circuit which is generated by the power electronics 18 may be rejected into the first cooling circuit when necessary, and the first cooling circuit of Mothier already has a radiator (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat rejection portion 26).
Schmidt discloses the use of a countercurrent heat exchanger (see e.g., Schmidt; [0191]-[0194]), which may be used to modify Mothier such that the counter flow heat exchanger fluidly couples the first and second cooling circuits, and the radiator 46 of Mothier may be removed because Schmidt does not disclose the use of an additional radiator in the cooling circuits. Schmidt discloses that the countercurrent heat exchanger receives a first fluid and a second fluid (see e.g., Schmidt; [0193]), and is used between two different coolant loops (see e.g., Schmidt; fig. 1) in order to provide system temperature regulation (see e.g., Schmidt; [0013]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the countercurrent heat exchanger disclosed by Schmidt fluidly coupled to the first and second cooling circuits of Mothier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order because of the heat-transfer effectiveness of the countercurrent heat exchanger (see e.g., Schmidt; [0192]). This modification is further applicable because Mothier discloses that the location of heat exchangers may be modified (see e.g., Mothier; [0078]). This modification is further applicable because Schmidt similarly discloses that the countercurrent heat exchanger and thermal system may be implemented in vehicles for managing the temperature of vehicle components (see e.g., Schmidt; [0039]). Furthermore, Mothier discloses that heater 40 may be used to heat the battery and cold start the vehicle (see e.g., Mothier; [0064]), but with the modification of the countercurrent heat exchanger, heat from the second cooling circuit may be transferred to the first cooling circuit to assist with the cold start. Mothier further discloses that the second cooling circuit has lots of excess heat due to power electronics module 18 (see e.g., Mothier; [0070]), so instead of wasting energy by discharging through the radiator, having a countercurrent heat exchanger may transfer the thermal energy to the first cooling circuit. In summary, the modification adding a countercurrent heat exchanger to fluidly connect the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit and removing the radiator 46 would further enable fine control of heat exchanges between the three cooling circuits (see e.g., Mothier; [0097]).
Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the third cooling circuit further includes a condenser. However, Sonnekalb discloses that a heat exchanger may function as a condenser (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0005], [0029], fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 7 functioning as condenser). Sonnekalb is further analogous art because Sonnekalb discloses the thermal management system which is provided with a plurality of cooling circuits having independent cooling fluids which is used in a fuel cell vehicle (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0001]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a heat exchanger 34, 54 of Mothier to function as a condenser as disclosed by Sonnekalb. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a further functionality of vehicle air conditioning that is effective, convenient, and simple (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 5. As above regarding claim 5, modified Mothier teaches the inclusion of a compressor. Mothier further discloses a controller 82 which operates all the components of the thermal management system, (see e.g., Mothier; [0061], [0064], [0068], [0074], [0085]-[0086], [0088]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0095]-[0098], [0103]-[0104]), which overlaps with the claimed activation and a deactivation of the thermal management system is controlled via a control of a supply of electrical power to the compressor. Because modified Mothier includes a compressor and discloses a controller 82 connected to all components, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the controller 82 as disclosed by Mothier to the added compressor in order to control the temperature of the fuel cell and vehicle components (see e.g., Mothier; [0001]). With a controller connected to the compressor, the structural components of modified Mothier teach instant claim 7; The function of sending a supply of electrical power to the compressor may be performed by the structure of modified Mothier.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothier (US-20230104670-A1), Durrani (US-20210291622-A1), Sonnekalb (US-20190047365-A1), Schmidt (US-20240128547-A1 publication, US202017769427A application), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Dombek (US-6055946-A).
Regarding claim 6, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 5. Mothier shows that the cooling fan 30 is positioned such that the first cooling circuit is cooled (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1). Modified Mothier includes the condenser in the first cooling circuit, so modified Mothier also teaches wherein the condenser is positioned to be air cooled via at least operation of a fan.
Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the fan is coupled to a diesel engine. However, Dombek discloses wherein a fan is coupled to a crankshaft of an internal combustion engine (see e.g., Dombek; abstract). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have attached the fan disclosed by Dombek to an internal combustion engine, such as a diesel engine, as disclosed by Dombek in order to have a cooling fan that operates faster than the engine speed, can be turned on/off when needed, and has power takeoff capability through the crankshaft (see e.g., Dombek; section 1 lines 53-56).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothier (US-20230104670-A1), Durrani (US-20210291622-A1), Sonnekalb (US-20190047365-A1), and Schmidt (US-20240128547-A1 publication, US202017769427A application) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Sprague (US-20210143499-A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 5. Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cooling circuit and the at least one electronic unit are housed together within a housing, the housing not including at least the compressor of the third cooling circuit. However, Sprague discloses a cooling arrangement for battery powered motor wherein a cooling circuit 200 and electronics 42 are provided in a housing 14 (see e.g., Sprague; [0078], fig. 14). Sprague does not disclose that a compressor is included inside the housing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a housing as disclosed to house the first cooling circuit and electronics unit, not including a compressor, as disclosed by Sprague in order efficiently house multiple components in the same housing which may save on cost, size, and weight (see e.g., Mothier; [0007]).
Claim(s) 12-14, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothier (US-20230104670-A1), Durrani (US-20210291622-A1), and Sonnekalb (US-20190047365-A1), and further in view of Dombek (US-6055946-A).
Regarding claim 12, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 11. Mothier shows that the cooling fan 30 is positioned such that the coolant circuit radiator is cooled (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat rejection portion 46). Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the operation of the fan is connected to a diesel engine. However, Dombek discloses wherein a fan is coupled to a crankshaft of an internal combustion engine (see e.g., Dombek; abstract). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have attached the fan disclosed by Dombek to an internal combustion engine, such as a diesel engine, as disclosed by Dombek in order to have a cooling fan that operates faster than the engine speed, can be turned on/off when needed, and has power takeoff capability through the crankshaft (see e.g., Dombek; section 1 lines 53-56).
Regarding claim 13, Mothier discloses a thermal management system comprising:
at least one electronic unit (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding power electronics 18);
at least one battery (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding battery 16);
a first cooling circuit configured to circulate a first cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; annotated fig. 1, wherein L1 is a first cooling circuit, [0059]-[0060], regarding first coolant C1 is a first cooling fluid), the first cooling fluid comprising a dielectric thermal fluid (see e.g., Mothier; [0060], regarding a first coolant C 1 may be glycol loaded water or glycolated water, which is dielectric), the first cooling circuit including one or more batteries (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding battery 16 in L1);
a second cooling circuit configured to circulate a second cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; annotated fig. 1, wherein L3 is a second cooling circuit, [0072]-[0073], regarding C3 is a second cooling fluid), the second cooling circuit being directly thermally coupled to the first cooling circuit such that a heat entrained in the first cooling fluid is transferable to the second cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 34 coupling the first and second cooling circuits);
and a third cooling circuit configured to circulate a third cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; annotated fig. 1, wherein L2 is a third cooling circuit, [0066]-[0067], regarding coolant C2 as a third cooling fluid), the third cooling circuit being directly thermally coupled to the second cooling circuit such that a heat entrained in the second cooling fluid is transferable to the third cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, [0078], regarding heat exchanger 54 coupling the third and second cooling circuits), wherein the third cooling circuit is positioned to remove heat from the at least one electronic unit (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, [0066], regarding L2 coupled to power electronics 18), and wherein a portion of the second cooling circuit or the third cooling circuit is positioned to be air cooled by a fan (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, [0063], regarding fan 30 which cools both circuits).
Regarding wherein one of the second cooling circuit of the third cooling circuit circulates a refrigerant, and the other of the second cooling circuit and the third cooling circuit circulates an electrically conductive cooling fluid, Mothier discloses wherein the third cooling fluid C2 may be glycol loaded water or glycolated water (see e.g., Mothier; [0067]), which is electrically conductive cooling fluid. Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the second cooling fluid is a refrigerant. However, Durrani discloses that a circuit in a cooling system may be a refrigerant, such as R134a (see e.g., Durrani; [0054]). Durrani is further analogous art because Durrani discloses that the cooling system has three circuits like Mothier (see e.g., Durrani; fig. 1, [0067]) and specifically applied in vehicles (see e.g., Durrani; [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the third cooling fluid of Mothier to be a refrigerant such as R134a as disclosed by Durrani in order to provide a high efficiency heat transfer medium (see e.g., Mothier; [0073]).
Alternatively, in a second case, Mothier may correspond with instant claim 1 wherein L1 is the first cooling circuit, L2 is the second cooling circuit, and L3 is the third cooling circuit (see e.g., Mothier; annotated fig. 1 below).
In this second case, the second cooling fluid is C3 and the third cooling fluid is C2, the second cooling circuit (L3) being directly thermally coupled to the first cooling circuit (L1) such that a heat entrained in the first cooling fluid is transferable to the second cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, [0078], regarding heat exchangers 34, 54 which may be considered as directly thermally coupling L1 to L2), the third cooling circuit (L2) being directly thermally coupled to the second cooling circuit (L3) such that a heat entrained in the second cooling fluid is transferable to the third cooling fluid (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 54 which directly thermally couples L2 to L3). Regarding wherein the second cooling fluid is one of an electrically conductive cooling fluid or a refrigerant, the third cooling fluid being the other of the electrically conductive cooling fluid and the refrigerant, Mothier discloses the third cooling fluid C2 as glycol loaded water or glycolated water which is electrically conductive, and the same modification with Durrani may be applied to change the second cooling fluid C3 into a refrigerant such as R134a.
Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein one of the second cooling circuit or the third cooling circuit comprises a compressor, the thermal management system configured such that activation and deactivation of the compressor controls whether the first cooling fluid is, or is not, being cooled. However, Sonnekalb discloses a cooling circuit that may include a compressor (see e.g., Sonnekalb; fig. 1, [0006], [0025], regarding compressor 3), wherein the compressor is positioned behind heat exchangers 7 which connect two cooling circuits together (see e.g., Sonnekalb; fig. 1). Sonnekalb is further analogous art because Sonnekalb discloses the thermal management system which is provided with a plurality of cooling circuits having independent cooling fluids which is used in a fuel cell vehicle (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0001]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermal management system of Mothier by providing a compressor in a position such as next to the heat exchangers 54 and 34 in the second or third cooling loops L2 or L3 of Mothier, because Sonnekalb discloses the compressor next to a pair of heat exchangers between coolant loops. Mothier discloses that in certain operating modes, heat is rejected into the first cooling circuit L1 from the third cooling circuit L3 when the three-way valves open the auxiliary branches (see e.g., Mothier; [0095], [0104]). A compressor positioned next to the heat exchangers 54 and 34 in a position such as cooling loop L3 would thereby raise the temperature of the cooling fluid and activation and deactivation of the compressor would influence the heat being rejected or not rejected into the first cooling circuit, which corresponds with the claimed compressor activating and deactivating to control whether the first cooling fluid is, or is not, being cooled. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to decrease the time taken by the battery to reach operating temperature, reduce requirements for the heater, downsize the cooling circuit to thereby reduce size, cost, and weight of the system (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0104]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 13. As above regarding claim 13, modified Mothier teaches wherein the second cooling fluid is the electrically conductive cooling fluid, wherein the third cooling fluid is the refrigerant, and wherein the second cooling circuit is positioned to remove heat from the at least one electronic unit (as in the second case described above regarding claim 13).
Regarding claim 19, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 13, wherein the second cooling fluid is the refrigerant, wherein the third cooling fluid is the electrically conductive cooling fluid, and wherein the third cooling circuit is positioned to remove heat from the at least one electronic unit (as in the first case described above regarding claim 13).
Regarding claim 20, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 19, wherein heat is transferred from the first cooling fluid to the second cooling fluid at a first heat exchanger (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 34 which couples the first and second cooling circuits),
wherein heat is transferred from the second cooling fluid to the third cooling fluid at a second heat exchanger (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 54 which couples the second and third cooling circuits), and
wherein a temperature of the third cooling fluid outputted from the at least one electronic unit is reduced at a coolant circuit radiator of the third cooling circuit (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat rejection portion 46 positioned after the power electronics 18) before the temperature of the third cooling fluid is elevated at the second heat exchanger and circulated to the at least one electronic unit (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 54 which may elevate the coolant and circulated to power electronics 18).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothier (US-20230104670-A1) and Durrani (US-20210291622-A1), and Dombek (US-6055946-A), and in further view of Schmidt (US-20240128547-A1 publication, US202017769427A application).
Regarding claim 15, As in the second case above regarding claim 13, Mothier discloses further including: a first heat exchanger and a second heat exchanger (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchangers 34, 54), the second heat exchanger being fluidly coupled to the second and third cooling circuits (see e.g., Mothier; fig. 1, regarding heat exchanger 54 which couples L2 and L3),
Mothier does not explicitly disclose a first heat exchanger, the first heat exchanger being fluidly coupled to the first and second cooling circuits. However, Schmidt discloses the use of a countercurrent heat exchanger (see e.g., Schmidt; [0191]-[0194]), which may be used to modify Mothier such that the counter flow heat exchanger fluidly couples the first and second cooling circuits. Schmidt discloses that the countercurrent heat exchanger receives a first fluid and a second fluid (see e.g., Schmidt; [0193]), and is used between two different coolant loops (see e.g., Schmidt; fig. 1) in order to provide system temperature regulation (see e.g., Schmidt; [0013]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the countercurrent heat exchanger disclosed by Schmidt fluidly coupled to the first and second cooling circuits of Mothier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order because of the heat-transfer effectiveness of the countercurrent heat exchanger (see e.g., Schmidt; [0192]). This modification is further applicable because Mothier discloses that the location of heat exchangers may be modified (see e.g., Mothier; [0078]). This modification is further applicable because Schmidt similarly discloses that the countercurrent heat exchanger and thermal system may be implemented in vehicles for managing the temperature of vehicle components (see e.g., Schmidt; [0039]). Furthermore, Mothier discloses that heater 40 may be used to heat the battery and cold start the vehicle (see e.g., Mothier; [0064]), but with the modification of the countercurrent heat exchanger, heat from the second cooling circuit may be transferred to the first cooling circuit to assist with the cold start. Mothier further discloses that the second cooling circuit has lots of excess heat due to power electronics module 18 (see e.g., Mothier; [0070]), so instead of wasting energy by discharging through the radiator, having a countercurrent heat exchanger may transfer the thermal energy to the first cooling circuit. In summary, the modification adding a countercurrent heat exchanger to fluidly connect the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit would further enable fine control of heat exchanges between the three cooling circuits (see e.g., Mothier; [0097]).
With the modification of Schmidt, the structure of modified Mothier is the same as instantly claimed. Therefore, the claimed function of “wherein a temperature of the second cooling fluid outputted from the at least one electronic unit is reduced at the second heat exchanger before the second cooling fluid is circulated to the first heat exchanger, the temperature of the second cooling fluid being increased at the first heat exchanger before the second cooling fluid is delivered to the at least one electronic unit,” may be achieved. That is, the countercurrent heat exchanger disclosed by Schmidt may be positioned after the second heat exchanger 54. Then, when the temperature of the second cooling fluid output from the power electronics 18 is higher than the temperature of the third cooling fluid, the temperature of the second cooling fluid may be reduced at the second heat exchanger 54 before proceeding to the first heat exchanger. Additionally, when the temperature of the second cooling fluid is lower than the first cooling fluid, the temperature of the second cooling fluid may be increased at the first heat exchanger of Schmidt before proceeding to the power electronics 18. This operation is further ordinary because Mothier discloses that the fuel cell in the first cooling circuit needs to reject sufficient heat in order to maintain normal operating conditions (see e.g., Mothier; [0094]).
Regarding claim 16, Schmidt discloses the use of a countercurrent heat exchanger (see e.g., Schmidt; [0191]-[0194]), which may be used to modify Mothier such that the counter flow heat exchanger fluidly couples the first and second cooling circuits, and the radiator 46 of Mothier may be removed because Schmidt does not disclose the use of an additional radiator in the cooling circuits. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the countercurrent heat exchanger disclosed by Schmidt to fluidly coupled to the first and second cooling circuits of Mothier and removed the radiator 46 in the second cooling circuit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order because of the heat-transfer effectiveness of the countercurrent heat exchanger (see e.g., Schmidt; [0192]). This modification is further applicable because Mothier discloses that the location of heat exchangers may be modified (see e.g., Mothier; [0078]). This modification is further applicable because Schmidt similarly discloses that the countercurrent heat exchanger and thermal system may be implemented in vehicles for managing the temperature of vehicle components (see e.g., Schmidt; [0039]). Furthermore, Mothier discloses that heater 40 may be used to heat the battery and cold start the vehicle (see e.g., Mothier; [0064]), but with the modification of the countercurrent heat exchanger, heat from the second cooling circuit may be transferred to the first cooling circuit to assist with the cold start. Mothier further discloses that the second cooling circuit has lots of excess heat due to power electronics module 18 (see e.g., Mothier; [0070]), so instead of wasting energy by discharging through the radiator, having a countercurrent heat exchanger may transfer the thermal energy to the first cooling circuit. In summary, the modification adding a countercurrent heat exchanger to fluidly connect the first cooling circuit and the second cooling circuit and removing the radiator 46 would further enable fine control of heat exchanges between the three cooling circuits (see e.g., Mothier; [0097]).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mothier (US-20230104670-A1) and Durrani (US-20210291622-A1), and Dombek (US-6055946-A), and further in view of Sprague (US-20210143499-A1) and Sonnekalb (US-20190047365-A1).
Regarding claim 17, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 13. Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cooling circuit and the at least one electronic unit are housed together within a housing, the housing not including at least the compressor of the third cooling circuit. However, Sprague discloses a cooling arrangement for battery powered motor wherein a cooling circuit 200 and electronics 42 are provided in a housing 14 (see e.g., Sprague; [0078], fig. 14). Sprague does not disclose that a compressor is included inside the housing. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a housing as disclosed to house the first cooling circuit and electronics unit, not including a compressor, as disclosed by Sprague in order efficiently house multiple components in the same housing which may save on cost, size, and weight (see e.g., Mothier; [0007]).
Mothier does not explicitly disclose wherein the third cooling circuit includes a compressor. However, Sonnekalb discloses that the cooling circuit may include a compressor (see e.g., Sonnekalb; fig. 1, [0006], [0025], regarding compressor 3). Sonnekalb is further analogous art because Sonnekalb discloses the thermal management system which is provided with a plurality of cooling circuits having independent cooling fluids which is used in a fuel cell vehicle (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0001]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mothier to include a compressor into the third cooling circuit as disclosed by Sonnekalb. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a further functionality of vehicle air conditioning that is effective, convenient, and simple (see e.g., Sonnekalb; [0006]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Mothier teaches the thermal management system of claim 17. Mothier further discloses a controller 82 which operates all the components of the thermal management system (see e.g., Mothier; [0061], [0064], [0068], [0074], [0085]-[0086], [0088]-[0089], [0091]-[0092], [0095]-[0098], [0103]-[0104]), which overlaps with the claimed activation and a deactivation of the thermal management system is controlled via a control of a supply of electrical power to the compressor. Because modified Mothier includes a compressor and discloses a controller 82 connected to all components, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have connected the controller 82 as disclosed by Mothier to the added compressor in order to control the temperature of the fuel cell and vehicle components (see e.g., Mothier; [0001]). With a controller connected to the compressor, the structural components of modified Mothier teach instant claim 7; The function of sending a supply of electrical power to the compressor may be performed by the structure of modified Mothier.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728