DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
No amendments to the claims have been recorded.
Applicant’s Arguments
Varoglu fails to disclose the previously presented claim language:
generating a visual representation of the wireless communication signal strengths based on values of the wireless communication signal strengths that were measured and the locations where the wireless communication signal strengths were measured, wherein different signal strengths are associated with different locations.
(emphasis added). The claims base the visual representation on both the value of signal strengths and location where signal strengths were measured. The visual representation of the claims is of the signal strengths themselves.
Varoglu fails to disclose a visual representation of signal strengths as required by the claims. Any alleged visual representation of Varoglu is not a visual representation of the signal strengths based on both signal strength value and location. The Office Action alleges that Varoglu teaches the "visual representation" as recited within paragraphs 23, 11, 47, 56, and 46 of Varoglu. See Office Action, pgs. 3-4. Applicant respectfully submits that the recited elements of Varoglu fail to teach or disclose generating a visual representation, as recited in the claims as previously presented.
The office strongly disagrees. Varoglu teaches 46; “the position of icon 68 within map 66, electronic equipment 10 may gather RSSI information and location information from one or more transmitting pieces of electronic equipment.” A map that is updated with icons is a map that is generated. RSSI (received signal strength indicator) is of the wireless communication signal strength base on values of the wireless communication signal strength that were measured and the locations where the wireless communication signal strength were measured, wherein different signal strengths are associated with different locations as Varoglu clearly teaches RSSI information and location information from on or more transmitted pieces of electronic equipment.
RSSI as defined: RSSI, or Received Signal Strength Indicator, quantifies the strength of a wireless signal received by a device, such as a smartphone, Wi-Fi adapter, or IoT device. It is typically expressed as a negative number in decibels (dBm), where values closer to 0 indicate a stronger signal. For example, an RSSI of -50 dBm represents a stronger signal than -80 dBm. RSSI is used internally by devices to determine connectivity quality and whether the device can reliably communicate with the network. Regarding generating a visual Varoglu teaches 47 display an icon (gathered RSSI information) Also 56 display a map information containing icon of up-to-date location within the map.
The rejection is clear, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20140066091 Varoglu.
1. A method comprising:
receiving wireless communication signal strengths measured in different areas from one or more communication devices disposed onboard a first vehicle system moving through the different areas para 23; Receiving electronic equipment such as a cellular telephone, equipment associated with a vehicle, or other mobile equipment may receive and process the local wireless messages. extract signal strength information such as received signal strength indicator information and location information associated with each broadcast source.
or
stationary communication devices at wayside locations in the different areas; Fig. 9
receiving locations where the wireless communication signal strengths were measured; para 23; received signal strength indicator information and location information
generating a visual representation of the wireless communication signal strengths based on values of the wireless communication signal strengths that were measured and para 23; extract signal strength information such as received signal strength indicator information and location information associated with each broadcast source. This information may be used to supplement or replace location information derived from processing the satellite navigation system signals. Also, para 11. Display Map 66 may contain features such as geographical features, buildings, points of interest, etc. para 47; Vehicle 10R may use mapping software to display an icon [based on applicant’s para 19] on a map that represents the current position of vehicle 10R. Also para 56; the electronic equipment may display a map or other information that contains an automobile icon or other icon that is positioned at an up-to-date location within the map. Para 46; the position of icon 68 within map 66, electronic equipment 10 may gather RSSI information and location information from one or more transmitting pieces of electronic equipment.
Based on Applicant’s specifications para 19.
the locations where the wireless communication signal strengths were measured, para 23; received signal strength indicator information and location information. It is noted that all signals are spatial destituted as power received is based on R^2; RF, Light, Magnetic, Electro Magnetic, IR; heat….
wherein the signal strengths are associated with different locations; and 35; vehicle 10A may ascertain its general location using a GPS signal, but may rely on signal strength measurements from one or more pieces of stationary equipment 10C to accurately identify the location of vehicle 10A.
changing operation of a second vehicle system based on the spatial visual representation, Para 23; This information [visual icon] may be used to supplement or replace location information derived from processing the satellite navigation system signals. Also, para 9; The receiving electronic equipment [operator] can take actions based on the identified location.
It is noted that Applicant’s specifications states that Operation are controlled by operator or controller [i.e. driver] and can be inputted manually.
wherein changing operation of the second vehicle system comprises controlling movement of the second vehicle system via at least on of propulsion or braking. 56; control circuitry 40 may direct the brakes in the vehicle to slow the vehicle.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication signal strengths are measured by the stationary communication devices at the wayside locations. Para 23; electronic equipment may receive messages and, in processing the messages, may extract signal strength information such as received signal strength indicator information and location information associated with each broadcast source. and Para 51; Electronic equipment 10 such as equipment 10', 10'', and 10''' may be installed at locations along the edge of road 90. Also, para 25; stationary equipment that transmits wireless messages and receiving equipment such as equipment in a vehicle or mobile device that receives the transmitted wireless messages may have bidirectional wireless capabilities (e.g., to support the transmission and receipt of data using protocols such as Bluetooth.RTM. protocols).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication signal strengths are measured as the values of one or more of
a radio receive signal strength indicator, Para 9; received signal strength indicator
an ambient noise floor level,
a number of repeated wireless messages,
a reference signal received power,
a reference signal received quality,
or
a number of repeated use of a wireless communication repeater.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein changing the operation of the second system includes:
directing the second system to store data measured during movement of the second system through one or more of the areas associated with decreased levels of the wireless communication signal strengths; and Fig. 9 10’ if first 10’’ is second during movement of 10R
directing the second system to delay communicating the data that is measured until the second system exits the one or more of the areas associated with the decreased levels of the wireless communication signal strengths. Fig. 9 10’’ is delayed as 10’’ is further and 10R has not yet reached it.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein changing the operation of the second system includes
directing the second system to delay communicating one or more wireless messages while moving in one or more of the areas associated with decreased levels of the wireless communication signal strengths until the second system exits the one or more of the areas associated with the decreased levels of the wireless communication signal strengths. para 52; Once vehicle 10R reaches [delayed until proximity i.e. moving] the vicinity of transmitter 10''', vehicle 10R may receive information on the current speed limit of 45 mph in a Bluetooth LE transmission from electronic equipment 10'''.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein changing the operation of the second system includes
changing which wireless communication modality is used by the second system during movement of the second system within one or more of the areas associated with decreased levels of the wireless communication signal strengths relative to the wireless communication modality used by the second system during movement of the second system outside the one or more of the areas associated with the decreased levels of the wireless communication signal strengths. Para 53; information 100 may include instructions to tune to a radio channel where more information is available for the driver.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the wireless communication modality is one or more of a wireless communication frequency, a wireless communication channel, or a wireless communication band. Para 53; information 100 may include instructions to tune to a radio [tuning is frequency, wireless communication channel and wireless band] channel where more information is available for the driver.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the wireless communication modality is a wireless communication mode. Para 53; information 100 may include instructions to tune to a radio channel where more information is available for the driver.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein changing the operation of the second system includes
changing a pressure of a brake system onboard the second system
prior to or during movement of the second system Para 53; an upcoming reduction in the posted speed limit. [prior to or during movement]
in one or more of the areas associated with decreased levels of the wireless communication signal strengths.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein changing the operation of the second system includes
reducing an upper limit on a moving speed at which the second system is permitted to move during movement of the second system in one or more of the areas associated with decreased levels of the wireless communication signal strengths. Para 52; To provide the driver with advanced notice of upcoming traffic-related items such as a change in the speed limit, equipment such as equipment 10'' may transmit Bluetooth LE messages that contain information on upcoming speed limits (e.g., the "45 mph ahead" message that is being transmitted by electronic equipment 10'' of FIG. 9). Reducing upper limit from 55 to 45 mph.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the operation of the one or more of the stationary communication devices that is changed includes
restricting one or more of moving speeds Para 52; To provide the driver with advanced notice of upcoming traffic-related items such as a change in the speed limit, equipment such as equipment 10'' may transmit Bluetooth LE messages that contain information on upcoming speed limits (e.g., the "45 mph ahead" message that is being transmitted by electronic equipment 10'' of FIG. 9). Reducing upper limit from 55 to 45 mph.
or
a permissible size of the second system during movement of the second system in one or more of the areas associated with decreased levels of the wireless communication signal strengths.
12. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a forecasted change in a weather condition in one or more of the different areas; and
updating the visual representation of the wireless communication signal strengths based on the forecasted change in the weather condition, para 9; the receiving electronic equipment may present alerts to a user or may update the position of an icon on a map
the operation of the second system changed based on the visual representation that is updated. para 52; Once vehicle 10R reaches the vicinity of transmitter 10''', vehicle 10R may receive information on the current speed limit of 45 mph in a Bluetooth LE transmission from electronic equipment 10'''. In general, information on any type of driving condition or other information can be transmitted from equipment 10 using Bluetooth LE (or other wireless protocol). As an example, weather alerts, bridge height alerts, traffic congestion alerts, commercial messages, or other information [icon] may be transmitted. Para 56; control circuitry 40 may direct the brakes in the vehicle to slow the vehicle.
13. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
monitoring weather conditions in the different areas over time; and 52, information on any type of driving condition or other information can be transmitted from equipment 10 using Bluetooth LE (or other wireless protocol). As an example, weather alerts, bridge height alerts, traffic congestion alerts, commercial messages, or other information may be transmitted.
matching changes in the wireless communication signal strengths with changes in the weather conditions that are monitored, the visual representation of the wireless communication signal strengths generated based on the values of the wireless communication signal strengths that were measured, the locations where the wireless communication signal strengths were measured, and the changes in the weather conditions.53; when vehicle 10R has received information from electronic device 10'' [upcoming location 10” based on signal strength of 10”] of FIG. 9 regarding an upcoming reduction in the posted speed limit. As shown in FIG. 10, the [icon] alert that is displayed on display 94 in equipment 10R may include information 96 that informs the driver of an upcoming speed limit and the distance left before that speed limit becomes effective. The alert may also include information 98 on other driving conditions such as upcoming construction and the distance remaining before reaching the upcoming construction. Fig. 10
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the operation of the second system is changed based on the visual representation and a weather condition in which the second system will travel through. para 53; [icon] informs the driver of an upcoming speed limit and the distance left before that speed limit becomes effective.
15. The method of claim 1, further comprising
recording the measured wireless communication signal strengths, the location where the wireless communication signal strengths were measured, and a time when the wireless communication signal strengths were measured. para 9; The receiving electronic equipment can use the satellite navigation system signals, the location information from the wireless messages, and received signal strength indicator information from the wireless messages to identify the location of the receiving electronic equipment. The receiving electronic equipment can take actions based on the identified location. For example, the receiving electronic equipment may present alerts to a user or may update [time] the position of an icon on a map [recording on the map] that represents the location of the receiving electronic equipment. Also para 35; vehicle 10A may ascertain its general location using a GPS signal, but may rely on signal strength measurements from one or more pieces of stationary equipment 10C to accurately identify the location of vehicle 10A. Triangulation techniques, time-of-flight techniques, or other techniques for ascertaining location using Bluetooth LE messages or other local wireless signals 58 may be used. It is noted that time i.e. time of flight must be recorded to properly gauge distance for triangulation.
16. The method of claim 15, further comprising
transmitting the measured wireless communication signal strengths, the location where the wireless communication signal strengths were measured, and the time when the wireless communication signal strengths were measured and para 35; vehicle 10A may ascertain its general location using a GPS signal, but may rely on signal strength measurements from one or more pieces of stationary equipment 10C to accurately identify the location of vehicle 10A. Triangulation techniques, time-of-flight techniques, or other techniques for ascertaining location using Bluetooth LE messages or other local wireless signals 58 may be used.
changing operation of the second system to a remote server. Para 35; To assist mobile equipment such as vehicle 10A and mobile device 10B in obtaining location information using Bluetooth LE messages, each message may be broadcast at a known (e.g., calibrated) signal strength and each message may include information on the location of the broadcasting equipment (e.g., X, Y, Z coordinates or other suitable location information). Also Fig.2 shows that 10B is a remote server from 10A.
18. The method of claim 15, further comprising
measuring the wireless communication signal strength at an end of train (EOT) position and
generating the visual representation of the wireless communication signal strengths based on values of the wireless communication signal strengths measured at the EOT position. Para 35; To assist mobile equipment such as vehicle 10A and mobile device 10B in obtaining location information using Bluetooth LE messages, each message may be broadcast at a known (e.g., calibrated) signal strength and each message may include information on the location of the broadcasting equipment (e.g., X, Y, Z coordinates or other suitable location information). Also Fig.2 shows that 10B is a remote server from 10A. Also, Para 46; [generating] Map 66 [icons] may correspond to a collection of buildings, a building interior, or other environment. Equipment icon 68 may correspond to the location of equipment 10 (e.g., a vehicle or a cellular telephone or other equipment being held by a user). FIG. 5, icon 68 is moving along path 72 between structures 74 in direction 70. To accurately ascertain the position of icon 68 within map 66, electronic equipment 10 may gather RSSI information and location information from one or more transmitting pieces of electronic equipment 10 within a campus or building interior (as examples). It is noted that the EOT is simply a location where the measurement is taken, Varoglu teaches taking measurements at a location.
19. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1.
20. is rejected using the same rejections as made to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Varoglu as applied to claim above, and further in view of Mallesan US 10,848,911.
17. Varoglu teaches all of the limitations of claim 16; but does not explicitly teach analyzes historical recorded information and generates one or more reports based on the analysis of the historical recorded information.
However, Mallesan teaches (Col 15L33; process historical reporting data provided by one or more other UEs 102, such that the third data model [generated reports] may be used.).
Therefore, it was well known at the time the invention was filed and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings with a reasonable expectation of success in order to us RSSI for system tracing and location of a mobile device such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIHAR A KARWAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3664