DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in reply to Applicant’s Response dated 10/10/2025. Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 18 and 19 were amended. Claims 2, 7, 12 and 17 were canceled. Claims 21 to 24 were newly added. Please note that there are two claims labeled 24 in the present claims presentation.
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues (see page 9 line 19 of the argument) that “ the common disclosure fails to disclose use the MCS field in the uplink grant of the random access response to indicate the number of repeated transmissions of the Msg3. The common disclosure also fails to disclose two highest bits of the MCS field indicates the number of repeated transmissions of the Msg3. The common disclosure also fails to disclose determining the number of repeated transmissions of the Msg3 based on the two highest bits of the MCS field. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that Seok fails to disclose above identified limitation.”.
The applicant argument is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However new ground of rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is made in view of the amendment made by the applicant.
New reference Xiong et al. (USPGPub 2021/0251016), Xiong hereinafter in combination with existing references are now used in teaching the claims.
Objection
There are two different claims labeled Claim 24. Relabeling will be needed to differentiate the two claim from one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, 11, 16, 18 and 21 – 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiong et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2021/0251016), Xiong hereinafter. Xiong teaches all of the limitations of the specified claim with the following reasoning.
Regarding claim 1, Xiong teaches a communication method, wherein the method comprises: receiving an uplink grant of a random access response in a random access procedure, wherein the uplink grant of the random access response includes a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, two highest bits of the MCS field indicates a quantity of repeated tranmissions of a third message (Msg 3) in the random access procedure; (paragraphs 0054 to 0059 discloses use of 2 bits MCS for UL grant of RAR quantity of repeated transmission - [0054] … Note that in the following embodiments, a Msg3 PUSCH repetition may refer to a Msg3 PUSCH with a repetition scheduled by a RAR UL grant and/or fallback RAR UL grant … [0056] … and one field in the RAR can be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values. ... 0057] In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values ... [0059] In one example, assuming a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, the number of bits for the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be reduced from 4 to 2. In other words, only 4 rows of MCS table can be used for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission. As shown in the Table 1, the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission is explicitly indicated in the RAR UL grant.). Using the only 2 bits will mean using the two highest bits.
determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 based on the two highest bits of the MCS field in the uplink grant (paragraph 0059 - In one example, assuming a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, the number of bits for the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be reduced from 4 to 2. In other words, only 4 rows of MCS table can be used for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission. As shown in the Table 1, the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission is explicitly indicated in the RAR UL grant.).
Regarding claim 6, Xiong teaches a communication method, comprising:
sending an uplink grant of a random access repsonse in a random access procedure to a terminal device , wherein the uplink grant of the random access reponse includes a modulation and coding scheme MCS field, two highest bits of te MCS field indicates a quantity of repeated transmissions of a third message Msg 3 in the random access procedure (paragraphs 0054 to 0059 discloses use of 2 bits MCS for UL grant of RAR quantity of repeated transmission - [0054] … Note that in the following embodiments, a Msg3 PUSCH repetition may refer to a Msg3 PUSCH with a repetition scheduled by a RAR UL grant and/or fallback RAR UL grant … [0056] … and one field in the RAR can be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values. ... 0057] In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values ... [0059] In one example, assuming a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, the number of bits for the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be reduced from 4 to 2. In other words, only 4 rows of MCS table can be used for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission. As shown in the Table 1, the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission is explicitly indicated in the RAR UL grant.). Using the only 2 bits will mean using the two highest bits.
Regarding claim 8, Xiong teaches claim 6.
Xiong further teaches wherein different state values of the two highest bits of the MCS field correspond to different quantities of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 (paragraph 0057 - In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values.)
Regarding claim 11, Xiong teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor; and a memory storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, the programming instructions instructing the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising: (fig. 2.)
receiving an uplink grant of a random access response in a random access procedure, wherein the uplink grant of the random access response includes a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field, two highest bits of the MCS field indicates a quantiy of repeated transmissions of a third message (Msg 3) in the random accesss procedure; (paragraphs 0054 to 0059 discloses use of 2 bits MCS for UL grant of RAR quantity of repeated transmission - [0054] … Note that in the following embodiments, a Msg3 PUSCH repetition may refer to a Msg3 PUSCH with a repetition scheduled by a RAR UL grant and/or fallback RAR UL grant … [0056] … and one field in the RAR can be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values. ... 0057] In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values ... [0059] In one example, assuming a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, the number of bits for the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be reduced from 4 to 2. In other words, only 4 rows of MCS table can be used for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission. As shown in the Table 1, the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission is explicitly indicated in the RAR UL grant.). Using the only 2 bits will mean using the two highest bits.
determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the third message based on the two highest bits of the MCS field in the uplink grant (paragraph 0059 - In one example, assuming a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, the number of bits for the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be reduced from 4 to 2. In other words, only 4 rows of MCS table can be used for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission. As shown in the Table 1, the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission is explicitly indicated in the RAR UL grant.)
Regarding claim 16, Xiong teaches a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and a memory storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor, the programming instructions instructing the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising: (fig. 2.)
sending an uplink grant of a random access response in a random access procedure to a terminal device, wherein the uplink grant of the random access response includes a modulation and coding scheme MCS field, two highest bits of the MCS field indicates a quantity of repeated transmissions of a third message Msg 3 in the random access procedure (paragraphs 0054 to 0059 discloses use of 2 bits MCS for UL grant of RAR quantity of repeated transmission - [0054] … Note that in the following embodiments, a Msg3 PUSCH repetition may refer to a Msg3 PUSCH with a repetition scheduled by a RAR UL grant and/or fallback RAR UL grant … [0056] … and one field in the RAR can be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values. ... 0057] In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values ... [0059] In one example, assuming a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, the number of bits for the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be reduced from 4 to 2. In other words, only 4 rows of MCS table can be used for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission. As shown in the Table 1, the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission is explicitly indicated in the RAR UL grant.). Using the only 2 bits will mean using the two highest bits.
Regarding claim 18, Xiong teaches claim 16.
Xiong further teaches, wherein different state values of the two highest bits of the MCS field correspond to different quantities of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 (paragraph 0057 - In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values.).
Regarding claim 21, Xiong teaches claim 3.
Xiong further teaches wherein different state values of the two highest bits of the MCS field correspond to different quantities of repeated transmissions of the third message (paragraph 0057 - In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values.).
Regarding claim 22, Xiong teaches claim 1.
Xiong further teaches wherein the method is perform by a terminal device where it is in a coverage-limited scenario (paragraph 0052 - Among other things, the embodiments herein may be directed to the indication of aggregation factors for uplink transmission during the RACH procedure. More specifically, embodiments may be directed to: Coverage enhancement for Msg3 PUSCH).
Regarding claim 23, Xiong teaches claim 6.
Xiong further teaches the method further comprising: receiving the Msg 3 based on the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 (paragraph 0059 - In one example, assuming a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, the number of bits for the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be reduced from 4 to 2. In other words, only 4 rows of MCS table can be used for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission. As shown in the Table 1, the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission is explicitly indicated in the RAR UL grant.).
Regarding claim 24, Xiong teaches claim 11.
Xiong further teaches wherein different state values of the two highest bits of the MCS field correspond to different quantities of repeated transmissions of the third message (paragraph 0057 - In one example, a set of repetition levels can be configured as (2, 4, 8, 16) and 2-bit indicator in the RAR may be used to indicate which repetition level is applied from the set of values.).
Regarding the second claim 24, Xiong teaches claim 16.
Xiong further teaches wherein the operations further comprises: receiving the Msg 3 based on the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 (paragraph 0059 - In one example, assuming a 2-bit indicator for the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission, the number of bits for the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) field may be reduced from 4 to 2. In other words, only 4 rows of MCS table can be used for the Msg3 PUSCH transmission. As shown in the Table 1, the repetition level of the Msg3 PUSCH transmission is explicitly indicated in the RAR UL grant.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 3, 4, 9, 13, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al, (U.S. PGPub 2021/0251016), Xiong hereinafter, in view of Li et al. (U.S. PGPub 20230156782), Li hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 3, Xiong teaches claim 1.
Yet, Xiong does not expressly teach wherein the determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 based on the first indication information comprises: determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 based on a state value of the two most significant bits of the MCS field.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly discloses wherein the determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 based on the first indication information comprises: determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 based on a state value of the two most significant bits of the MCS field. (paragraphs 0100 and 0114 to 0115] For ease of description, a quantity of a repetition of the PUSCH described below is recorded as M, where M is an integer greater than 1. ... [0114] In a case that the value of the M meets (b), some bit of the second field in the physical layer signaling can be multiplexed to indicate the quantity of the repetition of the PUSCH. Optionally, the most significant bit (MSB) or the least significant bit (LSB) of x-bit of the second field can be used to indicate the value of the M. Optionally, the second field may be a frequency resource allocation (frequency resource allocation) field or a MCS field, but is not limited thereto. [0115] For ease of understanding, example descriptions with reference to table 3 are as follows: TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 MCS field MCS field does 2-bit MSB 2-bit LSB not indicate M indicates M indicates M MCS (M, MCS) (MCS, M)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Li 's repetition indication using significant bits because Li's invention improves reliability of transmission
Regarding Claim 4, Xiong in view of Li teaches claim 3.
Li further teaches, wherein the determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 based on the state value of the two most significant bits of the MCS field comprises: determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 based on the state value of the two most significant bits of the MCS field and a repeated transmission factor K. (paragraphs 0100 and 0114 to 0115 and 0178] For ease of description, a quantity of a repetition of the PUSCH described below is recorded as M, where M is an integer greater than 1. ... [0114] In a case that the value of the M meets (b), some bit of the second field in the physical layer signaling can be multiplexed to indicate the quantity of the repetition of the PUSCH. Optionally, the most significant bit (MSB) or the least significant bit (LSB) of x-bit of the second field can be used to indicate the value of the M. Optionally, the second field may be a frequency resource allocation (frequency resource allocation) field or a MCS field, but is not limited thereto. [0115] For ease of understanding, example descriptions with reference to table 3 are as follows: TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 MCS field MCS field does 2-bit MSB 2-bit LSB not indicate M indicates M indicates M MCS (M, MCS) (MCS, M) ... [0178] repetition type C: all the repetitions are continuous in the time-domain resource, there is a guard period in the time domain resource between two adjacent repetitions, and in a case that the first condition is met, the fifth repetition is divided into the K sub repetitions; and … ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Li 's repetition indication using significant bits because Li's invention improves reliability of transmission (paragraph 0155 Li).
Regarding Claim 9, Xiong teaches claim 6.
Yet, Xiong does not expressly teach wherein product of different state values of the most significant two bits in the MCS field and a repeated transmission factor K correspond to different quantities of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly discloses product of different state values of the most significant two bits in the MCS field and a repeated transmission factor K correspond to different quantities of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3. (paragraphs 0100 and 0114 to 0115 and 0178] For ease of description, a quantity of a repetition of the PUSCH described below is recorded as M, where M is an integer greater than 1. ... [0114] In a case that the value of the M meets (b), some bit of the second field in the physical layer signaling can be multiplexed to indicate the quantity of the repetition of the PUSCH. Optionally, the most significant bit (MSB) or the least significant bit (LSB) of x-bit of the second field can be used to indicate the value of the M. Optionally, the second field may be a frequency resource allocation (frequency resource allocation) field or a MCS field, but is not limited thereto. [0115] For ease of understanding, example descriptions with reference to table 3 are as follows: TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 MCS field MCS field does 2-bit MSB 2-bit LSB not indicate M indicates M indicates M MCS (M, MCS) (MCS, M) ... [0178] repetition type C: all the repetitions are continuous in the time-domain resource, there is a guard period in the time domain resource between two adjacent repetitions, and in a case that the first condition is met, the fifth repetition is divided into the K sub repetitions; and … ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Li 's repetition indication using significant bits because Li's invention improves reliability of transmission (paragraph 0155 Li).
Regarding Claim 13, Xiong teaches claim 11.
Yet, Xiong does not expressly teach wherein the determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the third message based on the first indication information comprises: determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 based on a state value of the two most significant bits of the MCS field.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly discloses wherein the determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the third message based on the first indication information comprises: determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3 based on a state value of the two most significant bits of the MCS field. ( paragraphs 0100 and 0114 to 0115] For ease of description, a quantity of a repetition of the PUSCH described below is recorded as M, where M is an integer greater than 1. ... [0114] In a case that the value of the M meets (b), some bit of the second field in the physical layer signaling can be multiplexed to indicate the quantity of the repetition of the PUSCH. Optionally, the most significant bit (MSB) or the least significant bit (LSB) of x-bit of the second field can be used to indicate the value of the M. Optionally, the second field may be a frequency resource allocation (frequency resource allocation) field or a MCS field, but is not limited thereto. [0115] For ease of understanding, example descriptions with reference to table 3 are as follows: TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 MCS field MCS field does 2-bit MSB 2-bit LSB not indicate M indicates M indicates M MCS (M, MCS) (MCS, M) … ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Li 's repetition indication using significant bits because Li's invention improves reliability of transmission (paragraph 0155 Li ).
Regarding Claim 14, Xiong in view of Li teaches claim 13.
Li further teaches wherein the determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the third message based on the state value of the two most significant bits of the MCS field comprises: determining the quantity of repeated transmissions of the third message based on state value of the two most significant bits of the MCS field and a repeated transmission factor K. ( paragraphs 0100 and 0114 to 0115 and 0178] For ease of description, a quantity of a repetition of the PUSCH described below is recorded as M, where M is an integer greater than 1. ... [0114] In a case that the value of the M meets (b), some bit of the second field in the physical layer signaling can be multiplexed to indicate the quantity of the repetition of the PUSCH. Optionally, the most significant bit (MSB) or the least significant bit (LSB) of x-bit of the second field can be used to indicate the value of the M. Optionally, the second field may be a frequency resource allocation (frequency resource allocation) field or a MCS field, but is not limited thereto. [0115] For ease of understanding, example descriptions with reference to table 3 are as follows: TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 MCS field MCS field does 2-bit MSB 2-bit LSB not indicate M indicates M indicates M MCS (M, MCS) (MCS, M) ... [0178] repetition type C: all the repetitions are continuous in the time-domain resource, there is a guard period in the time domain resource between two adjacent repetitions, and in a case that the first condition is met, the fifth repetition is divided into the K sub repetitions; and … )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Li 's repetition indication using significant bits because Li's invention improves reliability of transmission (paragraph 0155 Li ).
Regarding Claim 19, Xiong teaches claim 16.
Yet, Xiong does not expressly teach wherein product of different state values of the most significant two bits in the MCS field and a repeated transmission factor K correspond to different quantities of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly discloses wherein product of different state values of the most significant two bits in the MCS field and a repeated transmission factor K correspond to different quantities of repeated transmissions of the Msg 3. (paragraphs 0100 and 0114 to 0115 and 0178] For ease of description, a quantity of a repetition of the PUSCH described below is recorded as M, where M is an integer greater than 1. ... [0114] In a case that the value of the M meets (b), some bit of the second field in the physical layer signaling can be multiplexed to indicate the quantity of the repetition of the PUSCH. Optionally, the most significant bit (MSB) or the least significant bit (LSB) of x-bit of the second field can be used to indicate the value of the M. Optionally, the second field may be a frequency resource allocation (frequency resource allocation) field or a MCS field, but is not limited thereto. [0115] For ease of understanding, example descriptions with reference to table 3 are as follows: TABLE-US-00003 TABLE 3 MCS field MCS field does 2-bit MSB 2-bit LSB not indicate M indicates M indicates M MCS (M, MCS) (MCS, M) ... [0178] repetition type C: all the repetitions are continuous in the time-domain resource, there is a guard period in the time domain resource between two adjacent repetitions, and in a case that the first condition is met, the fifth repetition is divided into the K sub repetitions; and … ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Li 's repetition indication using significant bits because Li's invention improves reliability of transmission (paragraph 0155 Li ).
Claims 5, 10, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong et al, (U.S. PGPub 2021/0251016), Xiong hereinafter, in view of Hoglund et al. (U.S. PGPub 2020/0344818), Hoglund hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Xiong teaches claim 1.
Yet, Xiong does not expressly teach wherein the MCS field has four bits, two lowest bits of the MCS field are for an MCS index, and the MCS index values are 0 to 3.
However, in the analogous art, Hoglund explicitly discloses wherein the MCS field has four bits, two lowest bits of the MCS field are for an MCS index, and the MCS index values are 0 to 3. (paragraph 0160] In these examples, five bits are used to signal the MCS index. In one such embodiment, two additional bits are used as compared to a legacy grant (which is typically 3 bits). In some embodiments, these two additional bits are taken from the ‘Msg3 PUSCH Resource allocation’ field, leaving only the larger resource allocations which are most relevant for the larger TBS sizes. The order of the bit fields of the grant may be different from legacy, or may interpreted differently from the legacy fields, e.g., by combining different bit locations. As an example, the subcarrier indication field may be the most significant bit (MSB) of the MCS index, one bit of the subcarrier indication field may be the second most significant of the MCS index, and the 3 bits of the legacy MCS index would be used as the least significant (LSB) bits.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Hoglund's MCS index and significant bit indication because Hoglund's invention reduces wireless device power consumption (paragraph 0070 Hoglund).
Regarding Claim 10, Xiong teaches claim 6.
Yet, Xiong does not expressly teach wherein the MCS field has four bits, two lowest bits of the MCS field are for an MCS index, and the MCS index values are 0 to 3.
However, in the analogous art, Hoglund explicitly discloses wherein the MCS field has four bits, two lowest bits of the MCS field are for an MCS index, and the MCS index values are 0 to 3. (paragraph 0160] In these examples, five bits are used to signal the MCS index. In one such embodiment, two additional bits are used as compared to a legacy grant (which is typically 3 bits). In some embodiments, these two additional bits are taken from the ‘Msg3 PUSCH Resource allocation’ field, leaving only the larger resource allocations which are most relevant for the larger TBS sizes. The order of the bit fields of the grant may be different from legacy, or may interpreted differently from the legacy fields, e.g., by combining different bit locations. As an example, the subcarrier indication field may be the most significant bit (MSB) of the MCS index, one bit of the subcarrier indication field may be the second most significant of the MCS index, and the 3 bits of the legacy MCS index would be used as the least significant (LSB) bits.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Hoglund's MCS index and significant bit indication because Hoglund's invention reduces wireless device power consumption (paragraph 0070 Hoglund).
Regarding Claim 15, Xiong teaches claim 11.
Yet, Xiong does not expressly teach wherein the MCS field has four bits, two lowest bits of the MCS field are for MCS index, and the MCS index values are 0 to 3.
However, in the analogous art, Hoglund explicitly discloses the MCS field has four bits, two lowest bits of the MCS field are for MCS index, and the MCS index values are 0 to 3. (paragraph 0160] In these examples, five bits are used to signal the MCS index. In one such embodiment, two additional bits are used as compared to a legacy grant (which is typically 3 bits). In some embodiments, these two additional bits are taken from the ‘Msg3 PUSCH Resource allocation’ field, leaving only the larger resource allocations which are most relevant for the larger TBS sizes. The order of the bit fields of the grant may be different from legacy, or may interpreted differently from the legacy fields, e.g., by combining different bit locations. As an example, the subcarrier indication field may be the most significant bit (MSB) of the MCS index, one bit of the subcarrier indication field may be the second most significant of the MCS index, and the 3 bits of the legacy MCS index would be used as the least significant (LSB) bits.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Hoglund's MCS index and significant bit indication because Hoglund's invention reduces wireless device power consumption (paragraph 0070 Hoglund).
Regarding Claim 20, Xiong teaches claim 16.
Yet, Xiong does not expressly teach wherein the MCS field has four bits, two lowest bits of the MCS field are for MCS index, and the MCS index values are 0 to 3.
However, in the analogous art, Hoglund explicitly discloses wherein the MCS field has four bits, two lowest bits of the MCS field are for MCS index, and the MCS index values are 0 to 3. (paragraph 0160] In these examples, five bits are used to signal the MCS index. In one such embodiment, two additional bits are used as compared to a legacy grant (which is typically 3 bits). In some embodiments, these two additional bits are taken from the ‘Msg3 PUSCH Resource allocation’ field, leaving only the larger resource allocations which are most relevant for the larger TBS sizes. The order of the bit fields of the grant may be different from legacy, or may interpreted differently from the legacy fields, e.g., by combining different bit locations. As an example, the subcarrier indication field may be the most significant bit (MSB) of the MCS index, one bit of the subcarrier indication field may be the second most significant of the MCS index, and the 3 bits of the legacy MCS index would be used as the least significant (LSB) bits.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Xiong’s Aggregation indication for uplink transmission during random access channel procedures to include Hoglund's MCS index and significant bit indication because Hoglund's invention reduces wireless device power consumption (paragraph 0070 Hoglund).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472