DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 line 21 recited the limitation “battery system in in” which appears to be a minor typo and should read “battery system is in”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song US20180316031A1 (cited in IDS file 17 April 2023; hereafter referred to as Song-031) in view of Keshavarz US20110086247A1 and Song US20180316032A1 (cited in IDS file 17 April 2023; hereafter referred to as Song-032).
Regarding claim 1, Song-031 discloses a redox flow battery system, comprising: a power module comprising a plurality of redox flow battery cell stacks, each of the plurality of redox flow battery cell stacks comprising a redox flow battery cell ([0008], “In another embodiment a redox flow battery system may comprise a power module, including a plurality of redox flow battery cell stacks each of the redox flow battery cell stacks including a redox flow battery cell”),
an electrolyte pump capable of delivering electrolyte from an electrolyte tank to the power module (Song-031, [0029], “Electrolytes are stored in one or more tanks external to the cell, and are pumped via pumps 30 and 32 through the negative electrode compartment 20 side and the positive electrode compartment 22 side of the battery, respectively.”), the examiner notes that an electrolyte tank is not positively recited nor required by the claim as currently drafted,
and a power control system with a controller storing executable instructions in non-transitory memory (Song-031, [0042], “the executable instructions may be stored in non-transitory memory on board the controller and may be executed”, [0100], “a power control system with a controller, including executable instructions thereon”), the instructions executable to:
switch the redox flow battery system to an idle mode, wherein the idle mode includes operation of the redox flow battery system outside of a charging mode and outside of a discharging mode (Song-031, [0100], “a controller, including executable instructions thereon to, switch the redox flow battery system to an idle mode, wherein the idle mode includes operation of the redox flow battery system outside of a charging mode and outside of a discharge mode”),
initiate an off cycle timer (Song-031. [0063], “in response to the redox flow battery system being in idle mode, the controller 88 begins cycling of the electrolyte pumps, including deactivating the electrolyte pump and initiating a first timer”)
when an off cycle threshold period of time monitored by the off cycle timer elapses (Song-031, [0064], “the controller 88 may determine if the first timer is greater than a first threshold duration…the first threshold duration may correspond to a pump OFF interval during idle mode”), activate the electrolyte pump while the redox flow battery system is in the idle mode to circulate electrolyte through one or more electrode compartments of the redox flow battery system (Song-031, [0066], “If the first timer is greater than the first threshold duration, then the method proceeds from 410 to 414 to send a control signal to the actuator of the electrolyte pump to activate the electrolyte pump at an idle threshold flow rate”)
when an on cycle threshold period of time monitored by an on cycle timer elapses, the on cycle timer initiated when the off cycle threshold period of time elapses (Song-031, [0066], “A second timer is initiated in conjunction with the activation of the electrolyte pump, the second timer measuring a pump ON duration during the idle pump cycling”), deactivate the electrolyte pump while the redox flow battery system is in the idle mode (Song-031, [0068], “If the second timer is less than the second threshold duration, then the electrolyte has not been adequately refreshed”, [0069], “If the second timer is greater than the second threshold duration at 416, indicating that the electrolyte has been refreshed enough…repeatedly cycles the electrolyte pump between the active state and the inactive state”). Song-031 further discloses wherein the electrolyte is replaced (Song-031, [0025]), electrolytes in redox flow battery cells may be replenished and refreshed sufficiently to increase a power module voltage, while reducing parasitic power and shunting losses in the idle mode (Song-031, [0074]) and the controller determines electrolyte pumps’ statuses and pump timers (Song-031, [0059]), which pumps, statuses and times are used to determine if the electrolyte is sufficiently refreshed (Song-031, [0074]). satisfying the claim limitation, completely drain the electrolyte from the one or more electrode compartments of the redox flow battery system while the redox flow battery system in in the idle mode and refill the drained one or more electrode compartments with fresh electrolyte and it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to modify the instructions of Song-031 wherein initiate a drain timer and a period of time monitored by the drain timer while the redox flow battery system is still in the idle mode thereby electrolytes in redox flow battery cells may be replenished and refreshed sufficiently to increase a power module voltage, while reducing parasitic power and shunting losses in the idle mode.
Song-031 however does not disclose initiate an off cycle timer and a drain timer concurrently, and responsive to elapsing of a drain threshold period of time monitored by the drain timer while the redox flow battery system is still in the idle mode, completely drain the electrolyte from the one or more electrode compartments of the redox flow battery system while the redox flow battery system in in the idle mode; purge the drained one or more electrode compartments with a gas, and refill the purged and drained one or more electrode compartments with fresh electrolyte, wherein the drain threshold period of time is longer than the off cycle threshold period of time.
In a redox flow battery system Keshavarz teaches a power module comprising a plurality of redox flow battery cell stacks, each of the plurality of redox flow battery cell stacks comprising a redox flow battery cell (Keshavarz, [0033], “multiple redox flow cells 100 can be electrically coupled (e.g., stacked) either in series to achieve higher voltage or in parallel in order to achieve higher current”), an electrolyte pump capable of delivering electrolyte from an electrolyte tank to the power module (Keshavarz, [0034], “pumping system is used to transport the electrolytes to and from the redox flow cell”), one or more electrode compartments (Keshavarz, [0034], “half-cell 110 of redox flow cell 100 contains anolyte 126 and the other half-cell 108 contains catholyte 124, the anolyte and catholyte being collectively referred to as electrolytes”), a power control system with a controller storing executable instructions in non-transitory memory (Keshavarz, [0097], “control system 500 includes a controller 510. Controller 510 includes one or more processors, volatile and non-volatile memory to store data and programming”). Keshavarz also teaches in order to rebalance the parity between the active components of the electrolytes (Keshavarz, [0054]) the controller beings a state to cycle through fill and drain electrode electrolyte compartment states to prepare for performing rebalance reactions (Keshavarz, [0101]), including opening and closing a drain valve based on an elapsed time elapsing a threshold (Keshavarz, [0103]) in order to effectively removes or recycles parasitic side products produced during the charge/discharge cycles of a flow cell battery to rebalance the charge states between the two electrolytic solutions (Keshavarz, [0007]).
Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instructions of modified Song-031 with the teaching of Keshavarz wherein initiate a drain timer and responsive to elapsing of a drain threshold period of time monitored by the drain timer while the redox flow battery system is still in the idle mode, completely drain the electrolyte from the one or more electrode compartments of the redox flow battery system while the redox flow battery system in in the idle mode, and refill the drained one or more electrode compartments with fresh electrolyte thereby effectively removing or recycling parasitic side products produced during the charge/discharge cycles of a flow cell battery to rebalance the charge states between the two electrolytic solutions. The examiner notes that the teaching of Song-031 modified by Keshavarz wherein drain valve 342 may remain open for some period of time after electrolyte begins to fill electrode electrolyte compartment 240 in order to flush electrode electrolyte compartment 240 (Keshavarz, [0087]), satisfies the claim limitation wherein the drain threshold period of time is longer than the off cycle threshold period of time. It would further be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the instructions of modified Song-031 wherein initiate an off cycle timer and a drain timer concurrently in order to deactivate the pump(s) and drain the electrode electrolyte compartments.
In a redox flow battery system Song-032 teaches comprising a power module (Song-032, [0030]) comprising a plurality of redox flow battery cell stacks, each of the plurality of redox flow battery cell stacks comprising a redox flow battery cell (Song-032, [0035]), an electrolyte pump (Song-032, [0026]) capable of delivering electrolyte from an electrolyte tank to the power module (Song-032, [0026]), and a power control system with a controller storing executable instructions in non-transitory memory (Song-032, [0057]), the instructions executable to completely drain the electrolyte from the one or more electrode compartments of the redox flow battery system (Song-032, [0041-0042]), purge the drained one or more electrode compartments with a gas (Song-032, [0041-0042]) and refill the purged and drained one or more electrode compartments with fresh electrolyte (Song-032, [0041-0042]) in order to achieve performance step-increases (e.g., higher charging and discharging rates) (Song-032, [0041]).
Therefore it would be obvious to the skilled artisan to modify the instructions of modified Song-031 with the teaching of Song-032 wherein completely drain the electrolyte from the one or more electrode compartments of the redox flow battery system while the redox flow battery system in in the idle mode; purge the drained one or more electrode compartments with a gas, and refill the purged and drained one or more electrode compartments with fresh electrolyte, wherein the drain threshold period of time is longer than the off cycle threshold period of time thereby achieving performance step-increases (e.g., higher charging and discharging rates).
The examiner notes that an off cycle timer, a drain timer, one or more electrode compartments of the redox flow battery system, and an on cycle timer are not positively recited in the claim as currently drafted and therefore not required.
Regarding claim 2, Modified Song-031 additionally teaches wherein the electrolyte is completely drained from the one or more electrode compartments by opening a drain valve of the one or more electrode compartments (Keshavarz, [0087]; Song-032, [0041-0042]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Song-031 further teaches wherein the electrolyte drained from the electrode electrolyte compartment, and filled with an inert gas such as argon (Ar), purging gas from the microporous membrane layer (Song-032, [0041]) in order to reduce a resistivity of the redox flow battery cell (Song-032, [0041]), which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art wherein the drain valve is closed when the one or more electrode compartments are flushed with a target volume of the gas, and wherein the gas is argon, since if the drain valve were not closed, the compartment could not be filled/flushed (target volume) with the argon gas, thereby reducing a resistivity of the redox flow battery cell.
Regarding claim 4, modified Song-031 also teaches wherein a vacuum is formed in the one or more electrode compartments when the one or more electrode compartments are drained, and wherein the gas is drawn into the one or more electrode compartments by the vacuum (Song-032, [0041], “operating a redox flow battery with a positive cross-over pressure, whereby a pressure in the positive electrode compartment is maintained greater than a pressure in the negative electrode compartment, can aid in purging gas from a microporous membrane layer 234 of a redox flow battery cell separator 230, thereby reducing a resistivity of the redox flow battery cell”).
Regarding claim 5, modified Song-031 additionally teaches wherein the redox flow battery system is in the idle mode when a power set point of the redox flow battery system is zero (Song-031, [0081], “neutral DC current corresponds to an idle mode”, [0083], “…redox flow battery idle conditions are met and redox flow battery transitions from the discharge mode to the idle mode. DC current aligns with zero and/or neutral as substantially no current flows to and/or away from the redox low battery”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Song-031 further teaches wherein power electronics of the redox flow battery system are deactivated when the redox flow battery system is in the idle mode (Song-031, [0083], “the power electronics are deactivated upon entering redox flow battery idle mode”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Song-031 also teaches wherein an electrolyte temperature of the redox flow battery system is reduced when the redox flow battery system is in the idle mode (Song-031, [0100], “wherein the executable instructions include reducing an electrolyte temperature to an idling threshold temperature in response to switching to the idle mode”), and wherein the electrolyte temperature is reduced by decreasing a heater set point (Song-031, [0083], “upon entering redox flow battery idle mode…the heater is adjusted to a lower set point to heat the redox flow battery to a temperature less than the first threshold battery temperature”)
Regarding claim 8, modified Song-031 additionally teaches wherein the electrolyte temperature is reduced to below an idle threshold temperature, and wherein the idle threshold temperature is a temperature below which a solubility and/or a stability of electrolyte salts of the electrolyte is decreased (Song-031, [0061], “Adjusting a heater set point may further include reducing a heater output power set point to reduce heater output power in order to reduce the electrolyte temperature below the idle threshold temperature. The idle threshold temperature may be based on a solubility or stability of the electrolytes during idle mode”).
Regarding claim 9, modified Song-031 further teaches wherein the electrolyte temperature is reduced but maintained at or above an idle threshold temperature (Song-031, [0100], “wherein the executable instructions include reducing an electrolyte temperature to an idling threshold temperature in response to switching to the idle mode”), and wherein the idle threshold temperature is a temperature below which a solubility and/or a stability of electrolyte salts of the electrolyte is decreased (Song-031, [0061], “The idle threshold temperature may be based on a solubility or stability of the electrolytes during idle mode”)
Regarding claim 10, modified Song-031 teaches all of the claim limitations as set forth above including wherein drain valve 342 may remain open for some period of time after electrolyte begins to fill electrode electrolyte compartment 240 in order to flush electrode electrolyte compartment 240 (Keshavarz, [0087]), the off cycle threshold period of time corresponding to the electrolyte pump being activated in the idle mode, the on cycle threshold period of time corresponding to the electrolyte pump being deactivated in the idle mode. Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the instructions of modified Song-031 wherein the drain threshold period of time is longer than the off cycle threshold period of time and the on cycle threshold period of time combined, thereby completely draining the electrode electrolyte compartments.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chang US20130084506A1 (discloses a redox flow battery system comprising pumps, cells, a controller, timers and instructions to execute),
Kumamoto US20170098849A1 (discloses a redox flow battery system comprising pumps, drains, cells, a controller, timers and instructions to execute),
Song US20180316036A1 (discloses a redox flow battery system comprising cells, pumps, tanks, drains, a controller, timers, instructions to execute, placing the system in an idle mode).
/JARED HANSEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723