Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN 202211494403, filed on November 25th, 2022.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1, Claims 1-17 drawn to an energy storage container in the reply filed on January 8th, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 18-20, drawn to an assembly method of an energy storage container, are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 8th, 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “[0038]The rack body may be a frame structure. The rack body may include a top frame 110, a bottom frame 150,…”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1-10, 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “one end of the first pipe section” and “the other end of the first pipe section.” Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 3-4, 12-13, 16, they are rejected based on their dependence on a previously rejected claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 5, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “one end of the second pipe section” and “the other end of the second pipe section.” Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claims 6-10, 14, 17, they are rejected based on their dependence on a previously rejected claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Further regarding claims 12-14, the claims recite “a stopper…configured to limit the second connecting portion.” It is unclear what is meant by limiting the second connecting portion, or the way in which the stopper limits the second connecting portion. For the purposes of examination, limiting the second connecting portion is understood to mean any element which prevents the second connecting portion from detaching from adjacent surfaces in the configuration. Appropriate correction is required.
Further regarding claims 16-17, they are rejected based on their dependence on a previously rejected claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wen (Chinese Patent Publication No. 115172977 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wen teaches an energy storage container (Paragraph 7), comprising: a container body provided with at least one battery rack (Figures 5A, 5B; Element 101) (Paragraph 35); an air duct (main air channel/duct) (Figure 1, Element 11) arranged on a top portion of the at least one battery rack (length direction of the container body) (Paragraphs 9, 18); and an air guide (distribution air duct) (Figures 1-2, Element 3) communicating with the air duct and the at least one battery rack (Paragraph 40), wherein the air guide comprises:
a first connecting portion (first sub-air duct) (Figure 3, Element 31)
an air guide portion (overlapping portion of first and second sub-air ducts)
and a second connecting portion (second sub-air duct) (Figure 3, Element 32)
the first connecting portion is connected to the air duct, the second connecting portion is connected to the at least one battery rack, and the flexible air guide portion is connected to both the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, as shown in the annotated Figures below.
Annotated Figures 3 and 4 of Wen
Wen teaches the air guide is made of sheet metal, which is bent to form the parts of the air guide (Paragraph 40). As sheet metal is known in the art as being a bendable material, which is further supported by the description of the sheet metal provided by Wen, the air guide portion of the air guide is considered a flexible air guide portion, as it is comprised of sheet metal which is a material that can be flexed. As the instant disclosure does not require a certain level of flexibility, the sheet metal portion of Wen has some degree of flexibility, and therefore is considered to meet the instant claimed limitations,
Regarding claim 2, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 1, wherein the first connecting portion comprises:
a first flange (connecting boss of the first sub-air duct) (Figures 3-4, Element 33) connected to the air duct; and
Wen teaches the air guide, comprising the first connecting portion, is a rectangular tubular structure, which is considered meet the instant claimed limitation of a first pipe section, as illustrated in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 3 and 4 of Wen
As shown in the annotated Figure below, Wen teaches one end of the first pipe section is connected to the first flange, and the other end of the first pipe section is connected to the flexible air guide portion.
Annotated Figure 3 of Wen
Regarding claim 3, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 2, wherein a first air hole (air outlet) (Figure 1, Element 15) is provided on a surface of the air duct facing the at least one battery rack (Figure 1; Paragraph 13), and the first pipe section communicates with the first air hole (Paragraph 20), as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 2 of Wen
Regarding claim 4, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 3, wherein the first flange (connecting boss) surrounds the first air hole (air outlet) to achieve sealed connection between the first connecting portion and the air duct (Paragraph 42).
Annotated Figure 4 of Wen
Regarding claim 5, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 1, wherein the second connecting portion comprises:
a second flange (connecting boss of the second sub-air duct) (Figures 3-4, Element 33) connected to the at least one battery rack (Paragraph 15); and
Wen teaches the air guide, comprising the second connecting portion, is a rectangular tubular structure, which is considered meet the instant claimed limitation of a second pipe section, as illustrated in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 3 and 4 of Wen
As shown in the annotated Figure below, Wen teaches one end of the second pipe section is connected to the second flange, and the other end of the second pipe section is connected to the flexible air guide portion.
Annotated Figure 3 of Wen
Regarding claim 6, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 5.
Wen teaches the bottom end of the split air duct (the second connecting portion) hermetically connected to the battery rack to direct airflow to the batteries on the rack in order to cool them (Paragraph 40). As seen in the annotated Figure below, the connecting portions of the battery rack (Figure 4, Element 101), forms an opening to which the second connecting portion (Figure 4, Element 32) is attached in order to direct airflow to the battery rack, as taught by Wen.
Thus, Wen teaches a second air hole provided on the surface of the at least one battery rack facing the air duct, and the second air hole communicates with the second pipe section, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Annotated Figure 4 of Wen
Regarding claim 7, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 6, wherein the second flange (bottom end of split air duct 3) surrounds the second air hole to achieve sealing (hermetically connected) between the second connecting portion and the at least one battery rack (Paragraph 40).
Regarding claim 10, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 9, wherein an end portion of the second flange is provided with a positioning hole (opening occurring at the interface of the second pipe section and the second flange), as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 3 of Wen
Regarding claim 11, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 1, further comprising: a stopper (magnetic strip) (Figure 3, Element 34) (Paragraph 42) connected to the at least one battery rack.
The “stopper configured to limit the second connecting portion” defines the stopper by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 11. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Wen teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, notably the stopper connected to the at least one battery rack, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Further, Wen teaches that the magnetic strips on the split air ducts to fixedly connect the bottom portion (second connecting portion) of the split air duct to the battery rack (Paragraph 42), which is interpreted by the Examiner as limiting the second connecting portion, further meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 2, further comprising: a stopper (magnetic strip) (Figure 3, Element 34) (Paragraph 42) connected to the at least one battery rack.
The “stopper configured to limit the second connecting portion” defines the stopper by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 11. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Wen teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, notably the stopper connected to the at least one battery rack, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Further, Wen teaches that the magnetic strips on the split air ducts to fixedly connect the bottom portion (second connecting portion) of the split air duct to the battery rack (Paragraph 42), which is interpreted by the Examiner as limiting the second connecting portion, further meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 13, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 3, further comprising: a stopper (magnetic strip) (Figure 3, Element 34) (Paragraph 42) connected to the at least one battery rack.
The “stopper configured to limit the second connecting portion” defines the stopper by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 11. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Wen teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, notably the stopper connected to the at least one battery rack, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Further, Wen teaches that the magnetic strips on the split air ducts to fixedly connect the bottom portion (second connecting portion) of the split air duct to the battery rack (Paragraph 42), which is interpreted by the Examiner as limiting the second connecting portion, further meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 14, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 5, further comprising: a stopper (magnetic strip) (Figure 3, Element 34) (Paragraph 42) connected to the at least one battery rack.
The “stopper configured to limit the second connecting portion” defines the stopper by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 11. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Wen teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, notably the stopper connected to the at least one battery rack, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Further, Wen teaches that the magnetic strips on the split air ducts to fixedly connect the bottom portion (second connecting portion) of the split air duct to the battery rack (Paragraph 42), which is interpreted by the Examiner as limiting the second connecting portion, further meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 11, wherein the stopper is located on an end portion of the second connecting portion, as shown in the Annotated Figure below. Further shown in the annotated Figure below is the second connecting portion, comprising the second sub-air duct and the connecting boss, Elements 32 and 33 respectively. As is seen in the Figure, the stopper Element 34 is located on top of the connecting boss, and is taught by Wen to securely connect the connecting boss to the air duct. Therefore, Wen teaches at least a portion of the stopper presses against the second connecting portion.
Annotated Figure 3 of Wen
Regarding claim 16, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 12, wherein the stopper is located on an end portion of the second connecting portion, as shown in the Annotated Figure below. Further shown in the annotated Figure below is the second connecting portion, comprising the second sub-air duct and the connecting boss, Elements 32 and 33 respectively. As is seen in the Figure, the stopper Element 34 is located on top of the connecting boss, and is taught by Wen to securely connect the connecting boss to the air duct. Therefore, Wen teaches at least a portion of the stopper presses against the second connecting portion.
Annotated Figure 3 of Wen
Claims 1-3, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoo (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220344746 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoo teaches an energy storage container (Figure 1, Element 400) (Paragraph 0010), comprising:
a container body (Figure 1, Element 410) provided with at least one battery rack (Figure 1, Element 300) (Paragraphs 0013-0014);
an air duct (Figure 2, Element 425) arranged on a top portion of the at least one battery rack (Figure 2; Paragraphs 0018, 0072);
and an air guide (blowout unit) (Figure 1, Element 422) communicating with the air duct and the at least one battery rack (coolant moved from the duct to the blowout unit, blowout unit discharging coolant toward a battery pack) (Paragraphs 0017-0018),
wherein the air guide comprises a first connecting portion, an air guide portion, and a second connecting portion, as illustrated in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 6 of Yoo
Yoo teaches the air guide portion, including tubes 422e1 and 422e2 of the elongated tube 422e connected to each other and having different tube diameters so that they may be inserted into each other in order to be moveable. For example, Yoo teaches that when the second tube 422 e2 is drawn out from the first tube 422e1, the tube length may be extended (Paragraphs 0100-0101). Therefore, Yoo teaches the air guide portion illustrated above having a length which may be adjusted, which is considered to meet the instant claim that the air guide portion is flexible air guide portion.
Yoo teaches the blowout unit including a fixing member (Figure 6, Element 422A) fixed to the air duct in order to communicate with the air supply duct (Paragraph 0033). As the first connecting unit, illustrated above, includes the fixing member, the first connecting portion is connected to the air duct, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Yoo teaches the blowout unit discharging coolant to the battery packs (Paragraph 0074). As seen in the illustrated in the figure above, the end tube portion of the blowout unit 422 e3 is the second connection portion through which coolant exits. Thus, Yoo teaches that the second connecting portion is connected to the at least one battery rack, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
As shown in the annotated Figure above, Yoo teaches the flexible air guide portion is connected to both the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 1, including the first connecting portion.
Further, Yoo teaches the first connecting portion comprises: a first flange (Figure 5, Element 422a) connected to the air duct; and a first pipe section (Figure 5, Element 422b), wherein one end of the first pipe section is connected to the first flange, and the other end of the first pipe section is connected to the flexible air guide portion, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 6 of Yoo
Regarding claim 3, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 2, wherein a first air hole (opening in the air supply duct) is provided on a surface of the air duct facing the at least one battery rack (Figure 2, Paragraph 0080), and the first pipe section (fixing member 422) communicates with the first air hole (inlet in fixing member formed to communicate with the opening of the air supply duct).
Regarding claim 11, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 1, further comprising: a stopper (moving screw) (Figure 5, Element 422d1).
The instant claim is silent as to how the stopper is connected to the at least one battery rack, and is interpreted by the examiner as being in proximity with intervening elements allowed. The stopper of Yoo is part of the blowout unit which directs cooling air to the battery rack. Thus, Yoo teaches the stopped connected to the at least one battery rack, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
The “stopper configured to limit the second connecting portion” defines the stopper by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 11. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Yoo teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, notably the stopper connected to the at least one battery rack, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Further, Yoo teaches that the moving screw on the blowout unit to control the flow of air through the blowout unit (Paragraph 0096). As described above, the second connecting portion is part of the elongated tube which is connected to the blowout units. Therefore, the adjustment of the air flow rate via the shutter of the blowout unit, which is controlled by the moving screw of Yoo, is interpreted by the Examiner as limiting the second connecting portion, further meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 12, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 2, further comprising: a stopper (moving screw) (Figure 5, Element 422d1).
The instant claim is silent as to how the stopper is connected to the at least one battery rack, and is interpreted by the examiner as being in proximity with intervening elements allowed. The stopper of Yoo is part of the blowout unit which directs cooling air to the battery rack. Thus, Yoo teaches the stopped connected to the at least one battery rack, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
The “stopper configured to limit the second connecting portion” defines the stopper by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 11. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Yoo teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, notably the stopper connected to the at least one battery rack, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Further, Yoo teaches that the moving screw on the blowout unit to control the flow of air through the blowout unit (Paragraph 0096). As described above, the second connecting portion is part of the elongated tube which is connected to the blowout units. Therefore, the adjustment of the air flow rate via the shutter of the blowout unit, which is controlled by the moving screw of Yoo, is interpreted by the Examiner as limiting the second connecting portion, further meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 13, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 3, further comprising: a stopper (moving screw) (Figure 5, Element 422d1).
The instant claim is silent as to how the stopper is connected to the at least one battery rack, and is interpreted by the examiner as being in proximity with intervening elements allowed. The stopper of Yoo is part of the blowout unit which directs cooling air to the battery rack. Thus, Yoo teaches the stopped connected to the at least one battery rack, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
The “stopper configured to limit the second connecting portion” defines the stopper by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 11. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Yoo teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, notably the stopper connected to the at least one battery rack, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Further, Yoo teaches that the moving screw on the blowout unit to control the flow of air through the blowout unit (Paragraph 0096). As described above, the second connecting portion is part of the elongated tube which is connected to the blowout units. Therefore, the adjustment of the air flow rate via the shutter of the blowout unit, which is controlled by the moving screw of Yoo, is interpreted by the Examiner as limiting the second connecting portion, further meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yoo as applied to claims 1-3, 11-13 above.
Regarding claim 4, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 3, wherein the first flange (fixing member) (Figures 5-6; Element 422A) surrounds the first air hole (opening in air supply duct) (Paragraph 0088).
Annotated Figures 5 and 6 of Yoo
As seen in the annotated Figure above, Yoo teaches the first flange surrounding the first air hole, and teaches in the disclosure that the fixing member (first flange) is configured to be coupled to an edge portion of an opening formed in the air supply duct (Paragraph 0088). Therefore, the first flange are taught to achieve a sealed connection between the first connecting portion and the air duct or it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan to position the first flange to achieve a sealed connection between the first connecting portion and the air duct in order to efficiently control discharge direction and amount of coolant from the duct (Paragraph 0097), meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5-10, 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yoo as applied to claims 1-4, 11-13 above, as evidenced by Smith (Non-Patent Literature, “The Fundamentals of Piping Design”).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 1.
Yoo teaches the second connecting portion comprises a second pipe section, wherein the other end of the second pipe section is connected to the flexible air guide portion, as shown in the annotated figure below.
Annotated Figure 6 of Yoo
Yoo is silent as to the second connecting portion comprising a second flange connected to the at least one battery rack, wherein one end of the second pipe section is connected to the second flange.
However, as discussed above, Yoo teaches the first flange (fixing member) of the first connecting portion is desirable to efficiently control the discharge direction and discharge amount of coolant from the duct (Paragraph 0033). Further, flanges are known in the art to be a suitable way to connect two adjacent faces in a piping system, as evidenced by Smith (Chapter 2: Piping Components, Page 74). Therefore, it would be obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the blowout unit described by Yoo (Element 422) on both ends of the elongated tube (Element 422e) in order to provide additional control to the coolant flow to the battery rack. Further, the flanges of the blowout unit of Yoo are suitable elements to provide connection between adjacent surfaces in the piping, which further supports this modification.
The modification is illustrated in the Figure below:
Annotated Figure 6 of Yoo
As is illustrated in the annotated Figure above, Yoo teaches one end of the second pipe section is connected to the second flange, and the other end of the second pipe section is connected to the flexible air guide portion, meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Further, the modification illustrated exemplifies how cooling air exits the end of the elongated tube (Element 422e3) through a second blowout unit (including a second flange) which directs the air to the battery rack. The instant claim is silent as to how the second flange is connected to the at least one battery rack, and is interpreted by the examiner as being in proximity with intervening elements allowed. Thus, Yoo teaches the second flange connected to the at least one battery rack, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 5.
As discussed above, Yoo teaches blowout units for discharging cooling air from the air supply duct to the battery pack (Paragraph 0072). As is seen in Figure 7, the blowout unit (Element 422) is provided above the battery pack (Element 200). As is seen in Figure 6, an elongated tube (Element 422 e) may be attached to the blowout nozzle (Element 422c).
Further discussed in the modification of claim 5 above is the addition of a second blowout unit at the end of the third tube, Element 422 e3 of Yoo.
The ordinary artisan can imagine that when selecting and combining the embodiments of the Yoo depicted in Figures 6 and 7, as the length of the elongated tube is increased (taught by Yoo, see Paragraphs 0100-0101), the end of the second blowout unit (nozzle, Element 422c) will contact the top of battery rack. In order to deliver coolant efficiently to the battery rack, the ordinary artisan would recognize a second air hole must be provided on the surface of the at least one battery rack that faces the air duct in order for coolant to be discharged into the battery rack. Further, Yoo teaches the first air hole to communicate between the blowout unit and the air supply duct, therefore it would have been equally as obvious to provide a second air hole in the battery rack facing the other end of the blowout unit (second pipe section) to provide communication between the second pipe section and the battery rack.
Annotated Figure 7 of Yoo
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the surface of the at least one battery rack facing the air duct of Yoo to include a second air hole communicating with the second pipe section in order to effectively cool the battery pack, (Paragraph 0032) meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 6.
Yoo does not explicitly teach the second flange surrounds the second air hole to achieve sealing between the second connecting portion and the at least one battery rack.
However, as discussed above, Yoo teaches the first flange (Element 422a) of the first connecting portion surrounding the first air hole (configured to be coupled to an edge portion of an opening formed in the air supply duct) (Paragraph 0088). Therefore, it would have been equally as obvious to the ordinary artisan to provide the second flange of the second blowout unit discussed in the modification above to be coupled to the edge portion of the opening (second hole) formed in the battery rack in order to effectively cool the batteries in the battery rack, meeting the instant claimed limitation of the second flange surrounding the second air hole.
Further, as evidenced by Smith described above, flanges are a mechanical connection known in the art to provide a leak free-connection if assembled correctly (Page 74). Therefore, the addition of the second blowout unit including flanges (Elements 422a and 422c) as described above in the modification of claim 5 results in a sealing (leak-free) connection between the second connecting portion and the at least one battery rack, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 8, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 5, wherein the second flange comprises: a first flange plate and a second flange plate, wherein the first flange plate is arranged on an end portion of the second pipe section, as illustrated in the annotated Figure below.
As described above in the modification of claim 5, the second blowout unit positioned at the end of the second pipe section is arranged above the battery rack. Further discussed above is the lengthening of the elongation tube which abuts the end of the second blowout unit (second flange plate) with the second air hole provided in the at least one battery rack.
Therefore, as the first flange plate is positioned above the at least one battery rack to direct cooling air from the air duct, through the elongated tube, and to the battery rack, it is considered to be arranged on a top surface of the at least one battery rack, as illustrated in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figures 6 and 7 of Yoo
As seen in the annotated Figure below, Yoo teaches a second flange plate perpendicular to the first flange plate.
Annotated Figure 5 of Yoo
As seen in the annotated Figure below, Yoo teaches at least a portion of the second flange plate extends to a side portion of the at least one battery rack.
Annotated Figures 6 and 7 of Yoo
Regarding claim 9, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 8.
As mentioned above, Yoo teaches the elongated tube comprised of three tubes of different diameters connected to each other in order to adjust the length of the tube (Paragraphs 0100-0101). The modification of adding a second blowout unit and connecting the second flange plate to a hole in the battery rack discussed above resulted in the connection between the second pipe portion of the second connecting portion and the first flange plate.
By adjusting the length of the second connecting portion (third tube) (Element 422 e3) of the elongated tube, the ordinary artisan would recognize the third tube may extend through the blowout unit and contact the second air hole provided on the battery rack. By further drawing the third tube out of the second tube in accordance with the teachings of Yoo (Paragraphs 0100-0101), the ordinary artisan would recognize that the air guide (specifically, the third tube of Yoo or the second pipe section of the instant claim) may be inserted into the battery rack in a predetermined direction, as annotated below, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Annotated Figure 6 of Yoo
Thus, the ordinary artisan would find it obvious to draw out the third tube of Yoo in such a way to improve the delivery of coolant through the elongated tube to the batteries.
Yoo is silent as to a length of the second flange being greater than a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction.
However, the ordinary artisan would recognize only three possible options for the length of the second flange relative to the length of the battery rack in the predetermined direction:
a length of the second flange being less than a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction
a length of the second flange being equal to a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction
a length of the second flange being greater than a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a length of the second flange being greater than a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction from the finite lists of possible combinations for flange length to arrive at the second flange of the instant claim since the combination of components would have yielded predictable results as a component to connect adjacent surfaces of a pipe system, absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Regarding claim 10, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 9, wherein an end portion of the second flange is provided with a positioning hole, as seen in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 5 of Yoo
Regarding claim 14, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 5, further comprising: a stopper (moving screw) (Figure 5, Element 422d1).
The instant claim is silent as to how the stopper is connected to the at least one battery rack, and is interpreted by the examiner as being in proximity with intervening elements allowed. The stopper of Yoo is part of the blowout unit which directs cooling air to the battery rack. Thus, Yoo teaches the stopped connected to the at least one battery rack, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
The “stopper configured to limit the second connecting portion” defines the stopper by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was not evaluated on its own, but in conjunction with the remainder of claim 11. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Yoo teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, notably the stopper connected to the at least one battery rack, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Further, Yoo teaches that the moving screw on the blowout unit to control the flow of air through the blowout unit (Paragraph 0096). As described above, the second connecting portion is part of the elongated tube which is connected to the blowout units. Therefore, the adjustment of the air flow rate via the shutter of the blowout unit, which is controlled by the moving screw of Yoo, is interpreted by the Examiner as limiting the second connecting portion, further meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 15, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 11, wherein the stopper is located on an end portion of the second connecting portion, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 6 of Yoo
As mentioned above, Yoo teaches the elongated tube comprised of three tubes of different diameters connected to each other in order to adjust the length of the tube (Paragraphs 0100-0101). Therefore, at least a portion of the stopper presses against the second connecting portion (third tube) (Element 422 e3) of the elongated tube or it would be obvious to the ordinary artisan to adjust the length of the second connecting portion (according to the teachings of Yoo, the third tube may be drawn out from the second tube) so that the stopper presses against it, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 16, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 12, wherein the stopper is located on an end portion of the second connecting portion, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 6 of Yoo
As mentioned above, Yoo teaches the elongated tube comprised of three tubes of different diameters connected to each other in order to adjust the length of the tube (Paragraphs 0100-0101). Therefore, at least a portion of the stopper presses against the second connecting portion (third tube) (Element 422 e3) of the elongated tube or it would be obvious to the ordinary artisan to adjust the length of the second connecting portion (according to the teachings of Yoo, the third tube may be drawn out from the second tube) so that the stopper presses against it, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Yoo teaches the energy storage container according to claim 14, wherein the stopper is located on an end portion of the second connecting portion, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 6 of Yoo
As mentioned above, Yoo teaches the elongated tube comprised of three tubes of different diameters connected to each other in order to adjust the length of the tube (Paragraphs 0100-0101). Therefore, at least a portion of the stopper presses against the second connecting portion (third tube) (Element 422 e3) of the elongated tube or it would be obvious to the ordinary artisan to adjust the length of the second connecting portion (according to the teachings of Yoo, the third tube may be drawn out from the second tube) so that the stopper presses against it, meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen, as applied to claims 1-7, 10-17 above, further in view of Utsumi (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220384887 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 5.
Wen teaches the air guide (split/distribution air duct) (Figures 1-4, Element 3) comprised of sheet metal bent parts (Paragraph 40) where the flanges (connecting bosses) are formed by bending the ends of the sub air-ducts to provide a fixed connection (Paragraph 42).
As seen in the annotated Figure below, Wen teaches the second flange comprises a first flange plate arranged on an end portion of the second pipe section and on a top surface of the at least one battery rack.
Annotated Figures 3 and 4 of Wen
Wen is silent as to a second flange plate perpendicular to the first flange plate, wherein at least a portion of the second flange plate extends to a side portion of the at least one battery rack.
However, Utsumi discloses a battery case configured to accommodate a plurality of battery cells, including a metal plate portion made of a plurality of metal plates that is part of the battery case (Paragraph 0006). Utsumi teaches a first and second overlapping portion of the metal plates provided by bending part of the plates (Paragraph 0007). Utsumi teaches the overlapping portion between the metal plates of the battery case formed by bending part of the metal plate in order to secure contact between the metal plates (Paragraph 0052). Further, Utsumi teaches the side walls of the battery case are bent by 90 degrees, forming flange portions having an L-shaped or U-shaped cross section, in order to increase rigidity of these walls (Paragraphs 0024).
The prior art of Utsumi solves a similar problem as Wen, namely connecting adjacent metal surfaces of a battery case, and is thus considered an analogous art. Further, Utsumi provides suitable ways to bend sheets of metal to form flange surfaces, in order to increase rigidity of the metal sheets and ensure the connection between surfaces.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the second flange of Wen to incorporate the teachings of Utsumi in which a second flange plate is located perpendicular to the first flange plate, wherein at least a portion of the second flange plate extends to a side portion of the battery rack, as exemplified in the drawings above. Perpendicular flange plates (L-shaped) are a known flange configuration in the art, as is the bending of adjacent metal sheets to connect them, and the advantage is further taught by Utsumi to improve rigidity and connection, respectively.
Regarding claim 9, Wen teaches the energy storage container according to claim 8.
As shown in the annotated Figure below, Wen teaches the air guide (split/distribution air duct) (Figures 1-4, Element 3) is inserted into the at least one battery rack in a predetermined direction. As can be seen in the Figure below, the connecting boss of the second sub-air duct is located below the longitudinal beams (Figure 4, Element 104) of the battery rack, and is therefore considered inserted into the at least one battery rack in a predetermined direction, meeting the instant claimed limitation.
Annotated Figure 4 of Wen
Wen is silent as to a length of the second flange being greater than a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction.
However, the ordinary artisan would recognize only three possible options for the length of the second flange relative to the length of the battery rack in the predetermined direction:
a length of the second flange being less than a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction
a length of the second flange being equal to a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction
a length of the second flange being greater than a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select a length of the second flange being greater than a length of the at least one battery rack in the predetermined direction from the finite lists of possible combinations for flange length to arrive at the second flange of the instant claim since the combination of components would have yielded predictable results as a component to connect adjacent surfaces of a pipe system, absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Conclusion
/O.A.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789