DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III (claims 15-23) in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-14, 24, and 27-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Accordingly, claims 15-23 are currently under consideration.
Claims 24 and 27-29 remain withdrawn, despite Applicant’s amendments, and will be considered for rejoinder at a later time (i.e., if/when the elected claims are found allowable).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 11/30/2023 and 12/30/2023 have been considered. However, these IDSes refer to unspecified publications within applications. Since the unspecified publications have not been cited or provided, they have not been considered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “MBD device” in claims 15, 18, and 21, “MBD system” in claims 22 and 23, and “communication module” in claim 20.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (e.g. for “MBD device” and “MBD system,” a mask and sensors as shown in 3; and for “communication module,” as described with respect to Fig. 4, or as in ¶ 0153 of the specification as filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 15, 18, and 21-23, the acronym “MBD” is unclear because it has not been defined.
Further regarding claim 15, antecedent basis for the second recitation of “a server” is unclear, since one has already been recited. Is this the same or a new/different server?
Regarding claims 22 and 23, there is insufficient antecedent basis for the recitations of “the MBD system.”
Claims 16-23 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claims 15-23 are directed to a “system,” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a machine.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One: Claim 15 recites (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of a mathematical concept, substantially as follows:
receive and aggregate the cardiac biomarker data from the plurality of MBD devices and apply an unsupervised machine learning algorithm to identify clusters of patients with similar cardiac biomarker patterns; and … analyze the cardiac biomarker data from the identified clusters of patients and identify trends in the data that can be used to improve accuracy of the MBD system for remote patient monitoring of cardiac biomarkers.
The receiving, aggregating, applying, identifying, analyzing, and identifying steps involve the mathematical concepts of data manipulation, feature extraction, trending, etc. These steps correspond to “[w]ords used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem [that] can serve the same purpose as a formula.” See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
Prong Two: Claim 15 does not include additional elements that integrate the mathematical concept into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is “directed to” the mathematical concept. The additional elements merely:
recite the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or include instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, or merely use the computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (e.g. a server, an artificial intelligence agent), and
add insignificant extra-solution activity (the pre-solution activity of: collecting cardiac biomarker data and transmitting it to a server, using generic data-gathering components (e.g. a plurality of MBD devices)).
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on a computer. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. No improvement to the technology is evident, and the identified trends are not outputted in any way such that a diagnostic benefit is realized. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claim 15 does not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., an inventive concept) for the same reasons as described above.
Dependent Claims
The dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons: they merely
further describe the abstract idea (e.g. using particular algorithms (claims 16 and 19), predicting likelihood of future events (claim 20), adjusting thresholds and algorithms (claim 22), de-identifying and aggregating data (claim 23), etc.),
further describe the pre-solution activity (or the structure used for such activity) (e.g. the MBD devices being wearable devices (claim 18) that collect EBC and use sensors (claim 21), etc.), and
introduce post-solution activity (e.g. providing personalized recommendations (claims 17 and 20), etc.).
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way (e.g. nothing is done with the identified trends, and the recommendations need not be seen, heard, or acted on). They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves another technology or technical field, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 17, 18, 20, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2024/0079145 (“Conward”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0125325 (“Erdman”).
Regarding claim 15, Conward teaches [a] system for remote patient monitoring of cardiac biomarkers using [a device] (systems and methods for deriving health indicators based at least partially from user-generated content and/or biometric data, para 0015; the data analysis engine 114 is configured to organize and model data in a manner that allows for visualization during a period over which patient monitoring is performed, para 0044), comprising: a plurality of … devices configured to collect cardiac biomarker data from individual patients and transmit the data wirelessly to a server on the internet (the term "biometric data" refers to any data descriptive of or derived from a measurable physiological quantity associated with an individual. Non-limiting examples of biometric data include heart rate data, body temperature data, body composition data (e.g., body mass index, percent body fat, etc.), hemoglobin level data, cholesterol data, sleep data, blood pressure data, respiratory rate data, blood glucose level data, triglyceride data, movement data, electrodermal activity data, electrocardiogram data, electroencephalograph data, or other parameters. Biometric data may be generated from wearable devices as well as from contactless sensors, para 0028 [heart rate is a cardiac biomarker. Also, hemoglobin levels, cholesterol, blood glucose level data and triglyceride data constitute cardiac biomarker data since it is well known that this data is indicative of heart disease (see e.g. Applicant’s specification as filed at ¶ 0204), and wearable devices constitute devices]; one or more of the user interfaces 103 or 105 may be a standalone application (e.g., a mobile "app," etc.), that allows a user of a respective device to send/receive information to/from each other, the health management server 110, the one or more biometric measurement devices 120A-120Z, the data store 130, or any other device via the network 150, para 0032, [the health management server 110 constitutes a server on the internet and the app sending information to the health management server 110 constitutes transmitting the data wirelessly to a server]; para 0037; the data analysis engine receives the biometric data from one or more wearable devices of the patient, one or more biometric contactless sensors, or one or more medical measurement devices, para 0065, [the biometric data includes both the cardiac biomarker data and the non-chemical biometric data and the data analysis engine receiving the biometric data constitutes transmitting the data to a server]); a server configured to receive and aggregate the cardiac biomarker data from the plurality of … devices (The method 800 begins at block 810, where the processing device aggregating data corresponding to a plurality of individuals (e.g., from user devices 102, biometric measurement devices 120A-120Z, the data store 130, or other data sources). In some embodiments, the data comprises, for each individual, user-generated content and/or biometric data (e.g., as described above with respect to the method 700), para 0071-0072, [the biometric data constitutes the biomarker data]) and apply an unsupervised machine learning algorithm to identify clusters of patients with similar cardiac biomarker patterns (the machine learning platform 112 may be configured to apply one or more NLP models (e.g., sentiment analysis models, word segmentation models, or terminology extraction models) to user generated content and associate health indicators derived from the user-generated content with biometric data. For example, the machine learning platform 112 may utilize supervised or unsupervised models to generate classifications representative of physical or mental health symptoms and/or corresponding root causes based on the health indicators in combination with various biometric data, para 0039, [classifications constitute clusters and since the biometric data is input to the machine learning models, the classifications are based on similarities in the biometric data, which constitutes biomarker data]; The machine learning platform 112 may learn the patterns from the features, values, and known outcomes and be able to detect similar types of outcomes when provided with comparable set of features and corresponding values, para 0043); and an artificial intelligence agent configured to analyze the cardiac biomarker data from the identified clusters of patients and identify trends in the data that can be used to improve accuracy of the … system for remote patient monitoring of cardiac biomarkers (each machine learning model may include layers of computational units ("neurons") to hierarchically process data, and feeds forward the results of one layer to another layer so as to extract a certain feature from the input. When an input vector is presented to the neural network, it may be propagated forward (e.g., a forward pass) through the network, layer by layer (e g., computational units) until it reaches an output layer. The output of the network can then be compared to a desired output ( e.g., a label), using a loss function. The resulting error value is then calculated for each neuron in the output layer. The error values are then propagated from the output back through the network (e g., a backward pass), until each neuron has an associated error value that reflects its contribution to the original output, para 0040; The training data may include a subset of data including, but not limited to, patient biometric data, user-generated content (e.g., standard health survey data), health indicators derived from user generated content, and EMR data, para 0041; a training data generator may also use additional machine learning models to identify and add labels for outcomes based on the training data. The training data generator may utilize a label detector component to detect and generate the labels for the outcomes. The label detector component may also be independent of the training data generator and feed the results to the training data generator, para 0043, [the training engine constitutes an AI agent and the outputs produced by the machine learning models can be used as the targeted output, which is used to train the models, which constitutes improving the accuracy of the system]; At block 820, the processing device generates, from a machine learning model that utilizes the aggregated user-generated content and/or biometric data as input, one or more of: a priority list for the plurality of individuals; or, for each individual, a prediction, diagnosis, or identification of one or more root causes of one or more acute or chronic conditions of the individual, para 0073; An output of the machine learning model may include a risk score (e.g., a numerical score or nomogram), which is used to organize a listing of the individuals in the priority list (e.g., as illustrated by patient priority list 320 of FIG. 3). For example, the risk score may be converted to a category ( e.g., "high risk," "medium risk," "low risk," etc.) when presented for display in the priority list, para 0074, [the risk score and individual recommendations constitute trends in the data]).
Conward does not appear to explicitly teach monitoring of cardiac biomarkers using an MBD; and an MBD device.
Erdman is in the field of breath sensing systems (abstract) and teaches monitoring of cardiac biomarkers using an MBD (The breath of a patient provides an ideal gas for diagnostic sampling purposes. As a part of tidal respiration, air is drawn in through the nose and/or mouth and into the lungs. By its presence in close contact with moist internal tissues, the inspired air is warmed, humidified, and picks up volatile organic compounds (VOCs). This air is then expired out through the nose and/or mouth, para 0051, [VOCs constitute biomarkers]; the VOCs present in exhaled breath can be hallmarks of certain diseases, including but not limited to ... heart failure, and the like. Detection of VOCs in the breath of a patient directly from the gaseous form can provide an accurate mechanism for determining one or more diseased states, para 0052, [VOCs indicating heart failure constitute cardiac biomarkers, detecting a state of disease constitutes monitoring cardiac biomarkers]; In accordance with various embodiments herein, a breath sampling mask is included which can aid in one or more of: capturing breath samples, controlling how the breath samples are generated and treated, and providing additional data regarding the patient and/or their current physiological state, para 0054, [a breath sampling mask constitutes a mask based device]); and an MBD device (a breath sampling mask is included which can aid in one or more of: capturing breath samples, controlling how the breath samples are generated and treated, and providing additional data regarding the patient and/or their current physiological state. FIG. 2 is a schematic view of a breath sampling mask 200 as worn by a patient 100 in accordance with various embodiments herein, para 0054, fig. 2, [the breath sampling mask 200 constitutes an MBD]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the MBD of Erdman to provide data to the system of Conward, for the purpose of detecting VOCs in the breath of a patient directly from the gaseous form in order to provide an accurate mechanism for determining one or more diseased states (see Erdman, para 0052).
Regarding claim 17, Conward-Erdman teaches all the features with respect to claim 15, as outlined above. Conward-Erdman further teaches wherein the artificial intelligence agent uses the identified trends in the data to provide personalized recovery recommendations to each individual patient (Conward: the data analysis engine 114 may generate recommendations for the patient based on the associations made between health indicators and biometric data in order to treat or mitigate symptoms and their underlying causes. For example, such recommendations may include nutritional recommendations, medical procedure or examination recommendations, pharmacological recommendations, complementary or alternative medicine recommendations, exercise recommendations (e g., breathing exercises), or sleep recommendations (e.g., one or more recommendations/suggestions for improving sleep habits and overall sleep health). Recommendations may be in the form of affirmations, task alerts, clinician matching, or feedback from a health screening tool (e.g., a mood assessment tool). Recommendations may also include product recommendations that are tailored to the particular needs of the patient. In some embodiments, the data analysis engine 114 may track the patient's appointments with clinicians, track the outcomes of such appointments, and provide notifications or reminders of upcoming appointments, para 0045; paras 0069, 0079).
Regarding claim 18, Conward-Erdman teaches all the features with respect to claim 15, as outlined above. Conward-Erdman further teaches wherein the MBD devices are wearable devices (Erdman: FIG. 2 is a schematic view of a breath sampling mask 200 as worn by a patient 100 in accordance with various embodiments herein, para 0054, fig. 2, [since the breath sampling mask is worn, this constitutes a wearable MBD device]).
Regarding claim 20, Conward-Erdman teaches all the features with respect to claim 15, as outlined above. Conward-Erdman further teaches a communication module configured to provide personalized alerts to at least one of the patient and a healthcare provider based on a predicted likelihood of future cardiac events, for early intervention and improved patient outcomes (Conward: the data analysis engine 114 is configured to detect current physical or mental health conditions and/or predict future physical or mental health conditions based on the outputs of the machine learning platform 112. In some embodiments, the data analysis engine 114 is configured to organize and model data in a manner that allows for visualization during a period over which patient monitoring is performed, para 0044; At block 740, the processing device transmits data descriptive of the association to a device for further processing or display to facilitate treating or mitigating one or more root causes of the physical or mental health symptoms, or pregnancy-related symptoms. For example, the processing device (e.g., of the health management server 110) may transmit the data to a clinician's device (e g., personnel device 104) in a form suitable for visualization and/or further processing. For example, the data may be presented via the user interface 105 of the personnel device 104 in the form of one or more of the dashboards 300, 400, or 500, para 0068; At block 830, the processing device transmits the priority list or the prediction(s), diagnosis, or identification( s) of the one or more root causes to one or more devices of one or more end users who are different from the plurality of individuals. In some embodiments, the processing device additionally, or alternatively, transmits data descriptive of the one or more root causes to the one or more devices of the one or more end users for further processing or display to facilitate treating or mitigating the one or more root causes of the physical or mental health symptoms, para 0080, [future physical or mental conditions constitute predicted likelihood of future events for early intervention and transmitting data to a clinician's device constitutes alerting a healthcare provider and transmitting predictions to one or more of the end users constitutes personalized alerts to a patient for improved patient outcomes]).
Regarding claim 22, Conward-Erdman teaches all the features with respect to claim 15, as outlined above. Conward-Erdman further teaches wherein the identified trends in the data are used to improve the accuracy of the MBD system by adjusting at least one of thresholds and algorithms used to detect cardiac biomarkers (Conward: The data collection may include, but are not limited to, one or more of heart rate data, body temperature data, body composition data (e.g., body mass index, percent body fat, etc.), hemoglobin level data, cholesterol data, sleep data, blood pressure data, respiratory rate data, blood glucose level data, triglyceride data, movement data, electrodermal activity data, or electrocardiogram data, or electroencephalograph data, para 0037, [heart rate, triglyceride data, blood pressure data constitute cardiac biomarkers]; Applied probabilistic analysis can be used to improve the predictive model of an individual's infection status and in the aggregate, help to refine the testing results thresholds for an objective quantitative or qualitative testing system, para 0087, [refining testing result threshold constitutes adjusting thresholds to detect cardiac biomarkers]).
Regarding claim 23, Conward-Erdman teaches all the features with respect to claim 15, as outlined above. Conward-Erdman further teaches wherein the biomarker data from each patient is de-identified and aggregated with MBD generated data from other similar patients for population studies and to provide improvements to the MBD system (Conward: the data store 130 may include patient data 132, which may include biometric data (e.g., measured by one or more of the biometric measurement devices 120A-120Z) or other health-related data of the patient. The data store 130 provides for storage of individual patient data 132 in a HIPAA- and HITRUST-compliant manner, with the patient data 132 including electronic health records (EHRs), physician data, or various other data including surgical reports, imaging data, genomic data, etc. In some embodiments, EHRs are stored in the HL7® FHIR® standard format. In some embodiments, the data store 130 may include the user generated content 134, para 0047, [the data store storing patient data 132 constitutes aggregated generated data and the stored data including biometric data being HIPAA and HITRUST compliant constitutes biomarker data that is de-identified]; Risk score computation may be computed for each new patient cohort, with the result being an overall score for each patient indicating a likelihood of risk of physical health or mental health symptoms or conditions (e.g., a risk of depression). At block 602, a patient cohort is selected, for example, based on one or more selection criteria. The criteria may be that the patients are associated with a particular medical practice, a health plan, an insurance plan, etc. The criteria may be related to demographics (e.g., age, zip code of residence, etc.). Other suitable criteria may be utilized to select the patient cohort. Similarly, once the cohort is chosen, one or more exclusions may be applied at block 604 to remove patients from the cohort, para 0055, [patient cohort constitutes similar patients for population studies and the risk scores help provide improvements to the system]).
Claims 16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conward-Erdman in view of US Patent Application Publication 2022/0093255 (“Molony”).
Regarding claims 16 and 19, Conward-Erdman teaches all the features with respect to claim 15, as outlined above. Conward-Erdman does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the unsupervised machine learning algorithm is a clustering algorithm, wherein the artificial intelligence agent is a recurrent neural network.
Molony teaches wherein the unsupervised machine learning algorithm is a clustering algorithm (During the clustering operation 204, an unsupervised clustering algorithm is applied to the initial target dataset to cluster the RD individuals into a plurality of subsets (also referred to herein as clusters), para 0060; An example of such an unsupervised clustering algorithm is Hierarchical Agglomerative Clustering (HAC), which clusters the data into a predefined number of subsets, para 0061). Molony teaches wherein the artificial intelligence agent is a recurrent neural network (the model 120 may include a neural network, such as a recurrent neural network (RNN), para 0040).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the machine learning/artificial intelligence modalities of Molony into the combination, for the purpose of using a symptomatic approach to identify individuals at risk of rare diseases. The system is trained using Electronic Medical Records for a substantial number of patients. The trained model may be used, based on an individual's symptoms/electronic medical records, to determine if the individual has a particular rare disease or is at risk of having a particular rare disease. This can allow patients with a rare disease to be identified and captured earlier in the disease progression, allowing them to obtain access to effective treatment and avoid unjustified morbidity and burden (see Molony, para 0026).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conward-Erdman in view of US Patent Application Publication 2021/0325279 (“Daniels”) and non-patent publication Puumala, Lauren S., et al. "Biofunctionalization of multiplexed silicon photonic biosensors." Biosensors 13.1 (2022): 53 (“Puumala”).
Regarding claim 21, Conward-Erdman teaches all the features with respect to claim 15, as outlined above. Conward-Erdman further teaches wherein the MBD devices are configured to collect [a sample] and detect multiple cardiac biomarkers (Erdman: ¶¶s 0051, 0052, 0054, etc.), but does not appear to explicitly teach collecting exhaled breath condensate (EBC), and using multiplexed biosensors and synthetic bioreceptors.
Daniels teaches a mask configured to collect exhaled breath condensate (Abstract).
Puumala teaches wherein the devices are configured to detect multiple cardiac biomarkers using multiplexed biosensors and synthetic bioreceptors (Dozens of these individually addressable planar SiP sensors can be fabricated on a single millimeter-scale chip [10]. This permits multiplexed sensing, which is the simultaneous detection of multiple analytes from a single sample, pg. 2, Section 1, para 2, [Dozens of SiP sensors that permits multiplexed sensing constitutes multiplexed bionsensors]; In this section, we introduce several classes of bioreceptors that have been used for SiP sensor functionalization and benchmark them against performance criteria outlined in Table 2 ... Aptamers, which have been referred to as "synthetic antibodies", are short, single-stranded DNA or RNA molecules that are systematically selected to bind to a given target molecule (Figure 3), pgs. 6-34, Sections 2-2.5, [aptamers, nucleic acid probes, molecularly imprinted polymers and peptides constitutes synthetic bioreceptors]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to collect EBC in the combination as in Daniels (by e.g. incorporating the associated sensor), for the purpose of detecting additional parameters in a low cost, scalable, accurate, and easy-to-use manner (Daniels: ¶ 0015), and as already contemplated (Erdman: ¶¶s 0051 and 0052). It would have been obvious to modify the combination with the SiP biosensors of Puumala for the purpose of providing sensitive, rapid, and inexpensive transducers for point-of-care (POC) biosensing since some advantages of SiP sensors are their high sensitivity, wide dynamic range, compatibility with label-free operation, mechanical stability, and insensitivity to electromagnetic interferences (see Puumala, pg. 1, Section 1).
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791