Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shield in US20230209839.
Regarding Claim 1: Shield teaches the creation of a composite metal magnetic powder comprising Co as a main component in terms of a core. The composite of Shield has a Co/Zn structure comprises metal nanoparticles of Co having an average (mean) particle size of 8.1 + 3.1 nm. The metal magnetic powder of Shield comprises an hcp-Co structure as the main phase of each nanoparticle and an fcc structure as a sub-phase (See Paragraph 68). Shield notes the nanoparticles that make up said core may be magnetic (See paragraph 40,73)
Regarding Claim 2: Shield teaches that the Co has a proportion having an fcc structures of 20% and the balance is a proportion of Co having an hcp structure. The claimed inequality is thus, (Whcp/(Whcp+ Wfcc + Wε)= 0.80/(0.8+0.2+0.0)=0.8*100=80%, falling within the claimed range (See Paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 3: Shield teaches that the nanoparticle may have an average size (d50) of 8.1 + 3.1 nm falling within the claimed range (See Paragraph 68).
Regarding Claim 4: Shield teaches that the nanoparticles have a Zn surface coating that may later be oxidized to form a ZnO layer (See Paragraph 68-70).
Regarding Claim 7: Shield teaches that the magnetic powder discussed above in terms of claim 1 may be used in various electronic components such as resistive switching devices, artificial synapses, artificial neural networks, non-transitory computer-readable media, and sensors (See Paragraph 5). An electronic component containing the claimed powders is shown in Figure 2A-2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shield in US20230209839 in view of Xu in “Co nanoparticles induced resistive switching of the polypyrrole composite films”.
Regarding Claim 5-6 and 8: Shield teaches the creation of a composite metal magnetic powder comprising Co as a main component in terms of a core. The composite of Shield has a Co/Zn or Co/ZnO structure, wherein the magnetic metal nanoparticles have an average (mean) particle size of 8.1 + 3.1 nm. The metal magnetic powder of Shield comprises an hcp-Co structure in each of the particles as a main phase and an fcc structure as a sub-phase (See Paragraph 68). Shield notes the nanoparticles making up said core may be magnetic (See paragraph 40,73).
Shield teaches that the powders as set forth may be used in the creation of electronic components such as resistive switching devices (See Paragraph 5). Shield is silent in terms of creating a composite magnetic body by providing the powder in a resin or the creation of a device containing this composite.
However, Xu teaches that Cobalt nanoparticles may be used in the creation of resistive switching devices. Xu teaches that in the creation of such a device, magnetic Co nanoparticles are provided in a polypyrrole resin and disposed between two electrodes (See Figure 1 and 2). Those of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide the magnetic powders of Shield, which meet the limitations of claim 1 and contain Zn, within a resin to create a composite magnetic body and a resistive switching device (electronic component) containing said composite magnetic body. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to create the various devices taught by Shield and would have looked to similar devices in the prior art to determine the necessary components and architecture necessary in the creation such a device. Xu shows the creation of such a device and obviates provisioning the powder in a resin in terms of a magnetic composite body (See abstract). Thus the creation of the claimed composite magnetic body containing the powder discussed above and a resin would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shield in US20230209839 in view of Jung in their publication titled “Multistate resistive switching characteristics of ZnO nanoparticles embedded polyvinylphenol device”.
Regarding Claim 5-6 and 8: Shield teaches the creation of a composite metal magnetic powder comprising Co as a main component in terms of a core. The composite of Shield has a Co/Zn or Co/ZnO structure, an average (mean) particle size of 8.1 + 3.1 nm. The metal magnetic powder of Shield comprises an hcp-Co structure in each of the nanoparticles as a main phase and an fcc structure as a sub-phase (See Paragraph 68). Shield notes the particles may be magnetic (See paragraph 40,73).
Shield teaches that the powders as set forth may be used in the creation of electronic components such as resistive switching devices (See Paragraph 5). Shield is silent in terms of creating a composite magnetic body by providing the powder in a resin or the creation of a device containing this composite.
However, Jung teaches that powders having a ZnO surface may be used in the creation of resistive switching devices. Jung teaches that in the creation of such a device, nanoparticles comprising ZnO are provided in a polyvinylphenol resin and disposed between two electrodes (See Figure 1). Those of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide the powders of Shield, which meet the limitations of claim 1 and contain Zn, within a resin to create a composite magnetic body and a resistive switching device (electronic component) containing said composite magnetic body. Those of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to create the various devices taught by Shield and would have looked to similar devices in the prior art to determine the necessary components and architecture necessary in the creation such a device. Jung shows the creation of such a device and obviates provisioning the powder in a resin in terms of a composite body. Thus the creation of the claimed composite magnetic body containing the powder discussed above and a resin would have been obvious to those of ordinary skill in the art.
/Matthew E. Hoban/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734