DETAILED ACTION
Notice of Amendment
In response to the amendment(s) filed on 9/16/26, amended claim(s) 11 is/are acknowledged. The following new and/or reiterated ground(s) of rejection is/are set forth:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 11, the claim term “the same gait event” (line 21) lacks antecedent basis. The claim is examined as this being a newly introduced claim term.
Dependent claim(s) 12-18 fail to cure the ambiguity of independent claim 11, thus claim(s) 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, 14 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0170515 to Wen et al. (hereinafter “Wen”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0112443 to Williams and U.S. Patent No. 6,145,389 to Ebeling et al. (hereinafter “Ebeling”).
For claim 11, Wen discloses a mobile device (110/200) (para [0046] and [0056]), comprising:
a processor (220) (Fig. 2) (para [0056]) configured to:
collect or receive raw motion sensor data (as can be seen in Fig. 2) (also see para [0058]-[0059]);
record the raw motion sensor data in a three-dimensional format (see Figs. 6A-B) (also see para [0080], [0086], and [0090]);
generate an information structure representation of the collected raw motion sensor data (para [0061]);
determine a gait cycle based on the generated information structure representation (para [0061]);
identify gait events in the gait cycle (para [0063]);
extract gait biomarkers (Examiner’s Note: para [0036] of Applicant’s specification as originally filed identifying that “stance and swing phases” are examples of biomarkers) based on the identified gait events (para [0063] and [0065]) by:
extracting, using one or more signal processing operations performed on a graph, an analog signal from the graph (such as Figs. 5A-6B) (also see para [0061]-[0065]), wherein the one or more signal processing operations include noise reduction (Examiner’s Note: Applicant’s specification at para [0093] of the specification as originally filed identifies “low-pass filtering” as one example of a noise reduction technique) (para [0064]), and
conditioning the analog signal to extract the gait biomarkers (para [0064]) (also see para [0062]-[0063] and [0065]);
determine a diagnosis based on the extracted gait biomarkers (para [0066]); and
cause an electronic display of the mobile device to present the diagnosis (para [0054], [0070], [0094], and/or [0098]).
Wen does not expressly disclose wherein the motion signals and data from each sensor are sampled at frequencies ranging from 20 Hz to 2500 Hz.
However, Williams teaches wherein the motion signals and data from each sensor are sampled at frequencies ranging from 20 Hz to 2500 Hz (para [0052]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Wen wherein the motion signals and data from each sensor are sampled at frequencies ranging from 20 Hz to 2500 Hz, in view of the teachings of Williams, because such a sampling rate is a suitable sampling rate to get an adequate amount of data so that processing on that data may be performed.
Wen does not expressly disclose wherein the processor is configured to generate the information structure representation of the collected raw motion sensor data by generating a biokinetographic waveform information structure based on the raw motion sensor data, wherein the BKG waveform information structure comprises a graph of scalar sums of acceleration over time.
However, Williams teaches generating information structure representation of the collected raw motion sensor data by generating a biokinetographic waveform information structure based on the raw motion sensor data (para [0056]) (also see para [0034], [0036], and [0038]), wherein the BKG waveform information structure comprises a graph of scalar sums of acceleration over time (para [0034], [0036], and [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Wen wherein the processor is configured to generate the information structure representation of the collected raw motion sensor data by generating a biokinetographic waveform information structure based on the raw motion sensor data, wherein the BKG waveform information structure comprises a graph of scalar sums of acceleration over time, in view of the teachings of Williams, because such a modification would be the simple substitution of one information structure for another information structure that would lead to the predictable result of visualizing the raw data.
Wen and Williams do not expressly disclose wherein conditioning the analog signal comprises reviewing candidate data points for accuracy and examining nearby peaks to determine whether nearby peaks represent the same gait event.
However, Ebeling teaches wherein conditioning an analog signal comprises reviewing candidate data points for accuracy and examining nearby peaks to determine whether nearby peaks represent the same gait event (Fig. 4) (col. 7, line 27 – col. 8, line 19).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Wen wherein conditioning the analog signal comprises reviewing candidate data points for accuracy and examining nearby peaks to determine whether nearby peaks represent the same gait event, in view of the teachings of Ebeling, for the obvious advantage of increasing accuracy of biomarker extraction by considering other relevant data.
For claim 12, Wen further discloses wherein the processor is configured to convert the conditioned analog signal to a digital output and render the digital output on the electronic display (para [0054], [0070], [0094], and/or [0098]).
For claim 14, Wen further discloses wherein the processor is configured to collect motion sensor data from the mobile device by passively collecting sensor data from a sensor in the mobile device (para [0059], [0069], and [0075]) during detected locomotion periods (para [006]-[0007], [0013]-[0014], [0022], [0025], and [0043]).
For claim 16, Wen further discloses wherein: the processor is further configured to use a neural network to identify gait patterns and classify gait abnormalities (para [0062]); and the processor is configured to determine the diagnosis based on the extracted gait biomarkers by determining the diagnosis based on the extracted gait biomarkers, identified gait patterns, and classified gait abnormalities (para [0062] and [0065]-[0066]).
For claim 17, Wen further discloses wherein: the processor is further configured to collect additional sensor data from one or more of a magnetometer, a pressure sensor, a light sensor, a microphone, or an infrared sensor (para [0079]); and the processor is configured to determine the diagnosis based on the extracted gait biomarkers and the additional sensor data (para [0066] and [0079]).
For claim 18, Wen further discloses wherein the mobile device is one of a smartphone or a wearable device (para [0046]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of Williams and Ebeling, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0346253 to Inan et al. (hereinafter “Inan”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0152623 to Williams (hereinafter “Williams 2”).
For claim 13, Wen further discloses wherein the processor is configured to collect motion sensor data from the mobile device by collecting sensor data from a sensor in the mobile device as the mobile device user walks (para [0011], [0075], and/or [0089]).
Wen, Williams, and Ebeling do not expressly disclose a sensor that is positioned on or near a sternum of a mobile device user.
However, Inan teaches a sensor that is positioned on or near a sternum of a user (para [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Wen to include a sensor that is positioned on or near a sternum of a mobile device user, in view of the teachings of Inan, for the obvious advantage of providing an additional way or a substitute way to monitor respiratory parameters/health.
Wen, Williams, Ebeling, and Inan do not expressly disclose a closed course including a turnaround, and wherein the processor identifies steps before and after the turnaround.
However, Williams 2 teaches a closed course (para [0052] and [0156]) including a turnaround (claims 3 and 21), and wherein the processor identifies steps before and after the turnaround (claims 3 and 21).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Wen to include a closed course including a turnaround, and wherein the processor identifies steps before and after the turnaround, in view of the teachings of Williams 2, for the obvious advantage of having the user perform a predefined task so that measurements can be objectively compared between different trials.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wen in view of Williams and Ebeling, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0286279 to Lim et al. (hereinafter “Lim”) and U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0285022 to Ellis et al. (hereinafter “Ellis”).
For claim 15, Wen, Williams, and Ebeling do not expressly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to reorient the raw motion sensor data based on an orientation of the mobile device during collection of the raw motion sensor data to ensure consistent alignment of an axis of three-dimensional sensor data.
However, Lim teaches wherein the processor is further configured to reorient the raw motion sensor data based on an orientation of the mobile device during collection of the raw motion sensor data to ensure consistent alignment of an axis of three-dimensional sensor data (para [0014]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Wen wherein the processor is further configured to reorient the raw motion sensor data based on an orientation of the mobile device during collection of the raw motion sensor data to ensure consistent alignment of an axis of three-dimensional sensor data, in view of the teachings of Lim, for the obvious advantage of calibrating the mobile device.
Wen, Williams, Ebeling, and Lim do not expressly disclose format the raw motion sensor data to account for variations in data forms from different devices.
However, Ellis teaches format raw motion sensor data (para [0162]) (also see para [0030]-[0031]) to account for (Examiner’s Note: functional language/intended use, i.e., capable of) variations in data forms from different devices (para [0162]).
It would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Wen to include format the raw motion sensor data to account for variations in data forms from different devices, in view of the teachings of Ellis, for the obvious advantage of making it available to vendor systems (see para [0162] of Ellis)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not address the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments presented in the response filed 9/16/26.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL L CERIONI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791