Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 – 10 in the reply filed on 2/10/26 is acknowledged. The restriction is hereby made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3 and 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) by Faust, US20130065105A1.
Regarding claim 1, Faust teaches a connection assembly (substrate assembly)[0008], comprising:
a substrate (12) formed of a non-conductive material (insulative material)[0029], the substrate having a via (perforations (13))[0023] extending through the substrate from a first side of the substrate to a second side of the substrate opposite the first side [fig. 2];
a first current collector disposed on the first side of the substrate; a second current collector disposed on the second side of the substrate (lead foils (14) on both sides of substrate (12))[0024]; and
a connection element disposed in the via between the first current collector and the second current collector, the connection element mechanically and electrically connects the first current collector and the second current collector through the via (lead foils (14) are electrically connected through the perforations (13))[0037].
Regarding claim 2, Faust teaches the connection assembly of claim 1, wherein the connection element is formed of a same conductive material as the first current collector and the second current collector (foils (14) extend through the perforations)[0037]
Regarding claim 3, Faust teaches the connection assembly of claim 2, wherein the connection element is monolithically formed in a single piece with one of the first current collector and the second current collector (foils (14) extend through the perforations and are welded)[0037].
Regarding claim 5, Faust teaches the connection assembly of claim 1, wherein the connection element has a connection element thickness approximately equal to a substrate thickness of the substrate (foils (14) extend through the perforations which is the thickness of the substrate)[0037].
Regarding claim 6, Faust teaches the connection assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the first current collector and the second current collector is connected to the connection element by a weld (foils (14) extend through the perforations and are welded)[0037].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faust, US20130065105A1.
Regarding claim 4, Faust teaches the connection assembly of claim 1.
Faust does not teach wherein the connection element is discrete from the first current collector and the second current collector.
However, making a claimed structure separable or integral is considered to be a design change which is considered obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art [MPEP 2144.04 V B – C]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the connection element of Faust as a discrete (non-integral) structure from the current collectors as an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 8, Faust teaches the connection assembly of claim 7.
Faust does not teach wherein the connection element is sintered to form the textured surface.
However, the missing limitation is directed at a product by process limitation. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. The limitation requiring that the textured surface be formed by sintering does not impact the patentability of the product.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faust, US20130065105A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Elhamid, US20100291464A1.
Regarding claim 7, Faust teaches the connection assembly of claim 1.
Faust does not teach wherein the connection element has a textured surface and is connected to at least one of the first current collector and the second current collector by engagement of the textured surface with the at least one of the first current collector and the second current collector.
Elhamid teaches a connection assembly (bipolar plate)[0001] wherein the connection element has a textured surface and is connected to at least one of the first current collector and the second current collector by engagement of the textured surface with the at least one of the first current collector and the second current collector (collectors are formed with textured surfaces)[0009][0024]. Further, Elhamid teaches that having a textured surface reduces contact resistance between conductive surfaces [0009]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the textured surfaces of Elhamid into the connection element of combined Faust to reduce contact resistance between the conductive elements.
Claims 9 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faust, US20130065105A1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirota, US20230361312A1.
Regarding claim 9, Faust teaches the connection assembly of claim 1.
Faust does not tech further comprising a sealant layer disposed between the first current collector and the first side of the substrate.
Hirota teaches a connection assembly (bipolar assembly) comprising a substrate (bipolar plate (12)) and current collector (101) further comprising a sealant layer (adhesive (140)) disposed between the first current collector (101) and the first side of the substrate (12)[fig. 2]. Further, Hirota teaches that the sealant layer prevents electrolyte leakage thereby improving battery performance [0005]. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sealant layer of Hirota into the connection assembly of Faust to improve battery performance.
Regarding claim 10, combined Faust teaches the connection assembly of claim 9.
Further, Hirota teaches wherein the sealant layer has an opening extending through the sealant layer and surrounded by a material of the sealant layer, the opening is aligned with the via and the first current collector is electrically and mechanically connected to the connection element through the opening (adhesive layer (140) having an opening which corresponds to conduction hole (12a))[fig. 1].
Conclusion
/PATRICK MARSHALL GREENE/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724