Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination on the merit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2022/104548 to Liang et al. (English equivalent US 2023/0066562 used for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Liang et al. teaches a battery pack 1 comprising:
a plurality of first battery cells 101 comprising a first cell chemistry, e.g. a lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNiMnCoO2, NCM) battery cell or a lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (LiNiCoAlO2, NCA) battery cell, each one of the plurality of first battery cells comprising a same first height, a same first width, and a same first length; and
a plurality of second battery cells 102 comprising a second cell chemistry different than the first cell chemistry, e.g. a lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4, LFP) battery cell or a lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2) battery cell, the second cell chemistry providing a lower capacity than the first cell chemistry, each one of the plurality of second battery cells comprising the same first height, the same first width, and a same second length, the second length greater than the first length, length being interpreted to refer to the dimension in z direction (all figures; [0049]; [0100]).
Regarding claim 8, Liang et al. a vehicle (Fig. 1; [0047]) comprising:
an electric motor in drive mechanism 51; and
a battery pack 1 electrically coupled to the electric motor, the battery pack comprising:
a first cell chemistry, e.g. a lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNiMnCoO2, NCM) battery cell or a lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (LiNiCoAlO2, NCA) battery cell, each one of the plurality of first battery cells comprising a same first height, a same first width, and a same first length; and
a plurality of second battery cells 102 comprising a second cell chemistry different than the first cell chemistry, e.g. a lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4, LFP) battery cell or a lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2) battery cell, the second cell chemistry providing a lower capacity than the first cell chemistry, each one of the plurality of second battery cells comprising the same first height, the same first width, and a same second length, the second length greater than the first length, length being interpreted to refer to the dimension in z direction (all figures; [0049]; [0100]).
Regarding claim 15, Liang et al. envisions a method for providing a battery pack 1 that leverages mixed chemistry cells for maximal volume utilization, the method comprising:
providing a plurality of first battery cells 101 comprising a first cell chemistry, e.g. a lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiNiMnCoO2, NCM) battery cell or a lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (LiNiCoAlO2, NCA) battery cell, each one of the plurality of first battery cells comprising a same first height, a same first width, and a same first length; and
providing a plurality of second battery cells 102 comprising a second cell chemistry different than the first cell chemistry, e.g. a lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4, LFP) battery cell or a lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO2) battery cell, the second cell chemistry providing a lower capacity than the first cell chemistry, each one of the plurality of second battery cells comprising the same first height, the same first width, and a same second length, the second length greater than the first length, length being interpreted to refer to the dimension in z direction (all figures; [0049]; [0100]).
Regarding claims 2, 9, and 16, Liang et al. teaches that each one of the plurality of first battery cells comprises a nickel-cobalt-manganese (NCM) cell ([0100]).
Regarding claims 3, 10, and 17, Liang et al. teaches that each one of the plurality of second battery cells comprises a lithium-iron-phosphate (LFP) cell ([0100]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, and 18, Liang et al. teaches that a first number of first battery cells and a second number of second battery cells are selected to maximize a volume utilization of the battery pack as Liang et al. demonstrates packing a number of first battery cells and a number of second battery cells into protective box 20 (all figures; [0049]).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 19, Liang et al. teaches that the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells are staggered in the battery pack in a brick style arrangement (all figures; [0049]; [0061]; [0088]).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 20, Liang et al. teaches that at least one cell of the plurality of second battery cells is between each pair of the plurality of first battery cells as seen in all figures.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Liang et al. teaches that each line of the battery pack comprises at least one cell of the plurality of first battery cells as seen in all figures.
Conclusion
/Heng M. Chan/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725