DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “throttling element” (i.e. element [for] throttling) in claims 1-8 and 11-20.
In the case of throttling element, the corresponding structure is found in par 0021: “the throttling element 5 (thermal expansion valve or electronic expansion valve).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brendel et al. (US 5,193,353 A).
Regarding claim 1, Brendel discloses a refrigeration system (see refrigeration system 10, figs. 1-3), comprising: a compressor (compressor 12), a first heat exchanger (condenser 14), a reservoir (receiver 16), a throttling element (expansion valve 18) and a second heat exchanger (evaporator 20) in a refrigeration circuit (see figs. 1-3), wherein, in a cooling mode (see figs. 1-3), the refrigeration system is configured to pass a refrigerant leaving an outlet (via discharge 24) of the compressor (compressor 12) through, in turn, the first heat exchanger (14), the reservoir (16), the throttling element (18) and the second heat exchanger (20) before returning the refrigerant to an inlet (inlet of compressor 12) of the compressor (refrigerant returning to inlet of compressor 12 as shown by solid arrows, see fig. 1); wherein, the refrigeration system comprises a hot-gas bypass heating mode (heating/defrost mode, see figs. 2-3), wherein the refrigeration system is configured to deliver the refrigerant leaving the outlet (via discharge 24) of the compressor (compressor 12) directly to the second heat exchanger (via path 54 between expansion valve 18 and heat exchanger evaporator 20, see fig. 2) before returning the refrigerant to the inlet of the compressor (see refrigerant returning to inlet of compressor 12 as shown by solid arrows, see fig. 2), wherein the refrigeration system further comprises a branch flow path (path 62) with a control valve (valve 64) provided thereon, wherein the control valve (valve 64) is configured to be opened or closed in the hot-gas bypass heating mode (see valve 64 closed or opened, figs. 1-3), where, when the control valve is opened (when valve 64 is opened, wherein, valve 64 is capable of being opened), a portion of the refrigerant leaving the outlet of the compressor (refrigerant leaving compressor 12 via discharge line 24, see fig. 2) is delivered to the reservoir after passing through the branch flow path (see flow of refrigerant, as shown by solid arrows, through lines 54, 62 and valve 64 to the receiver 16, figs. 2), such that refrigerant stored in the reservoir (refrigerant within receiver 16) passes through the throttling element (18) and the second heat exchanger (20) in turn before returning to the inlet of the compressor (refrigerant from receiver 16 passes through line 35, junction 44, line 38, expansion valve 18 and second heat exchanger evaporator 20 to return to the inlet side of the compressor 12, see fig. 2), and when the control valve is closed (when valve 64 is closed, wherein, valve 64 is capable of being closed), the branch flow path (path 62) is cut off (refrigerant path 62 is blocked/cut off to receiver 16 from line 54 when valve 64 is closed, see fig. 1), and the refrigerant leaving the outlet of the compressor (via discharge 24) bypasses the first heat exchanger and the throttling element (refrigerant supplied from compressor to the second heat exchanger evaporator 20, as shown by solid arrows, via hot gas line 54 while bypassing condenser 14 and expansion valve 18, see figs. 2-3; Also see bypass path 104 and 98, which bypass condenser 86 and expansion valve 90, fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the control valve is closed in the cooling mode (see valve 64 not supplying refrigerant through it, as evident from absence of solid arrows, towards the receiver 16, fig. 1, wherein valve 64 is capable of closing during/in the cooling mode).
Regarding claim 3, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the control valve is opened when the hot-gas bypass heating mode is started (see open valve 64 during heating, fig. 2), and is closed after a first delay time (see claim 3, where the controller closes the valve after a predetermined time).
Regarding claim 4, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that the first delay time is a fixed preset value (see claim 3, where the controller closes the valve after a fixed predetermined time); or
the refrigeration system further comprises a sensor for monitoring a liquid level of the reservoir, wherein the first delay time is determined based on the liquid level of the reservoir (this is an alternative limitation, see MPEP 2173.05(h)); or
the refrigeration system further comprises a sensor for monitoring a temperature and/or pressure of the refrigerant at an outlet of or downstream of the reservoir, wherein the first delay time is determined based on the temperature and/or pressure of the refrigerant at the outlet of or downstream of the reservoir (this is an alternative limitation, see MPEP 2173.05(h)).
Regarding claim 8, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses a transport vehicle comprising the refrigeration system (see transport refrigeration system, abstract; figs. 1-3; col. 2, lines 34-43, and col. 5, lines 35-54).
Regarding claim 11, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the control valve (valves 64, 84) is closed in the hot-gas bypass heating mode (when valves 64 and 84 are closed for refrigerant path 62 and refrigerant flow to condenser 86 respectively, see figs. 2-3), and the refrigeration system is configured to deliver all of the refrigerant leaving the outlet of the compressor directly to the second heat exchanger (refrigerant delivers to evaporators 20, 92 via lines 54 and 98 respectively, see figs. 2-3), bypassing the first heat exchanger (bypassing condensers 14, 86), the reservoir (bypassing receivers 16, 88), and the throttling element (refrigerant delivered to evaporators 20, 92 via lines 54 and 98, bypasses condensers 14, 86, receivers 16, 88 and expansion valves 18, 90, respectively, see figs. 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Douven (US 2018/0023867 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the refrigeration system comprises a three-way junction with multiple two-way valves (3-way junction 56 with plurality of valves 52, 58, 64, see figs. 1-2) connected to the outlet of the compressor (outlet 24 of compressor 12), a first outlet of the three-way junction path is connected to the first heat exchanger (see connection between 56 and condenser 14, figs. 1-2), a second outlet of the three-way valve is connected to the second heat exchanger (line 54 from the T-junction 56, connected to second heat exchanger evaporator 20, figs. 1-3), and the branch flow path extends from a flow path between the second outlet of the three-way junction (56) and the second heat exchanger to the reservoir (branch flow path 62 connected to path 54 and receiver 16, see figs. 1-3).
However, Brendel does not explicitly teach a three-way valve at the outlet of the compressor and the first outlet of the valve connected to the first heat exchanger.
Douven teaches a refrigeration system that comprises a three-way valve (bypass valve 24, see figs. 1-3) connected to the outlet of the compressor (connected to outlet of compressors 6, see figs. 1-3), a first outlet of the three-way valve (outlet of valve 24 connected to heat exchanger 10) is connected to the first heat exchanger (see outlet of valve 24 connecting with heat exchanger 10, see figs. 1-3 and paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the three-way junction within the refrigeration system of Brendel by providing a three-way valve connected to the outlet of the compressor, a first outlet of the three-way valve connected to the first heat exchanger and the second outlet of the three-way valve connected to the second heat exchanger based on the teachings of Douven for the benefit of allowing more precise control of the refrigerant and for including additional valves to be able to direct refrigerant away from pipes for maintenance or in certain operations.
Regarding claim 15, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the refrigeration system further comprises a three-way junction (T-connection 56, see fig. 1) valve, an inlet of the three-way junction being connected to the outlet of the compressor (discharge 24 of compressor12 connected to T-connection 56, see figs. 1-2), a first outlet of the three-way junction being connected to the first heat exchanger (first outlet of T-connection 56 connected to condenser 14, see figs. 1-2), and a second outlet of the three-way junction being connected to a position between the second heat exchanger and the throttling element (second outlet of T-connection 56 connected between expansion valve 18 and evaporator 20, via line 54, see figs. 1-2), and wherein the refrigeration system is configured to switch between the cooling mode and the hot-gas bypass heating mode using the three-way junction and valve (see flow of refrigerant controlled by valve 52 towards condenser 14 and/or towards evaporator 20, figs. 1-2).
However, Brendel does not explicitly teach a three-way valve at the outlet of the compressor.
Douven teaches a refrigeration system that comprises a three-way valve (bypass valve 24, see figs. 1-3) connected to the outlet of the compressor (connected to outlet of compressors 6, see figs. 1-3), a first outlet of the three-way valve (outlet of valve 24 connected to heat exchanger 10) is connected to the first heat exchanger (see outlet of valve 24 connecting with heat exchanger 10, see figs. 1-3 and paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the three-way junction within the refrigeration system of Brendel by providing a three-way valve connected to the outlet of the compressor, a first outlet of the three-way valve connected to the first heat exchanger and the second outlet of the three-way valve connected to the second heat exchanger based on the teachings of Douven for the benefit of allowing more precise control of the refrigerant and for including additional valves to be able to direct refrigerant away from pipes for maintenance or in certain operations.
Regarding claim 16, Brendel as modified teaches the limitations of claim 15 and further discloses that the control valve (valve 64) is positioned on the branch flow path (64 on path 62, see figs. 1-2) between the three-way junction and an inlet of the reservoir (64 between T-connection 56 and inlet of reservoir 16, see figs. 1-2). In addition, Douven teaches that the control valve (valve 12) is connected between the three-way valve (bypass valve 24, see figs. 1-3) and an inlet of the reservoir (valve 12 between valve 24 and inlet of reservoir 26, see figs. 1-3).
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Sun (US 2018/0073791 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the refrigeration system comprises a sub-cooler heat exchanger (subcooler 32), an inlet of the sub-cooler heat exchanger being connected to an outlet of the reservoir (subcooler 32 connected to outlet of receiver 16, see fig. 1), wherein the sub-cooler heat exchanger is integrated with the first heat exchanger (see subcooler 32 integrated with first heat exchanger condenser 14, fig. 1) to share the same fan (this is an intended use limitation; however, Brendel teaches that the subcooler 32 and condenser 14 are capable of sharing the same fan, see figs. 1-3 and col. 3, lines 7-22).
However, Brendel does not explicitly teach a gas-liquid heat exchanger for exchanging heat between a liquid flow path from subcooler and an outlet of the second heat exchanger at the gas-liquid heat exchanger.
Sun teaches a refrigeration system comprising a gas-liquid heat exchanger (heat exchanger 34, see fig. 1), wherein an outlet of the sub-cooler heat exchanger is connected to a liquid flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger (outlet 48 from subcooler 32 connected to the liquid flow path of heat exchanger 34, see fig. 1) and then to the throttling element (then to expansion valve 26, see fig. 1), and an outlet of the second heat exchanger (evaporator 28) is connected to a gas flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger (refrigerant from evaporator 28 and through conduit 40 passes through heat exchanger 34, see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigeration system of Brendel by providing a gas-liquid heat exchanger, wherein an outlet of the sub-cooler heat exchanger is connected to a liquid flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger and then to the throttling element, and an outlet of the second heat exchanger connected to a gas flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger based on the teachings of Sun in order to improve efficiency of the refrigeration system by controlling pressure and temperature of the refrigerant at the inlet and outlet sides of the evaporator for achieving positive superheat at the suction side of the compressor.
Regarding claim 7, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the compressor (compressor 12) is driven by an engine (compressor 12 driven by engine 22, see fig. 1, and col. 2, lines 50-51 and lines 64-65), and wherein a gas-liquid separator (accumulator 94) is arranged upstream of the compressor (see accumulator 94 on the suction side of compressor 82, fig. 3).
However, Brendel does not explicitly teach a suction valve upstream of the compressor.
Sun teaches a refrigeration system with a compressor (compressor 22) and a suction pressure regulating valve (suction modulation valve SMV 38) and a gas-liquid separator (accumulator 36) are arranged upstream of the compressor (see SMV 38 and accumulator 36 on the suction side of compressor 22, fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigeration system of Brendel by providing a suction pressure regulating valve and a gas-liquid separator arranged upstream of the compressor within the refrigeration system of Brendel based on the teachings of Sun in order to prevent liquid refrigerant from entering the suction side of the compressor and hampering the operational efficiency of the compressor.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Liu (US 2012/0318008 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 1 except that the first time is based on a superheat of the refrigerant.
However, Liu teaches a refrigerant distribution apparatus (see figs. 1-2 and abstract) comprising a reservoir (262, fig. 2), an evaporator (240), a refrigerant flow control valve (valve 252) and the first time delay of operating the valve (larger opening of valve for a short time, see paragraph 44) based on a superheat of refrigerant downstream of the reservoir (valve opening time set based on evaporator outlet superheat, see paragraphs 44 and 53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operation of the control valve of the refrigeration system of Brendel by operating the control valve with first delay time which is determined based on a superheat of the refrigerant at an outlet of or downstream of the reservoir based on the teachings of Liu in order to attain a positive superheat that signifies high saturation temperature and complete vaporization of refrigerant on the suction side of the compressor.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel et al. as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Liu (US 2012/0318008 A1) and Hammond (US 2016/0091236 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 3 except a sensor for monitoring a liquid level of the reservoir, and wherein the first time is based on the liquid level of the reservoir.
However, Liu teaches a refrigerant distribution apparatus (see figs. 1-2 and abstract) comprising a reservoir (262, fig. 2), a refrigerant flow control valve (valve 264) and the first time delay of operating the valve (larger opening of valve for a short time, see paragraph 44) based on a liquid level of refrigerant inside the receiver tank (valve opening set based on level of refrigerant inside the receiver 230, see fig. 2 and paragraph 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first time delay of the control valve of the refrigeration system of Brendel by determining the first delay time based on the liquid level of the reservoir as taught by Liu in order to supply high pressure vapor to the compressor from the reservoir because level of liquid refrigerant within the reservoir affects the saturation of vapor being supplied to the compressor.
Brendel also does not explicitly teach a sensor for monitoring a liquid level of the reservoir.
However, Hammond teaches a refrigeration system (see figs. 1-6) comprising a reservoir (flash tank 100), a control valve (valve 116) and a sensor (fluid level measuring device 114, fig. 6) for monitoring a liquid level of the reservoir (see paragraph 53 and fig. 6), and wherein the first operating time of the valve is based on the liquid level of the reservoir (valve opened/closed based on the measured fluid level inside the flash tank, see paragraph 53 and fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservoir of the refrigeration system of Brendel by providing a sensor for monitoring a liquid level of the reservoir as taught by Hammond in order to accurately determine the amount of moisture within the reservoir affecting the condition of the refrigerant vapor being supplied to the compressor.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel et al. as applied to claim 3 above and further in view of Hammond (US 2016/0091236 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses a sensor (72) for monitoring a temperature and/or pressure of the refrigerant at an outlet of or downstream of the compressor (see col. 4, lines 54-62), and opening the second hot gas control valve based on the compressor discharge temperature (see claim 6).
However, Brendel does not explicitly teach a sensor for monitoring a temperature and/or pressure of refrigerant at the reservoir, and wherein the valve opening based on temperature and/or pressure of refrigerant at the outlet of or downstream of the reservoir.
Hammond teaches a refrigerant distribution apparatus (see figs. 1-6 and abstract) comprising a reservoir (flash tank 100), a control valve (valves 24, 22, 116) and a pressure sensor (pressure sensing lines, see fig. 2 and paragraph 62) for monitoring a pressure of the refrigerant at the outlet or downstream of the reservoir (see fig. 2 and paragraphs 31, 62), and wherein the first operating time of the valve is based on the pressure of the refrigerant at the outlet or downstream of the reservoir (opening of valves 22, 24 based on measured pressure of refrigerant downstream of the reservoir, see paragraphs 62, 64 and claims 10-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigeration system of Brendel by providing a sensor for monitoring a temperature and/or pressure of refrigerant at the reservoir, and determine the first delay time of the control valve based on temperature and/or pressure of refrigerant at the outlet of or downstream of the reservoir based on the teachings of Hammond in order to adjust pressure difference across the expansion valve to achieve suitable superheat value at the evaporator and suction side of the compressor for efficient operation of the refrigeration system.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Christensen (US 2016/0102901 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that the portion of the refrigerant delivered to the reservoir (refrigerant delivered to receiver 16) through the branch flow path (through path 62) when the control valve is opened (when valve 64 is open, see fig. 2) to deliver refrigerant leaving the outlet of the compressor (refrigerant from discharge 24 of compressor 12, see fig. 2).
However, Brendel does not explicitly teach valve opening percentage between 2% and 8%.
Christensen teaches a gas bypass control valve (valve 4, 8) that delivers a portion of the refrigerant to the reservoir or compressor (refrigerant delivered to receiver 6 and compressor 14, see figs. 1-4) through the branch flow path (through path 7) when the control valve is opened between 2% and 8% of the opening to deliver refrigerant leaving the outlet of the compressor (see gas bypass valve 8 being opened between 5% and 30%, paragraph 101, which overlaps with the claimed 2% to 8% opening range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control valve opening of the refrigeration system of Brendel by providing a portion of the refrigerant to the reservoir through the branch flow path, when the control valve is opened, is between 2% and 8% of the refrigerant leaving the outlet of the compressor based on the teachings of Christensen in order to not starve the indoor and/or outdoor heat exchangers of refrigerant charge for efficient heat absorption and cooling at the respective heat exchangers.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel et al. in view of Sun as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Douven (US 2018/0023867 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that the control valve is closed in the hot-gas bypass heating mode (valve 64 and valve 52 is capable of being closed during heating mode, see fig. 1), and the refrigeration system is configured to pass the refrigerant leaving the outlet of the compressor through a three-way junction (via T-connection 56), the second heat exchanger (via line 54 to evaporator 20).
However, Brendel does not explicitly teach passing refrigerant through the three-way valve and the gas flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger.
Sun teaches a refrigeration system comprising a gas-liquid heat exchanger (heat exchanger 34, see fig. 1), wherein a refrigerant leaving a three-way junction point (junction before valve 53 on line 52, see fig. 1) passes the refrigerant from the compressor (22) through second heat exchanger (through evaporator 28, see fig. 1) and the gas flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger (via line 40 passing through gas-liquid heat exchanger 34, see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigeration system of Brendel as modified by providing a gas-liquid heat exchanger, wherein a refrigerant leaving a three-way junction point passes the refrigerant from the compressor through second heat exchanger and the gas flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger based on the teachings of Sun in order to improve efficiency of the refrigeration system by controlling pressure and temperature of the refrigerant at the suction side of the compressor and preventing liquid refrigerant from entering the compressor.
Brendel also does not explicitly teach passing refrigerant through the three-way valve to the second heat exchanger.
However, Douven teaches a refrigeration system that comprises a three-way valve (bypass valve 24, see figs. 1-3) connected to the outlet of the compressor (connected to outlet of compressors 6, see figs. 1-3), a first outlet of the three-way valve (outlet of valve 24 connected to heat exchanger 10) is connected to the first heat exchanger (see outlet of valve 24 connecting with heat exchanger 10, see figs. 1-3 and paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the three-way junction within the refrigeration system of Brendel as modified by providing a three-way valve connected to the outlet of the compressor, a first outlet of the three-way valve connected to the first heat exchanger and the second outlet of the three-way valve connected to the second heat exchanger to supply refrigerant from the compressor to the second heat exchanger based on the teachings of Douven for the benefit of allowing more precise control of the refrigerant and for including additional valves to be able to direct refrigerant away from pipes for maintenance or in certain operations.
Regarding claim 19, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 6 and further discloses that the control valve is opened in the hot-gas bypass heating mode (valve 64 and valve 52 is capable of being opened during heating mode, see fig. 2), and the refrigeration system is configured to pass the refrigerant leaving the outlet of the compressor through a three-way junction (via T-connection 56), the control valve (valves 64, 52) on the branch flow path (via path 62), the reservoir (via receiver 16), the sub-cooler heat exchanger (via subcooler 32, see fig. 2), throttling element (via expansion valve 18), and the second heat exchanger (via evaporator 20, see fig. 2).
However, Brendel does not explicitly teach passing refrigerant through the three-way valve, the liquid flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger, and then the gas flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger.
Sun teaches a refrigeration system comprising a gas-liquid heat exchanger (heat exchanger 34, see fig. 1), wherein a refrigerant leaving a three-way junction point (junction before valve 53 on line 52, see fig. 1) passes the refrigerant from the compressor (22) through the reservoir (through receiver 30), the sub-cooler heat exchanger (through subcooler 32), the liquid flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger (through liquid path 48 of HX 34), the throttling element (through expansion valve 26), the second heat exchanger (through evaporator 28), and the gas flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger (through gas flow path 40 of HX 34, see fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the refrigeration system of Brendel as modified by providing a gas-liquid heat exchanger, wherein a refrigerant leaving a three-way junction point passes the refrigerant from the compressor through the reservoir, the sub-cooler heat exchanger, the liquid flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger, the throttling element, the second heat exchanger, and the gas flow path of the gas-liquid heat exchanger based on the teachings of Sun in order to improve efficiency of the refrigeration system by controlling pressure and temperature of the refrigerant at the suction side of the compressor and preventing liquid refrigerant from entering the compressor.
Brendel also does not explicitly teach passing refrigerant through the three-way valve to the second heat exchanger.
However, Douven teaches a refrigeration system that comprises a three-way valve (bypass valve 24, see figs. 1-3) connected to the outlet of the compressor (connected to outlet of compressors 6, see figs. 1-3), a first outlet of the three-way valve (outlet of valve 24 connected to heat exchanger 10) is connected to the first heat exchanger (see outlet of valve 24 connecting with heat exchanger 10, see figs. 1-3 and paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the three-way junction within the refrigeration system of Brendel as modified by providing a three-way valve connected to the outlet of the compressor, a first outlet of the three-way valve connected to the first heat exchanger and the second outlet of the three-way valve connected to the second heat exchanger to supply refrigerant from the compressor to the second heat exchanger based on the teachings of Douven for the benefit of allowing more precise control of the refrigerant and for including additional valves to be able to direct refrigerant away from pipes for maintenance or in certain operations.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brendel et al. in view of Sun as applied to claim 6 above and further in view of Xie (US 2020/0215877 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Brendel teaches the limitations of claim 6 and Sun further discloses that the refrigeration system further includes integrated sub-cooler heat exchanger (32) and the first heat exchanger (24) to share the same fan (fan 44, see fig. 1 and paragraph 17).
However, Brendel does not explicitly teach a heat radiator integrated with condenser.
Xie discloses that the refrigeration system (see fig. 1 and abstract) includes a heat radiator (radiator 122) integrated with the sub-cooler heat exchanger (140) and the first heat exchanger (120) to share the same fan (fan 121, see fig. 1 and paragraph 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the subcooler and condenser assembly of the refrigeration system of Brendel as modified by providing a heat radiator integrated with the sub-cooler heat exchanger and the first heat exchanger to share the same fan based on the teachings of Xie in order to operate the refrigeration cycle efficiently by extracting heat from the for the condenser and radiator together by operation of one fan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 11-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Independent claim 1 is now rejected under 35 USC 102 over Brendel et al. (US 5,193,353 A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763