DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 17 April 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKinley et al. (US 2021/0323080 A1).
Regarding claim 1, McKinley et al. discloses a drill body 110, comprising: a body part which extends in a rod shape from a base end part 122 (based on end 22 in figure 1) toward a leading end part 112; a fluid hole 140 for causing a fluid to flow inside the body part from a side of the base end part toward a side of the leading end part (see figures 6-9); and a mounting part 130 which is provided in the leading end part and which is for mounting a removable cutting edge member 150, wherein the mounting part has a recessed part 130 which is provided along a central axis of the body part from an end surface of the leading end part (see figure 6), the fluid hole has a bent part 180 located inside the leading end part in a side part of the recessed part (see figure 9), and a discharge port 190 in the leading end part immediately downstream of the bent part (see figures 6-9), the discharge port opposing a cutting edge 156 of the cutting edge member when the cutting edge member is mounted to the mounting part (see figure 9), and an opening portion 190, of the discharge port, which discharges the fluid to a major cutting edge 156 that forms the cutting edge is a non-circular shape longer in a first direction along the major cutting edge than in a second direction that is perpendicular to the first direction (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 2, McKinley et al. discloses wherein a hole cross section of the fluid hole 140 has a non-circular shape in a portion 180 which passes the side part of the recessed part 130 (as seen in figure 9).
Regarding claim 5, McKinley et al. discloses wherein the discharge port 190 is configured to direct supply fluid to the cutting edge 156 (see figure 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKinley et al.
Regarding claim 3, McKinley et al. discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except McKinley et al. does not disclose wherein the body part is formed of a steel material, being silent as to the material of the body part. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to have made the body part from steel for the purpose of using a common drill bit material to make the body part, because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 22 May 2026