DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1-20 are pending, independent claims 1 and 11, and dependent claims 10 and 20 are amended.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 8 and 9, filed 12/19/2025 with respect to U.S.C. 101 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 1-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 9-11, filed 12/19/2025 with respect to U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not considered persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither Kwon nor Albertin are able to depict the new limitation of the amended independent claims of a measurement of the oil and water in the cross-sectional area of the casing using a C/O ratio determined from a pulsed neutron tool using the claimed method.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and directs the applicant to the rejection below where Albertin is able to rectify the shortcomings of Kwon on the newly amended limitation of the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 10-15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong (WO 2013184353 as seen in the IDS on 6/28/2024) in view of Albertin (Albertin, Ivanna, et al., "The Many Facets of Pulsed Neutron Cased-Hole Logging," Oilfield Review, Elsevier, Amsterdam NL, Vol. 8, No. 2, 1 January 1996, pgs. 28-41, as seen in the IDS on 6/28/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Kwong teaches the limitations a method ([0032] “Referring now to Figure 7, there is shown a flowchart of process 700 for resin evaluation using a pulsed neutron tool ("PNT').” i.e., the flowchart is the method) of for determining a fractional relationship of oil and water in a borehole traversing a formation, the method comprising: (i) deploying a pulsed neutron (PN) tool in the borehole ([0022] “Figure 2 shows a simplified cross-sectional view; of the logging tool 10 to illustrate the internal components in accordance with at least some embodiments. In particular, Figure 2 illustrates that the pressure vessel 16 houses various components, such as a telemetry module 200, borehole shield 202, a plurality of gamma detectors 204 (in this illustrative case three gamma detectors labeled 204A, 204B and 204C), computer system 206, a neutron shield 208 and a neutron source 210.”, where the logging tool is deployable in the borehole, see fig. 1, where [0027] “Thus, for each depth within the borehole 12 for which a pulsed neutron evaluation is performed, a point is placed in the plot and that point is indicative of whether the pulsed-neutron tool "sees" water, natural gas, "oil", or some combination.”), wherein the PN tool comprises a source configured to issue bursts of fast neutrons ([0032] “As previously described, in at least some embodiments neutron source 210 may be a pulsed DT neutron source.”), thereby irradiating the borehole and the formation with neutrons, and at least one detector configured to detect gamma photons resulting from the irradiating and arriving at the detector (0033] “An inelastic gamma count is obtained from a first gamma counter, block 704; the inelastic gammas being emitted in inelastic scattering of the interrogating neutrons off of the nuclei of the constituent matter of the borehole environment behind the casing material. including annulus 17 and formation 14.”) (ii) receiving data from a first of the at least one of the detectors ([0019] “logging tool gathers data that is stored in a memory within the device”), wherein the data comprises: carbon gamma photon counts indicative of gamma photons arising from inelastic interactions of the neutrons with carbon in the borehole ([0032] “An inelastic gamma count is obtained from a first gamma counter, block 704; the inelastic gammas being emitted in inelastic scattering of the interrogating neutrons off of the nuclei of the constituent matter of the borehole environment behind the casing material. including annulus 17 and formation 14. From the inelastic gamma count rate, an inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio is determined, block 706. From the inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio from the first detector determined in block 706,”), and oxygen gamma photon counts indicative of gamma photons arising from inelastic interactions of the neutrons with oxygen in the borehole ([0032] “An inelastic gamma count is obtained from a first gamma counter, block 704; the inelastic gammas being emitted in inelastic scattering of the interrogating neutrons off of the nuclei of the constituent matter of the borehole environment behind the casing material. including annulus 17 and formation 14. From the inelastic gamma count rate, an inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio is determined, block 706. From the inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio from the first detector determined in block 706,”), (iii) measuring a C/O ratio indicative of a ratio of the carbon gamma photon counts to the oxygen gamma photon counts ([0032] “From the inelastic gamma count rate, an inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio is determined, block 706. From the inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio from the first detector determined in block 706,”).
Kwong does not teach a cross-sectional area of a casing of a borehole; (iv) using the measured C/O ratio to determine the fractional relationship of oil and water within the cross-sectional area a borehole using a model that models a response of the tool to a formation having a porosity of at least 90 p.u..
Albertin teaches a cross-sectional area of a casing of a borehole (pg 32, col 3, paragraph 2 “Matrix sigma values were determined by gross macroscopic cross-section measurements”, and pg. 28 abstract “Advanced neutron generator design and fast, efficient gamma ray detectors combine to make a reservoir saturation tool that is capable of detailed formation evaluation through casing and more.”); (iv) using the measured C/O ratio to determine the fractional relationship of oil and water within the cross-sectional area a borehole using a model that models a response of the tool to a formation having a porosity of at least 90 p.u.. a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u (pg 29, Figure caption, “Water saturation, Sw, and borehole oil holdup, Yo, crossplot. Far carbon-oxygen ratio (FCOR) is more influenced by formation carbon, and near carbon-oxygen ratio (NCOR) is more influenced by borehole carbon. A crossplot of FCOR versus NCOR (crosses) can, therefore, be used to determine water saturation and borehole oil holdup. Overlying the crossplot is a quadrilateral whose end points are determined from an extensive data base that depends on environmental inputs such as lithology, casing size and hydrocarbon carbon density. The corners correspond to 0 and 100 % Sw and 0 and 100 % Yo. Interpolation provides Sw and Yo at each depth.”; pg 29 col 2 paragraph 1 “Each ratio is first transformed to give an oil volume, and then the two oil volumes are combined using an alpha processing method to give a final oil volume with good accuracy and good precision (top). The transforms of C/O ratio to volume of oil use an extensive data base covering multiple combinations of lithology, porosity, hole size, casing size and weight, as well as a correction for the carbon density of the hydrocarbon phase” where to get volume of cylinder (i.e., a casing) you use cross-sectional area times length (i.e., casing size which is the size of the borehole)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the formation porosity of at least 90 p.u. as discussed in Albertin to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes. This is advantageous because it allows for pulsed neutron detection of oil and water to be corrected for
thousands of combinations of borehole sizes, casing types, formations of differing porosity and lithology, and borehole and formation salinities” (e.g., pg 31 paragraph 3, Albertin).
Regarding Claim 11, Kwong teaches a system ([0032] “Referring now to Figure 7, there is shown a flowchart of process 700 for resin evaluation using a pulsed neutron tool ("PNT').” i.e., the pulsed neutron tool is the system) for determining a fractional relationship of oil and water in a borehole traversing a formation using a pulsed neutron (PN) tool deployable in the borehole ([0022] “Figure 2 shows a simplified cross-sectional view; of the logging tool 10 to illustrate the internal components in accordance with at least some embodiments. In particular, Figure 2 illustrates that the pressure vessel 16 houses various components, such as a telemetry module 200, borehole shield 202, a plurality of
gamma detectors 204 (in this illustrative case three gamma detectors labeled 204A, 204B and 204C), computer system 206, a neutron shield 208 and a neutron source 210.” where the logging tool is deployable in the borehole, see fig. 1, where [0027] “Thus, for each depth within the borehole 12 for which a pulsed neutron evaluation is performed, a point is placed in the plot and that point is indicative of whether the pulsed-neutron tool "sees" water, natural gas, "oil", or some combination.”), wherein the PN tool comprises a source configured to issue bursts of fast neutrons ([0032] “As previously described, in at least some embodiments neutron source 210 may be a pulsed DT neutron source.”), thereby irradiating the borehole and the formation with neutrons, and at least one detector configured to detect gamma photons resulting from the irradiating and arriving at the detector (0033] “An inelastic gamma count is obtained from a first gamma counter, block 704; the inelastic gammas being emitted in inelastic scattering of the interrogating neutrons off of the nuclei of the constituent matter of the borehole environment behind the casing material. including annulus 17 and formation 14.”), the system comprising: a pulsed neutron (PN) tool deployable in the borehole ([0022] “Figure 2 shows a simplified cross-sectional view; of the logging tool 10 to illustrate the internal components in accordance with at least some embodiments. In particular, Figure 2 illustrates that the pressure vessel 16 houses various components, such as a telemetry module 200, borehole shield 202, a plurality of gamma detectors 204 (in this illustrative case three gamma detectors labeled 204A, 204B and 204C), computer system 206, a neutron shield 208 and a neutron source 210.” where the logging tool is deployable in the borehole, see fig. 1, where [0027] “Thus, for each depth within the borehole 12 for which a pulsed neutron evaluation is performed, a point is placed in the plot and that point is indicative of whether the pulsed-neutron tool "sees" water, natural gas, "oil", or some combination.”), wherein the PN tool comprises a source configured to issue bursts of fast neutrons ([0032] “As previously described, in at least some embodiments neutron source 210 may be a pulsed DT neutron source.”), thereby irradiating the borehole and the formation with neutrons, and at least one detector configured to detect gamma photons resulting from the irradiating and arriving at the detector (0033] “An inelastic gamma count is obtained from a first gamma counter, block 704; the inelastic gammas being emitted in inelastic scattering of the interrogating neutrons off of the nuclei of the constituent matter of the borehole environment behind the casing material. including annulus 17 and formation 14.”), a non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by a computer configure the computer to perform a method ([0036] “Moreover, the processor 802 may couple to a long term storage device 810 (e.g., a hard drive) by way of the bridge device 808. Programs executable by the processor 802 may be stored on the storage device 810, and accessed when needed by the processor 802. The program stored on the storage device 810 may comprise programs to implement the various embodiments of the present specification, including programs to implement selecting a gamma detector to use in the hydrogen index (equivalently, porosity) determination, calculating the ratio of the inelastic gamma count rate to capture gamma count rate for each of the detectors, calculating the value of indicative of hydrogen index or porosity, and producing a plot of the value indicative of hydrogen index. Moreover, the processor 802 may couple to a long term storage device 810 (e.g., a hard drive) by way of the bridge device 808. Programs executable by the processor 802 may be stored on the storage device 810, and accessed when needed by the processor 802. The program stored on the storage device 810 may comprise programs to implement the various embodiments of the present specification, including programs to implement selecting a gamma detector to use in the hydrogen index (equivalently, porosity) determination, calculating the ratio of the inelastic gamma count rate to capture gamma count rate for each of the detectors, calculating the value of indicative of hydrogen index or porosity, and producing a plot of the value indicative of hydrogen index.”) comprising: (i) receiving data from a first of the at least one of the detectors ([0019] “logging tool gathers data that is stored in a memory within the device”), wherein the data comprises: carbon gamma photon counts indicative of gamma photons arising from inelastic interactions of the neutrons with carbon in the borehole ([0032] “An inelastic gamma count is obtained from a first gamma counter, block 704; the inelastic gammas being emitted in inelastic scattering of the interrogating neutrons off of the nuclei of the constituent matter of the borehole environment behind the casing material. including annulus 17 and formation 14. From the inelastic gamma count rate, an inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio is determined, block 706. From the inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio from the first detector determined in block 706,”), and oxygen gamma photon counts indicative of gamma photons arising from inelastic interactions of the neutrons with oxygen in the borehole ([0032] “An inelastic gamma count is obtained from a first gamma counter, block 704; the inelastic gammas being emitted in inelastic scattering of the interrogating neutrons off of the nuclei of the constituent matter of the borehole environment behind the casing material. including annulus 17 and formation 14. From the inelastic gamma count rate, an inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio is determined, block 706. From the inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio from the first detector determined in block 706,”), (ii) measuring a C/O ratio indicative of a ratio of the carbon gamma photon counts to the oxygen gamma photon counts ([0032] “From the inelastic gamma count rate, an inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio is determined, block 706. From the inelastic carbon-oxygen ratio from the first detector determined in block 706,”).
Kwong does not teach a cross-sectional area of a casing of a borehole (iii) using the measured C/O ratio to determine the fractional relationship of oil and water within the cross-sectional area a borehole using a model that models a response of the tool to a formation having a porosity of at least 90 p.u.. a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u.
Albertin teaches a cross-sectional area of a casing of a borehole (pg 32, col 3, paragraph 2 “Matrix sigma values were determined by gross macroscopic cross-section measurements”, and pg. 28 abstract “Advanced neutron generator design and fast, efficient gamma ray detectors combine to make a reservoir saturation tool that is capable of detailed formation evaluation through casing and more.”); (iii) using the measured C/O ratio to determine the fractional relationship of oil and water within the cross-sectional area a borehole using a model that models a response of the tool to a formation having a porosity of at least 90 p.u.. a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u (pg 29, Figure caption, “Water saturation, Sw, and borehole oil holdup, Yo, crossplot. Far carbon-oxygen ratio (FCOR) is more influenced by formation carbon, and near carbon-oxygen ratio (NCOR) is more influenced by borehole carbon. A crossplot of FCOR versus NCOR (crosses) can, therefore, be used to determine water saturation and borehole oil holdup. Overlying the crossplot is a quadrilateral whose end points are determined from an extensive data base that depends on environmental inputs such as lithology, casing size and hydrocarbon carbon density. The corners correspond to 0 and 100 % Sw and 0 and 100 % Yo. Interpolation provides Sw and Yo at each depth.”; pg 29 col 2 paragraph 1 “Each ratio is first transformed to give an oil volume, and then the two oil volumes are combined using an alpha processing method to give a final oil volume with good accuracy and good precision (top). The transforms of C/O ratio to volume of oil use an extensive data base covering multiple combinations of lithology, porosity, hole size, casing size and weight, as well as a correction for the carbon density of the hydrocarbon phase” where to get volume of cylinder (i.e., a casing) you use cross-sectional area times length (i.e., casing size which is the size of the borehole)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the formation porosity of at least 90 p.u. as discussed in Albertin to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes. This is advantageous because it allows for pulsed neutron detection of oil and water to be corrected for
thousands of combinations of borehole sizes, casing types, formations of differing porosity and lithology, and borehole and formation salinities” (e.g., pg 31 paragraph 3, Albertin).
Regarding Claim 2 and 12, Kwong teaches the limitations of claims 1 and 11. Kwong further teaches, wherein using the measured C/O ratio to determine the fractional relationship of oil and water in a borehole comprises interpolating the measured C/O ratio between a predicted C/O ratio corresponding to 100% oil saturation in the borehole and a predicted C/O ratio corresponding to 100% water saturation in the borehole (See Fig. 3 where the inelastic count rate to inelastic carbon/oxygen ratio have a interpolated 100% water and 100% oil region).
Regarding Claim 3 and 13, Kwong teaches the limitations of claims 2 and 12.
Kwong further teaches comprising calculating the predicted C/O ratio corresponding to 100% oil saturation in the borehole and the predicted C/O ratio corresponding to 100% water saturation in the borehole (See Fig. 3 where the inelastic count rate to inelastic carbon/oxygen ratio have an interpolated 100% water and 100% oil region, and Fig 4 where [0029] “plots similar to Figure 4 may be used to estimate the proportion of gas, water, and resin within the wellbore environment”).
Regarding Claim 4 and 14, Kwong teaches the limitations of Claim 3 and 13.
Kwong further teaches calculating the predicted C/O ratio corresponding to 100% oil saturation in the borehole comprises calculating a predicted C/O ratio for 100% oil saturation at a formation porosity (([0027] “Thus, for each depth within the borehole 12 for which a pulsed neutron evaluation is performed, a point is placed in the plot and that point is indicative of whether the pulsed-neutron tool "sees" water, natural gas, "oil", or some
combination. That is, for pure water behind the casing, the plotted point would
reside directly in the water comer, for pure gas (i.e., 100% oil saturation) behind the casing the plotted point would reside directly in the gas comer, and for pure oil behind the casing, the plotted point would reside directly in the oil corner.”, and [0036] “calculating the value of indicative of hydrogen index or porosity (i.e., formation porosity),” ), and calculating the predicted C/O ratio corresponding to 100% water saturation in the borehole comprises calculating a predicted C/O ratio of 100% water saturation at a formation porosity (([0027] “Thus, for each depth within the borehole 12 for which a pulsed neutron evaluation is performed, a point is placed in the plot and that point is indicative of whether the pulsed-neutron tool "sees" water, natural gas, "oil", or some
combination. That is, for pure water (i.e., 100% water saturation) behind the casing, the plotted point would reside directly in the water comer, for pure gas behind the casing the plotted point would reside directly in the gas comer, and for pure oil behind the casing, the plotted point would reside directly in the oil corner.”, and [0036] “calculating the
value of indicative of hydrogen index or porosity (i.e., formation porosity),” ).
Kwong does not teach a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u
Albertin teaches a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u (Pg 31, Fanay-1 RST Log Results, where the Fluid analysis column goes from 50-100 p.u.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the formation porosity of at least 90 p.u. as discussed in Albertin to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes. This is advantageous because it allows for pulsed neutron detection of oil and water to be corrected for
thousands of combinations of borehole sizes, casing types, formations of differing porosity and lithology, and borehole and formation salinities” (e.g., pg 31 paragraph 3, Albertin).
Regarding Claim 5 and 15, Kwong teaches the limitations of Claim 3 and 13.
Kwong further teaches calculating the predicted C/O ratio corresponding to 100% oil saturation in the borehole comprises calculating a predicted C/O ratio for 100% oil saturation at a formation porosity ([0027] “Thus, for each depth within the borehole 12 for which a pulsed neutron evaluation is performed, a point is placed in the plot and that point is indicative of whether the pulsed-neutron tool "sees" water, natural gas, "oil", or some
combination. That is, for pure water behind the casing, the plotted point would
reside directly in the water comer, for pure gas behind the casing the plotted point
would reside directly in the gas comer, and for pure oil (i.e., 100% oil saturation) behind the casing, the plotted point would reside directly in the oil corner.”, and [0036] “calculating the value of indicative of hydrogen index or porosity (i.e., formation porosity),” ), and calculating the predicted C/O ratio corresponding to 100% water saturation in the borehole comprises calculating a predicted C/O ratio of 100% water saturation at a formation porosity (([0027] “Thus, for each depth within the borehole 12 for which a pulsed neutron evaluation is performed, a point is placed in the plot and that point is indicative of whether the pulsed-neutron tool "sees" water, natural gas, "oil", or some
combination. That is, for pure water (i.e., 100% water saturation) behind the casing, the plotted point would reside directly in the water comer, for pure gas behind the casing the plotted point would reside directly in the gas comer, and for pure oil behind the casing, the plotted point would reside directly in the oil corner.”, and [0036] “calculating the
value of indicative of hydrogen index or porosity (i.e., formation porosity),” ).
Kwong does not teach a formation porosity of 100 p.u
Albertin teaches a formation porosity of 100 p.u (Pg 31, Fancy-1 RST Log Results, where the Fluid analysis column goes from 50-100 p.u.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the formation porosity of 100 p.u. as discussed in Albertin to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes. This is advantageous because it allows for pulsed neutron detection of oil and water to be corrected for
thousands of combinations of borehole sizes, casing types, formations of differing porosity and lithology, and borehole and formation salinities” (e.g., pg 31 paragraph 3, Albertin).
Regarding Claim 10 and 20, Kwong teaches the limitation of claim 1 and 11.
Kwong further teaches repeating steps (ii) – (iv) for a plurality of depths over an interval of the borehole and generating a depth log of the fractional relationship of oil and water in the borehole over the interval ([0027] “Thus, for each depth within the borehole 12 for which a pulsed neutron evaluation is performed, a point is placed in the plot and that point is indicative of whether the pulsed-neutron tool "sees" water, natural gas, "oil", or some combination.” And [0033] “In an alternative embodiment employing inelastic counts from multiple detectors, information on the constituent composition relative to depth from the borehole may be obtained, as described above.” ).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong, Albertson and in view of Trka et al. (US 10215880 B1, as seen in the IDS) hereinafter Trcka
Regarding Claim 6 and 16, Kwong and Albertin teach the limitations of claim 4 and 14.
Kwong does not teach using a first formation model to predict a first plurality of C/O ratios for 100% oil saturation in pores of the formation, wherein each of the first plurality of C/O ratios correspond to a different modeled formation porosity, wherein the modeled formation porosities range from 0 p.u. to 50 p.u. or less, and wherein the borehole is filled with oil, using the first plurality of C/O ratios to establish a 100% oil saturation line over the range of modeled formation porosities, and extrapolating the first 100% oil saturation line to a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u., and wherein calculating the predicted C/O ratio for 100% water saturation at a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u. comprises: using a second formation model to predict a second plurality of C/O ratios for 100% water saturation in pores of the formation, wherein each of the second plurality of C/O ratios correspond to a different modeled formation porosity, wherein the modeled formation porosities range from 0 p.u. to 50 p.u. or less, and wherein the borehole is filled with water, using the second plurality of C/O ratios to establish a 100% water saturation line over the range of modeled formation porosities, and extrapolating the 100% water saturation line to a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u.
Albertin teaches a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u (Pg 31, Fanay-1 RST Log Results, where the Fluid analysis column goes from 50-100 p.u.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the formation porosity of at least 90 p.u. as discussed in Albertin to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes. This is advantageous because it allows for pulsed neutron detection of oil and water to be corrected for
thousands of combinations of borehole sizes, casing types, formations of differing porosity and lithology, and borehole and formation salinities” (e.g., pg 31 paragraph 3, Albertin).
Kwong and Albertin do not teach using a first formation model to predict a first plurality of C/O ratios for 100% oil saturation in pores of the formation, wherein each of the first plurality of C/O ratios correspond to a different modeled formation porosity, wherein the modeled formation porosities range from 0 p.u. to 50 p.u. or less, and wherein the borehole is filled with oil, using the first plurality of C/O ratios to establish a 100% oil saturation line over the range of modeled formation porosities, and extrapolating the first 100% oil saturation line to a formation porosity, and using a second formation model to predict a second plurality of C/O ratios for 100% water saturation in pores of the formation, wherein each of the second plurality of C/O ratios correspond to a different modeled formation porosity, wherein the modeled formation porosities range from 0 p.u. to 50 p.u. or less, and wherein the borehole is filled with water, using the second plurality of C/O ratios to establish a 100% water saturation line over the range of modeled formation porosities, and extrapolating the 100% water saturation line to a formation porosity.
Trcka teaches using a first formation model to predict a first plurality of C/O ratios for 100% oil saturation in pores of the formation (Fig. 6 where the different C/O values have a modelled 100% oil saturation region of the formation), wherein each of the first plurality of C/O ratios correspond to a different modeled formation porosity (Fig. 6 where the different porosity ranges have different C/O values), wherein the modeled formation porosities range from 0 p.u. to 50 p.u. or less (Fig. 4 where the porosity is between 0 to 50 % (0- 0.5 as a decimal), and there is a 100% oil saturation line and Fig 7 which is a flow chart of how to determine the model with parameters) , and wherein the borehole is filled with oil (claim 1 “wherein the pores in the formation contain one hundred percent hydrocarbon;”), using the first plurality of C/O ratios to establish a 100% oil saturation line over the range of modeled formation porosities (Fig. 4 where the 100% oil line is established for the range), and extrapolating the first 100% oil saturation line (claim 11 “extrapolating the determined ratio of carbon and oxygen with respect to the modeled carbon and oxygen measurements.” Where Fig 4 demonstrates 100% oil saturation extrapolated to 0.4 p.u.) to a formation and using a second formation model to predict a second plurality of C/O ratios for 100% water saturation in pores of the formation (Fig. 6 where the different C/O values have a modelled 100% water saturation region of the formation), wherein each of the second plurality of C/O ratios correspond to a different modeled formation porosity (Fig. 6 where the different porosity ranges have different C/O values), wherein the modeled formation porosities range from 0 p.u. to 50 p.u. or less (Fig. 4 where the porosity is between 0 to 50 % (0- 0.5 as a decimal), and there is a 100% water saturation line and Fig 7 which is a flow chart of how to determine the model with parameters), and wherein the borehole is filled with water (claim 1 “the pores in the formation contain one hundred percent water;”), using the second plurality of C/O ratios to establish a 100% water saturation line over the range of modeled formation porosities (Fig. 4 where the 100% oil line is established for the range), and extrapolating the 100% water saturation line to a formation porosity (claim 11 “extrapolating the determined ratio of carbon and oxygen with respect to the modeled carbon and oxygen measurements.” Where Fig 4 demonstrates 100% water saturation extrapolated to 0.4 p.u.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the first formation model covering 0- 0.5. p.u. as discussed in Trcka to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes. This is advantageous because there is a need in the art for gravel pack density logging tools and methods that can provide quantitative information about the density of gravel packs, while simultaneously measuring the oil/water ratios of the formations (e.g. col 2 lines 10-14 Trcka).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwong, Albertin, Trcka and Ma et al. (US 10208582 B2) hereinafter Ma
Regarding Claim 7 and 17, Kwong and Albertin teach the limitations of claim 6 and 16.
Kwong and Albertin do not teach further comprises normalizing the extrapolated first 100% oil saturation line with respect to the extrapolating the 100% water saturation line.
Trcka teaches extrapolated first 100% oil saturation line with respect to the extrapolating the 100% water saturation line (Fig. 9 where there is a modeled 100% water and a modelled 100% oil, and Fig 4 where there are 100% oil and water lines from the extrapolated data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine extrapolated first 100% oil saturation line with respect to the extrapolating the 100% water saturation line as discussed in Trcka to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes in Kwong and Albertin. This is advantageous because there is a need in the art for gravel pack density logging tools and methods that can provide quantitative information about the density of gravel packs, while simultaneously measuring the oil/water ratios of the formations (e.g. col 2 lines 10-14 Trcka).
Kwong, Albertin and Trcka do not teach normalizing the pulsed neutron spectrum.
Ma teaches normalizing pulsed neutron spectrum (col 7 line 8-17 “However, a gamma-ray spectrum may be normalized, and specific ratios of elements may be calculated from the normalized spectrum. For example, a common elemental ratio used in PNL tool analysis of a hydrocarbon formation is the carbon to oxygen ratio. This ratio may be referred to as C/O logging and is understood by a person having ordinary skill in the art to be useful for understanding reservoir conditions, within certain limitations.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the normalizing discussed in Ma to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes in Kwong, Albertin and Trcka for the purpose of making data easier to compare. This is advantageous because capture spectrum data, combined or not with inelastic spectrum data, may be used to obtain formation mineralogy information and correct for lithology effects in the C/O ratios (e.g., col 7 lines 18-21, Ma).
Regarding Claim 8 and 18, Kwong, Albertin, Trcka, and Ma teach the limitations of claims 7 and 17.
Kwong further teaches wherein the predicted C/O ratio for 100% oil saturation at a formation porosity is determined from the extrapolated 100% water saturation line at a formation porosity (Where the use of equations 1-3 can help determine the fraction of oil or water, and further where, [0029] “In Equations 1 and 2, (coirw, itcnw), (coirg, itcng), and (coirr, itcnr), are the coordinates of the water, gas and resin apices of triangle 500, respectively.” [0029] “It would be readily appreciated that in other embodiments of a ternary triangle, or diagram analogous to triangle 500, other numbers of such lines may be used corresponding to different percentage intervals.” Where Fig. 3 and 4 are other embodiments of a ternary triangle swapping the resin for oil. The equations using the coordinates of the 100% water saturation line can determine the 100% oil saturation ratio)
Kwong does not teach a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u..
Albertin teaches a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u (Pg 31, Fanay-1 RST Log Results, where the Fluid analysis column goes from 50-100 p.u.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the formation porosity of at least 90 p.u. as discussed in Albertin to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes. This is advantageous because it allows for pulsed neutron detection of oil and water to be corrected for
thousands of combinations of borehole sizes, casing types, formations of differing porosity and lithology, and borehole and formation salinities” (e.g., pg 31 paragraph 3, Albertin).
Regarding Claim 9 and 19, Kwong, Albertin, Trcka, and Ma teach the limitations of claims 8 and 18.
Kwong further teaches wherein the predicted C/O ratio for 100% water saturation at a formation porosity is determined from the extrapolated first 100% oil saturation line at a formation (Where the use of equations 1-3 can help determine the fraction of oil or water, and further where, [0029] “In Equations 1 and 2, (coirw, itcnw), (coirg, itcng), and (coirr, itcnr), are the coordinates of the water, gas and resin apices of triangle 500, respectively.” [0029] “It would be readily appreciated that in other embodiments of a ternary triangle, or diagram analogous to triangle 500, other numbers of such lines may be used corresponding to different percentage intervals.” Where Fig. 3 and 4 are other embodiments of a ternary triangle swapping the resin for oil. The equations using the coordinates of the 100% oil saturation line can determine the 100% water saturation ratio)
Kwong does not teach a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u..
Albertin teaches a formation porosity of at least 90 p.u (Pg 31, Fanay-1 RST Log Results, where the Fluid analysis column goes from 50-100 p.u.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the formation porosity of at least 90 p.u. as discussed in Albertin to the method and system of using pulsed neutrons to determine oil and water in a borehole for the purpose of looking at high porosity formations in boreholes. This is advantageous because it allows for pulsed neutron detection of oil and water to be corrected for
thousands of combinations of borehole sizes, casing types, formations of differing porosity and lithology, and borehole and formation salinities” (e.g., pg 31 paragraph 3, Albertin).
Conclusion
/EMMA ALEXANDER/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2863
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857