Response to the Amendments
Applicants’ arguments have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of JHAS (US 20160232515 A1) based on the new amendments to the claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 11, 12, 15, 18, 19, 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 20140025579 A1) in view of JHAS (US 20160232515 A1) in view of Skourtis (US 20200089917 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Nilsson teaches a system comprising:
a first communication equipment associated with a first user (Para [0052]: the payment server 205 may then transmits a PIN code request 308 to the buyer's mobile device 208/the first communication.); and
the second communication equipment, that is different than the first communication equipment, in communication with an entity server via a network (Para [0043]-[0047]: an encrypted purchase message is transmitted from the merchant's device 202,203/second communication equipment,),
wherein the first communication equipment is configured to:
communicate the encrypted interaction payload to the second communication equipment (Para [0041]-[0043]: the buyer identification information the buyer is requested to enter by the payment application running in the merchant's device 202, may also be any of: the buyer's mobile phone number, an e-mail address, postal address, a social security number, a one-time code, a signature, a pre-registered identification number, a photograph (taken by the camera in the mobile phone 203), biometric information (read or scanned by the mobile phone 203 or some adapter connected to the mobile phone 203) or any other information making it possible to identify the buyer in question. when the buyer has completed the task of inputting buyer identification information 305, an encrypted purchase message is transmitted from the merchant's device 202, 203/second communication device over the Internet 204, to a payment server 205. The payment server 205 receives the encrypted purchase message 306 coming from the merchant's device 202,203/second communication device.);
receive a user input to validate the electronic document associated with the interaction payload in response to an encrypted validation message from the second communication equipment (Para [0055]: when the PIN code request is received in the buyer's mobile device 208,3409 a secure PIN entry application is launched.); and
communicate to the second communication equipment an encrypted user input validating the interaction payload object electronic document via the network (Para [0052]: the payment server 205 may then transmits a PIN code request 308 to the buyer's mobile device 208/the first communication using the buyer's contact information (for instance the mobile phone number). The transmission of the PIN code request to the buyer's mobile device 208 may be done over the Internet 204. The transmission over the Internet 204 may be encrypted.);
wherein the second communication equipment (Para [0049]: merchant's device 202,203) is configured to:
forward the encrypted interaction payload to an entity server associated with the entity via the network (Para [0049]: the payment server 205 receives the encrypted purchase message 306 (the encrypted interaction payload) coming from the merchant's device 202,203/second communication device.); and
forward, by the second communication equipment, the encrypted user input to the entity server (Para [0043]-[0047]: when the buyer has completed the task of inputting buyer identification information 305, an encrypted purchase message is transmitted from the merchant's device 202,203/second communication equipment, wirelessly over the Internet 204, to a payment server 205/entity. The encrypted purchase message may contain encrypted information of the buyer identification information);
wherein the entity server (Para [0049]: the payment server 205) is configured to:
in response to receiving the encrypted interaction payload from the second communication equipment (Para [0049], the payment server 205 receives the encrypted purchase message 306 coming from the merchant's device 202,203/second communication device.), validate the payload metadata based on determining that the payload metadata matches a first user identifier of a first user profile stored in a memory of the entity server, wherein the first user profile is associated with the first user (Para [0061]: The payment server 205 may in a variant compare the buyer security information with already stored buyer security information or with the buyer identification information to determine if the buyer is legitimate or not.), send to the first communication equipment, the encrypted validation message to validate the electronic document object associated with the interaction payload, wherein the encrypted validation message comprises a security code (Para [0052]: the payment server 205 may then transmits a PIN code request 308 to the buyer's mobile device 208/the first communication using the buyer's contact information (for instance the mobile phone number). The transmission of the PIN code request to the buyer's mobile device 208 may be done over the Internet 204. The transmission over the Internet 204 may be encrypted. Para [0047]: the PIN entry request is transmitted in plain text.);
determine the user input based on the encrypted user input (Para [0061]: the payment server 205 receives the encrypted PIN code block 313 and, if available, the buyer security information from the mobile device 208. The payment server 205 decrypts and stores the buyer/user security information, if it is present. The payment server 205 may in a variant compare the buyer security information with already stored buyer security information or with the buyer identification information to determine if the buyer is legitimate or not.);
determine whether the user input comprises the security code (Para [0061]: the payment server 205 receives the encrypted PIN code block 313 and, if available, the buyer security information from the mobile device 208. The payment server 205 decrypts and stores the buyer security information, if it is present. The payment server 205 may in a variant compare the buyer security information with already stored buyer security information or with the buyer identification information to determine if the buyer is legitimate or not.); and
reconcile the electronic document based on the payload instruction and the payload metadata to complete the interaction session in response to determining that the user input comprises the security code (Para [0061], The payment server 205 receives the encrypted PIN code block 313 and, if available, the buyer security information from the mobile device 208. The payment server 205 decrypts and stores the buyer security information, if it is present. The payment server 205 may in a variant compare the buyer security information with already stored buyer security information or with the buyer identification information to determine if the buyer is legitimate or not.).
Nilsson does not explicitly disclose wherein the first communication equipment is not connected to the network; initiate, by the first communication equipment associated with the first user, an interaction session associated with an interaction payload with the second communication equipment via the short-range wireless connection, wherein: the first communication equipment is communicatively coupled to the second communication equipment via the short-range wireless connection; the second communication equipment is selected by the first user from a plurality of communication equipment that are in a dynamic hopping chain and the plurality of communication equipment are coupled via the short-range wireless connection to the first communication equipment and, wherein the dynamic hopping chain is established based on an availability and a location of each communication equipment associated with the dynamic hopping chain; wherein the dynamic hopping chain is configured to: transmit the encrypted interaction payload and the encrypted user input from the second communication equipment to the entity server along the dynamic hopping chain via the network, wherein the second communication equipment is one of a plurality of intermediate equipment along the dynamic hopping chain; and transmit the encrypted validation message from the entity server to the second communication equipment to the first communication equipment along the dynamic hopping chain, wherein the first communication equipment is another one of the plurality of intermediate equipment along the dynamic hopping chain; (Perform an action) the first communication equipment through the second communication equipment via the short-range wireless connection.
JHAS teaches wherein the first communication equipment is not connected to the network (Claim 1. Claim 3: the client mobile app will not be connected to the network unless it meets the authentications steps);
initiate, by the first communication equipment associated with the first user, an interaction session associated with an interaction payload with the second communication equipment via the short-range wireless connection (Para [0122]. Para [0159]. Claim 1: merchant computing device establishes a local wireless connection with a customer's mobile computing device when a customer's device is detected to be directly in front of or very near the merchant device zone. The customer mobile computing device interacts with the merchant computing device using Bluetooth Low Energy signals in order to achieve proximity-based authentication.), wherein:
the first communication equipment is communicatively coupled to the second communication equipment via the short-range wireless connection (Para [0122]. Para [0159]. Claim 1: merchant computing device establishes a local wireless connection with a customer's mobile computing device when a customer's device is detected to be directly in front of or very near the merchant device zone. The customer mobile computing device interacts with the merchant computing device using Bluetooth Low Energy signals in order to achieve proximity-based authentication.);
the second communication equipment is selected by the first user from a plurality of communication equipment that are in a dynamic hopping chain and the plurality of communication equipment are coupled via the short-range wireless connection to the first communication equipment (Claim 1: wherein the customer list is prioritized by the proximity between the customer mobile computing devices and the merchant computing device.) and, wherein the dynamic hopping chain is established based on an availability and a location of each communication equipment associated with the dynamic hopping chain (claim 1: displaying a customer list comprising the customers for whom the relative signal strength was obtained, wherein the customer list is prioritized by the proximity between the customer mobile computing devices and the merchant computing device, based on the relative signal strength of the customer mobile computing devices; wherein a spatial region surrounding the merchant computing device is divided into a plurality of proximity zones extending outward from the location of the merchant computing device.).
wherein the dynamic hopping chain is configured to:
transmit the encrypted interaction payload and the encrypted user input from the second communication equipment to the entity server along the dynamic hopping chain via the network, wherein the second communication equipment is one of a plurality of intermediate equipment along the dynamic hopping chain (Para [0127]: This authentication token is then sent from the merchant computing device to the remote transaction server, for remote authentication.); and
transmit the encrypted validation message from the entity server to the second communication equipment to the first communication equipment along the dynamic hopping chain, wherein the first communication equipment is another one of the plurality of intermediate equipment along the dynamic hopping chain (Para [0129]. Para [0184]: Remote transaction server then communicates with the proximity transaction app on Merchant device to provide information identifying the customer and to confirm that the customer has been remotely authenticated at 430. Remote transaction server also sends information pertaining to an active transaction associated with the customer, so that the merchant can process a pending transaction. Merchant device then updates forwards the update to the third party mobile app. The third party mobile app then displays the confirmation and virtual receipt to the customer at 540 and 545.).
(Perform an action) the first communication equipment through the second communication equipment via the short-range wireless connection (Para [0122]. Para [0159]. Para [0126]-Para [0128]: The customer mobile computing device interacts with the merchant computing device using Bluetooth Low Energy signals in order to achieve proximity-based authentication. The mobile app sends the authentication token to the merchant computing device at 410. This authentication token is then sent from the merchant computing device to the remote transaction server, for remote authentication.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson with the teachings of JHAS to wherein the first communication equipment is not connected to the network; initiate, by the first communication equipment associated with the first user, an interaction session associated with an interaction payload with the second communication equipment via the short-range wireless connection, wherein: the first communication equipment is communicatively coupled to the second communication equipment via the short-range wireless connection; the second communication equipment is selected by the first user from a plurality of communication equipment that are in a dynamic hopping chain and the plurality of communication equipment are coupled via the short-range wireless connection to the first communication equipment and, wherein the dynamic hopping chain is established based on an availability and a location of each communication equipment associated with the dynamic hopping chain; wherein the dynamic hopping chain is configured to: transmit the encrypted interaction payload and the encrypted user input from the second communication equipment to the entity server along the dynamic hopping chain via the network, wherein the second communication equipment is one of a plurality of intermediate equipment along the dynamic hopping chain; and transmit the encrypted validation message from the entity server to the second communication equipment to the first communication equipment along the dynamic hopping chain, wherein the first communication equipment is another one of the plurality of intermediate equipment along the dynamic hopping chain; (Perform an action) the first communication equipment through the second communication equipment via the short-range wireless connection in order to establish highly secure forms for the transfer of payment credentials from a user phone to a merchant's payment terminal.
Nilsson in view of JHAS does not disclose execute a homomorphic encryption algorithm to encrypt the interaction payload as an encrypted interaction payload based on the payload metadata and the payload instruction.
Skourtis does disclose execute a homomorphic encryption algorithm to encrypt the interaction payload as an encrypted interaction payload based on the payload metadata and the payload instruction (Para [0132]-[0135]. Para [0143]: use homomorphic encryption optimized based on the request and data.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson in view of JHAS with the teachings of Skourtis to include execute a homomorphic encryption algorithm to encrypt the interaction payload as an encrypted interaction payload based on the payload metadata and the payload instruction in order to encrypting data while retaining the ability to perform computations on that data (Skourtis Para [0132]-[0135]).
Regarding claim 2, Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the first communication equipment is configured to:
send a request to pair with the second communication equipment located in an area of the short-range wireless connection (JHAS Para [0122]. Para [0159]. Claim 1: merchant computing device establishes a local wireless connection with a customer's mobile computing device when a customer's device is detected to be directly in front of or very near the merchant device zone. The customer mobile computing device interacts with the merchant computing device using Bluetooth Low Energy signals in order to achieve proximity-based authentication.); and
in response to receiving an approval from the second communication equipment, establish a wireless connection with the second communication equipment, wherein the second communication equipment is configured to determine whether to approve the request (JHAS (Para [0122]. Para [0159]. Claim 1: merchant computing device establishes a local wireless connection with a customer's mobile computing device when a customer's device is detected to be directly in front of or very near the merchant device zone. The customer mobile computing device interacts with the merchant computing device using Bluetooth Low Energy signals in order to achieve proximity-based authentication.).
Regarding claim 4, Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the payload metadata of the interaction payload comprises the electronic document, a first user identifier, a first user location, and entity information (Nilsson Para [0038]. Para [0053]: the buyer is asked to enter buyer identification information 304 which for instance could be contact information such as his or her mobile phone number or email address into the payment application. This approach requires that both the merchant's device 202,203 and the mobile device 208 transmit their location to the payment server 205 for comparison.).
Regarding claim 6, Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis teaches the system of claim 1, wherein reconciling the electronic document by the entity server further comprises sending the electronic document to a third-party server (Nilsson Para [0065]- [0066]: In case the PIN verification is determined to perform an on-line verification 316, the payment server 205 will transmit the previously received and stored encrypted PIN code block, sales information together with the credit card information, to the bank server 207/third party for on-line verification. Para [0047]: the buyer identification information and the credit card information are encrypted and the PIN entry request and the sales information are transmitted in plain text to the payment server 205.).
As per claims 8, 9, the claims claim the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claims 1, 2 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claims 11, 18, the claims claim the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claims 4 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claim 13, the claims claim the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claim 6 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
As per claims 15, 16, the claims claim the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claims 1, 2 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 3, 10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 20140025579 A1) in view of JHAS (US 20160232515 A1) in view of Skourtis (US 20200089917 A1), and in view of Yang (US 20190089544 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis teaches the system of claim 1.
Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis does not explicitly disclose wherein the first communication equipment is configured to decrypt the encrypted validation message to obtain the security code.
Yang teaches wherein the first communication equipment is configured to decrypt the encrypted validation message to obtain the security code (Para [0025]. Para [0069]: providing sufficient information to a user to be able to decrypt the encrypted validation code. A user can decrypt the validation code to determine the decrypted validation code.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis with the teachings of Yang to include wherein the first communication equipment is configured to decrypt the encrypted validation message to obtain the security code in order to establish a secure connection between the user device and the payment device thought the validation massage (Yang Para [0025]).
As per claim 10, 17, the claims claim the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claims 3 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 5, 12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 20140025579 A1) in view of JHAS (US 20160232515 A1) in view of Skourtis (US 20200089917 A1), and in view of LIU (US 20180343123 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis teaches the system of claim 4, wherein:
the electronic document is associated with a first user profile and the first user identifier (Nilsson Para [0038]- [0039]: the phone number and or email address are stored in the payment server 205 and associated with the EMV debit or credit card 201. If the phone number or email address has been entered before (i.e. have previously made a payment in the store), the user may in a variant not have to enter the same information again, unless he or she uses a different EMV payment card.); and
Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis does not explicitly disclose the payload instruction of the interaction payload represents a payload request that the first user requests the entity to send the electronic document from the first user profile to a third-party server.
LIU teaches the payload instruction of the interaction payload represents a payload request that the first user requests the entity to send the electronic document from the first user profile to a third-party server (Para [0077]: the third-party application client may send a payment request to the third-party application server after obtaining the operation indication for requesting to perform the payment operation. The payment request includes payment request information. The payment request information is used to request the third-party application server to complete a payment procedure of a target order.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis with the teachings of LIU to the payload instruction of the interaction payload represents a payload request that the first user requests the entity to send the electronic document from the first user profile to a third-party server in order to establish a secure payment process (LIU Para [0077]).
As per claim 12, 19, the claims claim the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claims 5 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 7, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nilsson (US 20140025579 A1) in view of JHAS (US 20160232515 A1) in view of Skourtis (US 20200089917 A1), and in view of NA (US 20220116198 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis teaches the system of claim 1.
Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis does not explicitly disclose wherein: a common application is installed on the first communication equipment, the second communication equipment, and the entity server; and the common application is configured to implement the homomorphic encryption algorithm.
NA teaches wherein:
a common application is installed on the first communication equipment, the second communication equipment, and the entity server (FIGS. 1 and 2. Para [0064]. Para [0069]: the first homomorphic encryption client 300 may generate ciphertext data by performing homomorphic encryption on the plaintext data. In some example embodiments, the ciphertext data may be generated by executing an application downloaded and installed in the first homomorphic encryption client 300 to perform homomorphic encryption on the plaintext data. he homomorphic encryption processing server 100 may receive homomorphic encryption information and ciphertext data from the first homomorphic encryption client 300 and may receive homomorphic operation information from the second homomorphic encryption client 500. In some example embodiments, the server-side host 150 may include a homomorphic operation performing device 150a, and the homomorphic operation performing device 150a.);
and the common application is configured to implement the homomorphic encryption algorithm (FIGS. 1 and 2. Para [0064]. Para [0069]: the first homomorphic encryption client 300 may generate ciphertext data by performing homomorphic encryption on the plaintext data. In some example embodiments, the ciphertext data may be generated by executing an application downloaded and installed in the first homomorphic encryption client 300 to perform homomorphic encryption on the plaintext data. he homomorphic encryption processing server 100 may receive homomorphic encryption information and ciphertext data from the first homomorphic encryption client 300 and may receive homomorphic operation information from the second homomorphic encryption client 500. In some example embodiments, the server-side host 150 may include a homomorphic operation performing device 150a, and the homomorphic operation performing device 150a.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Nilsson in view of JHAS in view of Skourtis with the teachings of NA to include wherein: a common application is installed on the first communication equipment, the second communication equipment, and the entity server; and the common application is configured to implement the homomorphic encryption algorithm in order to prevent leakage of personal information using the homomorphic encryption technology (NA Para [0003]).
As per claim 14, 20, the claims claim the method essentially corresponding to thesystem claims 7 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUDY BAZNA/Examiner, Art Unit 2495
/FARID HOMAYOUNMEHR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2495