DETAILED ACTION
2. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 02/02/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-6, 8, 10-14, 16, 18-26, 28, 30-40 has been considered and entered. Claims 36-40 are new claims. Claims 7, 9, 15, 27, 29 are cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims1 -6, 8, 10-14, 16, 18-26, 28, 30-35 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 12,16, 18, 19, 21, 28, 30, 31 32, 33, 36, 37, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 20160219578 A1) hereinafter Lim and further in view of Chatterjee et al.(US 20150146647 A1)hereinafter Chatterjee
As to claim 1 Lim teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device, comprising: receiving, from second wireless communication devices of a wireless network device, ([0256] Fig. 2, Fig. 17 cooperating device 300 transmits a signal, received from the base station 100 at the transmission timing (T.sub.RL,rMS=T.sub.UL,rMS) of the cooperating device 300, the signal reaches the target terminal 200 at T.sub.UL,rMS+D.sub.MS,rMS.)
timing information associated with the one or more second wireless communication device , ([0256] Fig. 2, Fig. 17 cooperating device 300 transmits a signal, received from the base station 100 at the transmission timing (T.sub.RL,rMS=T.sub.UL,rMS) of the cooperating device 300 e.g., timing information is for cooperating device)
communicating with the second wireless communication device according to the gap period ([0186] In FIG. 11, the cooperating device 300 receives the uplink cooperative MIMO signal from the target terminal 200 corresponds the duration from the reception timing offset after uplink subframe UL SF1 (TUL,rMS of UL SF1+Δ TRL,rMS) to a time before the end of the uplink subframe UL SF1 (TUL,rMS of UL SF2−TSW)/communicating. Where TSW is a RX/TX switching time e.g., gap period duration between the reception of the uplink cooperative MIMO signal and the transmission of the uplink signal at cooperating device 300. )
wherein the timing information comprises information identifying an amount of time required for the second wireless communication device to transition between a transmit mode and a receive mode; ([0186] In FIG. 11, the cooperating device 300 receives the uplink cooperative MIMO signal from the target terminal 200 corresponds the duration from the reception timing offset after uplink subframe UL SF1 (TUL,rMS of UL SF1+Δ TRL,rMS) to a time before the end of the uplink subframe UL SF1 (TUL,rMS of UL SF2−TSW)/communicating. Where TSW is a RX/TX switching time e.g., gap period duration between the reception of the uplink cooperative MIMO signal and the transmission of the uplink signal at cooperating device 300. )
Lim does not teach determining, based on the timing information, a gap period for communicating with the second wireless communication device
Chatterjee teaches teach determining, based on the timing information, a gap period for communicating with the second wireless communication device ([0037] [0061]Fig. 2, receiving UE/second UE, may obtain at least 66.67 microseconds of guard interval as the Tx/Rx switching time; processing circuitry 226 may generate a guard interval at a subframe for the provision of the Tx/Rx switching time required for D2D communications at a receiving UE)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Chatterjee with teaching of Lim because Chatterjee teaches that specially designed subframes enable the UEs to accommodate the transmit-to-receive or receive-to-transmit ("Tx/Rx") switching time needed in D2D communications thereby enabling UEs 132, to handle the automatic gain control (AGC) setting time in D2D communications. (Chatterjee [0029])
Claim 19 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 3 the combination of Lim and Chatterjee specifically Lim teaches , further comprising: transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, an indication of the gap period. [0199] If there is an uplink signal transmission in the uplink subframe UL SF2 after the uplink subframe UL SF1, the cooperating device 300 receives the uplink cooperative MIMO signal until a time corresponding to before the transmission/reception switching time TSW from its start time of the uplink subframe UL SF2.)
Claims 12, 21, 24 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 6 the combination of Lim and Chatterjee specifically Lim teaches further comprising: communicating, with wireless communication device according to the gap period, ([0198] Fig. 11, [0198] If the cooperating device 300 transmits an uplink signal transmission in the uplink subframe UL SF0 in front of the uplink subframe UL SF1, the cooperating device 300 receives the uplink cooperative MIMO signal after the elapse of transmission/reception switching time TSW since its start time of the uplink subframe UL SF)
As to claim 8 the combination of Lim and Chatterjee specifically Lim teaches wherein the timing information includes a synchronization reference switching requirement associated with second wireless communication devices. ([0196] Fig. 12, uplink cooperative MIMO signal transmitted from the target terminal 200 is received in synchronization with its start time of the uplink subframe UL for the cooperating device 300, i.e., the uplink reference timing TUL,rMS for the cooperating device 300.)
Claims 16, 28, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
As to claim 10. the combination of Lim and Chatterjee specifically Lim teaches wherein the communicating with the second wireless communication device comprising
receiving, by the first wireless communication device from the second wireless communication device, an uplink signal; ([0198] Fig. 12, If the cooperating device 300 transmits an uplink signal transmission in the uplink subframe UL SF0 in front of the uplink subframe UL SF1, ) and
transmitting, by the first wireless communication device to the second wireless communication device, a downlink signal after the gap period after receiving the uplink signal. ([0198] Fig. 12, If the cooperating device 300 transmits an uplink signal
transmission in the uplink subframe UL SF0 in front of the uplink subframe UL SF1, the cooperating device 300 receives the uplink cooperative MIMO signal after the elapse of the transmission/reception switching time TSW since its start time of the uplink subframe UL SF1.)
Claims 18, 30, 37 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
As to claim 31. the combination of Lim and Chatterjee specifically Chatterjee teaches wherein the timing information includes capability information associated with the second wireless communication device. ([0060] Fig. 5-11, receiving UE.
Can accommodate the AGC setting time and the Tx/Rx switching time as needed/capability information of second UE )
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Chatterjee with teaching of Lim because Chatterjee teaches that specially designed subframes enable the UEs to accommodate the transmit-to-receive or receive-to-transmit ("Tx/Rx") switching time needed in D2D communications thereby enabling UEs 132, to handle the automatic gain control (AGC) setting time in D2D communications. (Chatterjee [0029])
Claim 38 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 31.
As to claim 36. the combination of Lim and Chatterjee, specifically Chatterjee teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to communicate with another wireless communication device according to the gap period. ([0037] [0061]Fig. 2, receiving UE/second UE, may obtain at least 66.67 microseconds of guard interval as the Tx/Rx switching time; processing circuitry 226 may generate a guard interval at a subframe for the provision of the Tx/Rx switching time required for D2D communications at a receiving UE)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Chatterjee with teaching of Lim because Chatterjee teaches that specially designed subframes enable the UEs to accommodate the transmit-to-receive or receive-to-transmit ("Tx/Rx") switching time needed in D2D communications thereby enabling UEs 132, to handle the automatic gain control (AGC) setting time in D2D communications. (Chatterjee [0029])
Claim(s) 11, 23, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20200214006 A1) hereinafter Choi
As to claim 11Lim teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device, comprising: transmitting, to a second wireless communication device, timing information associated with the first wireless communication device; ([0122] Fig. 4, If the target terminal 200 transmits a discovery ranging signal at its uplink transmission timing TRL,MS(=TUL,MS), the discovery ranging signal reaches the cooperating device 300 at TUL,MS+DMS,rMS. DMS,rMS is the propagation delay between the terminal 200 and the cooperating device 300.)
wherein the timing information comprises information identifying an amount of time required for the first wireless communication device to transition between a transmit mode and a receive mode ([0266] Where T.SW is a RX/TX switching time duration between the reception of the relay signal and the transmission of the uplink signal at the target terminal 200)
and communicating with the second wireless communication device, ([0186] In FIG. 11, the cooperating device 300 receives the uplink cooperative MIMO signal from the target terminal 200 corresponds the duration from the reception timing offset after uplink subframe UL SF1 (TUL,rMS of UL SF1+Δ TRL,rMS) to a time before the end of the uplink subframe UL SF1 (TUL,rMS of UL SF2−TSW)/communicating. Where TSW is a RX/TX switching time duration between the reception of the uplink cooperative MIMO signal and the transmission of the uplink signal at cooperating device 300. )
Lim does not specifically teach according to a gap period determined by the second wireless communication device based on the timing information
Choi teaches according to a gap period determined by the second wireless communication device based on the timing information ([0364] [0366]a DL-UL switching gap is required between the downlink reception and the uplink transmission of the terminal, hat is, the DL-UL switching gap may be determined based on the TA value and the TA offset value and/or subcarrier spacing. TA may be a TA value that the terminal is configured to receive from the base station )
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Choi with teaching of Lim because Choi teaches that a DL-UL switching gap would allow transition between downlink reception and the uplink transmission of the terminal and the frequency efficiency of the network can be increased and the energy consumption of the terminal can be reduced. (Choi [abstract])
Claim 23 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 11.
As to claim 34. the combination of Lim and Choi specifically Lim teaches , wherein the timing information includes capability information associated with the first wireless communication device.( [0132] Fig. 2, cooperative MIMO transmission with higher transmission capacity from the target terminal 200 can be achieved without a decrease in cell capacity caused by the use of radio resources for relaying, and the transmission capacity of the cell increases.)
Claim(s) 2, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, Chatterjee and further in view of Guo et al. (US 20170302359 A1) hereinafter Guo
As to claim 2 the combination of Lim and Choi specifically Lim teaches wherein the gap period is a first gap period, wherein the method further comprises: ([0122][0123]Fig. 4 the transmission/reception switching time TSW.)
Lim does not teach determining a second gap period associated with an amount of time required for a third wireless communication device transition between and transmit mode and receive mode and
Communicating with the third wireless communication device according to the second gap period.
Guo teaches determining a second gap period associated with an amount of time required for a third wireless communication device transition between and transmit mode and receive mode and ([0053] Fig. 7, relay AP assigns a time period scheduled for transmitting at least one downlink subframe and/or uplink subframe next to the downlink-to-uplink switching point as additional guard period for the UE in step 460 and informs the UE of the assignment in step 470. For example, the relay AP assigns a time period scheduled for transmitting at least one downlink subframe (e.g. the downlink subframe n+2) next to the downlink-to-uplink switching point as additional guard period for the UE)
Communicating with the third wireless communication device according to the second gap period.. ([0064] Fig. 10, second determining unit 620 is adapted to determine a starting time point, within a guard period at a downlink-to-uplink switching point, to perform the random access based on the timing advance offset.)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Guo with teaching of Lim and Chatterjee because Guo teaches that determining a starting time point, within a guard period (GP) at a downlink-to-uplink switching point, would allow to perform the random access based on the timing advance offset. (Guo [0008])
Claim 20 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Claim(s) 4, 13, 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, Chatterjee and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20180279334 A1) hereinafter Lim334
As to claim 4the combination of Lim and Chatterjee does not teach wherein the indication is transmitted in a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) message.
Lim334 teaches wherein the transmitting the indication comprises transmitting the indication in a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) message. ([0058][0097] [0098] tUL-DL indicates a UL-DL switching time.; timing advance command in MAC random access response (RAR); determine the necessary number of bits in consideration of propagation delay (coverage) and a switching time (t.UL-DL) of the base station)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Lim334 with teaching of Lim and Chatterjee because Lim334 teaches that propagation delay value of the terminal belonging to an adjacent base station) transferred from the adjacent base station would allow to determine a new time advance value based on propagation delay of the UE belonging to the corresponding base station and the DL-to-UL/UL-to-DL switching time.(Lim334 [0145])
Claims 13, 22, 25 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Claim(s) 5, 14, 26, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, Chatterjee and further in view of Liao et al. (US 20190014576 A1) hereinafter Liao
As to claim 5 the combination of Lim and Chatterjee does not teach , wherein the indication is transmitted in a semi-static scheduling configuration message.
Liao teaches wherein the indication is transmitted in a semi-static scheduling configuration message. ([0004[0040] Fig. 4, Current UL-DL configuration is semi-static allocation via SIB1, GP length is 17.84/20.84 μs, assuming 60 KHz subcarrier spacing, which is sufficient to accommodate UE DL-to-UL switching time, UL-to-DL switching time and UL timing advance)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Liao with teaching of Lim and Chatterjee because Liao teaches that asynchronous DL/UL HARQ operation, DL/UL HARQ can share the same HARQ timing to simplify the system design and reduce implementation complexity. (Liao [0145])
Claims 14, 26, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 35. the combination of Lim and Chatterjee does not teach wherein the processing system, to transmit the indication, is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to transmit the indication in a semi-static scheduling configuration message.
Liao teaches wherein the processing system, to transmit the indication, is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to transmit the indication in a semi-static scheduling configuration message. ([0004[0040] Fig. 4, Current UL-DL configuration is semi-static allocation via SIB1, GP length is 17.84/20.84 μs, assuming 60 KHz subcarrier spacing, which is sufficient to accommodate UE DL-to-UL switching time, UL-to-DL switching time and UL timing advance)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Liao with teaching of Lim and Chatterjee because Liao teaches that asynchronous DL/UL HARQ operation, DL/UL HARQ can share the same HARQ timing to simplify the system design and reduce implementation complexity. (Liao [0145])
Claim(s) 39, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, Chatterjee and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20170155434 A1) hereinafter Kim
As to claim 39. The combination of Lim and Chatterjee does not teach , wherein the timing information comprises scheduling information of the second wireless communication device.
Kim teaches , wherein the timing information comprises scheduling information of the second wireless communication device.([0186] transmit/reception switching time (Tx/Rx switching time) of the receiving UE is short, the receiving UE may not receive a part of the D2D data. In order to prevent partial loss of D2D data from lowering efficiency, the eNB schedule SRS transmission of the receiving UE to ensure transmission/reception switching time of the receiving UE is longer than a predetermined time).
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Kim with teaching of Lim and Chatterjee because Kim teaches that to prevent partial loss of D2D data from lowering efficiency, eNB may schedule the SRS transmission of the UE to ensure the transmission/reception switching time of the UE is longer than a predetermined time.(([0152])
Claim 40 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 39.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Freda et al. [US 20230328648 A1] METHODS AND APPARATUS FOR
EFFICIENT POWER SAVING IN WIRELESS NETWORKS
Kim et al. [US 20170303215 A1] METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING SIGNAL IN WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND APPARATUS THEREFOR
SAIWAI; Takahiro et al. [US 20160242201 A1] MOBILE COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND USER TERMINAL
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413