DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
3. Applicant’s amendments, filed on 05/04/2026 regarding rejection of claims 1-6, 8, 10-14, 16, 18-26, 28, 30-40 has been considered and entered.. Claims 7, 9, 15, 27, 29 are cancelled.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims1 -6, 8, 10-14, 16, 18-26, 28, 30-35 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new combinations of references including new prior arts being used in the current rejection. The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 12,16, 18, 19, 21, 28, 30, 31 32, 33, 36, 37, 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (US 20190068341 A1) hereinafter Seo and further in view of Chatterjee et al.(US 20150146647 A1)hereinafter Chatterjee
As to claim 1. Seo teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device, comprising:
receiving, from a second wireless communication device, a report including timing information associated with the second wireless communication device,([0115] UE may report the time required for Tx/Rx switching to the eNB. )
wherein the timing information comprises information identifying an amount of time required for the second wireless communication device to transition between a transmit mode and a receive mode; ([0095] the SwitchingTime is actual Rx-to-Tx switching time of the corresponding UE, each UE may report its actual Rx-to-Tx switching time to the eNB.)
; and communicating with the second wireless communication device after the gap period.([0079][0081] Fig. 8, an oblique area within the GP symbol is Tx/Rx switching time, the other period of the GP symbol may be regarded as a period where the eNB may receive UL signal/eNB communicates after guard period)
Seo does not explicitly teach determining, based on the timing information, a gap period for communicating with the second wireless communication device
Chatterjee teaches teach determining, based on the timing information, a gap period for communicating with the second wireless communication device ([0037] [0061]Fig. 2, receiving UE/second UE, may obtain at least 66.67 microseconds of guard interval as the Tx/Rx switching time; processing circuitry 226 may generate a guard interval at a subframe for the provision of the Tx/Rx switching time required for D2D communications at a receiving UE)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Chatterjee with teaching of Seo because Chatterjee teaches that specially designed subframes enable the UEs to accommodate the transmit-to-receive or receive-to-transmit ("Tx/Rx") switching time needed in D2D communications thereby enabling UEs 132, to handle the automatic gain control (AGC) setting time in D2D communications. (Chatterjee [0029])
Claim 19 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
As to claim 3 the combination of Seo and Chatterjee specifically Seo teaches , further comprising: transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, an indication of the gap period. ([0085] eNB may indicate, to the UE having a sufficient resource for performing UL transmission, half symbol UL transmission at the GP symbol due to a small TA value even except Tx/Rx switching time of the eNB/UE within GP symbol.)
Claims 21, 24 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
As to claim 6 the combination of Seo and Chatterjee specifically Seo teaches further comprising: communicating, with wireless communication device according to the gap period, ([0078] FIG. 8, DL data transmitted from the eNB is delayed for a certain time by propagation delay and then received by the UE. Also, if the UE transmits UL signal, the UE should transmit UL signal in advance as much as TA to adapt to UL reception timing of the eNB. )
As to Claim 16, the combination of Seo and Chatterjee specifically Seo teaches wherein the timing information includes a synchronization reference switching requirement associated with the first wireless communication device.([0121] Fig. 14, The time length indicated by the TA information indicates how transmission timing of the UE corresponding to the uplink control region included in the self-contained subframe should be moved forward to allow the base station to normally receive corresponding uplink control information. That is, the TA information is related to uplink synchronization between the base station and the UE.)
Claim 28, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 16.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 18, 30, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Chatterjee and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20160219578 A1) hereinafter Lim
As to claim 8 the combination of Seo and Chatterjee does not teach wherein the timing information includes a synchronization reference switching requirement associated with second wireless communication devices.
Lim teaches wherein the timing information includes a synchronization reference switching requirement associated with second wireless communication devices. ([0196] Fig. 12, uplink cooperative MIMO signal transmitted from the target terminal 200 is received in synchronization with its start time of the uplink subframe UL for the cooperating device 300, i.e., the uplink reference timing TUL,rMS for the cooperating device 300.)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Lim with teaching of Seo and Chatterjee because Seo teaches MIMO has brought improvements in transmission capacity and signal quality for uplink and downlink transmissions by spatial multiplexing and spatial diversity. (Lim [0005])
As to claim 10. , the combination of Seo and Chatterjee specifically Seo teaches wherein the communicating with the second wireless communication device after the gap period comprising.([0079][0081] Fig. 8, an oblique area within the GP symbol is Tx/Rx switching time, the other period of the GP symbol may be regarded as a period where the eNB may receive UL signal/eNB communicates after guard period)
receiving, from the second wireless communication device, an uplink signal; ([0087] Fig. 9. UE perform uplink transmission) and
, the combination of Seo and Chatterjee does not teach transmitting, by the second wireless communication device, a downlink signal after the gap period and after receiving the uplink signal.
transmitting, by the second wireless communication device, a downlink signal after the gap period and after receiving the uplink signal. ([0198] Fig. 12, If the cooperating device 300 transmits an uplink signal
transmission in the uplink subframe UL SF0 in front of the uplink subframe UL SF1, the cooperating device 300 receives the uplink cooperative MIMO signal after the elapse of the transmission/reception switching time TSW since its start time of the uplink subframe UL SF1.)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Lim with teaching of Seo and Chatterjee because Seo teaches MIMO has brought improvements in transmission capacity and signal quality for uplink and downlink transmissions by spatial multiplexing and spatial diversity. (Lim [0005])
Claims 18, 30, 37 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
As to claim 31. the combination of Seo and Chatterjee specifically Chatterjee teaches wherein the timing information includes capability information associated with the second wireless communication device. ([0060] Fig. 5-11, receiving UE.
Can accommodate the AGC setting time and the Tx/Rx switching time as needed/capability information of second UE )
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Chatterjee with teaching of Seo because Chatterjee teaches that specially designed subframes enable the UEs to accommodate the transmit-to-receive or receive-to-transmit ("Tx/Rx") switching time needed in D2D communications thereby enabling UEs 132, to handle the automatic gain control (AGC) setting time in D2D communications. (Chatterjee [0029])
Claim 38 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 31.
As to claim 36. the combination of Seo and Chatterjee, specifically Chatterjee teaches wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the first wireless communication device to communicate with another wireless communication device according to the gap period. ([0037] [0061]Fig. 2, receiving UE/second UE, may obtain at least 66.67 microseconds of guard interval as the Tx/Rx switching time; processing circuitry 226 may generate a guard interval at a subframe for the provision of the Tx/Rx switching time required for D2D communications at a receiving UE)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Chatterjee with teaching of Seo because Chatterjee teaches that specially designed subframes enable the UEs to accommodate the transmit-to-receive or receive-to-transmit ("Tx/Rx") switching time needed in D2D communications thereby enabling UEs 132, to handle the automatic gain control (AGC) setting time in D2D communications. (Chatterjee [0029])
Claim(s) 11, 12, 23, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo , and further in view of Choi et al. (US 20200214006 A1) hereinafter Choi
As to claim 11 Seo teaches A method of wireless communication performed by a first wireless communication device, comprising: ([0335] Fig. 1, a user equipment UE)
transmitting, to a second wireless communication device, a report including timing information associated with the first wireless communication device; ,([0115] UE may report the time required for Tx/Rx switching to the eNB. )
wherein the timing information comprises information identifying an amount of time required for the first wireless communication device to transition between a transmit mode and a receive mode ([0095] the SwitchingTime is actual Rx-to-Tx switching time of the corresponding UE, each UE may report its actual Rx-to-Tx switching time to the eNB.)
and communicating with the second wireless communication device after the gap period, .([0079][0081] Fig. 8, an oblique area within the GP symbol is Tx/Rx switching time, the other period of the GP symbol may be regarded as a period where the eNB may receive UL signal/eNB communicates after guard period)
Seo does not specifically teach determined by the second wireless communication device based on the timing information
Choi teaches according to determined by the second wireless communication device based on the timing information ([0364] [0366]a DL-UL switching gap is required between the downlink reception and the uplink transmission of the terminal, hat is, the DL-UL switching gap may be determined based on the TA value and the TA offset value and/or subcarrier spacing. TA may be a TA value that the terminal is configured to receive from the base station )
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Choi with teaching of Seo because Choi teaches that a DL-UL switching gap would allow transition between downlink reception and the uplink transmission of the terminal and the frequency efficiency of the network can be increased and the energy consumption of the terminal can be reduced. (Choi [abstract])
Claim 23 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 11.
As to claim 12 the combination of Seo and Choi specifically Seo teaches , further comprising: transmitting, to the second wireless communication device, an indication of the gap period. ([0085] eNB may indicate, to the UE having a sufficient resource for performing UL transmission, half symbol UL transmission at the GP symbol due to a small TA value even except Tx/Rx switching time of the eNB/UE within GP symbol.)
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo Choi and Lim334
As to claim 13 the combination of Seo and Choi does not teach wherein the indication is transmitted in a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) message.
Lim334 teaches wherein the transmitting the indication comprises transmitting the indication in a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) message. ([0058][0097] [0098] tUL-DL indicates a UL-DL switching time.; timing advance command in MAC random access response (RAR); determine the necessary number of bits in consideration of propagation delay (coverage) and a switching time (t.UL-DL) of the base station)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Lim334 with teaching of Seo and Chatterjee because Lim334 teaches that propagation delay value of the terminal belonging to an adjacent base station) transferred from the adjacent base station would allow to determine a new time advance value based on propagation delay of the UE belonging to the corresponding base station and the DL-to-UL/UL-to-DL switching time.(Lim334 [0145])
As to claim 32. the combination of Seo and Choi specifically Seo teaches , wherein the timing information includes capability information associated with the first wireless communication device ([0115] . Report of actual Tx/Rx switching time, which is varied in accordance with UE capability, )
Claim 34 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 32.
Claim(s) 2, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo Chatterjee and further in view of Guo et al. (US 20170302359 A1) hereinafter Guo
As to claim 2 the combination of Seo and Chatterjee specifically Seo teaches wherein the gap period is a first gap period, wherein the method further comprises: ([0061] at least one OFDM symbol on which DL to UL switching is performed is set as a guard period (GP) in the self-contained subframe structure.)
the combination of Seo and Chatterjee does not teach determining a second gap period associated with an amount of time required for a third wireless communication device transition between and transmit mode and receive mode and
Communicating with the third wireless communication device according to the second gap period.
Guo teaches determining a second gap period associated with an amount of time required for a third wireless communication device transition between and transmit mode and receive mode and ([0053] Fig. 7, relay AP assigns a time period scheduled for transmitting at least one downlink subframe and/or uplink subframe next to the downlink-to-uplink switching point as additional guard period for the UE in step 460 and informs the UE of the assignment in step 470. For example, the relay AP assigns a time period scheduled for transmitting at least one downlink subframe (e.g. the downlink subframe n+2) next to the downlink-to-uplink switching point as additional guard period for the UE)
Communicating with the third wireless communication device according to the second gap period.. ([0064] Fig. 10, second determining unit 620 is adapted to determine a starting time point, within a guard period at a downlink-to-uplink switching point, to perform the random access based on the timing advance offset.)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Guo with teaching Seo and Chatterjee because Guo teaches that determining a starting time point, within a guard period (GP) at a downlink-to-uplink switching point, would allow to perform the random access based on the timing advance offset. (Guo [0008])
Claim 20 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Claim(s) 4, 22, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Chatterjee and further in view of Lim et al. (US 20180279334 A1) hereinafter Lim334
As to claim 4 the combination of Seo and Chatterjee does not teach wherein the indication is transmitted in a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) message.
Lim334 teaches wherein the transmitting the indication comprises transmitting the indication in a media access control-control element (MAC-CE) message. ([0058][0097] [0098] tUL-DL indicates a UL-DL switching time.; timing advance command in MAC random access response (RAR); determine the necessary number of bits in consideration of propagation delay (coverage) and a switching time (t.UL-DL) of the base station)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Lim334 with teaching of Seo and Chatterjee because Lim334 teaches that propagation delay value of the terminal belonging to an adjacent base station) transferred from the adjacent base station would allow to determine a new time advance value based on propagation delay of the UE belonging to the corresponding base station and the DL-to-UL/UL-to-DL switching time.(Lim334 [0145])
Claims 22, 25 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Claim(s) 5, 14, 26, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Chatterjee and further in view of Liao et al. (US 20190014576 A1) hereinafter Liao
As to claim 5 the combination of Seo and Chatterjee does not teach , wherein the indication is transmitted in a semi-static scheduling configuration message.
Liao teaches wherein the indication is transmitted in a semi-static scheduling configuration message. ([0004[0040] Fig. 4, Current UL-DL configuration is semi-static allocation via SIB1, GP length is 17.84/20.84 μs, assuming 60 KHz subcarrier spacing, which is sufficient to accommodate UE DL-to-UL switching time, UL-to-DL switching time and UL timing advance)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Liao with teaching of Seo and Chatterjee because Liao teaches that asynchronous DL/UL HARQ operation, DL/UL HARQ can share the same HARQ timing to simplify the system design and reduce implementation complexity. (Liao [0145])
Claims 14, 26, is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
As to claim 35. the combination of Seo and Chatterjee does not teach wherein the processing system, to transmit the indication, is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to transmit the indication in a semi-static scheduling configuration message.
Liao teaches wherein the processing system, to transmit the indication, is configured to cause the first wireless communication device to transmit the indication in a semi-static scheduling configuration message. ([0004[0040] Fig. 4, Current UL-DL configuration is semi-static allocation via SIB1, GP length is 17.84/20.84 μs, assuming 60 KHz subcarrier spacing, which is sufficient to accommodate UE DL-to-UL switching time, UL-to-DL switching time and UL timing advance)
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Liao with teaching of Seo and Chatterjee because Liao teaches that asynchronous DL/UL HARQ operation, DL/UL HARQ can share the same HARQ timing to simplify the system design and reduce implementation complexity. (Liao [0145])
Claim(s) 39, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo, Chatterjee and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20170155434 A1) hereinafter Kim
As to claim 39. The combination of Seo and Chatterjee does not teach , wherein the timing information comprises scheduling information of the second wireless communication device.
Kim teaches , wherein the timing information comprises scheduling information of the second wireless communication device.([0186] transmit/reception switching time (Tx/Rx switching time) of the receiving UE is short, the receiving UE may not receive a part of the D2D data. In order to prevent partial loss of D2D data from lowering efficiency, the eNB schedule SRS transmission of the receiving UE to ensure transmission/reception switching time of the receiving UE is longer than a predetermined time).
therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine teaching of Kim with teaching of Seo and Chatterjee because Kim teaches that to prevent partial loss of D2D data from lowering efficiency, eNB may schedule the SRS transmission of the UE to ensure the transmission/reception switching time of the UE is longer than a predetermined time.(([0152])
Claim 40 is/are interpreted and rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 39.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Gheorghiu; Valentin A. et al. [US 20100260169 A1] MINIMIZING THE IMPACT OF SELF SYNCHRONIZATION ON WIRELESS COMMUNICATION DEVICES
Ahn; Joon Kui et al. [US 8837439 B2] Method and apparatus of transmitting control information
Kim; Hakseong et al. [US 20140140315 A1] METHOD FOR ADJUSTING UPLINK TRANSMISSION TIMING IN BASE STATION COOPERATIVE WIRELESS COMMUNICATION SYSTEM AND APPARATUS FOR SAME
/ATIQUE AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413