DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by '943 (WO 2015/031943 A1).
Regarding claim 19, ‘943 teaches a leaching solution comprising an amino acid lixiviant and an alkali stable transition metal complex (‘943, Page 21, lines 16-20, glycine is an amino acid; pH is 10 (alkaline condition); Page 7, lines 12-13, “The stability constant of gold with glycine at pH 9 is 18.0.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (U.S. 2010/0025259).
Regarding claim 19, Xia teaches a leaching solution comprising a lixiviant (Xia, [0088]-[0089]).
The embodiment of Xia cited above (Xia, Example 4A, [0088]-[0089]) does not explicitly teach that the lixiviant is an amino acid lixiviant. However, Xia teaches generally that glycine is suitable to use as a copper complexing agent in the leaching solution (Xia, [0015]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected glycine as a component in the lixiviant. The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07. In the instant case, glycine was known to be a suitable copper complexing agent for gold extraction (Xia, [0015]).
Because it would be obvious for glycine to be used as a copper complexing agent in the leaching solution, it would also be obvious for an alkali stable copper complex to be present in the leaching solution (Xia, [0008], the solution has a pH from about 7 to about pH 14, which is equivalent to an alkaline solution).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xia (U.S. 2010/0025259), as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Csicsovszki (WO 2011/154607 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Xia renders the leaching solution of claim 19 obvious, as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach that the alkali stable transition metal complex is one or more of ferrocyanide, ferricyanide, ferric gluconate and ferric EDTA. However, Csicsovski teaches that ferric EDTA reduces the consumption of thiosulfate during gold leaching (Csicsovski, Page 1, line 20 – Page 2, line 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the leaching solution of Xia by incorporating ferric EDTA as an alkali stable transition metal complex, as Csicsovski teaches that ferric EDTA reduces the consumption of thiosulfate during gold leaching (Csicsovski, Page 1, line 20 – Page 2, line 10). This teaching would be applicable to Xia’s leaching solution because Xia uses thiosulfate as a reagent (Xia, [0055], [0061], [0068]-[0069], [0084]-[0086]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would therefore be motivated to realize the advantage of reduced thiosulfate consumption taught by Csicsovski.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY JOHN BAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736