DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/04/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Qiao (Pub No 20230276391) further in view of newly cited Liu (Pub No 20200100156).
Regarding claim 1,
The applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the QFI being included in the SDAP header.
The examiner relies on newly cited Liu to teach the SDAP header being including the QFI.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (Pub No 20230276391) further in view of Liu (Pub No 20200100156)
Regarding claim 1,
Qiao teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having instructions stored thereon, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause processing circuitry to: (para [0181])
identify data to be transmitted to a apparatus is to utilize an ad-hoc radio bearer; and (interpreted as The radio bearer configuration information may comprise one or more parameters of a SDAP configuration information, see para [0277]). Also see wireless ad hoc networks, see para [0609])
generate, for transmission with the data, a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) header corresponding to the data and the QFI corresponding to the ad-hoc radio bearer, the SDAP header to indicate a configuration of the ad-hoc radio bearer for transmitting the data; and (interpreted as The SDAP configuration information may comprise at least one of the following information elements (IEs)/parameters: defaultDRB; mappedQoS-FlowsToAdd, FlowsToRelease, PDU session ID, and/or SDAP header information…. A mappedQoS-FlowsToAdd may indicate a list of QoS flow IDs (QFIs) of uplink (UL) QoS flows of a PDU session to be additionally mapped to the DRB. A QFI value may be included in configured instances of SDAP-Config with the same PDU session ID, see para [0277])
However Qiao does not teach the SDAP header including a quality of service flow identifier (QFI).
Liu teaches the SDAP header including a quality of service flow identifier (QFI) (interpreted as UE adds an uplink SDAP header to the SDAP data PDU; sets the “QFI” field of the UL SDAP header to the QFI value of the QoS flow (i.e., the QoS flow in block 1102), see para [0114])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the QFI as taught by Qiao with the SDAP header including the QFI as taught by Liu with the motivation being to identify the different data streams.
Regarding claim 10,
Qiao teaches an apparatus, comprising:
Processing circuitry: (para [0181])
identify a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) header received with data from an originating device; (interpreted as SDAP header information may indicate whether a SDAP header is present for uplink data and/or downlink data on the DRB, see para [0277])
determine a configuration for an ad-hoc radio bearer based on the SDAP header; and
(interpreted as The SDAP configuration information may comprise at least one of the following information elements (IEs)/parameters: defaultDRB; mappedQoS-FlowsToAdd, FlowsToRelease, PDU session ID, and/or SDAP header information…. A mappedQoS-FlowsToAdd may indicate a list of QoS flow IDs (QFIs) of uplink (UL) QoS flows of a PDU session to be additionally mapped to the DRB. A QFI value may be included in configured instances of SDAP-Config with the same PDU session ID, see para [0277]. Also see wireless ad hoc networks, see para [0609])
configure the ad-hoc radio bearer in accordance with the configuration for transmission of the data; and (interpreted as SDAP header information may indicate whether a SDAP header is present for uplink data and/or downlink data on the DRB, see para [0277])
interface circuitry coupled to the processing circuitry, the interface circuitry to receive the SDAP header with the data. (interpreted as ] An element (e.g., each element) shown in FIG. 3 may comprise an interface with at least one other element. The interface may be a logical connection and/or a direct physical connection, see para [0066])
However Qiao does not teach the transmitting on the DRB
Liu teaches transmitting on the DRB (interpreted as transmitting the uplink PDUs via the second DRB, see para [0008]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the DRB configuration as taught by Qiao with DRB transmitting as taught by Liu to transmit data.
Regarding claim 2,
Qiao teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the data is encoded with settings for the ad-hoc radio bearer. (interpreted as The radio bearer configuration information may comprise one or more parameters of a SDAP configuration information, see para [0277]). Also see wireless ad hoc networks, see para [0609])
Regarding claim 3,
Qiao teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein the data is transmitted on the ad-hoc radio bearer. (interpreted as SDAP header information may indicate whether a SDAP header is present for uplink data and/or downlink data on the DRB, see para [0277])
Regarding claim 11,
Qiao teaches The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further to: decode the data based on the configuration for the ad-hoc radio bearer. (interpreted as First wireless device 2310 may establish a RRC connection, a PDU session, a network slice, a QoS flow, a service data flow, and/or a radio bearer applied and/or radio bearer for the end-to-end latency measurement, see para [0248])
Claim(s) 5, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (Pub No 20230276391) further in view of Fan (Pub No 20230098258)
Regarding claim 5 and 13,
Qiao teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, data radio bearer (DRB) settings to be used for the ad-hoc radio bearer. (interpreted as The radio bearer configuration information may comprise one or more parameters of a SDAP configuration information, see para [0277]). Also see wireless ad hoc networks, see para [0609])
However does not teach wherein the SDAP header further includes a context identifier (ID) to indicate preconfigured DRB settings
Fan teaches wherein the SDAP header further includes a context identifier (ID) to indicate preconfigured DRB settings (interpreted as the configuration message for establishing the data radio bearer DRB, where an relay bearer for forwarding the configuration message may be preconfigured, the configuration message for establishing the DRB includes an identifier of the DRB, configuration information of a service data adaptation protocol SDAP layer, see para [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information taught by Qiao with the configuration information including identifiers for preconfigured settings as taught by Fan since for the benefit of being able to differentiate between DRBS.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (Pub No 20230276391) further in view of Fan (Pub No 20230098258) and Basu Mallick (Pub No 20160212661)
Regarding claim 6,
Qian teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 5, however does not teach wherein the preconfigured DRB settings are first preconfigured DRB settings, and wherein the SDAP header further includes an extension flag to indicate whether the SDAP header includes an additional context ID to indicate second preconfigured DRB settings for configuration of an additional ad-hoc radio bearer.
Fan teaches wherein the preconfigured DRB settings are first preconfigured DRB settings(interpreted as the configuration message for establishing the data radio bearer DRB, where an relay bearer for forwarding the configuration message may be preconfigured, the configuration message for establishing the DRB includes an identifier of the DRB, configuration information of a service data adaptation protocol SDAP layer, see para [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information taught by Qiao with the preconfiguration as taught by Fan for the benefit of faster swapping of configurations by using the preconfigured settings..
However Qiao in view of Fan do not teach wherein the SDAP header further includes an extension flag to indicate whether the SDAP header includes an additional context ID to indicate second preconfigured DRB settings for configuration of an additional ad-hoc radio bearer.
Basu Mallick wherein the SDAP header further includes an extension flag to indicate whether the SDAP header includes an additional context ID to indicate second preconfigured DRB settings for configuration of an additional ad-hoc radio bearer. (interpreted as The extension flag indicates that the reception status information and radio bearer identifier relating to another data radio bearer are included in the status report too, see para [0202])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information including identifiers taught by Qiao in view of Fan with addition configuration information including identifiers as taught by Basu Mallick for the benefit of being able to differentiate between DRBS.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (Pub No 20230276391) further in view of Fan (Pub No 20230098258), Wu (Pub No 20250016885) and Basu Mallick (Pub No 20160212661)
Regarding claim 14,
Qiao teaches The apparatus of claim 13, however does not teach wherein the preconfigured DRB settings are first preconfigured DRB settings, and wherein the one or more processors are further to: determine that the SDAP header includes an additional context ID for configuration of an additional ad-hoc radio bearer based on an extension flag included in the SDAP header; determine second preconfigured DRB settings for configuration of the additional ad-hoc radio bearer based on the additional context ID; and configure the additional ad-hoc radio bearer in accordance with the second preconfigured DRB settings.
Fan teaches wherein the preconfigured DRB settings are first preconfigured DRB settings(interpreted as the configuration message for establishing the data radio bearer DRB, where an relay bearer for forwarding the configuration message may be preconfigured, the configuration message for establishing the DRB includes an identifier of the DRB, configuration information of a service data adaptation protocol SDAP layer, see para [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information taught by Qiao with the preconfiguration as taught by Fan for the benefit of setting up communications beforehand.
However Qiao in view of Fan do not teach wherein the one or more processors are further to: determine that the SDAP header includes an additional context ID for configuration of an additional ad-hoc radio bearer based on an extension flag included in the SDAP header; determine second preconfigured DRB settings for configuration of the additional ad-hoc radio bearer based on the additional context ID; and configure the additional ad-hoc radio bearer in accordance with the second preconfigured DRB settings.
Wu teaches wherein the one or more processors are further to: determine second preconfigured DRB settings for configuration of the additional ad-hoc radio bearer based on the additional context ID; and configure the additional ad-hoc radio bearer in accordance with the second preconfigured DRB settings. (interpreted as In some implementations, the unicast configuration parameters can include a (second) DRB configuration (e.g., a DRB-ToAddMod IE) and first lower layer configuration(s). The DRB configuration configures the (second) DRB. The DRB configuration includes a (second) DRB ID (e.g., drb-Identity or DRB-Identity) identifying the DRB, and includes the PDU session ID to indicate that the DRB (ID) associated with the PDU session (ID). The DRB configuration can also include a PDCP configuration and/or a SDAP configuration, see para [0098])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information including identifiers taught by Qiao in view of Fan with addition configuration information including identifiers as taught by Wu for the benefit of sending multiple configurations in one message thereby reducing resources of sending multiple messages.
However Qiao in view of Fan and Wu do not teach determine that the SDAP header includes an additional context ID for configuration of an additional ad-hoc radio bearer based on an extension flag included in the SDAP header;
Basu Mallick teaches determine that the SDAP header includes an additional context ID for configuration of an additional ad-hoc radio bearer based on an extension flag included in the SDAP header; (interpreted as The extension flag indicates that the reception status information and radio bearer identifier relating to another data radio bearer are included in the status report too, see para [0202])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information including identifiers taught by Qiao in view of Fan and Wu with the extension flag as taught by Basu Mallick for the benefit of indicating additional parameters.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (Pub No 20230276391) further in view of Liu (Pub No 20200100156) and Goldhammer (Pub No 20160088617)
Regarding claim 7,
Qiao in view of Liu teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, however does not teach wherein the SDAP header further includes a bitmap to indicate one or more parameters of the ad-hoc radio bearer are to be changed and one or more values corresponding to the one or more parameters to be changed.
Goldhammer teaches wherein the SDAP header further includes a bitmap to indicate one or more parameters of the ad-hoc radio bearer are to be changed and one or more values corresponding to the one or more parameters to be changed. (interpreted as Resource Usage Change, having as parameters the eNB identity, initial RASN, bitmap of the changed parameters and list of the new values or alternatively the new resource allocation, new allocated RASN (identifier), see para [0132])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information parameters taught by Qiao with the bitmap for parameters as taught by Goldhammer for the benefit of updating parameters.
Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiao (Pub No 20230276391) further in view of Liu (Pub No 20200100156), Goldhammer (Pub No 20160088617), and Fan (Pub No 20230098258).
Regarding claim 9,
Qiao teaches The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 7, wherein the SDAP header to be utilized as a base for the ad-hoc radio bearer. (interpreted as The radio bearer configuration information may comprise one or more parameters of a SDAP configuration information, see para [0277]). Also see wireless ad hoc networks, see para [0609])
However Qiao does not teach further includes a context identifier (ID) to indicate preconfigured data radio bearer (DRB) settings
Fan teaches further includes a context identifier (ID) to indicate preconfigured data radio bearer (DRB) settings (interpreted as the configuration message for establishing the data radio bearer DRB, where an relay bearer for forwarding the configuration message may be preconfigured, the configuration message for establishing the DRB includes an identifier of the DRB, configuration information of a service data adaptation protocol SDAP layer, see para [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information taught by Qiao in view of Goldhammer with the configuration information including identifiers for preconfigured settings as taught by Fan since for the benefit of being able to differentiate between DRBS.
Claim(s) 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub No 20200146083) further in view of Majmundar (Pub No 20200351198) and Qiao (Pub No 20230276391)
Regarding claim 17,
Wang teaches A method of operating an originating device, comprising:
Generating, for transmission with the data a layer 2 configuration (L2C) header corresponding to the data, the L2C header generated by an L2C layer (L2CL) located between a medium access control (MAC) layer and a radio link control (RLC) layer, (interpreted as The embodiment in FIG. 5D is similar to FIG. 5C except that the Adapt layer is located between the RLC layer and the MAC layer, see para [0127], Also see If there is an Adapt protocol layer, it means that the Adapt protocol layer header is required to be added to the data packet from the upper layer (such as the PDCP layer or the RLC layer), see para [0193])
However Wang does not teach the L2C header to indicate a configuration of the ad-hoc radio bearer for transmitting the data;
Majmundar teaches the L2C header to indicate a configuration of the ad-hoc radio bearer for transmitting the data; (interpreted as this information can comprise information associated with the UE bearer of the UE 102 and/or radio quality experienced by packets being transmitted between the UE bearer and the child IAB node 402. This information can be transmitted within a header field of the adapt layers between the child IAB node 402, the parent IAB node 404, and the donor IAB node 406, see para [0058]. Also see Thus, the communication can be a predefined structure as with a conventional network or simply an ad hoc communication between at least two devices, see para [0092])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the adapt layer taught by Wang with the adapt layer headers for ad hoc taught by Majundar for the benefit of performing communications in other known networks.
However Wang in view of Majundar does not teach identifying data to be transmitted to a apparatus utilizing an ad-hoc radio bearer; performing the steps using an ad-hoc radio bearer.
Qiao teaches performing the steps using an ad-hoc radio bearer. (interpreted as The radio bearer configuration information may comprise one or more parameters of a SDAP configuration information, see para [0277]). Also see wireless ad hoc networks, see para [0609])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the radio bearers taught by Wang with the radio bearers for ad hoc taught by Qiao for the benefit of performing communications in other known networks.
Regarding claim 20,
Wang teaches The method of claim 17, however does not teach wherein determining the data is to utilize the ad-hoc radio bearer includes determining the data is to utilize the ad-hoc radio bearer based at least in part on quality of service (QoS) requirements for the data, application end-to-end latency related to the data, privacy or security needs for the data, a size of the data, an amount of congestion related to the data, offloading capabilities related to the data, or radio frequency (RF) conditions related to the data.
Qiao teaches wherein determining the data is to utilize the ad-hoc radio bearer includes determining the data is to utilize the ad-hoc radio bearer based at least in part on quality of service (QoS) requirements for the data, application end-to-end latency related to the data, privacy or security needs for the data, a size of the data, an amount of congestion related to the data, offloading capabilities related to the data, or radio frequency (RF) conditions related to the data. (interpreted as The response message may comprise at least one of: a fifth parameter and/or an End-to-End Latency Measurement Accept; a radio bearer configuration information of a radio bearer for an end-to-end latency measurement; and/or a RRC configuration information for end-to-end latency measurements, see para [0247])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system taught by Wang in view of Majmundar with the measurements taught by Qiao for the benefit improving symmetry between uplink latency and downlink latency by measuring and modifying parameters.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub No 20200146083) further in view of Majmundar (Pub No 20200351198), Qiao (Pub No 20230276391) and Fan (Pub No 20230098258)
Regarding claim 18,
Wang The method of claim 17, however does not teach wherein the L2C header includes a context identifier (ID) to indicate preconfigured data radio bearer (DRB) settings to be utilized for the ad-hoc radio bearer.
Fan teaches wherein the L2C header includes a context identifier (ID) to indicate preconfigured data radio bearer (DRB) settings to be utilized for the radio bearer. (interpreted as the configuration message for establishing the data radio bearer DRB, where an relay bearer for forwarding the configuration message may be preconfigured, the configuration message for establishing the DRB includes an identifier of the DRB, configuration information of a service data adaptation protocol SDAP layer, see para [0012])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information taught by Qiao with the preconfiguration as taught by Fan for the benefit of setting up communications beforehand.
However Wang in view of Fan does not teach ad-hoc radio bearers
Qiao teaches ad-hoc radio bearers (interpreted as The radio bearer configuration information may comprise one or more parameters of a SDAP configuration information, see para [0277]). Also see wireless ad hoc networks, see para [0609])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the radio bearers taught by Wang with the radio bearers for ad hoc taught by Qiao for the benefit of performing communications in other known networks.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over further in view of Liu (Pub No 20200100156) and Goldhammer (Pub No 20160088617)
Regarding claim 15,
Qiao teaches The apparatus of claim 10, however does not teach wherein the SDAP header includes a bitmap to indicate one or more parameters for the ad-hoc radio bearer and one or more values corresponding to the one or more parameters, wherein to configure the ad-hoc radio bearer includes to reconfigure the one or more parameters for the ad-hoc radio bearer with the one or more values.
Goldhammer wherein the SDAP header includes a bitmap to indicate one or more parameters for the ad-hoc radio bearer and one or more values corresponding to the one or more parameters, wherein to configure the ad-hoc radio bearer includes to reconfigure the one or more parameters for the ad-hoc radio bearer with the one or more values. (interpreted as Resource Usage Change, having as parameters the eNB identity, initial RASN, bitmap of the changed parameters and list of the new values or alternatively the new resource allocation, new allocated RASN (identifier), see para [0132])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information parameters taught by Qiao with the bitmap for parameters as taught by Goldhammer for the benefit of updating parameters.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub No 20200146083) further in view of Majmundar (Pub No 20200351198), Qiao (Pub No 20230276391) and Goldhammer (Pub No 20160088617),
Regarding claim 19,
Wang teaches The method of claim 17, however does not teach wherein the L2C header further includes a bitmap to indicate one or more parameters for the ad-hoc radio bearer and one or more values corresponding to the one or more parameters.
Goldhammer teaches wherein the SDAP header further includes a bitmap to indicate one or more parameters of the ad-hoc radio bearer are to be changed and one or more values corresponding to the one or more parameters to be changed. (interpreted as Resource Usage Change, having as parameters the eNB identity, initial RASN, bitmap of the changed parameters and list of the new values or alternatively the new resource allocation, new allocated RASN (identifier), see para [0132])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the configuration information parameters taught by Wang in view of Qiao with the bitmap for parameters as taught by Goldhammer for the benefit of updating parameters.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4, 8, 12, 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art of record do not teach The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 1, wherein to generate the SDAP header includes to perform QFI labelling and inline signaling in an SDAP layer of the originating device, the SDAP layer being located between a medium access control (MAC) layer and a radio link control (RLC) layer of the originating device.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record do not teach The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 7, wherein the bitmap includes one or more bitmap octets, wherein the bitmap includes a first bitmap octet, and wherein the bitmap includes an extension flag to indicate whether a second bitmap octet follows the first bitmap octet within the bitmap.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record do not teach The apparatus of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further to: determine a quality of service flow identifier (QFI) from the SDAP header; and perform QFI mapping based on the QFI and inline signaling in an SDAP layer located between a medium access control (MAC) layer and a radio link control (RLC) layer.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record do not teach The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the bitmap includes one or more bitmap octets, wherein the bitmap includes a first bitmap octet, wherein the one or more parameters is a first set of one or more parameters, wherein the one or more values is a first set of one or more values, and wherein the one or more processors are further to: determine, based on an extension flag in the SDAP header, that the SDAP header includes a second bitmap octet and a second set of one or more values corresponding to a second set of one or more parameters corresponding to the second bitmap octet, wherein to configure the ad-hoc radio bearer further includes to reconfigure the second set of one or more parameters for the ad-hoc radio bearer with the second set of one or more values.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BAO G NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461