DETAILED ACTION
RCE
Response to Remark
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 02/09/26.
Independent claims have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 3, for example, a communication device “receiving a specific codepoint from a transmission configuration indicator field.” According to applicant’s specification, the UE receives the scheduled PDSCH according to one or more TCI states indicated by a TCI field in a DCI and the specific code point included in the TCI field such as “00”, “01”, or “10”. Therefore, the method of “receiving a specific codepoint from a TCI field” is not clear. As shown in Fig.2, It might be “receiving a specific codepoint from TRP (Transmission Reception Point)” or “receiving a PDSCH or a DCI including a specific code point.” The similar rejection is applied to other independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20, 23-30, 33-35, and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0400505, “Matsumura”) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2022/0124751, hereinafter “Matsumura’751”).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura discloses a method for reception of a physical downlink shared channel, performed by a communication device, wherein the method comprising:
- receiving a specific codepoint from a transmission configuration indicator(TCI) field and obtaining two indicated TCI states indicated by the specific codepoint in the TCI field (See ¶.68, when offset between reception of DL DCI and a PDSCH corresponding to the DL DCI is less than a threshold value “timeDurationForQCL,” at least one TCI state configured for a serving cell with a scheduled PDSCH includes “QCL type D,” the UE is configured with an information element for enabling 2 default TCIs (enableTwoDefaultTCIStates-r16), and at least one TCI codepoint (codepoint of a TCI field in the DL DCI) indicates two TCI states, the UE assumes that a DMRS port for the PDSCH or PDSCH transmission occasion in the serving cell is QCLed (quasi co-located) with an RS related to a QCL parameter associated with two TCI states corresponding to the lowest codepoint of TCI codepoints including two different TCI states (2 default QCL assumption determination rule). The information element for enabling 2 default TCIs indicates that Rel-16 operation with two default TCI states for a PDSCH in a case where at least one TCI codepoint is mapped to two TCI states is enabled).”
- receiving a first downlink control information (DCI) (See ¶.52, the DCI used for scheduling of the PDSCH may include a certain field indicating the TCI state for the PDSCH (which may be referred to as, for example, a TCI field, a TCI state field, and the like); See Fig.2B and ¶.126, the UE receives each of the PDSCHs transmitted from the multi-TRP based on one piece of downlink control information (DCI));
- in response to a TCI selection field being comprised in the first downlink control information, obtaining a codepoint from the TCI selection field (See ¶.158, a codepoint of the TCI field in the DCI (TCI codepoint, value) may be associated with one or two TCI states (TCI state IDs); See ¶.307, a plurality of TCI states may be active for a CORESET. In this case, the active TCI state selected as the default spatial relation may be the default RS, or the default TCI state or the default QCL assumption), wherein the codepoint is associated with a selection of the two indicated TCI states when the specific codepoint indicates the two TCI states (See ¶.158, in a case that one TCI codepoint is associated with two TCI state IDs, the first TCI state ID may correspond to the first TRP and the second TCI state ID may correspond to the second TRP; See ¶.307, a plurality of TCI states may be active for a CORESET. In this case, the active TCI state selected as the default spatial relation may be the default RS, or the default TCI state or the default QCL assumption; Examiner’s Note: Matsumura’751 discloses the method of “selecting one of the two indicated TCI states”);
- in response to the codepoint being a first codepoint, applying a first indicated TCI state of the two indicated TCI states to a demodulation reference signal port according to the selection (See Fig.3B, TCI code point related with TCI state; See ¶.62, the UE may assume that the PDSCH DMRS port is QCL-ed with the DL-RS based on the TCI state activated for the CORESET corresponding to the lowest CORESET-ID described above; See ¶.307, a plurality of TCI states may be active for a CORESET. In this case, the active TCI state selected as the default spatial relation may be the default RS, or the default TCI state or the default QCL assumption); and
- receiving the physical downlink shared channel according to the first downlink control information (See Fig.4A, receiving PDSCH1 according to the DCI1; See ¶.321, the UE may determine the default TCI state for PDSCH for at least one TRP to use the determined default TCI state for the default spatial relation for the specific UL transmission for the TRP. The UE may determine the default TCI state for each of one or two TRPs for the multi-PDSCH based on the single DCI, based on Embodiment 1, to use the determined default TCI state for the default spatial relation for the specific UL transmission to the TRP).
Matsumura discloses the method of selecting active TCI state as default spatial relation (See ¶.307), but does not explicitly disclose the limitations “a selection of the two indicated TCI states when the specific codepoint indicates the two states.”
However, Matsumura’751 discloses “a selection of the two indicated TCI states when the specific codepoint indicates the two states” (Matsumura’751, See ¶.61 and ¶.75, the selected TCI set may be configured (or mapped) to a code point of a given bit field included in the DCI. The given bit field may be, for example, a bit field for TCI state indication; See ¶.92, note that only one TCI state of a plurality of paired TCI states (here, two TCI states) may be activated/selected; See ¶.94, the TCI state corresponding to a given code point may be the TCI state activated according to the MAC control information among the TCI states included in the pair corresponding to the given code point; See ¶.104, one of the two TCI states may be activated according to the MAC control information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the method of “a selection of the two indicated TCI states when the specific codepoint indicates the two states” as taught by Matsumura’751 into the system of Matsumura, so that it provides a way of activating only one TCI state of two TCI states (Matsumura’751, See ¶.92).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumura discloses “receiving the physical downlink shared channel by the demodulation reference signal port (See Fig.4A-B and ¶.14, FIGS. 4A and 4B are diagrams to show examples of a QCL assumption for a PDSCH DMRS port in Embodiment 2-1; See ¶.321, the UE may determine the default TCI state for PDSCH for at least one TRP to use the determined default TCI state for the default spatial relation for the specific UL transmission for the TRP. The UE may determine the default TCI state for each of one or two TRPs for the multi-PDSCH based on the single DCI, based on Embodiment 1, to use the determined default TCI state for the default spatial relation for the specific UL transmission to the TRP).”
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura discloses “in response to the codepoint being a second codepoint (See Fig.3B, the TCI code point 010), applying a second transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states to the demodulation reference signal port according to the selection (See Fig.3B, the second TCI state associated with TCI code point 010; See ¶.171, in a case that the specific TCI codepoint corresponds to one TCI state, the UE may perform the single TRP operation); and receiving the physical downlink shared channel by the demodulation reference signal port (See Fig.4A-B, PDSCH2 according to DMRS port group 2; See further ¶.321 for default TCI).”
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura discloses “in response to the codepoint being a third codepoint, applying a first transmission configuration indicator state and a second transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states (See ¶.171, in a case that the specific TCI codepoint corresponds to corresponds to two TCI states, the UE may perform the multi-TRP operation; See Fig.3B, TCI code point 001 for two TCI state) to the demodulation reference signal port according to the selection; and receiving the physical downlink shared channel by the demodulation reference signal port (See Fig.4A-B, PDSCH by one of DMRS port groups; See ¶.321 for default TCI).”
Regarding claim 5, Matsumura discloses “the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states are indicated to the communication device by a transmission configuration indicator field (See ¶.57, the UE may use the TCI according to the value of the TCI field in the detected PDCCH with the DCI for determining PDSCH antenna port QCL).”
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura discloses “receiving a second downlink control information, wherein the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states are indicated by the transmission configuration indicator field of the second downlink control information (See ¶.218, the example in FIG. 4A is the multi-PDCCH, in which the DCI 1 schedules the PDSCH 1 and the DCI 2 schedules the PDSCH 2).”
Regarding claim 7, Matsumura discloses “a reception of the second downlink control information is prior to a reception of the first downlink control information (See ¶.250, the respective embodiments of the present disclosure may be applicable even in case that the reception timings of the DCI of the respective panels are different).”
Regarding claim 8, Matsumura discloses “in response to the TCI selection field not being comprised in the first downlink control information, applying the two indicated TCI states to the demodulation reference signal port; and receiving the physical downlink shared channel by the demodulation reference signal port (See ¶.249, in FIG. 4A, in a case that the DCI 1 is not present, and the DCI 2 schedules the PDSCH 1 and the PDSCH 2, the UE may assume that both the DMRS port for the PDSCH 1 and the DMRS port for the PDSCH 2 are QCL-ed with the RS in the TCI state for PDCCH corresponding to the lowest CORESET-ID of the panel 1 in the latest slot; See ¶.321 for default TCI).”
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura discloses “in response to the TCI selection field not being comprised in the first downlink control information, applying a first transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated TCI states to the demodulation reference signal port; and receiving the physical downlink shared channel by the demodulation reference signal port (See ¶.249, in FIG. 4A, in a case that the DCI 1 is not present, and the DCI 2 schedules the PDSCH 1 and the PDSCH 2, the UE may assume that both the DMRS port for the PDSCH 1 and the DMRS port for the PDSCH 2 are QCL-ed with the RS in the TCI state for PDCCH corresponding to the lowest CORESET-ID of the panel 1 in the latest slot; See further ¶.321).”
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura discloses “in response to the TCI selection field not being comprised in the first downlink control information, applying a first transmission configuration indicator state and a second transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states to the demodulation reference signal port; and receiving the physical downlink shared channel by the demodulation reference signal port (See ¶.249, in FIG. 4A, in a case that the DCI 1 is not present, and the DCI 2 schedules the PDSCH 1 and the PDSCH 2, the UE may assume that both the DMRS port for the PDSCH 1 and the DMRS port for the PDSCH 2 are QCL-ed with the RS in the TCI state for PDCCH corresponding to the lowest CORESET-ID of the panel 1 in the latest slot).”
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura discloses “wherein the TCI selection field comprises a physical uplink control channel resource indicator field of the first downlink control information (See ¶.74, the UE may determine one PUCCH resource (index) in the PUCCH resource set (for example, a cell-specifically or UE-dedicatedly determined PUCCH resource set) based on at least one of a value of a certain field (for example, PUCCH resource indication indicator field) in the downlink control information (DCI) (for example, DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 used for scheduling of the PDSCH)).”
Regarding claim 12, Matsumura discloses “obtaining a spatial setting of a physical uplink control channel from the second selection; and transmitting the physical uplink control channel according to the spatial setting (See ¶.70, the PUCCH configuration information may include a list of PUCCH resource set information (for example, PUCCH-ResourceSet) and a list of PUCCH spatial relation information (for example, PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo)).”
Regarding claim 13, Matsumura discloses “the physical uplink control channel is transmitted with a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement corresponding to the physical downlink shared channel (See ¶.301, in a case that the specific UL transmission is a PUCCH, the DL signal corresponding to the specific UL transmission may be a PDSCH corresponding to the PUCCH (a PDSCH corresponding to a HARQ-ACK carried on the PUCCH)).”
Regarding claim 14, Matsumura discloses “determining a time offset between the first downlink control information and the physical downlink shared channel according to the first downlink control information; in response to the time offset being less than a threshold, determining that a demodulation reference signal port of the physical downlink shared channel is quasi co-located with at least one reference signal with respect to at least one quasi co-location parameter, wherein the quasi co-location parameter is associated with a default transmission configuration indicator state; and receiving the physical downlink shared channel by the demodulation reference signal port (See Fig.4A, scheduling offset and Quasi-co-located; See ¶.218, the example in FIG. 4A is the multi-PDCCH, in which the DCI 1 schedules the PDSCH 1 and the DCI 2 schedules the PDSCH 2. Both the scheduling offset 1 between the DCI 1 and the PDSCH 1 and the scheduling offset 2 between the DCI 1 and the PDSCH 1 are smaller than the scheduling offset threshold).”
Regarding claim 15, Matsumura discloses “obtaining a list of a plurality of codepoints from a medium access control element, wherein each of the plurality of codepoints indicates two different transmission configuration indicator states, wherein the default transmission configuration indicator state is a transmission configuration indicator state corresponding to a lowest codepoint among the plurality of codepoints (See ¶.49, one of the plurality of TCI states configured through RRC signaling may be activated by the MAC CE for each CORESET. The MAC CE may be referred to as a TCI state indication for UE-specific PDCCH MAC CE. The UE may monitor a CORESET based on an active TCI state corresponding to the CORESET; See ¶.54, The MAC CE may be referred to as a TCI states activation/deactivation for UE-specific PDSCH MAC CE. A value of the TCI field in the DCI may indicate one of the TCI states activated by the MAC CE; See ¶.172, The specific TCI codepoint may be the smallest or largest TCI codepoint. For example, in a case that the TCI field has three bits, the smallest TCI codepoint is 000 and the largest TCI codepoint is 111. The default TCI state of the specific TCI codepoint can be specified for the UE by way of the MAC CE).”
Regarding claim 16, Matsumura discloses “the default transmission configuration indicator state is the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states (See ¶.13, FIGS. 3A and 3B are diagrams to show examples of a case that the lowest TCI codepoint is applied to default TCI states for multi-PDSCH).”
Regarding claim 17, Matsumura discloses “receiving a second downlink control information, wherein the default transmission configuration indicator state is the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states indicated by the second downlink control information (See ¶.249, in a case that the DCI 1 is not present, and the DCI 2 schedules the PDSCH 1 and the PDSCH 2, the UE may assume that both the DMRS port for the PDSCH 1 and the DMRS port for the PDSCH 2 are QCL-ed with the RS in the TCI state for PDCCH corresponding to the lowest CORESET-ID of the panel 1 in the latest slot).”
Regarding claim 18, Matsumura discloses “the default transmission configuration indicator state is a transmission configuration indicator state activated when the physical downlink shared channel is received (See ¶.57, In a case that the TCI present information is set to “enabled”, in a case that the TCI field in the DCI in a component carrier (CC) scheduling (the PDSCH) indicates the activated TCI state in the scheduled CC or DL BWP, and the PDSCH is scheduled by DCI format 1_1, the UE may use the TCI according to the value of the TCI field in the detected PDCCH with the DCI for determining PDSCH antenna port QCL; See further ¶.66, for activated TCI).”
Regarding claim 19, Matsumura discloses “the default transmission configuration indicator state is a transmission configuration indicator state corresponding to a control resource set configured to the communication device (See ¶.189, the UE may determine that the default TCI states of one or both of the multi-PDSCH scheduled by using the single PDCCH are the QCL assumptions for the CORESET associated with the lowest CORESET-ID in the latest slot in which one or more CORESETs within an active BWP of a serving cell are configured for the UE).”
Regarding claim 20, Matsumura discloses “in response to the TCI selection field not being comprised in the first downlink control information, determining a first transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states according to a preconfigured association between the first transmission configuration indicator state and the demodulation reference signal port, wherein the demodulation reference signal port is indicated by an antenna port field of the first downlink control information; and receiving the physical downlink shared channel by the demodulation reference signal port (See ¶.47, The information relating to the QCL between a PDCCH (or a DMRS antenna port associated with the PDCCH) and a certain RS may be referred to as a TCI state for PDCCH; See ¶.50, the information relating to the QCL between a PDSCH (or a DMRS antenna port associated with the PDSCH) and a certain DL-RS may be referred to as a TCI state for PDSCH; See ¶.56, In a case that the TCI present information is not configured for the CORESET for scheduling the PDSCH, or the PDSCH is scheduled by DCI format 1_0, in a case that a time offset between reception of the DL DCI (DCI for scheduling the PDSCH) and reception of the PDSCH corresponding to the DCI is equal to or greater than a threshold, the UE may assume that the TCI state or QCL assumption for the PDSCH is identical to a TCI state or QCL assumption that is applied to the CORESET used for the PDCCH transmission scheduling the PDSCH for determining the PDSCH antenna port QCL; See further ¶.57; See ¶.260, the number of DMRS CDM groups without data (number of CDM group(s) without data), an antenna port index (DMRS port(s)) for PDSCH, and the like are specified for the UE based on an antenna port field included in the DCI (DL DCI)).”
Regarding claim 23, Matsumura discloses “the physical downlink shared channel is corresponded to a semi persistent scheduling (See ¶.87, a simi-persistent SRS; See ¶.283, the UE may be semi-statically configured with whether the PDSCH is single TRP based or multi-TRP based).”
Regarding claim 24, it is a method claim for transmission corresponding to the method claim 1 for reception, except the limitation “transmitting the PUCCH according to the first DCI (See ¶.101, the UE may determine a spatial relation for a PUSCH scheduled by the DCI based on a value of a certain field (for example, SRS resource indicator (SRI) field) in the DCI (for example, DCI format 0_1))” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claims 25-30, they are claims corresponding to claims 2-5 & 8, respectively and are therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claims.
Regarding claim 33, Matsumura discloses “in response to the TCI selection field not being comprised in the first downlink control information, determining the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states according to a transmission configuration indicator field; applying the first transmission configuration indicator to a spatial setting; and transmitting the physical uplink control channel by the spatial setting (See ¶.23-24, the TCI state may be a state applied to a downlink signal/channel. A state that corresponds to the TCI state applied to an uplink signal/channel may be expressed as spatial relation. [0024] The TCI state is information relating to a quasi-co-location (QCL) of the signal/channel, and may be referred to as a spatial reception parameter, spatial relation information, and the like. The TCI state may be configured for the UE for each channel or for each signal; See ¶.70, The PUCCH configuration information may include a list of PUCCH resource set information (for example, PUCCH-ResourceSet) and a list of PUCCH spatial relation information (for example, PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo); See further ¶.75-76, ¶.78, ¶.101-102 for details of spatial setting/relation; See ¶.249, in FIG. 4A, in a case that the DCI 1 is not present, and the DCI 2 schedules the PDSCH 1 and the PDSCH 2, the UE may assume that both the DMRS port for the PDSCH 1 and the DMRS port for the PDSCH 2 are QCL-ed with the RS in the TCI state for PDCCH corresponding to the lowest CORESET-ID of the panel 1 in the latest slot).”
Regarding claim 34, Matsumura discloses “in response to the TCI selection field not being comprised in the first downlink control information, applying a first transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states to a spatial setting; and transmitting the physical uplink control channel by the spatial setting (See ¶.249, in FIG. 4A, in a case that the DCI 1 is not present, and the DCI 2 schedules the PDSCH 1 and the PDSCH 2, the UE may assume that both the DMRS port for the PDSCH 1 and the DMRS port for the PDSCH 2 are QCL-ed with the RS in the TCI state for PDCCH corresponding to the lowest CORESET-ID of the panel 1 in the latest slot; See ¶.23-24, the TCI state may be a state applied to a downlink signal/channel. A state that corresponds to the TCI state applied to an uplink signal/channel may be expressed as spatial relation. [0024] The TCI state is information relating to a quasi-co-location (QCL) of the signal/channel, and may be referred to as a spatial reception parameter, spatial relation information, and the like. The TCI state may be configured for the UE for each channel or for each signal; See ¶.70, The PUCCH configuration information may include a list of PUCCH resource set information (for example, PUCCH-ResourceSet) and a list of PUCCH spatial relation information (for example, PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo)).”
Regarding claim 35, Matsumura discloses “in response to the TCI selection field not being comprised in the first downlink control information, applying a first transmission configuration indicator state and a second transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states to a spatial setting; and transmitting the physical uplink control channel by the spatial setting (See ¶.249, in FIG. 4A, in a case that the DCI 1 is not present, and the DCI 2 schedules the PDSCH 1 and the PDSCH 2, the UE may assume that both the DMRS port for the PDSCH 1 and the DMRS port for the PDSCH 2 are QCL-ed with the RS in the TCI state for PDCCH corresponding to the lowest CORESET-ID of the panel 1 in the latest slot; See ¶.23-24, the TCI state may be a state applied to a downlink signal/channel. A state that corresponds to the TCI state applied to an uplink signal/channel may be expressed as spatial relation. [0024] The TCI state is information relating to a quasi-co-location (QCL) of the signal/channel, and may be referred to as a spatial reception parameter, spatial relation information, and the like. The TCI state may be configured for the UE for each channel or for each signal; See ¶.70, The PUCCH configuration information may include a list of PUCCH resource set information (for example, PUCCH-ResourceSet) and a list of PUCCH spatial relation information (for example, PUCCH-SpatialRelationInfo)).”
Regarding claim 38, Matsumura discloses “receiving a physical downlink shared channel according to the first downlink control information before transmitting the physical uplink control channel (See ¶.74, the UE may determine one PUCCH resource based on PUCCH resource indication indicator in the downlink control information (DCI) (for example, DCI format 1_0 or 1_1 used for scheduling of the PDSCH)).”
Regarding claim 39, it is a claim corresponding to the claim 23 and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claim 40, it is a user equipment claim for reception corresponding to the method claim 1, except the limitation “a transceiver and a processor (See Fig.10, processing section and a transceiver)” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Regarding claim 41, it is a user equipment claim for transmission corresponding to the method claim 24, except the limitation “a transceiver and a processor (See Fig.10, processing section and a transceiver)” and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Claims 36 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura in view of Matsumura’751 and further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0276454, “Zhu”).
Regarding claim 36, Matsumura and Matsumura’751 do not explicitly disclose what Zhu discloses “in response to the TCI selection field not being comprised in the first downlink control information, determining the selection of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states according to a physical uplink control channel resource indicator field of the first downlink control information (Zhu, See ¶.54, if a gNB indicates a UL-TCI codepoint in DCI that is undefined or deactivated by MAC-CE, a UE may use the spatialRelationInfo of the SRS resource indicated by an SRI field as UL TX spatial filter; or 2) one of a UL-TCI codepoints (e.g., such as 0x7) may be reserved for the gNB to signal to the UE to use the spatialRelationInfo of the SRS resource indicated by the SRI field as the UL TX spatial filter—the UE is not expected to receive an UL-TCI field in the DCI pointing to a codepoint that is neither activated by the MAC-CE nor is the reserved value (e.g., 0x7)).”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply the method of “in response to the TCI selection field not being comprised in the first downlink control information, determining the selection of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states according to a physical uplink control channel resource indicator field of the first downlink control information” as taught by Zhu into the system of Matsumura and Matsumura’751, so that it provides a way for the UE to use the spatial relation information as uplink transmission spatial filter (Zhu, See ¶.54).
Regarding claim 37, it is a claim corresponding to the claim 15 and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of the claim.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 22, 31, and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcoming the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been considered. But, in view of the applicant’s amendment to the claims, examiner has clarified and totally remapped the rejection to the argued claim limitations and newly added claim limitations, using the prior art of record in the current prosecution of the claims and a new prior art by Matsumura’751. The previous 102 rejection by Matsumura has been replaced with a new 103 rejection over Matsumura in view of Matsumura’751.
At pages 17-18, with respect to claim 1, applicant argues that “Matsumura fails to disclose or suggest any mechanism in which, after the UE has already obtained two indicated transmission configuration indicator states from a specific transmission configuration indicator codepoint, a further field within the downlink control information is used to dynamically select one of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states. That is, Matsumura lacks any teaching of determining an applied TCI state through the cooperative indication of different DCI fields (e.g., a TCI field and a TCI selection field)” by asserting that
“Accordingly, based on Claim 1 having now been clarified to require obtaining two indicated transmission configuration indicator states indicated by the specific codepoint in the transmission configuration indicator field, Applicant respectfully submits that "in response to a transmission configuration indicator selection field being comprised in the first downlink control information, obtaining a codepoint from the transmission configuration indicator selection field, wherein the codepoint is associated with a selection of the two indicated transmission configuration indicator states when the specific codepoint indicates the two transmission configuration indicator states" as recited in Claim 1 is not disclosed by Matsumura.”
In reply, as rejected in claim 1, Matsumura discloses the method of selecting active TCI state as default spatial relation (See ¶.307), but does not explicitly disclose the limitations “a selection of the two indicated TCI states when the specific codepoint indicates the two states.”
However, Matsumura’751 discloses the method of selecting one of the two indicated TCI states when the specific codepoint indicates the two states (Matsumura’751, See ¶.61 and ¶.75, the selected TCI set may be configured (or mapped) to a code point of a given bit field included in the DCI. The given bit field may be, for example, a bit field for TCI state indication; See ¶.92, note that only one TCI state of a plurality of paired TCI states (here, two TCI states) may be activated/selected; See ¶.94, the TCI state corresponding to a given code point may be the TCI state activated according to the MAC control information among the TCI states included in the pair corresponding to the given code point; See ¶.104, one of the two TCI states may be activated according to the MAC control information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art applies the method of “selecting one of the two indicated TCI states when the specific codepoint indicates the two states” as taught by Matsumura’751 into the system of Matsumura in order to provide a way of activating only one TCI state of two TCI states as described in the paragraph.[0092] of Matsumura’751.
Contact Information
/JUNG H PARK/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411