DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 4/2/26. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 3 is canceled. Claims 5-7 are added. Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected finally for the reasons provided below.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 4 be found allowable, claim 6 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshitomi et al. (US 2020/0122579) in view of Castleman et al. (US 2022/0250485).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Yoshitomi teaches a fuel cell system comprising:
a stack in which fuel cells are laminated, or fuel cell stack (52); an anode system which supplies fuel gas to the stack, or fuel gas circulation apparatus (30); and a cathode system which supplies oxidant to the stack, or oxidant gas supply apparatus (10);
wherein the cathode system includes a pump which pressure feeds the oxidant gas and a pump drive device, or power drive unit PDU (14), electrically connected to the pump via a power wire, or cable (19) (Figure 2B, [0019], [0022]) (the examiner finds that the skilled artisan will easily understand that a power cable inherently provide voltage);
wherein the pump and pump drive device are arranged side by side (Figures 2B and 3B).
Further regarding claims 1 and 6, and with regard to claims 2, 5, and 7, Yoshitomi fails to teach the specific structural arrangement of the pump and pump drive device; however, Yoshitomi teaches that the elements of the system can be arranged with different orientations to mount the apparatuses within the fuel cell vehicle in the spaces that are available ([0034]). It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to arrange the apparatuses of the fuel cell system of Yoshitomi in the space available, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI C)
Further regarding claims 1 and 6, Yoshitomi teaches the fuel cell system of claim 1 including a pump discharge port which provides oxidant gas to the fuel cell stack (see Figure 1) but is silent on the frame as claimed.
Castleman teaches a fuel cell system including a frame, or frame structure (34), defining an interior cavity configured to retain a fuel cell assembly and secure the assembly to a powertrain carrier assembly ([0008]). Castleman teaches that the fuel cell assembly may include various components including pumps ([0038]).
Castleman further teaches that the use of frames for holding fuel cell assemblies is desirable to provide an improved assembly and design for easily installing and removing multiple stacks/assemblies from a vehicle in a single process for improved serviceability ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a frame for encompassing the fuel cell assembly of Yoshitomi such as suggested by Castleman in order to provide an improved assembly and design for easily installing and removing multiple stacks/assemblies from a vehicle in a single process for improved serviceability.
Concerning the arrangement of the discharge port relative to other components in the assembly and the frame, the examiner maintains that it is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to arrange the apparatuses of the fuel cell system of Yoshitomi in view of Castleman in the space available, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI C)
Further regarding claim 6 and with regarding claim 4, Castleman teaches providing at least two fuel cell systems (Figures 6-7) and an air cleaner, or filter ([0046]). The skilled artisan will understand that providing additional systems would have been obvious to provide additional power to meet the demands of the vehicle. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI B)
The examiner finds that the pump of Yoshitomi has an inlet (see Figure 1) that the skilled artisan will easily understand to be a suction port, in order to intake air from the outside of the pump, and since the structure recited in the reference, i.e. a pump, is substantially identical to the claimed structure. MPEP 2112.01 I
As to the arrangements of the pumps, suction ports, and air filter, the examiner finds, as discussed above, that it is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to arrange the apparatuses of the fuel cell system of Yoshitomi in view of Castleman in the space available, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (VI C)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/2/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., specifics of the power linking wire at top of page 7 and specifics of the frame at the top of page 8) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
With further regard to Applicant’s arguments concerning the alleged advantages of the claimed structure, Applicant is reminded that mere recognition of additional advantage not recognized in the prior art does not rebut prima facie obviousness, per MPEP 2145 II.
The examiner finds that the arguments presented in the Remarks filed 4/2/26 do not overcome the established obviousness rejections finding that it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to arrange the structural elements known in the prior art to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALIX E EGGERDING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729