DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicants’ Amendment and Remarks filed on 8/26/2025 in which claim 1 is amended. No claims are newly added or canceled.
Claims 1-3 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 8/26/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), has been fully considered and is persuasive. Applicant amended the claims to remove “significantly” alleviating the indefiniteness. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 8/26/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Van Riet et al. (US 2022/0022515A1), in view of Salli et al. (Sci. Rep., 2019), has been fully considered and is persuasive. The prior art does not teach increasing abundance of Veillonella by 2.5 times. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Maintained Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112—Second Paragraph
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Preferences, options and examples are properly set forth in the specification, but when included in the claims lead to confusion over the intended scope of the claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For examination purposes, the broadest claim limitation(s) will be considered without taking into account preferences or examples.
Response to Arguments
Applicant provided no response to the indefiniteness rejection of the term “preferably”. The rejection is still deemed proper and is maintained.
Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
The following are new ground(s) or modified rejections necessitated by Applicants' amendment, filed on 8/26/2025, wherein instant independent claims 1 is amended to alter the breadth and scope of the claim, wherein the remaining pending claims depend from said independent claims. Therefore, new grounds of rejection have been made.
New Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Riet et al. (US 2022/0022515A1, reference of record), in view of Linder et al. (Children, Feb 2023, PTO-892).
Van Riet discloses a method improving a subject's sports performance, and/or non-therapeutically improving a subject's recovery by administering a composition comprising 2’-fucosyllactose, at 0.8-4.0 g/day, exemplified at 2.5 g/day for 60 days. (Claims 16, 20, 21; Example 2)
Van Riet does not teach increasing the abundance of Veillonella.
Linder et al. discloses that 2’-fucosyllactose is effective to significantly increase abundance of Veillonella. (Abstract) Linder further discloses that 2’-FL increased relative abundance of Veillonella versus control by 1-2 log2 (i.e. 2-4 times). (Figure 3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the 2’-fucosyllactose administered in the method of Van Riet would necessarily increase the abundance of Veillonella by 2.5 times, thereby arriving at the instant invention, because Linder teaches that 2’-fucosyllactose is effective to increase abundance of Veillonella by 2-4 times. With respect to the limitation “2.5 times”, this value lies within the range taught by the prior art. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2144.05(I))
Accordingly, the instant claims are prima facie obvious over the teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new and/or modified ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DALE R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693