CTFR 18/303,128 CTFR 89092 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed May 6 th , 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues Johnson teaches air knives oriented to discharge airflow in the same direction as the laser beam, but this is not the same as oriented as a same angle relative to the second longitudinal axis, that Johnson does not address a second longitudinal axis offset from a central longitudinal axis, and that Johnson parallel air sheets cannot constitute an angular relationship. These arguments are not persuasive. The claim recites “the nozzle outlet of the purging nozzle and the laser head are oriented at a same angle relative to the second longitudinal axis”. Johnson teaches that air knives (200) discharge airflow “generally parallel to the laser beam 172” (paragraph 52). The laser head directs energy along the second longitudinal axis. If both air knife outlet and laser head are oriented parallel to the laser beam direction, they are oriented at the same angle. With respect to the offset axis, Applicant is arguing against Johnson when the rejection was a combination of Batarseh in view of Johnson. Thereby, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller , 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). With respect to the angular relationship, being defined parallel relative to one another is a defined angular relationship: 0 degrees of angular offset. Two components oriented in the same direction are oriented at the same angle. Applicant conflates “angular relationship” with “non-zero angular relationship”. Lastly, the motivation to combine Batarseh and Johnson is to orient the purging nozzle to ensure purging of the medium flow is co-directional with the laser beam, maximizing debris clearing effectiveness . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-8, 11-12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh (US 20200094352) in view of Johnson (US 20220314365) . Regarding claims 1 and 7-8 ; Batarseh discloses a laser tool, comprising: a tool body (30, 31) disposed at least partially along a central longitudinal axis (axis of pipe 29); a head unit (11) connected to the tool body with a rotational joint (joints of arm 14) and configured to rotate around the central longitudinal axis (see 27), the head unit comprising: a laser head (11) configured to direct a laser energy (13) toward a target (60) and along a second longitudinal axis of the head unit (axis of head unit); and a purging nozzle (49) fluidly connected to a fluid source and comprising a nozzle outlet (outlet of 49) oriented at an angle relative to the second longitudinal axis of the head unit (offset from axis of laser head 11), the purging nozzle configured to direct fluid at an angle into a pathway of the laser energy from the laser head to bias purged material out of the pathway of the laser energy (Paragraph 43); and the rotational joint supporting the head unit on the tool body, the rotational joint configured to move the head unit in a radial direction relative to the central longitudinal axis such that, in a first position of the rotational joint, the second longitudinal axis of the head unit is radially offset from the central longitudinal axis (axis of laser beam 11 is offset and parallel to axis of holder 31; see Paragraphs 26 and 31 describing degrees of freedom and movement). Batarseh fails to teach the nozzle outlet and the laser head are oriented at the same angle relative to the second longitudinal axis, and the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife, and the nozzle outlet of the purging knife defines an outlet opening having a linear shape, the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis. Johnson teaches a laser module and effector with air knives (200) for clearing contaminants from the laser spot (180). The nozzle outlet of the purging knife (200) defines an outlet opening (204) having a linear shape (Paragraph 52), the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis (Paragraphs 52-53, Figures 3-4). Johnson further teaches the laser module with air knives (200) that are oriented to discharge airflow in the same direction as the laser beam (Paragraph 52; Figures 3-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser tool of Batarseh such that the nozzle outlet and the laser head are oriented at the same angle relative to the second longitudinal axis as taught by Johnson for the purposes of ensuring the purging medium flow is co-directional with the laser beam to maximize the debris clearing effectiveness along the beam path. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser tool of Batarseh such that the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife, and the nozzle outlet of the purging knife defines an outlet opening having a linear shape, the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis as taught by Johnson for the purposes of providing a uniform sheet of purging fluid across the laser beam pathway to more effectively clear debris and contaminants from the ablation site. Regarding claim 2 , Batarseh in view of Johnson teaches a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses the tool body comprises a housing at least partially enclosing the head unit and rotational joint (holder 31 contain part 32; Paragraph 31). Regarding claim 3 , Batarseh in view of Johnson teaches a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses a vacuum system having a vacuum housing (housing of vacuum 50) configured to collect the purged material (Paragraph 45). Regarding claim 4 , Batarseh in view of Johnson teaches a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses the laser head comprises one or more optical lenses to control or direct the laser energy through the laser head (Paragraph 24). Regarding claim 6 , Batarseh in view of Johnson teaches a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses a laser source to provide the laser energy to the laser head (Paragraphs 33-34). Regarding claims 11-12 , Batarseh in view of Johnson teaches a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses in the first position of the rotational joint, the second longitudinal axis of the head unit is parallel to and radially offset from the central longitudinal axis of the tool body (Paragraph 26), and the head unit further comprises a camera at least partially directed at the target (Paragraph 38). Regarding claim 22 ; Batarseh discloses a laser tool, comprising: a tool body (30, 31) disposed at least partially along a central longitudinal axis (axis of pipe 29); a head unit (11) connected to the tool body with a rotational joint (joints of arm 14) and configured to rotate around the central longitudinal axis (see 27), the head unit comprising: a laser head (11) configured to direct a laser energy (13) toward a target (60) along a second longitudinal axis of the head unit (axis of the head unit); and a purging nozzle (49) fluidly connected to a fluid source and comprising a nozzle outlet (outlet of 49), the purging nozzle configured to direct fluid into a pathway of the laser energy from the laser head to bias purged material out of the pathway of the laser energy (Paragraph 43); and the rotational joint supporting the head unit on the tool body, the rotational joint configured to move the head unit in a radial direction relative to the central longitudinal axis such that, in a first position of the rotational joint, the second longitudinal axis of the head unit is radially offset from the central longitudinal axis (axis of laser beam 11 is offset and parallel to axis of holder 31; see Paragraphs 26 and 31 describing degrees of freedom and movement). Batarseh fails to teach the nozzle outlet and the laser head are oriented at the same angle relative to the second longitudinal axis. Johnson teaches a laser module and effector with air knives (200) for clearing contaminants from the laser spot (180). The nozzle outlet of the purging knife (200) defines an outlet opening (204) having a linear shape (Paragraph 52), the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis (Paragraphs 52-53, Figures 3-4). Johnson further teaches the laser module with air knives (200) that are oriented to discharge airflow in the same direction as the laser beam (Paragraph 52; Figures 3-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser tool of Batarseh such that the nozzle outlet and the laser head are oriented at the same angle relative to the second longitudinal axis as taught by Johnson for the purposes of ensuring the purging medium flow is co-directional with the laser beam to maximize the debris clearing effectiveness along the beam path . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh (US 20200094352) in view of Johnson (US 20220314365), and further in view of Al Obaid (US 20210404280) . Batarseh in view of Johnson teaches the laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh fails to teach the laser head comprises a laser opening having a rectangular or wedge shape, the laser opening configured to direct the laser energy in a rectangular shape toward the target. Al Obaid teaches a laser tool with a mono-optic element (105) within a focusing system (100) that is configured to alter a geometry of the laser beam such that the cross-sectional shape of the beam may change from circular to oval or from oval to rectangular (Paragraph 63). Rectangular cutting patterns are used to cut sections into a casing, the laser may cut “square shaped sections” and other shapes such as rectangles (Paragraph 27). The laser opening (145) can be rectangular shaped (Paragraphs 62-63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser head of Batarseh such that the laser head comprises a laser opening having a rectangular or wedge shape, the laser opening configured to direct the laser energy in a rectangular shape toward the target as taught by Al Obaid of the purposes of enabling more efficient ablatio of material buildup by matching the beam shape to the target geometry and reducing the number of passes needed . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh (US 20200094352) in view of Johnson (US 20220314365), and further in view of Tiwari (US 20210396087) . Batarseh in view of Johnson teaches the laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses the tool body has articulated flexible joints that enable six degrees of freedom of movement including radial movement relative to the pipe’s central longitudinal axis (Paragraph 26). Batarseh fails to teach the rotational joint comprises a hinge joint configured to pivot about a hinge. Tiwari teaches a powered articulated downhole tool (100) with sections (102, 103) coupled by joints (106), including hinge joints (Paragraph 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser tool of Batarseh such that the rotational joint comprises a hinge joint configured to pivot about a hinge as taught by Tiwari for the purposes of reducing mechanical complexity while retaining the necessary radial positioning capability in the downhole environment . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh (US 20200094352) in view of Johnson (US 20220314365) and Al Obaid (US 20210404280), and further in view of Neiheisel (US 5736709) . Regarding claim 23 ; Batarseh in view of Johnson and Al Obaid teaches the laser tool according to claim 5 above. Batarseh fails to teach a long dimension of the rectangular shape of the laser energy extends radially outward from the central longitudinal axis. Al Obaid further teaches “As described, manipulating the laser beam may include altering a direction of the laser beam or changing a geometry of the laser beam” and then lists a plurality of different shapes and dimensions (Paragraph 63). Neiheisel teaches a laser tool that shapes the beam into a straight line (38) projected transversely completely across the surface (44) of a strip (40) having a direction of travel as indicated by the arrow (42). The line beam’s long dimension extends perpendicular to the sweep direction which is transversely across the strip width while the strip travels longitudinally. Because Batarseh and Neiheisel are directed to the same field of endeavor with respect to laser descaling, and because Al Obaid provides a rectangular beam shape for a downhole laser tool and shows that the geometry can be altered and changed, and because Neiheisel teaches the principle of orienting a line beam’s long dimension perpendicular to the sweep direction for maximum surface coverage per pass, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dimensions of the laser energy of Batarseh as modified by Al Obaid such that a long dimension of the rectangular shape of the laser energy extends radially outward from the central longitudinal axis as taught by Neiheisel for the purposes of maximizing the removal coverage per circumferential rotation and reducing the number of passes needed. Regarding claims 24-25 ; Batarseh in view of Johnson, Al Obaid, and Neiheisel teaches the laser tool according to claim 23 above. Batarseh as modified by Johnson teaches the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife (Batarseh, Paragraph 43) with air knives with linear air slots for debris clearing (Johnson, Paragraph 52). Batarseh further discloses the rotational joint is further configured to rotate the head unit about the central longitudinal axis to change an angle of the laser head and the purging nozzle from a first to a second angle about the longitudinal axis relative to the target (Paragraph 26; the rotation of head unit changes angle between multiple circumferential positions to enable a circumferential sweep o the interior, and thus would change angles between first/second). Batarseh fails to teach the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife with a linear outlet that extends radially outward from the central longitudinal axis and that the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis along the linear shape. Johnson teaches the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife (air knife 200) with a nozzle outlet defining an outlet opening having a linear shape (204, Paragraph 52). Neiheisel teaches the long-slot-like gas nozzle (114) extends the full length of focused line (38); thus the linear gas nozzle is oriented parallel to the beam. Since the line beam’s long dimension extends radially outward, the parallel linear nozzle likewise extends radially outward from the central longitudinal axis. Batarseh further discloses the purging nozzle direct fluid to move debris out of the way of the laser beam. The purging fluid sweeps debris inward, toward the central axis, to clear the beam path. Johnson teaches the air knives discharge airflow in a direction non-perpendicular to the laser beam (172); this is interpreted to be angled to sweep across the beam path. Neiheisel confirms an angled nozzle configuration (Col. 13, Lines 18-20), and directing debris away from the treatment zone. In the pipe context, the exhaust direction corresponds to the inward (toward central axis), as debris must be cleared from the beam path between the radially offset laser head and the pipe wall. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser tool of Batarseh such that the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife with a linear outlet that extends radially outward from the central longitudinal axis and that the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis along the linear shape as taught by Johnson and Neiheisel with the principle of aligning the slot nozzle with the line beam (Batarseh pipe geometry requiring inward debris clearing and Johnson’s angled airflow) for the purposes of sweeping debris inward across the full radial extent of the laser energy pathway to maintain a clear beam path during circumferential treatment to the pipe interior . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh (US 20200094352) in view of Johnson (US 20220314365), and further in view of Neiheisel (US 5736709) . Batarseh in view of Johnson teaches the laser tool according to claim 7 above. Batarseh as modified by Johnson teaches the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife (Batarseh, Paragraph 43) with air knives with linear air slots for debris clearing (Johnson, Paragraph 52). Batarseh fails to teach the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife with a linear outlet that extends radially outward from the central longitudinal axis and that the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis along the linear shape. Johnson teaches the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife (air knife 200) with a nozzle outlet defining an outlet opening having a linear shape (204, Paragraph 52). Neiheisel teaches the long-slot-like gas nozzle (114) extends the full length of focused line (38); thus the linear gas nozzle is oriented parallel to the beam. Since the line beam’s long dimension extends radially outward, the parallel linear nozzle likewise extends radially outward from the central longitudinal axis. Batarseh further discloses the purging nozzle direct fluid to move debris out of the way of the laser beam. The purging fluid sweeps debris inward, toward the central axis, to clear the beam path. Johnson teaches the air knives discharge airflow in a direction non-perpendicular to the laser beam (172); this is interpreted to be angled to sweep across the beam path. Neiheisel confirms an angled nozzle configuration (Col. 13, Lines 18-20), and directing debris away from the treatment zone. In the pipe context, the exhaust direction corresponds to the inward (toward central axis), as debris must be cleared from the beam path between the radially offset laser head and the pipe wall. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser tool of Batarseh such that the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife with a linear outlet that extends radially outward from the central longitudinal axis and that the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis along the linear shape as taught by Johnson and Neiheisel with the principle of aligning the slot nozzle with the line beam (Batarseh pipe geometry requiring inward debris clearing and Johnson’s angled airflow) for the purposes of sweeping debris inward across the full radial extent of the laser energy pathway to maintain a clear beam path during circumferential treatment to the pipe interior. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUSTIN D SEABE whose telephone number is (571)272-4961. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9:00-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathaniel Wiehe can be reached at 571-272-8648. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUSTIN D SEABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 2 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 3 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 4 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 5 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 6 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 7 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 8 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 9 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 10 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 11 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 12 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/303,128 Page 13 Art Unit: 3745