DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 3rd, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-12, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Batarseh (US 20200094352).
Regarding claim 1, Batarseh discloses a laser tool, comprising: a tool body (30, 31) disposed at least partially along a central longitudinal axis (axis of pipe 29); a head unit (11) connected to the tool body with a rotational joint (joints of arm 14) and configured to rotate around the central longitudinal axis (see 27), the head unit comprising: a laser head (11) configured to direct a laser energy (13) toward a target (60) and along a second longitudinal axis of the head unit (axis of head unit); and a purging nozzle (49) fluidly connected to a fluid source and comprising a nozzle outlet (outlet of 49) oriented at an angle relative to the second longitudinal axis of the head unit (offset from axis of laser head 11), the purging nozzle configured to direct fluid at an angle into a pathway of the laser energy from the laser head to bias purged material out of the pathway of the laser energy (Paragraph 43); and the rotational joint supporting the head unit on the tool body, the rotational joint configured to move the head unit in a radial direction relative to the central longitudinal axis such that, in a first position of the rotational joint, the second longitudinal axis of the head unit is radially offset from the central longitudinal axis (axis of laser beam 11 is offset and parallel to axis of holder 31; see Paragraphs 26 and 31 describing degrees of freedom and movement).
Regarding claim 2, Batarseh discloses a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses the tool body comprises a housing at least partially enclosing the head unit and rotational joint (holder 31 contain part 32; Paragraph 31).
Regarding claim 3, Batarseh discloses a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses a vacuum system having a vacuum housing (housing of vacuum 50) configured to collect the purged material (Paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 4, Batarseh discloses a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses the laser head comprises one or more optical lenses to control or direct the laser energy through the laser head (Paragraph 24).
Regarding claim 6, Batarseh discloses a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses a laser source to provide the laser energy to the laser head (Paragraphs 33-34).
Regarding claims 11-12, Batarseh discloses a laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses in the first position of the rotational joint, the second longitudinal axis of the head unit is parallel to and radially offset from the central longitudinal axis of the tool body (Paragraph 26), and the head unit further comprises a camera at least partially directed at the target (Paragraph 38).
Regarding claim 22, Batarseh discloses a laser tool, comprising: a tool body (30, 31) disposed at least partially along a central longitudinal axis (axis of pipe 29); a head unit (11) connected to the tool body with a rotational joint (joints of arm 14) and configured to rotate around the central longitudinal axis (see 27), the head unit comprising: a laser head (11) configured to direct a laser energy (13) toward a target (60) along a second longitudinal axis of the head unit (axis of the head unit); and a purging nozzle (49) fluidly connected to a fluid source and comprising a nozzle outlet (outlet of 49), the purging nozzle configured to direct fluid into a pathway of the laser energy from the laser head to bias purged material out of the pathway of the laser energy (Paragraph 43); and the rotational joint supporting the head unit on the tool body, the rotational joint configured to move the head unit in a radial direction relative to the central longitudinal axis such that, in a first position of the rotational joint, the second longitudinal axis of the head unit is radially offset from the central longitudinal axis (axis of laser beam 11 is offset and parallel to axis of holder 31; see Paragraphs 26 and 31 describing degrees of freedom and movement).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh (US 20200094352) in view of Al Obaid (US 20210404280).
Batarseh discloses the laser tool according to claim 1 above.
Batarseh fails to teach the laser head comprises a laser opening having a rectangular or wedge shape, the laser opening configured to direct the laser energy in a rectangular shape toward the target.
Al Obaid teaches a laser tool with a mono-optic element (105) within a focusing system (100) that is configured to alter a geometry of the laser beam such that the cross-sectional shape of the beam may change from circular to oval or from oval to rectangular (Paragraph 63). Rectangular cutting patterns are used to cut sections into a casing, the laser may cut “square shaped sections” and other shapes such as rectangles (Paragraph 27). The laser opening (145) can be rectangular shaped (Paragraphs 62-63).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser head of Batarseh such that the laser head comprises a laser opening having a rectangular or wedge shape, the laser opening configured to direct the laser energy in a rectangular shape toward the target as taught by Al Obaid of the purposes of enabling more efficient ablatio of material buildup by matching the beam shape to the target geometry and reducing the number of passes needed.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh (US 20200094352) in view of Johnson (US 20220314365).
Regarding claims 7-8;
Batarseh discloses the laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses purging nozzle (49) that output purging medium to move debris out of the path (Paragraph 43).
Batarseh fails to teach the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife, and the nozzle outlet of the purging knife defines an outlet opening having a linear shape, the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis.
Johnson teaches a laser module and effector with air knives (200) for clearing contaminants from the laser spot (180). The nozzle outlet of the purging knife (200) defines an outlet opening (204) having a linear shape (Paragraph 52), the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis (Paragraphs 52-53, Figures 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser tool of Batarseh such that the purging nozzle comprises a purging knife, and the nozzle outlet of the purging knife defines an outlet opening having a linear shape, the angle of the nozzle outlet is directed at least partially toward the central longitudinal axis as taught by Johnson for the purposes of providing a uniform sheet of purging fluid across the laser beam pathway to more effectively clear debris and contaminants from the ablation site.
Regarding claim 9;
Batarseh discloses the laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses purging nozzle (49) that output purging medium to move debris out of the path (Paragraph 43).
Batarseh fails to teach the nozzle outlet and the laser head are oriented at the same angle relative to the second longitudinal axis.
Johnson teaches the laser module with air knives (200) that are oriented to discharge airflow in the same direction as the laser beam (Paragraph 52; Figures 3-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser tool of Batarseh such that the nozzle outlet and the laser head are oriented at the same angle relative to the second longitudinal axis as taught by Johnson for the purposes of ensuring the purging medium flow is co-directional with the laser beam to maximize the debris clearing effectiveness along the beam path.
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batarseh (US 20200094352) in view of Tiwari (US 20210396087).
Batarseh discloses the laser tool according to claim 1 above. Batarseh further discloses the tool body has articulated flexible joints that enable six degrees of freedom of movement including radial movement relative to the pipe’s central longitudinal axis (Paragraph 26).
Batarseh fails to teach the rotational joint comprises a hinge joint configured to pivot about a hinge.
Tiwari teaches a powered articulated downhole tool (100) with sections (102, 103) coupled by joints (106), including hinge joints (Paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser tool of Batarseh such that the rotational joint comprises a hinge joint configured to pivot about a hinge as taught by Tiwari for the purposes of reducing mechanical complexity while retaining the necessary radial positioning capability in the downhole environment.
Conclusion
/JUSTIN D SEABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745