DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 and 33-47 are pending and claims 18-32 have been cancelled.
This action is in response to the amendment filed 2/2/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The reference to Sammons is considered as having the sleeve being capable of being slidably removable from the body cavity, since the sleeve and body share a threaded connection, therefore, the sleeve 24 is considered as being slidably removable from the body cavity, since when it is unthreaded from the body 21, the two mating threads are in are contact with each other.
Since applicant’s amendments necessitated the new grounds for rejections, this action has been made Final.
The indicated allowability of claim 10 is withdrawn in view of the newly discovered reference(s) to Sammons. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, species III, figures 11-17 in the reply filed on 9/24/2024 has been acknowledged in prior actions.
Claim 7 is now withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claim 7 being drawn to Figure 2 as stated in applicant’s arguments dated 2/2/2026, and shown in Figure 2, the spring 2004 only partly within the sleeve 2000 cavity, applicant elected species III, figures 11-17 in the reply filed on 9/24/2024.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/24/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/29/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final action on 10/1/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
As stated in the prior action; for the IDS submitted 9/11/2025, It is noted that one citation has been crossed through since all of the pages were not included in the submission for that document.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s amendments overcome the prior rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6,9,10,12-15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Sammons (US 1268160).
Regarding claim 1, Sammons discloses a valve (shown in Fig. 1), comprising: a body (21) having an overall body length and including a body cavity (the space within 21);
a sleeve (18) having an overall sleeve length, being disposable within the body cavity, being slidably removable from the body cavity (since the sleeve and body are share a threaded connection, the sleeve is considered as being slidably removable from the body cavity when it is unthreaded from the body, as the two mating threads are in contact with each other), and including a sleeve cavity (space within 18), the overall sleeve length being no longer than the overall body length (as shown in the amended drawing below the sleeve cavity is not longer than the body); and
a rod (12) movably disposable within the sleeve cavity and configured to form a fluid-tight seal between the body cavity and the sleeve cavity while the rod is in a closed position (see Fig. 2) and to allow a fluid to flow from the body cavity to the sleeve cavity while the rod is in an open position (see Fig. 1).
When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP 2125.
Here, the drawings clearly show the sleeve overall length being shorter than the body overall length.
Regarding claim 2, Sammons discloses the body is configured for attachment to a structure having a fluid supply (p.1,col.1,lns. 43-48).
Regarding claim 3, Sammons discloses the body includes a flange (the bottom rounded horizontal end of 21) configured for attachment to a structure having a fluid supply (p.1,col.1,lns. 43-48).
Regarding claim 4, Sammons discloses the body includes an inlet (at the flange end, shown above) configured for coupling to a fluid supply and in fluid communication with the body cavity (p.1,col.1,lns. 43-48).
Regarding claim 5, Sammons discloses the body cavity includes an inner cavity wall (the inner wall of 21); and the sleeve includes an outer sleeve wall (the wall at the outer surface of 18) and is configured to form a fluid-tight seal (at the threaded joint between 21 and 18) between the inner cavity wall and the outer sleeve wall.
Regarding claim 6, Sammons discloses the body cavity includes an inner cavity wall (the wall within 21); wherein the sleeve includes an outer sleeve wall (the wall at the outer surface of 18); and at least one sleeve sealing ring (as shown in Fig. 2, the un-numbered thin ring abutting the wall of 22 surrounding the thread for 22) disposable around (interpreted as, in the area/vicinity of) the outer sleeve wall and configured to form a fluid-tight seal between the inner cavity wall and the outer sleeve wall.
Regarding claim 9, Sammons discloses the body cavity includes body-cavity threads (the female threads of 21 that mate with the male threads of sleeve 18); and the sleeve includes sleeve threads that are configured to secure the sleeve within the body cavity by engaging the body-cavity threads (As shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Sammons discloses a valve (see Fig. 1), comprising: a body (21) including a body cavity (the space within 21); a sleeve (18) removably disposable within the body cavity and including a sleeve cavity, the sleeve being no longer than the body; a rod (12) movably disposable within the sleeve cavity and configured to form a fluid-tight seal between the body cavity and the sleeve cavity while the rod is in a closed position (see Fig. 2) and to allow a fluid to flow from the body cavity to the sleeve cavity while the rod is in an open position; and a wedge (the raised radiused flange at the bottom most end of 21, being considered as a wedge in the broadest reasonable interpretation) of non-uniform thickness disposable around an outside of the body (the radiused surface creates the non-uniform thickness as shown below).
Regarding claim 12, Sammons discloses a rod sealing ring (the round tapered surface of 11, that abuts of seat 25) disposable around the rod and configured to form the fluid-tight seal between the body cavity and the sleeve cavity while the rod is in a closed position (see Fig. 2, p.1,col.2, lns. 84-87,100-103).
Regarding claim 13, Sammons discloses the sleeve cavity includes an inner wall (the inner wall of 18); and a rod sealing ring (the round tapered surface of 11, that abuts of seat 25) disposable around the rod and configured to form the fluid-tight seal with the inner wall of the sleeve cavity while the rod is in a closed position (see Fig. 2, p.1,col.2, lns. 84-87,100-103).
Regarding claim 14, Sammons discloses the sleeve has a sleeve end (the left end region 25 of 18); and a rod sealing ring (the round tapered surface of 11, that abuts of seat 25) disposable around the rod and configured to form the fluid-tight seal with the sleeve end while the rod is in a closed position (see Fig. 2, p.1,col.2, lns. 84-87,100-103).
Regarding claim 15, Sammons discloses the rod includes a seat (at 25); and a sealing ring (the round tapered surface of 11, that abuts of seat 25) disposable in the seat (the sealing ring is in the seat as it is within the inner diameter of the seat as shown in Fig. 2) and configured to form the fluid-tight seal between the body cavity and the sleeve cavity while the rod is in a closed position (see Fig. 2, p.1,col.2, lns. 84-87,100-103).
Regarding method claims 33,35-38,40,41,43-45 and 47, the device shown by Sammons will perform the methods as recited in claims 33,35-38,40,41,43-45 and 47, during normal operational use of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sammons ‘160 in view of Walcome (WO 2018136563).
Regarding claim 11, Sammons discloses all of the features of the claimed invention although is silent to having that the at least one of the body, sleeve, or rod are formed from a polymer.
Walcome ‘563 discloses at least one of the body, sleeve, or rod are formed from a polymer (para.00065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a polymer material in the body, sleeve or rod, as taught by Walcome ‘563, into one of the body, sleeve or rod components of Sammons, to have at least one of the body, sleeve, or rod are formed from a polymer, in order to utilize a polymer material which will permit the use of a molding process to manufacture the components to take advantage of a lower cost saving process when the volumes of sales become much larger, as is old and well known in the art. Additionally, a change of material is obvious, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 16, Sammons discloses all of the features of the claimed invention although is silent to having an anti-siphon assembly in fluid communication with at least one of the body cavity or the sleeve cavity.
Walcome ‘563 discloses an anti-siphon assembly (20) in fluid communication with at least one of the body cavity or the sleeve cavity (see Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ an anti-siphon assembly, as taught by Walcome ‘563, into the device of Sammons, to have an anti-siphon assembly in fluid communication with at least one of the body cavity or the sleeve cavity, in order to prevent water from entering the water supply and distribution system via the water valve and to allow water to drain while the valve is closed (Walcome ‘563, para.00031).
Claim(s) 39 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sammons ‘160 in view of Qiu (US 20100096028).
Regarding claims 39 and 46, Sammons discloses all of the features of the claimed invention, including a metal sealing ring surface on the rod, although is silent to having removing at least one seal ring from the rod, and installing at least one valve seal on the rod.
Qiu teaches the use of at least one seal ring (26) on the rod (2, figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a seal, as taught by Qiu, for the metal seal ring in Sammons, to have a valve seal on the rod, in order to permit a better sealing effect without using a spring with a large coefficient (Qiu, para.0037).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute an oring seal as taught by Qiu for the metal seal of Sammons, since it has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Regarding method claims 39 and 46, the device shown by Sammons when combined with Qiu will perform the methods as recited in claims 39 and 46, during normal operational use of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are allowed.
None of the prior art of record discloses or renders as obvious, “a faceplate configured for attachment to the flange and to hold the sleeve inside of the body cavity while the faceplate is attached to the flange” in combination with the rest of the limitations in claim 8.
None of the prior art of record discloses or renders as obvious, “a rod movably disposable within the sleeve cavity and configured to form a fluid-tight seal between the body cavity and the sleeve cavity while the rod is in a closed position and to allow a fluid to flow from the body cavity to the sleeve cavity while the rod is in an open position; and a faceplate attachable to the body, having a receptacle in fluid communication with at least one of the body cavity or the sleeve cavity, and including at least one protrusion each configured to engage a respective one of at least one groove of a valve-opening-and-fluid-dispensing device”, in combination with the rest of the limitations in claim 17.
Claims 34 and 42 are allowed.
None of the prior art of record discloses or renders as obvious, “after detaching the faceplate, removing a valve sleeve from a body cavity of the valve body while the valve body is attached to a structure and is coupled to a fluid supply”, in combination with the rest of the limitations in claim 34, and “attaching a valve faceplate to the valve body after inserting the valve sleeve and valve rod into the body cavity of the valve body”, in combination with the rest of the limitations in 42 claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753