DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-12 are pending in this application.
Drawings
The drawings received on 4/19/2023 are accepted for examination purposes.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/19/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aher (US-2023/0102319).
As to Claim 1, Aher teaches ‘An information processing apparatus comprising: a processor configured to: receive, from a first user, product information that is input and related to a finished product produced in accordance with a workflow and excludes workflow information that is related to the workflow [par 0020, 0022, 0028-0030, 0038 – system receives from a client device that can be operated by a different user (for example, individual or customer) and is configured to issue print jobs including page description (i.e. product information)]; present, to a second user, information indicated by the received product information [par 0035-0037, 0040-0041, 0047 – the manager of the print shop can visualize on a graphical user interface (GUI) and use the process mining information to assign the resources for a print job, for example, to a particular operator, printer, and a finisher to the job]; and receive from the second user the workflow information responsive to production of the finished product [par 0035-0037, 0047 – a manager, for example, of a print shop can use the process mining information to assign the resources for a print job, for example, to a particular operator, printer, and a finisher to the job]’.
Further, in regards to claim 11, the information processing apparatus of claim 1 performs the program on the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11.
Further, in regards to claim 12, the information processing apparatus of claim 1 performs the means for functions of the information processing apparatus of claim 12.
As to Claim 2, Aher teaches ‘wherein the finished product is printed matter [par 0042 – activity can be defined as a product type, which can include, for example, brochure, book, manual, etc.]’.
As to Claim 3, Aher teaches ‘wherein the product information includes at least one of a format, a finished size, a type of paper sheet, or a number of copies of the printed matter [par 0042 – activity can further include types of print jobs, for example, page count, and the number of copies]; and wherein the workflow information includes at least one piece of information related to pre-press of the printed matter, information related to an output of printing press, information related to printing, or information related to processing [par 0035-0037, 0047 – a manager, for example, of a print shop can use the process mining information to assign the resources for a print job, for example, to a particular operator, printer, and a finisher to the job]’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aher in view of Anno et al. (US-2022/0214842).
As to Claim 4, Aher teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in independent claim 1. Aher does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the processor is configured to receive the product information and the workflow information from a different terminal apparatus’ as recited in dependent claim 4.
Anno in the proposed combination teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to receive the product information and the workflow information from a different terminal apparatus [Fig 1 (111, 101), par 0044-0047, 0101 – order receiving system management terminal and a workflow management terminal]’.
Aher and Anno are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include separate management terminals, as taught by Anno. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce work man-hours to meet quality terms and further easily determine, transfer, and run an operation process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Anno with Aher to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
As to Claim 5, Anno teaches ‘wherein the first user has a sales operation role to sell the finished product [par 0046, 0101 – a sales representative may manually input an order from an end user], and the second user has a work operation role to perform work to produce the finished product [par 0044 – workflow management terminal is a terminal that a workflow manager operates]’.
Aher and Anno are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include separate management terminals, as taught by Anno. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce work man-hours to meet quality terms and further easily determine, transfer, and run an operation process. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Anno with Aher to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Claim(s) 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aher in view of Anno et al. (US-2022/0214842) and further in view of Wissenbach et al. (US-2022/0391155).
As to Claim 6, Aher in view of Anno teaches all of the claimed elements/features as recited in dependent claims 4, 5 and independent claim 1. Aher in view of Anno does not disclose expressly ‘wherein the processor is configured to disable the product information from being edited by the user having the work operation role’.
Wissenbach in the proposed combination teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to disable the product information from being edited by the user having the work operation role [par 0025, 0030-0031, 0064-0065 – enforcing restrictions that limit the ability to modify configuration or job settings of a recipe including workflow routing]’.
Aher in view of Anno are analogous art with Wissenbach because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include restrictions for settings, as taught by Wissenbach. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensuring print jobs are processed timely and eases the burden placed on a particular print company. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wissenbach with Aher in view of Anno to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
As to Claim 7, Wissenbach in the proposed combination teaches ‘wherein the processor is configured to, if the user having the work operation role edits the product information, notify the user having the sales operation role having entered the product information that the user having the work operation role edits the product information [par 0020, 0025, 0037-0038, 0041, 0056 – contracting print device may request an exception for deviating from the recipe and generating a notification]’.
Aher in view of Anno are analogous art with Wissenbach because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely digital image data printing systems. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include restrictions for settings, as taught by Wissenbach. The motivation for doing so would have been to ensuring print jobs are processed timely and eases the burden placed on a particular print company. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Wissenbach with Aher in view of Anno to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 (and claims 9-10 based on dependency) is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Aher in view of Anno, Reference and further in view of the art searched and/or cited does not teach nor suggest the combination of limitations including “wherein the processor is configured to receive from a user an indication of selection between a first mode and a second mode, wherein in the first mode, the product information is received from the first user; information indicated by the received product information is presented to the second user; and the workflow information is received from the second user; and wherein in the second mode, the product information and the workflow information are received from the user” as recited in dependent claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record
a. US Publication No. 2023/0102319
b. US Publication No. 2022/0214842
c. US Publication No. 2022/0391155
/MIYA J CATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681