DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in EP on 04/25/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 22169675.0 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the
application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that the prior art does not read on the amended claim 1, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Since the limitation “the grooves… are configured as sawing guides that are configured to receive means for separating one or more cone segments in order to adapt a cone size of the cone” is functional and therefore the prior art is not required to disclose the function but is only required to be capable of the function, and since the grooves, as modified by Davies, define clean perimeters that a saw could theoretically cut and therefore adapt the size of a cone, the apparatus, specifically the grooves, are capable of acting as “sawing guides” in order to “receive” means for separating the segments and adapting the size of the implant.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 9 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection using US 20200100894 A1 (hereafter –Woodburn--) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 is objected to as it is unclear which grooves the claim is referring to in the limitation "which inner grooves are arranged opposite Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240261109 A1 (hereafter --Sperling--), in view of US 11565021 B1 (hereafter --Davies--).
Regarding Claim 1, Sperling discloses an augmentation device comprising an annular cone surrounding a channel which extends from a proximal cone end to a distal cone end of the cone through said cone (see paragraph [0184], see also annotated distal and proximal ends as well as the channel in Figures 34C and 34D below), wherein the cone consists by at least 50 percent by volume, based on the total volume of the cone, of a biocompatible polymer (see paragraph [0200]), subdivided by annular cone segments (see annotated segments in Figure 34C and 34D below).
Sperling fails to disclose wherein the device has at least three radially circumferential grooves in a cone lateral surface opposite the channel, wherein the grooves have a groove depth of at least 1mm and a groove width of at least 1mm.
Davies discloses an augmentation device comprising an annular cone surrounding a channel which extends from a proximal cone end to a distal cone end of the cone through said cone (see annotated channel, distal end, and proximal end in Figure 7 below). Davies teaches wherein the device has least three radially circumferential grooves in a cone lateral surface opposite the channel (see annotated circumferential grooves, lateral surface, and channel in Figure 7 below), wherein the grooves have a groove depth of at least 1mm and a groove width of at least 1mm (see column 11, lines 3-5 denoting that the square openings are about 2 mm deep and 6 mm in length, these sizes being at least 1 mm as they are both greater than 1 mm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the device of Sperling have the circumferential grooves of Davies on the outer wall (lateral surface) of the device, being sized having a groove depth of at least 1mm and a groove width of at least 1mm, as by doing so would provide stabilization to the interior wall of the implant (see column 17, lines 40-44), and would prevent warping and cracking problems in the implant by adding torsional rigidity and bending stiffness to the device (see column 18, lines 48-52).
Sperling as modified by Davies therefore discloses the grooves bring configured as sawing guides that are configured to receive means for separating one or more cone segments in order to adapt a cone size of the cone (see paragraph [0187] denoting that surface of the shape of the cone can be modified by using blades, pointed structures, or machining lines, since this limitation is functional and therefore the prior art is not required to disclose the function but is only required to be capable of the function, and since the grooves define clean perimeters for a saw to cut and therefore adapt the size of a cone, the apparatus, specifically the grooves, are capable of acting as “sawing guides” in order to “receive” means for separating the segments and adapting the size of the implant).
Regarding Claim 2, Sperling as modified discloses the augmentation device according to claim 1, wherein the lateral cone surface is roughened or porous at least in portions (see paragraph [0186]).
Regarding Claim 3, Sperling as modified discloses the augmentation device according to claim 1, wherein the lateral cone surface is formed by at least 70 percent by area, based on the entire lateral cone surface, of tantalum, a tantalum alloy, titanium, a titanium alloy, or stainless steel (see paragraph [0200]).
Regarding Claim 6, Sperling as modified discloses the augmentation device according to claim 1.
Sperling as modified fails to disclose wherein the cone comprises radially circumferential inner grooves in a cone inner surface facing toward the channel, which inner grooves are arranged opposite the at least three radially circumferential grooves in the cone lateral surface.
Davies teaches wherein the cone comprises radially circumferential inner grooves in a cone inner surface facing toward the channel, which inner grooves are arranged opposite the circumferential grooves in the cone lateral surface (see annotated inner grooves 26 and inner surface in Figure 7 above).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the device of Sperling have radially circumferential inner grooves in a cone inner surface facing toward the channel opposite the at least three radially circumferential grooves in the cone lateral surface, as by doing so would provide additional room for positioning an artificial joint component within the interior of the porous implant, as taught by Davies (see column 6, lines 19-23).
Regarding Claim 7, Sperling as modified discloses the augmentation device according to claim 1.
Sperling as modified fails to disclose wherein the lateral cone surface comprises at least two axially extending axial grooves having an axial groove depth of at least 1 mm and an axial groove width of at least 1 mm, each of which is connected at least to one of the grooves.
Davies teaches wherein the lateral cone surface comprises at least two axially extending axial grooves (see annotated axial grooves in Figure 7 above), with an axial groove depth of at least 1 mm and an axial groove width of at least 1 mm (see column 11, lines 3-5 denoting that the square openings are about 2 mm deep and 6 mm in length, these sizes being at least 1 mm as they are both greater than 1 mm), each of which is connected at least to one of the grooves (see annotated axial and circumferential grooves in Figure 7 above being connected to each other by the outer walls 46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the device of Sperling have the axial grooves of Davies on the outer wall of the device, being sized having a groove depth of at least 1mm and a groove width of at least 1mm, as by doing so would prevent warping and cracking problems in the implant by adding torsional rigidity and bending stiffness to the device (see column 18, lines 48-52).
Regarding Claim 8, Sperling as modified discloses the augmentation device according to claim 1, wherein the cone segments are separated from one another in a stepped manner (see annotated segments in Figures 34C and 34D above).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240261109 A1 (hereafter --Sperling--), in view of US 11565021 B1 (hereafter --Davies--), in even further view of US 20200222196 A1 (hereafter –Vogt--).
Regarding Claim 4, Sperling as modified discloses the augmentation device according to claim 1.
Sperling as modified fails to disclose wherein the biocompatible polymer is a PMMA bone cement.
Vogt discloses an implant configured to be implanted into a bone canal (see annotated implant Figure 1 below, see paragraph [0027]). Jones teaches wherein the biocompatible polymer is a PMMA bone cement that contains an antibiotic (see paragraphs [0031], [0128]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the biocompatible polymer of the device of Sperling be a PMMA bone cement that contains an antibiotic as taught by Vogt, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding Claim 5, Sperling as modified discloses the augmentation device according to claim 4, wherein the PMMA bone cement contains at least one antibiotic (see claim 4 rejection above, see also paragraph [0031] of Vogt).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20240261109 A1 (hereafter --Sperling--), in view of US 11565021 B1 (hereafter --Davies--), in even further view of US 20200100894 (hereafter –Woodburn--).
Regarding Claim 9, Sperling as modified discloses a method for adapting a cone size of an augmentation device according to claim 1 (see paragraph [0187] denoting that surface of the shape of the cone can be modified by using blades, pointed structures, or machining lines).
Sperling as modified fails to disclose comprising a step of separating one or more cone segments at the proximal cone end by and/or at the distal cone end by utilizing the radially circumferential groove or grooves as sawing guides to saw, cut, or break along the radially circumferential groove or grooves.
Woodburn discloses an implant with grooves (see annotated grooves in Figure 1 below). Woodburn teaches comprising a step of separating one or more implant segments at implant ends by utilizing the radially circumferential groove or grooves as sawing guides to saw, cut, or break along the radially circumferential groove or grooves (see paragraphs [0029] denoting the physician can “sever” along the potions 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the method of adapting a cone size of an augmentation device of Sperling to further comprise a step of separating one or more cone segments at the proximal cone end and/or at the distal cone end by sawing, cutting, or breaking along the radially circumferential groove or grooves, as by doing so would allow the physician to sever various portions of the implant as needed to adapt the implant to the particular portions of the portion of the body that the implant is being implanted to be supported, as taught by Woodburn (see paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 10, Sperling as modified discloses the method according to claim 9 for adapting an augmentation device comprising: an annular cone surrounding a channel which extends from a proximal cone end to a distal cone end of the cone through said cone, (see paragraph [0184], see also annotated distal and proximal ends as well as the channel in Figures 34C and 34D above), wherein the cone consists by at least 50 percent by volume, based on the total volume of the cone, of a biocompatible polymer (see paragraph [0200]), and is subdivided, by at least three radially circumferential grooves in a cone lateral surface opposite the channel, into annular cone segments, wherein the grooves have a groove depth of at least 1 mm and a groove width of at least 1 mm (see claim 1 rejection above), and form sawing guides in order to adapt a cone size of the cone by separating one or more cone segments, comprising a step of separating a conical part from the cone by sawing, cutting, or breaking along two of the axially extending axial grooves (see claim 9 rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774