DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on Application 18/303,343 and is in response to a Request for Continued Examination filed 09/16/2026.
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 2022/0069350 A1) in view of YU (US 2013/0004840 A1).
CHO teaches a rechargeable lithium battery which includes a positive electrode, negative electrode, and an electrolyte (paragraph 0021). CHO teaches a positive electrode which includes a current collector and an active material layer (paragraph 0101). The active material may be of a chemical formula 5 (paragraphs 0022-0027). The negative electrode includes an active material (paragraph 0124-0132). The positive active layer includes a conductive material and a binder (paragraph 0119). CHO then teaches the use of an additive, which may be represented by chemical formula 1B, and chemical formula 1B-I and 1B-II (paragraphs 0008-0011). In addition the additive may be formula 1B-I-1 (paragraph 0017-0018). The additive is present in the electrolyte (paragraph 0019). Therefore CHO teaches the claimed additive, but does not explicitly teach that it is a part of the positive electrode.
YU teaches a bidentate phosphorus compound for the additive may provide a stable coating layer on a surface of a positive active material layer (paragraph 0053). The bidentate phosphorus compound may be represented by chemical formula 1 (paragraph 0006-0007, and paragraphs 0011-0030).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the additive of CHO to coat the positive electrode active material as taught by YU as this is a combination of prior art elements in order to achieve predictable results. Both CHO and YU teaches the additive is present in the electrolyte and then YU teaches the additive may be formed as a coating on the surface of the active material layer (paragraph 0053). Therefore having the additive only be on the positive active material would have been obvious to try, as this is a choice from a finite list of possible elements in order to achieve predictable results. See MPEP 2143(E).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722