DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the initial Office Action based on Application 18/303,343 and is in response to a Response to Election/Restriction filed 01/07/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of species II, additive 1B claims 1-3 and 6 in the reply filed on 01/07/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventive species and groups are in a related field and would not impose undue burden. This is not found persuasive because the different claimed species have a large number of possible chemical compounds that would meet the different claimed chemical formulas, therefore this would result in the increased burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-15 are previously pending, of those claims, claims 4-5 and 7-15 have been withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected subject matter. Claims 1-3 and 6 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHO (US 2022/0069350 A1) in view of HOSOE (US 2021/0242499 A1).
CHO teaches a positive electrode which includes a current collector and an active material layer (paragraph 0101). The positive active layer includes a conductive material and a binder (paragraph 0119). CHO then teaches the use of an additive, which may be represented by chemical formula 1B, and chemical formula 1B-I and 1B-II (paragraphs 0008-0011). In addition the additive may be formula 1B-I-1 (paragraph 0017-0018). The additive is present in the electrolyte (paragraph 0019). Therefore CHO teaches the claimed additive, but does not explicitly teach that it is a part of the positive electrode.
HOSOE teaches a non-aqueous electrolytic power storage device (paragraph 0005). The electrolyte may include various additives (paragraph 0045). There may include a positive electrode sheet 30 with the electrolyte is impregnated into the active material layer 94 of the positive electrode sheet (paragraph 0072). Thus the active material layer is impregnated with the electrolyte, thus the electrolyte is easily impregnated into the active material layer, and thus the resistance can be reduced (paragraph 0072).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to impregnate the electrolyte into the positive electrode active material layer as taught by HOSOE for the active material layer of CHO, as HOSOE teaches that allowing for the electrolyte to penetrate into the active material layer has the beneficial effect of reducing the resistance (paragraph 0072).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,218,308 B2 in view of HOSOE (US 2021/0242499 A1). Patent’ ‘308 claims an electrolyte which includes an additive represented by chemical formula 1B (claim 2) additive represented by 1B-I or 1B-II (claim 3) and an additive represented by 1B-I-1 or 2B-I-1 (claim 6).
Patent ‘308 claims the additive is present in the electrolyte (claim 1). Therefore patent ‘308 claims the presently claimed additive, but does not explicitly teach that it is a part of the positive electrode.
HOSOE teaches a non-aqueous electrolytic power storage device (paragraph 0005). The electrolyte may include various additives (paragraph 0045). There may include a positive electrode sheet 30 with the electrolyte is impregnated into the active material layer 94 of the positive electrode sheet (paragraph 0072). Thus the active material layer is impregnated with the electrolyte, thus the electrolyte is easily impregnated into the active material layer, and thus the resistance can be reduced (paragraph 0072).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to impregnate the electrolyte into the positive electrode active material layer as taught by HOSOE for the active material layer of patent ‘308, as HOSOE teaches that allowing for the electrolyte to penetrate into the active material layer has the beneficial effect of reducing the resistance (paragraph 0072).
Claims 1-3 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/012,883 in view of HOSOE (US 2021/0242499 A1). Application ‘883 claims an electrolyte for a battery including an additive of chemical formula 1A (claim 1). The claim may further include chemical formula 1A-II (claim 7), chemical formulas 1A-II-1 and 1A-II-2 (claim 8) and chemical formula 1A-II-3 (claim 11).
Application ‘883 claims the additive is present in the electrolyte (claim 1). Therefore patent ‘883 claims the presently claimed additive, but does not explicitly teach that it is a part of the positive electrode.
HOSOE teaches a non-aqueous electrolytic power storage device (paragraph 0005). The electrolyte may include various additives (paragraph 0045). There may include a positive electrode sheet 30 with the electrolyte is impregnated into the active material layer 94 of the positive electrode sheet (paragraph 0072). Thus the active material layer is impregnated with the electrolyte, thus the electrolyte is easily impregnated into the active material layer, and thus the resistance can be reduced (paragraph 0072).
At the time the invention was filed one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to impregnate the electrolyte into the positive electrode active material layer as taught by HOSOE for the active material layer of application ‘883, as HOSOE teaches that allowing for the electrolyte to penetrate into the active material layer has the beneficial effect of reducing the resistance (paragraph 0072).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN G JELSMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722