DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 8-11 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
As per the Applicant’s argument, on page 7, “Liu does not require the completion of migration of a ‘second IAB node or UE’ (corresponding to the lower apparatus) as a condition for removing the path”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. Liu clearly describes the completion of network migration of a target donor node (e.g. paragraph [0034]; [0041]-[0048]; [0055]; [0062]-[0064]; [0114]-[0116]; and so on).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (US 2022/0141749 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0076206 A1), and further Speicher et al. (US 2021/0084558 A1).
Regarding claim 1 and 11, Luo discloses a communication control method used in a cellular communication system and a relay node (abstract), the communication control method comprising: transmitting, by a first donor base station to a relay node having a lower apparatus under the relay node, a message for migration from the first donor base station to a second donor base station together with the lower apparatus (paragraph [0177]; [0203]; [0147]-[0150]; [0187]; [0200]-[0201]; [0205]; [0237]; [0241]; [0083]-[0085]; [0097]; [0106]; [0124]-[0134]; [0152]; and so on, illustrating performing handover by relay node with lower relay node, such as child node, from source donor base station to target donor base station).
Luo doesn’t disclose performing, by the first donor base station, a process to remove a path between the relay node and the first donor base station after the connection of the relay node to the second donor base station and migration of the lower apparatus from the first donor base station to the second donor base station are completed, and maintaining the path between the relay node and the first donor base station until handover of the lower apparatus from the first donor base station to the second donor base station are completed.
Liu teaches performing, by the first donor base station, a process to remove a path between the relay node and the first donor base station after the connection of the relay node to the second donor base station and migration of the lower apparatus from the first donor base station to the second donor base station are completed (e.g. paragraph [0063]-[0064]; [0034]; [0042]-[0044]; [0048]; [0055]; [0062]-[0064]; [0114]-[0116]; and so on).
Liu doesn’t disclose maintaining the path between the relay node and the first donor base station until handover of the lower apparatus from the first donor base station to the second donor base station are completed.
Speicher teaches maintaining the path between the relay node and the first donor base station until handover of the lower apparatus from the first donor base station to the second donor base station are completed (paragraph [0107]; [0102]; [0103]-[0104]; and so on).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use performing, by the first donor base station, a process to remove a path between the relay node and the first donor base station after the connection of the relay node to the second donor base station and migration of the lower apparatus from the first donor base station to the second donor base station are completed, and maintaining the path between the relay node and the first donor base station until handover of the lower apparatus from the first donor base station to the second donor base station are completed as taught by Liu and Speicher into Luo in order to improve migration procedure and to reduce losing packets, and to reduce the number or amount of handover.
Regarding claim 2, Luo disclose further comprising, upon completing connection of the relay node to the second donor base station, transmitting, by the relay node to the lower apparatus, a predetermined notification (paragraph [0097]; [0139]; [0150]-[0152]; [0158]; [0204]; [0209]; [0237]; [0247]; and etc., explaining the transmission of notification upon the handover is completed), wherein the predetermined notification indicates that the connection is completed or that access to the second donor base station is allowed (paragraph [0097]-[0098]; [0150]-[0152]; [0203]-[0204]; [0209]; [0237]-[0241]; [0247]-[0251]; and so on).
Regarding claim 3, Luo further discloses comprising transmitting, by the first donor base station and to the lower apparatus via the relay node, a message instructing migration from the first donor base station to the second donor base station, wherein the message comprises an indicator suspending access to the second donor base station (paragraph [0157]-[0158]; [0184]-[0188]; and so on).
Regarding claim 4, Luo further discloses comprising: upon completing connection of the relay node to the second donor base station, transmitting, by the relay node to the lower apparatus, a predetermined notification (paragraph [0097]; [0139]; [0150]-[0152]; [0158]; [0204]; [0209]; [0237]; [0247]; and etc., explaining the transmission of notification upon the handover is completed); and starting, by the lower apparatus, access to the second donor base station in response to receiving the predetermined notification (paragraph [0157]-[0158]; [0200]; [0209]; and so on).
Regarding claim 5, Luo further discloses comprising transmitting, by the first donor base station to the lower apparatus, configuration information of conditional handover comprising a trigger condition, wherein the configuration information comprises a trigger condition of causing, when the relay node completes the connection to the second donor base station, the lower apparatus to execute handover (paragraph [0094]; [0097]; [0106]-[0107]; [0115]-[0122]; [0124]-[0135]; [0194]-[0201]; [0203]-[0209]; [0220]; [0242]-[0257]; [0270]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Luo discloses wherein the trigger condition includes receiving a notification from an upper node (figs. 6-22).
Regarding claim 8, Luo further discloses comprising upon completing the handover to the second donor base station, transmitting, by the relay node to the second donor base station, a first access message directed to the second donor base station received from the lower apparatus (paragraph [0097]; [0139]; [0147]-[0152]; [0158]; [0204]-[0205]; [0209]; [0237]; [0247]; [0177]; [0203]; [0187]; [0200]-[0201];[0241]; and etc.).,
Regarding claim 9, Luo discloses wherein the transmitting comprises suspending, by the relay node, transfer of the first access message to the second donor base station until the connection to the second donor base station is completed (paragraph [0157]-[0158]; [0184]-[0188]; and so on).
Regarding claim 10, Luo discloses wherein the performing the migration comprises performing, by the relay node having the lower apparatus under the relay node and another relay node under the relay node, migration from the first donor base station to the second donor base station together with the lower apparatus and the another relay node (figs. 6, 8, 12, 21, paragraph [0177]; [0203]; [0147]-[0150]; [0187]; [0200]-[0201]; [0205]; [0237]; [0241]; and so on), and the transmitting comprises, upon receiving a message instructing group handover from the first donor base station and completing the connection to the second donor base station, transmitting, by the relay node and to the second donor base station, a second access message directed to the second donor base station received from the lower apparatus and a third access message directed to the second donor base station received from the another relay node (figs. 6, 8, 12, 21, paragraph [0097]; [0139]; [0150]-[0152]; [0158]; [0204]; [0209]; [0237]; [0247]; and etc.).
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461