DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 10-14 are allowed claims.
Claims 1-9, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 USC §103 rejection.
Claims 17-20 are objected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari et al., (US Pub.20220087075A1), hereinafter Heydari in view of Ibrahim (US Pub. 20150066219A1), hereinafter Ibrahim.
Regarding Claim 1, Heydari discloses:
an apparatus comprising:
memory (para [0065], where memory 1016);
machine-readable instructions (para [0098], where RAM memory that store program instructions and data); and
programmable circuitry to execute the machine-readable instructions to:
determine whether a first cooling parameter for a first edge node (Fig. 4A, # 410 control boards 410 (edge node), # 412 racks (see Fig. 1A, 110 server trays of racks), on Fig. 2A, the show groupings of computer servers in the rocks 202; para [0070], where sensors may be compared to one or more thresholds, ranges, or other operational criteria to determine, e.g., threshold and range corresponds to the cooling parameter) is satisfied based on first cooling availability information for the first edge node (para [0071], where adjustments can be made even if a value such as temperature will not exceed such a threshold, but in an attempt to maintain a desired temperature or environmental condition, e.g., temperature (the cooling availability information) not exceeding a threshold (the cooling parameter) corresponds to the cooling parameter being “satisfied”);
when the first cooling parameter is satisfied, cause a first distribution unit to
maintain an amount of cooling fluid to the first edge node (already discussed above, where temperature is not exceeding a threshold); and
when the first cooling parameter is not satisfied (para [0070, where a variety of sensors may provide information about a current state of a computing environment. In at least one embodiment, this may include use of sensors such as temperature sensors, load sensors, flow sensors, or pressure sensors …predictions made based on data from these sensors may be compared to one or more thresholds, ranges, or other operational criteria to determine whether any changes should be made. In at least one embodiment, this can include making an adjustment to prevent an unacceptable temperature rise at a specific location within a data center or other such environment. In at least one embodiment, this may include closing a valve or increasing an amount of coolant flow; para [0061], where concentrations of high temperatures in certain regions of FIG. 2B. In at least one embodiment, this may result in temperatures that exceed a maximum operating temperature threshold), (Fig. 5A, para 0071, where include data captured by sensors in a rack, server, cooling unit, or other such device…determination can be made 510 as to whether any of these predicted values exceed a maximum threshold, or otherwise fall outside an allowable or specified range. If not, this process can continue. If one or more predicted values exceed such a threshold, or fall outside such a range, then one or more environmental control components can be adjusted 512), cause at least one of the first distribution unit or a second distribution unit (para [0069], where cooling distribution unit may adjust a flow of liquid or coolant temperature);
distribution unit (Fig. 1A, # 112, para 0052, where a cooling distribution unit (CDU) 112, para 0053, where CDU 112 is capable of sophisticated control of coolants) to adjust the amount of cooling fluid (para [0070], where predictions made based on data from these sensors may be compared to one or more thresholds, ranges, or other operational criteria to determine whether any changes should be made… this can include making an adjustment to prevent an unacceptable temperature rise at a specific location within a data center or other such environment. In at least one embodiment, this may include closing a valve or increasing an amount of coolant flow) to at least one of the first edge node or a second edge node (Fig. 5a, # 512, adjust one or more environmental control components Fig. 2B # 250, para [0061], where darker shaded regions can correspond to regions of higher temperature, and it can be seen that there are concentrations of high temperatures in certain regions of FIG. 2B. In at least one embodiment, this may result in temperatures that exceed a maximum operating temperature threshold, e.g., first edge node corresponds to the grouping computer server into racks 202).
Heydari also discloses first cooling availability information and second cooling availability information (Fig. 5a, # 512, adjust one or more environmental control components Fig. 2B # 250, para [0061], where darker shaded regions can correspond to regions of higher temperature (number of racks #202), and it can be seen that there are concentrations of high temperatures in certain regions of FIG. 2B. In at least one embodiment, this may result in temperatures that exceed a maximum operating temperature threshold, e.g., from the Fig. 2B the components/racks in regions corresponding higher temperature, based on results in temperatures that exceed a maximum operating temperature threshold which corresponds to the first or second cooling availability information).
Heydari does not disclose when its first cooling parameters are not satisfied, adjusting the amount of cooling fluid based on the first cooling availability information and second cooling availability information, the second cooling availability information for the second edge node.
Ibrahim discloses when its first cooling parameters are not satisfied (Fig. 1, 3, #125, 130, Claim 1 where determining whether any one of said plurality of cabinets' said inlet temperatures is at least one of below, at, and above said respective maximum allowable cabinet temperatures, where: if any one of said inlet temperatures is at least one of at and above said respective maximum allowable cabinet temperatures; Claim 1, where collecting cabinet information from each of a plurality of cabinets, said cabinet information including an inlet temperature, a maximum allowable cabinet temperature…and further providing a first alarm, and where if all of said inlet temperatures are below said respective maximum allowable cabinet temperatures, determining whether each of said calculated .theta. values is at least one of below, at, and above a user-defined .theta. value) adjusting the [amount of cooling fluid]/ setpoint based on the first cooling availability information and second cooling availability information, the second cooling availability information for the second edge node (Fig. 1, # 135, para [0019], where in step 135, the present invention may provide the user with potential ways to fix the issues causing the alarm. This may include, without limitations, suggestions to check the blanking panels, add perforated tiles, and/or change the cooling unit set-point, e.g., when certain cabinets that are too hot while others are acceptable, one can change the cooling unit set point for the hot cabinet in box 135).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to adjust the setpoint based on the first cooling availability information and second cooling availability information of the cabinets, as taught by Ibrahim into Heydari in order to improves energy efficiency, system stability, and capacity utilization.
Regarding the limitation of “adjusting the amount of cooling fluid”:
Ibrahim discloses changing cooling unit set-point for the different cabinets (see above), e.g., one cabinet will be hotter then another one, and therefore changing a cooling unit set-point will be needed to apply the different amount of coolant for the cabinets with different temperature, for keeping thermal balance between them, and keeping cabinets in operable conditions.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to change the amount of coolant between the different cabinets, which will be required a change/adjust amount of coolant for the different cabinets corresponding with different temperature in order to keep the equipment in operable condition.
Regarding Claim 6, Heydari and Ibrahim disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further Heydari disclose wherein the a plurality of edge nodes (Fig. 7, grouped computing resources 714, and node computing resources (“node C.R.s”) 716(1)-716(N), node C.R.s 716(1)-716(N) may include, but are not limited to, any number of central processing units (“CPUs”) or other processors (including accelerators, field programmable gate arrays (“FPGAs”), graphics processors, etc.), memory devices (e.g., dynamic read-only memory), storage devices (e.g., solid state or disk drives), network input/output (“NW I/O”) devices, network switches, virtual machines (“VMs”), power modules, and cooling modules);(Claim 28 , where individual servers of the one or more servers, individual racks including the one or more servers, or a data center including the one or more servers, and wherein the one or more neural networks can further be used to determine one or more environmental control settings relating to at least one of power, humidity, fluid flow, or power).
Heydari does not disclose the programmable circuitry is to select the edge node based on an availability of cooling fluid corresponding to ones of the plurality of edge nodes.
Ibrahim disclose the programmable circuitry is to select the edge node based on an availability of cooling fluid corresponding to ones of the plurality of edge nodes (para [0015], where the total cooling capacity of a data center or of a subset of a data center is calculated. This can be done by using manufacturer-supplied data, such as the rated capacity of the cooling equipment within the data center. Using this data, the rated capacity of the cooling equipment within the data center or within a subset of a data center are summed together and are used to obtain the total remaining cooling capacity available at the current specified cooling equipment set-point, e.g., specified equipment corresponds to the ones of the plurality of edge nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to select the edge node based on an availability of cooling fluid as taught by Ibrahim into Heydari in order to more efficiently distribute the coolant in the system.
Regarding Claim 15, Heydari as applied above to claim 1 also discloses:
an apparatus comprising:
availability tracking circuitry to:
determine a first cooling parameter and first cooling availability information for a first edge device (Fig. 4A, # 410 control boards 410 (edge node), # 412 racks (see Fig. 1A, 110 server trays of racks), on Fig. 2A, the show groupings of computer servers in the rocks 202 (tenant); para [0070], where sensors may be compared to one or more thresholds, ranges, or other operational criteria to determine, e.g., threshold and range corresponds to the cooling parameter); and
determine a second cooling parameter and second cooling availability information for a second edge device (Fig.4A, # 410 control boards 410 (edge node), # 412 racks (see Fig. 1A, 110 server trays of racks), on Fig. 2A, the show groupings of computer servers in the rocks 202; para [0070], where sensors may be compared to one or more thresholds, ranges, or other operational criteria to determine, e.g., threshold and range corresponds to the cooling parameter).
Heydari does not disclose:
first and second edge devices associated with the tenant;
intra-tenant distribution circuitry to:
determine whether the first and second cooling parameters are satisfied based on the first and second cooling availability information;
when the first and second cooling parameters are satisfied, cause a distribution unit to maintain a first amount of cooling fluid to the first edge device and a second amount of cooling fluid to the second edge device; and
when at least one of the first cooling parameter or the second cooling parameter is not satisfied, cause the distribution unit to redistribute the first amount of cooling fluid and the second amount of cooling fluid between the first and second edge devices.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to associate first and second edge devices with one tenant in order to easily and efficiently control the sharing of coolant between devices owned by a single entity, who would naturally have an interest in having both of their edge device cooled appropriately.
Ibrahim discloses determine whether the first and second cooling parameters are satisfied based on the first and second cooling availability information (Fig. 1, # 100 sense all cabinet temperatures, #125, # 140, para [0020], where if all the cabinet inlet temperatures are below the allowable temperature (evidenced by having all the calculated Theta values remain below 1) the present invention distributes the remaining cooling capacity Pcool over said cabinets in step 145 and provides the user with a confidence percentage that the executed distribution will successfully work).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to maintain a first amount of cooling fluid to the first edge device and a second amount of cooling fluid to the second edge device, if the cooling parameters are satisfied and no changes are needed for the cooling system in order to keep the equipment in operable condition.
Ibrahim further discloses when at least one of the first cooling parameter or the second cooling parameter is not satisfied (Fig. 1, 3, #125, 130, Claim 1 where determining whether any one of said plurality of cabinets' said inlet temperatures is at least one of below, at, and above said respective maximum allowable cabinet temperatures, where: if any one of said inlet temperatures is at least one of at and above said respective maximum allowable cabinet temperatures; Claim 1, where collecting cabinet information from each of a plurality of cabinets, said cabinet information including an inlet temperature, a maximum allowable cabinet temperature…and further providing a first alarm, and where if all of said inlet temperatures are below said respective maximum allowable cabinet temperatures, determining whether each of said calculated .theta. values is at least one of below, at, and above a user-defined .theta. value) cause the distribution unit to redistribute the [first amount of cooling fluid] and the second amount of cooling fluid]/setpoint between the first and second edge devices (Fig. 1, # 135, para [0019], where in step 135, the present invention may provide the user with potential ways to fix the issues causing the alarm. This may include, without limitations, suggestions to check the blanking panels, add perforated tiles, and/or change the cooling unit set-point, e.g., when certain cabinets that are too hot while others are acceptable, one can change the cooling unit set point for the hot cabinet in box 135).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to redistribute the setpoint based on the first cooling availability information and second cooling availability information of the cabinets, as taught by Ibrahim into Heydari in order to improve energy efficiency, system stability, and capacity utilization.
Regarding the limitation of “redistribute the first amount of cooling fluid and the second amount of cooling fluid”:
Ibrahim discloses changing cooling unit set-point for the different cabinets (see above), e.g., one cabinet will be hotter than another one, and therefore changing cooling unit set-point will be needed to redistribute the different amount of coolant between the cabinets with different temperature, for keeping thermal balance between them, and keeping the cabinets in operable condition.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to the changing set-point will be redistribute the amount of coolant between the different cabinets, which will be needed to redistribute amount of coolant between the hotter and cooler cabinets in order to keep the equipment in operable condition.
Claims 2, 3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Ibrahim, as applied above and further in view of Masumura (DE 102022100512A1), hereinafter Masumura, and Kawanaka (JP2019019476A), hereinafter Kawanaka.
Regarding Claim 2, Heydari and Ibrahim disclose the apparatus of claim 1, further Heydari discloses wherein the programmable circuitry is to execute the machine-readable instructions to:
determine a first expected temperature (para [0060], where ability to predict future state, such as temperatures at one or more locations at one or more future periods of time, within a computing environment… these predictions can be inferences made using data about performance of data center equipment, as well as information such as temperature, air flow, and pressure at various locations throughout this environment) associated with a first edge device and a second expected temperature associated with a second edge device, the first edge device operating at the first edge node, the second edge device operating at the first edge node or the second edge node (para [0072], where one or more future temperatures can be predicted 554 using this input with one or more neural networks, such as to predict temperatures in or near these servers at one or more future points in time)(para [0052], where temperature sensors in various locations, including in this room, in one or more racks 110, and/or in server boxes or server trays within these racks 110); (Fig. 4A, # 410 control boards 410 (edge node), # 412 racks (see Fig. 1A, 110 server trays of racks), on Fig. 2A, the show groupings of computer servers in the rocks 202; e.g., the first edge device corresponds to the first servers racks and first node edge corresponds to the control board 410 connected to the first racks);
cause the at least one of the first distribution unit or the second distribution unit (Fig. 1A, # 112) to provide the amount of cooling fluid to at least one of the first edge device or the second edge device based on the first and second expected temperatures (para [0053], where CDU 112 is capable of sophisticated control of coolants, independently or concurrently, in loops 106, 108. In at least one embodiment, CDU may be adapted to control flow rate so that coolant(s) is appropriately distributed to extract heat generated within racks 110. In at least one embodiment, more flexible tubing 114 is provided from secondary cooling loop 108 to enter each server tray and to provide coolant to electrical and/or computing components, e.g., cooling distributed to each server tray (first edge of device)).
Heydari and Ibrahim do not disclose when an actual temperature of the first edge device is different from the first expected temperature, cause the at least one of the first distribution unit or the second distribution unit to redistribute the amount of cooling fluid between the first and second edge devices.
Kawanaka discloses when an actual temperature of the is different from the first expected temperature (page 3, lines 9-15, where temperature and amount of cooling water can be adjusted by a temperature difference between the predicted temperature of concrete analyzed under cooled conditions and the actual temperature measured).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to adjust the amount of cooling fluid based on difference of actual temperature and expected temperature, as taught by Kawanaka in combination of Heydari and Ibrahim, first edge device in order to more accurately predict and avoid the devices from overheating.
Masumura discloses redistributing the amount of cooling fluid between the first and second edge devices (FIG. 1 # 26 and 25, page 10, lines 36-41, when the temperature of the battery 13 is lower than the first predetermined temperature Tb1 (for example, 47°C), the flow control valve 27 adjusts the refrigerant circulation amount ratio between the evaporator 26 and the battery heat exchanger 25 to 9 : 1, the ratio of the refrigerant circulation amount of the evaporator 26 is increased, e.g., the first information of the predetermined temperature Tb1 and second information temperature of the battery which corresponding to the second cooling information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to adjust/redistribute the amount of cooling fluid, as taught by Masumura by the distribution unit of Heydari and further into Ibrahim in order to improve energy efficiency, system stability, and capacity utilization.
Regarding Claim 3, Heydari and Ibrahim and Masumura and Kawanaka disclose the apparatus of claim 2, Heydari discloses wherein the first edge device and the second edge device, but Heydari and Ibrahim and Masumura and Kawanaka do not disclose first and second edge devices correspond to a same tenant.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to associate first and second edge devices with one tenant in order to easily and efficiently control the coolant share between the devices which are owned by the same entity.
Regarding Claim 5, Heydari and Ibrahim and Masumura and Kawanaka, disclose the apparatus of claim 2, further Heydari disclose wherein the first edge device includes at least one of a central processing unit, a graphics processing unit, or a memory chip (Fig. 7, para [0085], where grouped computing resources 714, and node computing resources (“node C.R.s”) 716(1)-716(N), node C.R.s 716(1)-716(N) may include, but are not limited to, any number of central processing units (“CPUs”) or other processors (including accelerators, field programmable gate arrays (“FPGAs”), graphics processors, etc.), memory devices (e.g., dynamic read-only memory), storage devices (e.g., solid state or disk drives), network input/output (“NW I/O”) devices, network switches, virtual machines (“VMs”), power modules, and cooling modules, e.g., each node computing resources corresponds to the edge device).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Ibrahim and Masumura and Kawanaka, as applied above and further in view of Jain (US Pat.9350601B2), hereinafter Jain.
Regarding Claim 4, Heydari and Ibrahim and Robinson and Masumura and Kawanaka disclose the apparatus of claim 2, but do not disclose wherein the first edge device corresponds to a first tenant and the second edge device corresponds to a second tenant, the first tenant different from the second tenant.
Jain discloses the first edge device corresponds to a first tenant and the second edge device corresponds to a second tenant, the first tenant different from the second tenant (Col. 5, lines 12-15, where FIG. 1 illustrates three tenants, applications 116, 118, and 120, although varying numbers of tenants can execute on individual servers of racks 114).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide first edge device corresponds to a first tenant and the second edge device corresponds to a second tenant, the first tenant different from the second tenant, as taught by Jain in combination of Heydari and Ibrahim and Masumura and Kawanaka in order to improve cooling efficiency for devices owned by different entities.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Ibrahim, as applied above and further in view of Yamaguchi (JP2019153240A), hereinafter Yamaguchi.
Regarding Claim 7, Heydari and Ibrahim disclose the apparatus of claim 1,
but do not disclose the programmable circuitry is to cause the at least one of the first distribution unit or the second distribution unit to distribute the amount of cooling fluid between partitions of an immersion tank of the at least one of the first edge node or the second edge node.
Yamaguchi discloses wherein the programmable circuitry (Page 7, lines 21-24, where control unit 193 includes an arithmetic circuit such as a CPU (Central Processing Unit) ) is to cause the at least one of the first distribution unit or the second distribution unit (Fig. 1, # 10 cooling device with liquid transport unit 17, see page 11, line 32 (4th paragraph) to distribute the amount of cooling fluid between partitions of an immersion tank (Fig. 1, storage tank 14, see page 2, line 16, from the Fig. 1, the liquid transportation unit 17 is distributed from unit 14, to 172 and to the multiple line connection between the Rack 26 with servers 27) of the at least one of the first edge node or the second edge node (Fig 2, # 27 server device); (Page 2, lines 12-20, as shown in FIG. 1, the data center 1 of this embodiment includes a server room 20 and a collection room 11. The collection chamber 11 includes an oil storage tank 14 (liquid tank section) that constitutes a part of the cooling device 10 that cools the server device 27 (see FIG. 2). The cooling device 10 according to the present embodiment includes a cooling oil supply unit 12, an air supply unit 13, an oil storage tank 14, an air recovery unit 15, an air cooling unit 16 (see FIG. 2), a liquid transport unit 17, and an air transport unit 18. And a cooling control unit 19 (see FIGS. 2 and 4) and the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide a distribution unit to distribute the amount of cooling fluid between partitions of an immersion tank as taught by Yamaguchi in combination of Heydari and Ibrahim in order to provide balanced distribution of the coolant in the system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Ibrahim, as applied above and further in view of Miller (US Pub.20160370830A1), hereinafter Miller.
Regarding Claim 8, Heydari and Ibrahim disclose the apparatus of claim 1, but do not disclose wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine the first cooling parameter based on a service-level agreement of a tenant operating at the first edge node.
Miller discloses the programmable circuitry is to determine the first cooling parameter based on a service-level agreement of a tenant operating at the first edge node (para [0042], where colocation data center operator and the client may agree that the power and cooling will be provided acceding to the terms of a service level agreement and that the data center operator and the client will not exceed those terms. Although the data center operator may be contractually obligated to provide a specified amount of power and a specified amount of cooling, rarely do the client's computing devices operate at the agreed upon power and cooling requirements).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide service according to a service-level agreement of a tenant, as taught by Miller in combination of Heydari and Ibrahim in order to provide reliable service quality by establishing measurable benchmarks for performance, response times, and uptime.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Ibrahim, as applied above and further in view of Rice et al., (US Pat.9158345), hereinafter Rice.
Regarding Claim 9, Heydari and Ibrahim disclose the apparatus of claim 1, but do not disclose wherein the programmable circuitry is to determine the first cooling availability information based on at least one of a workload of the first edge node or an ambient temperature at the first edge node.
Rice discloses the programmable circuitry is to determine the first cooling availability information based on at least one of a workload of the first edge node or an ambient temperature at the first edge node (Col. 18, lines 7-10, where the capacity of the cooling tower may be directly related to the difference in the temperature of the water within it to the ambient outside air).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide determining the first cooling availability information based on an ambient temperature, as taught by Rice for the first edge node of Heydari and further in combination of Ibrahim in order to more accurately track the cooling system.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heydari in view of Ibrahim, as applied above and further in view of Dawson et al., (US Pub. 20180336066A1), hereinafter Dawson and Anderson (GB2597525A), hereinafter Anderson.
Regarding Claim 16, Heydari and Ibrahim disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the intra-tenant distribution circuitry is to redistribute the first amount of cooling fluid and the second amount of cooling fluid, as recited in claim 15.
Heydari and Ibrahim do not disclose the cooling fluid based on respective priority levels of the first and second edge devices indicated in a service-level agreement of the tenant.
Robinson discloses the cooling fluid respective priority levels of the first and second edge devices (para [0037], where effective and efficient cooling to multi-chip modules or in fact any circuit boards with multiple electrical or electronic components that may require different level or targeted cooling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to have priority levels, as taught by Robinson for the first and second edge devices of Heydari, in order to more effectively and efficiently cool devices.
Dawson discloses priority levels indicated in a service-level agreement of the tenant (Claim 8, where the service level agreement (SLA) analysis tool is further operable to determine and at least one of: current environmental conditions of the data center; temperature levels of the data center; processing levels of the data center; hot spot locations within the data center).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants' invention was made to provide service-level agreements for the tenant, as taught by Dawson to redistribute the first amount of cooling fluid and the second amount of cooling fluid based on priority level, as taught by Robinson in order to more easily and efficiently control the coolant share between the devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-14 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 10:
Kawanaka discloses determine (a) a first difference between the first expected temperature and a first actual temperature (page 3, lines 9-15, where temperature and amount of cooling water can be adjusted by a temperature difference between the predicted temperature of concrete analyzed under cooled conditions and the actual temperature measured), but Kawanaka discloses temperature difference between the predicted temperature under cooled conditions and the actual temperature measured for the cooling pipe passing passed through the pipe to cool the construction material.
Kawanaka does not disclose “select, based on the first and second differences, an amount of the cooling fluid to be redirected from the first edge appliance to the second edge appliance”.
Lyon (US Pub.20190116694A1) discloses (para [0025], where control logic to predict a temperature corresponding to the temperature sensor from information contained in a signal received from at least one other sensor in the plurality of sensors).
The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest:
“determine (a) a first difference between the first expected temperature and a first actual temperature associated with the first edge appliance and (b) a second difference between the second expected temperature and a second actual temperature associated with the second edge appliance; and select, based on the first and second differences, an amount of the cooling fluid to be redirected from the first edge appliance to the second edge appliance”.
Claim 10 is therefore allowed. Claims 11-14 are also allowed as being dependent from an allowed base claim 10.
Examiner note regarding the prior art of the record:
Regarding Claim 17:
Hoss (US Pat.7719839 B2) discloses selecting the count of cooling desired for the heat generating components; and coupling one of a selected blank member and a cold plate to the coupling member in response to cooling amount selected (claim 15).
The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest:
“access, based on a notification from a second tenant operating on a third edge device, third cooling availability information associated with the third edge device; and select a third amount of cooling fluid to be requested from the third edge device based on the third cooling availability information”.
Claims 17-19 are therefore objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 20:
Gao (US Pub.20230033223A1) discloses (Fig. 1,# 103 coolant 103 , 104, cooling fluid, para [0024], where distributing the liquid coolant to the immersion tanks, the distribution unit may also, in one embodiment, circulate cooling fluid to the immersion tanks, the vapor return unit, and/or a cooler for cooling the cooling fluid. In other embodiments, the distribution unit may only circulate coolant to the immersion tanks… coolant 103 may be distributed to the immersion tanks to control a level of the coolant in the immersion tanks.)
Harutoshi et al., (JP2022025605A) discloses in the liquid immersion system, the server is immersed in the coolant by inserting the server into the immersion tank filled with the coolant, and the CDU (Coolant Distribution Unit) pumps the coolant for server immersion. It is circulated and heat is transferred to the cooling water by a heat exchanger(Page 1, lines 17-20).
McManis et al., (US Pub.20220151097A1) discloses (para 003, where Various aspects include devices, systems, and methods for cooling multiple immersion cooling tanks with a single coolant distribution system. The devices and systems may include a coolant distribution unit, a coolant manifold, a supply and return line, and one or more immersion cooling racks. The coolant distribution unit may be configured to adjust a temperature and pump a fluid used as a coolant. The coolant manifold may redistribute the fluid. The supply line may be coupled to the coolant distribution unit and the coolant manifold.).
Gao (JP2022046767A) discloses liquid supply line 111 is configured to receive the coolant from the heat exchanger 105 and distribute the coolant to the immersion tank 103. The liquid return line 112 is configured to receive the coolant carrying the heat exchanged from the server blade 104 from the immersion tank 103 and return the coolant to the heat exchanger 105 for heat exchange (Page 4, last paragraph).
The prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest:
“the distribution unit to redistribute the first amount of cooling fluid and the second amount of cooling fluid between partitions of an immersion tank of the at least one of the first edge device or the second edge device”.
Claim 20 is therefore objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
1. Roy (US Pat. 9310784B1) disclose Col. 11, lines 1-3, where task 1740, an area in the thermal map is identified having temperature is within a redetermined range;
Col. 11, lines 1-6, where at task 1740, an area in the thermal map is identified having temperature is within a predetermined range. By way of example, the range may include all values below or above a threshold (e.g., 25° C.) or all values within a range (e.g., 20° C.-30° C.). In this example, the hot spot 1910 (shown in FIG. 19) is identified.
2. Cader (US Pub.20210133369-A1).
/KALERIA KNOX/
Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/ANDREW SCHECHTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857