DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gruba et al. (US 2020/0008870) in view of Kreidler et al. (US 2004/0220610).
Regarding claim 1, Gruba discloses an ablation catheter (see Figs. 1-8) comprising: an elongate hollow shaft having a shaft proximal end, a shaft distal end, and a lumen extending along the elongate hollow shaft (see elongate body 114 having a distal end, proximal end, and lumen 124, Figs. 1-7); a handle that is disposed at the shaft proximal end (see handle 108, Figs. 1 and 7); a connector assembly having a connector assembly proximal end and a connector assembly distal end (see threaded insert and coupling mechanism 232; [0096]); and an expandable frame that is detachably disposed at the connector assembly distal end (see 212 at the distal end of 230/232; [0096], Fig. 6), the expandable frame having a plurality of deployment positions that includes a first deployed position in which the expandable frame is in a focal arrangement and a second deployed position in which the expandable frame is in a wide area arrangement (see collapsed, expanded, and/or deployed configurations, [0092], Figs. 1-8); wherein the connector assembly is operatively connected to both the handle and the expandable frame and is configured to facilitate moving the expandable frame between the plurality of deployment positions (see control mechanism 122 of the handle being configured to facilitate moving the expandable elements and placement of them at their target tissue location, and being mechanically coupled to the threaded insert and coupling mechanism 232; [0063], Figs. 7-8); and wherein the ablation catheter is configured to direct energy from a generator to the expandable frame through the connector assembly (see “collar 230 may be electrically conductive and configured to receive or transmit electrical signals to and/or from the occlusive implant 212 via a coupling mechanism 232” in [0096], the electrical signals coming from RF/Direct current source 252 in Fig. 7) so as to ablate tissue at or around the expandable frame (see [0064]-[0065], and [0099]-[0100]). However, Gruba fails to specifically disclose wherein the connector assembly extends from the handle to the expandable frame.
Kreidler teaches an occlusion implant delivery device (see Fig. 17) comprising an insert (see core 312, [0150]-[0152], Fig. 17) that is used to lock or release the detachable expandable implant, wherein the insert extends from the handle (309, Fig. 17) of the device to the expandable implant to a control device on the handle (as shown in Fig. 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector assembly as taught by Gruba to extend from the handle to the expandable frame, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of allowing the user to directly control the insert of Gruba using a control provided on the handle to discretely unlock the expandable frame for deployment (see Kreidler [0151]).
Regarding claim 2, Gruba further discloses wherein the expandable frame comprises a threaded socket and the connector assembly comprises a threaded wire (see threaded insert, [0063]) that is receivable within the threaded socket such that the expandable frame is attached by threading the connector assembly into the expandable frame (see internally threaded collar 160, [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Gruba further discloses wherein the expandable frame is detached by unthreading the connector assembly from the expandable frame (see [0073]).
Regarding claim 4, Gruba in view of Kreidler further teaches wherein the connector assembly includes a hypotube that extends through the handle (see proximal end of the core extending within the catheter in light of the combination) and the threaded wire that is attached to the hypotube and the expandable frame (see threaded insert at the distal end of the core as a result of the combination).
Regarding claim 5, Gruba in view of Kreidler further teaches wherein the handle includes a housing (see handle 309 of Kreidler including a housing for internal components, see Kreidler Fig. 17). Kreidler further teaches a deployment assembly arranged together with the housing such that actuating the handle thereby moves the expandable frame between the plurality of deployment positions (see pull wire controls 330 arranged with the housing for converting the expandable implant between reduced and expanded configurations, [0150]-[0151], Fig. 17). Therefore, it would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ablation catheter of Gruba to comprise a deployment assembly arranged together with the housing such that actuating the handle thereby moves the expandable frame between the plurality of deployment positions in light of Kreidler, since such a combination of prior art elements could have been made by one of ordinary skill in the art when following the teachings of the prior art and would have only produced the predictable result of providing suitable hand controls for moving the expandable frame into different configurations or releasing the expandable frame.
Regarding claim 6, Gruba in view of Kreidler further teaches wherein the deployment assembly includes a switch and a translator that is operatively connected to both the switch and the connector assembly such that actuating the handle comprises actuating the switch, the translator facilitating movement of the connector assembly relative to the elongate hollow shaft to thereby move the expandable frame between the plurality of deployment positions (see Kreidler: slider switches, which comprise a switch and translator and would move the expandable frame between the plurality of configuration relative to the hollow shaft as claimed when viewed in combination with Gruba, see Kreidler [0150]).
Regarding claim 7, Gruba in view of Kreidler further teaches wherein the deployment assembly comprises a torque knob with which to detach the expandable frame from the ablation catheter (see Kreidler: rotational knobs, [0150]).
Regarding claim 8, Gruba further discloses wherein a biocompatible covering disposed over at least a part of the expandable frame (see PET knit material membrane, [0075], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Gruba further discloses wherein the expandable frame comprises an electrode that facilitates delivering ablative energy to generate a volume of ablated tissue having a shape and size that corresponds to a deployment position of the expandable frame (see electrode structures 142/exposed conductive portions of the implant 134 that generates a volume of ablated corresponding to the deployment position of the expandable frame, [0064] and [0073], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Gruba discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the basket is formed with an ablation electrode positioned at a distal end of the expandable frame (see electrode structures 142/distal exposed conductive portions of the implant 134, [0064] and [0073], Fig. 3), however fails to further disclose wherein the expandable frame is formed as a closed basket.
Kreidler teaches the occlusive catheter device with a detachable implant comprising a closed basket (see struts spanning between a proximal and distal hub; [0034], Fig. 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the open basket as taught by Guba to instead be a closed basket in light of Kreidler since such modification would be a matter of simple substitution to one of ordinary skill in the art for the same purpose of appropriately filling specific geometry and/or size of the patient anatomy at the target area being treated.
Regarding claim 11, Gruba discloses a method for occluding portions of a heart (see Figs. 7 and 8), the method comprising: delivering an ablation catheter into the heart such that an intracardial portion of the ablation catheter is positioned adjacent a portion of the heart that is to be ablated (see Figs. 6 and 7), the ablation catheter comprising: an elongate hollow shaft having a shaft proximal end, a shaft distal end, and a lumen extending along the elongate hollow shaft (see elongate body 114 having a distal end, proximal end, and lumen 124, Figs. 1-7); a connector assembly (see threaded insert and coupling mechanism 232; [0096]); an expandable frame that is detachably connected to the connector assembly at the shaft distal end, the expandable frame (see 212 and 230/232; [0096], Fig. 6) having a plurality of deployment positions that includes a first deployed position in which the expandable frame is in a focal arrangement and a second deployed position in which the expandable frame is in a wide area arrangement (see collapsed, expanded, and/or deployed configurations, [0092], Figs. 1-8); and a handle that is disposed at the shaft proximal end and operatively connected to the expandable frame (see handle 108, Figs. 1 and 7) via the connector assembly such that actuation of the handle moves the expandable frame between the plurality of deployment positions (see control mechanism 122 of the handle being configured to facilitate moving the expandable elements and placement of them at their target tissue location, and being mechanically coupled to the threaded insert and coupling mechanism 232; [0063], Figs. 7-8), and wherein the ablation catheter is configured to direct energy through the connector assembly (see “collar 230 may be electrically conductive and configured to receive or transmit electrical signals to and/or from the occlusive implant 212 via a coupling mechanism 232” in [0096], the electrical signals coming from RF/Direct current source 252 in Fig. 7) to the expandable frame so as to ablate tissue at or around the expandable frame (see [0064]-[0065], and [0099]-[0100]); and deploying the expandable frame into the portion of the heart that is to be ablated (see Figs. 7-8). However, Gruba fails to explicitly disclose wherein the connector assembly is extending within the shaft.
Kreidler teaches an occlusion implant delivery device (see Fig. 17) comprising an insert (see core 312, [0150]-[0152], Fig. 17) that is used to lock or release the detachable expandable implant, wherein the insert extends from the handle (309, Fig. 17) of the device and within the shaft to the expandable implant to a control device on the handle (as shown in Fig. 17). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the connector assembly as taught by Gruba to extend from the handle and within the shaft to the expandable frame, the motivation being to provide the additional advantage of allowing the user to directly control the insert of Gruba using a control provided on the handle to discretely unlock the expandable frame for deployment (see Kreidler [0151]).
Regarding claim 12, Gruba further discloses positioning a deployed portion of the expandable frame to be adjacent tissue that is to be ablated, and generating ablative energy at the expandable frame to ablate tissue at or around the expandable frame (see [0099]-[0100], Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Gruba further discloses moving the expandable frame into at least one of the focal arrangement and the wide area arrangement (as shown Figs. 7-8, see also collapsed position as a focal arrangement, [0092]).
Regarding claim 14, Gruba in view of Kreidler teaches the further limitations of claim 14 under the same teachings and rationale as that applied in the rejections of claims 1, 5, and 6 above.
Regarding claim 15, Gruba further discloses wherein deploying the expandable frame into a portion of the heart that is to be ablated comprises detaching the expandable frame into a portion of the heart that is to be occluded (as shown in Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 16, Gruba discloses the limitations of the claim under the same citations and explanation given as set forth in claims 1 and 11 above, and additionally discloses a generator that is operatively connected to the ablation catheter so as to cause the ablation catheter to generate ablative energy at the expandable frame (ablation energy source 252, [0099], Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Gruba further discloses wherein the generator and the ablation catheter are configured to perform bipolar pulsed field ablation (see monopolar or bipolar IRE pulses, [0065] and [0099]-[0100]).
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Gruba in view of Kreidler teaches the further limitations of claims 18 and 20 regarding the closed basket and distal ablation electrode under the same teachings and rationale as that applied in the rejection of claim 10 above. Regarding claim 20, Gruba additionally discloses wherein the ablation catheter further comprises a second ablation catheter that is positioned on the elongate hollow shaft and is proximal to the ablation electrode (see delivery sheath 248; [0098], Fig. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
To the extent that applicant argues that Gruba fails to disclose wherein the ablation catheter is configured to direct energy from a generator to the expandable frame via the connector assembly so as to ablate tissue at or around the expandable frame, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The connector assembly identified in the Gruba reference corresponds to the threaded insert and coupling mechanism 232. The examiner contends that Gruba discloses “collar 230 may be electrically conductive and configured to receive or transmit electrical signals to and/or from the occlusive implant 212 via a coupling mechanism 232” in [0096] and that the ablation energy originates from the electrical signals coming from RF/Direct current source 252 in Fig. 7 that are supplied to the expandable frame when taken in combination with the above citations. Therefore, Gruba reasonably discloses a connector assembly that is configured to direct energy from its generator to the expandable frame via the connector assembly as claimed.
To the extent that applicant argues that Gruba does not disclose the connector assembly extending within the shaft, the examiner agrees, however a new ground of rejection has been introduced to address this feature in the rejection of claims 11 and 16 above as necessitated by the amendment to claims 11 and 16.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN W COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794