Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of 1-9 in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “imaginary line is defined between the first face and the second face, the second electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction parallel to the imaginary line than in a direction perpendicular to the first face ” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. (note that no Figure shows the imaginary line. In addition, no figure shows the second electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction parallel to the imaginary line than in a direction perpendicular to the first face. [0040] of Applicant’s specification describes “ As shown in Fig. 5, …..The dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the height direction H is smaller than the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the width direction W. That is, the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in a direction perpendicular to the bottom face 101 is smaller than the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in a direction parallel to the bottom face 101. The smaller dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the height direction H further relaxes the stress received by the external electrode 12 from the fillet of the solder 4. It should be noted that the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the height direction H is a dimension perpendicular to the bottom face 101, and the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the width direction W is a dimension in a direction parallel to a line (ridge) defined at an interface between the first face and the second face of the base body 11. “ So Figure 5 of application describes a scenario that the second electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction perpendicular to the first face than in a direction parallel to the imaginary line. Not the limitation “the second electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction parallel to the imaginary line than in a direction perpendicular to the first face” stated in claim 3.
Claim Objections
4. Claims 8, 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 2, “ a coil component” should be – the coil component—
Claim 9, line 1, “ a circuit board” should be – the circuit board—
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5.Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites a first electrode layer contains a metal material, … and said second electrode layer containing a metal material. It is unclear the metal material in the first electrode layer and the metal material in the second electrode layer are the same kind of metal material or different kind of metal material. For examination purpose, the limitations are interpreted as “a first electrode layer contains a metal material of the first electrode layer,” “said second electrode layer containing a metal material of said second electrode layer”.
Claims 2-9 are rejected for the same reason because they depend on claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “when an imaginary line is defined along an interface between the first face and the second face, the second electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction parallel to the imaginary line than in a direction perpendicular to the first face.” It is unclear where is the imaginary line is because the imaginary line was not label in the figure. In addition, it is unclear how “the second electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction parallel to the imaginary line than in a direction perpendicular to the first face” because the specification describes “ As shown in Fig. 5, …..The dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the height direction H is smaller than the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the width direction W. That is, the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in a direction perpendicular to the bottom face 101 is smaller than the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in a direction parallel to the bottom face 101. The smaller dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the height direction H further relaxes the stress received by the external electrode 12 from the fillet of the solder 4. It should be noted that the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the height direction H is a dimension perpendicular to the bottom face 101, and the dimension of the second electrode layer 202 in the width direction W is a dimension in a direction parallel to a line (ridge) defined at an interface between the first face and the second face of the base body 11. “so Figure 5 of application describes a scenario that the second electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction perpendicular to the first face than in a direction parallel to an interface between the first face and second face. For examination purpose, the claim has been interpretated as “the second electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction perpendicular to the first face than in a direction parallel to an interface between the first face and second face”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HIROTAKA (JP2021141306A)
With regard to claim 1, HIROTAKA (Fig. 6, Fig. 7B belong to one embodiment ) teaches A coil component comprising:
a magnetic base body ( e.g., 10, Fig. 7B) formed by bonding metal magnetic particles ([0028] he substrate 10 includes a plurality of first metal magnetic particles 11, a plurality of second metal magnetic particles 12, and a binder 13) , the magnetic base body having a first face (10a, Fig. 7B) and a second face ( 10d, Fig. 7B) that is immediately adjacent to the first face;
a conductor (25, Fig. 7B) provided inside and/or on a surface of the magnetic base body ( e.g., 10, Fig. 7B); and
an external electrode (24A, 24B, 26, Fig.7B) electrically connected to the conductor ( 25, Fig. 1, Fig. 7B, see 7B, 24A electrically connected to 25 through 23, see abstract: and a conductor 25 that is electrically connected to the external electrodes 21 and 22, and is wound around a coil shaft Ax, and the external electrodes 21 and 22 have a first electrode layer 24A, a second electrode layer 24B covering the first electrode layer 24A, and a plating layer 26 covering the second electrode layer 24B.) and including a first electrode layer (24A, Fig. 7B), a second electrode layer ( 24B, Fig. 7B), and a third electrode layer ( 26, Fig. 7B),
wherein the first electrode layer (24A, Fig. 5) contains a metal material at a first metal filling rate ( FA2, FA1, Fig. 5 [0043]) and is provided in a first predetermined area ( the area of 24A, Fig. 7B) of the first face ( 10a, Fig. 7B, see Fig. 7B, 24 A is provided at the 10 a) closer to the second face ( 10d, Fig. 7B,) than to a face ( 10c see 10c of Fig. 7B in Fig. 1) of the magnetic base body immediately adjacent to the first face ( 10a, Fig. 7B) and opposite to the second face ( 10d, Fig. 1) ( se ,
the second electrode layer ( 24B, Fig. 7B) is provided in a second predetermined area of the second face (10d, Fig. 7B) closer to the first face (10a, Fig. 7B) than to a face of the magnetic base body ( 10b, Fig. 7B) immediately adjacent to the second face (10d, Fig. 7B)and opposite to the first face (10a, Fig. 7B), said second electrode layer ( 24B, Fig. 5) containing a metal material at a second metal filling rate {0043}, FB2 in 24 B at 60 vol% ) lower than that the first metal filling rate ( [0043] Fa1 AT 24a IS 70%) of the first electrode layer (24A, Fig. 5)([0043]Among the plurality of filler FAs in the first electrode layer 24A, the ratio of the first filler FA1 is 30 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less, and the ratio of the second filler FA 2 is 30 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less. Among the plurality of filler FBs in the second electrode layer 24B, the ratio of the first filler FB1 is 40 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less, and the ratio of the second filler FB 2 is 30 vol% or more and 60 vol% or less. Therefore, FB2 in 24B as 60% is lower than FA1 in 24A as 70%)
the third electrode layer ( 26, Fig. 7B) is configured to cover an outer surface of the first electrode layer ( 24A, Fig. 7B) and an outer surface of the second electrode layer(24B, Fig. 7B), and extends over and in contact with the first predetermined area of the first face and the second predetermined area of the second face of the magnetic base body ( see 7B, 26 extends.24A at 10a, and 24B at 10d)
With regard to claim 2. HIROTAKA teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the first face of the magnetic base body faces a board when the coil component is mounted on the board ([0054]. the first plating layer 26A and the second plating layer 26B are formed by the plating method. By the above steps, the external electrodes 21 and 22 are formed, and the coil component 1 is manufactured. The manufactured coil component 1 is mounted on the circuit board by soldering the external electrodes 21 and 22 to the land portion of the circuit board, respectively., see Fig. 7B)
With regard to claim 3, HIROTAKA teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches a electrode layer, an imaginary line is defined along an interface between the first face and the second face (interface between 10a and 10d, Fig. 7B), an electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction parallel to the imaginary line than in a direction perpendicular to the first face. (this limitation has been interpretated under 112(b) as the second electrode layer has a smaller dimension in a direction perpendicular to the first face than in a direction parallel to an interface between the first face and second face)
Fig. 7B shows length of 24 B at T direction on 10d, Fig. 1 (Fig. 1 is used here to show the 3D structure of Fig. 7B and 21 in W direction) shows the length of 21 (21 including 24B) at W direction, because 1 is a rectangular, the length of 24B at T direction ( which only covers part of the length of 10d) is smaller than the length of 21 at W direction)
With regard to claim 4, HIROTAKA teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches a portion of the second electrode layer (24B, Fig. 7B) overlaps a portion of the first electrode layer (24A, Fig. 7B) on the first face (10a, Fig. 7B).
With regard to claim 5, HIROTAKA teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches an end of the conductor ( 25, Fig. 7B) is connected to the first electrode layer ( 24A, Fig. 7B) such that the conductor is electrically connected to the external electrode ( see abstract, see abstract: and a conductor 25 that is electrically connected to the external electrodes 21 and 22, and is wound around a coil shaft Ax, and the external electrodes 21 and 22 have a first electrode layer 24A, a second electrode layer 24B covering the first electrode layer 24A, and a plating layer 26 covering the second electrode layer 24B).
With regard to claim 6, HIROTAKA teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches
the second electrode layer has a metal filling rate of 60% or less ([0043] Among the plurality of filler FBs in the second electrode layer 24B, the ratio of the first filler FB1 is 40 vol% or more, so FB1 at 24B is 40%, and less than 60%)
With regard to claim 7, HIROTAKA teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches
the first electrode layer has a metal filling rate of 70% or more ([0043] and Among the plurality of filler FAs in the first electrode layer 24A, the ratio of the first filler FA1 is 30 vol% or more and 70 vol% or less, so FA1 in 24A can be 70%)
With regard to claim 8, HIROTAKA teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches circuit board arrangement comprising:
a coil component recited in claim 1 ( see abstract); and
a board on which the coil component is mounted ([0054] the first plating layer 26A and the second plating layer 26B are formed by the plating method. By the above steps, the external electrodes 21 and 22 are formed, and the coil component 1 is manufactured. The manufactured coil component 1 is mounted on the circuit board by soldering the external electrodes 21 and 22 to the land portion of the circuit board, respectively.).
With regard to claim 9. HIROTAKA teaches all the limitations of claim 8, and further teaches An electronic device comprising a circuit board arrangement recited in claim 8([0054] the first plating layer 26A and the second plating layer 26B are formed by the plating method. By the above steps, the external electrodes 21 and 22 are formed, and the coil component 1 is manufactured. The manufactured coil component 1 is mounted on the circuit board by soldering the external electrodes 21 and 22 to the land portion of the circuit board, respectively.).
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Choi (US 20090108984 A1) teaches about a ceramic component and a method of manufacturing the ceramic component. The ceramic component includes a previously fired insulation ceramic base, a functional ceramic sheet bonded to the insulation ceramic base by a diffusion bonding layer having an anchoring structure, internal electrodes embedded into the functional ceramic sheet, and external electrodes connected to the internal electrodes
MARUYAMA(US 20180366248 A1) teaches electronic component includes: an insulator part 10 of rectangular solid shape; a coil element 32 provided inside the insulator part 10; bottom electrodes 40 provided on a bottom face 14 of the insulator part 10 and electrically connected to the coil element 32; a plating layer 62 provided in a manner overlapping each bottom electrode 40
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872