DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by (CN-111416077-A) hereinafter referred to as ‘Fukinuki.’
Regarding Claim 1,
Fukinuki teaches a battery pack, comprising: a housing; and at least one battery assembly disposed within the housing (Fukinuki, “The invention discloses a battery pack, comprising: a battery cell group, including a plurality of battery cells.”, see Abstract); wherein each battery assembly comprises a plurality of cells and a cell bracket connected to longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells (Fukinuki, bracket, 160, Fig. 5); wherein along a longitudinal view, the plurality of cells are divided into at least two single-row cell sets, and axes of cells in each single-row cell set are on a same arc of a circular arc (Fukinuki, first cell group and second cell group, 120b, Fig. 5); axes of two adjacent cells in one of the at least two single-row cell sets are in a triangular shape with an axis of a corresponding cell in another of the at least two single-row cell sets, the one of the at least two single-row cell sets being adjacent to the another of the at least two single-row cell sets (see annotated Fukinuki figure below).
Regarding Claim 2,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of cells are arranged along a transverse direction perpendicular to a longitudinal direction and divided into the at least two single-row cell sets, and at least two single-row cell sets are stacked in a vertical direction perpendicular to the transverse direction and the longitudinal direction (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 3,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the cell bracket comprises a first bracket disposed on one of the longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells and a second bracket disposed on the other of the longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells, the first bracket and the second bracket being connected to each other to fix the plurality of cells (Fukinuki, first half and second half, 161a and 161b, Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 4,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 3, wherein the first bracket is arranged with a pin post extending toward the second bracket, and the second bracket is arranged with a mating portion facing the pin post; the pin post is connected to the mating portion such that the first bracket and the second bracket are connected to each other to fix the plurality of cells (Fukinuki, first half and second half, 161a and 161b, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 5,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 3, wherein the cell bracket defines a plurality of mounting slots running along a longitudinal direction and through the first bracket and the second bracket, and the longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells are accommodated in the plurality of mounting slots and exposed on outer surfaces of the cell bracket (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 6,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 5, wherein each battery assembly further comprises a plurality of electrode sheets disposed at both longitudinal ends of the cell bracket; the plurality of electrode sheets are fixedly connected to the outer surfaces of the cell bracket and are affixed to the longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells (Fukinuki, cell connection components, 122, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 7,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a first housing and a second housing interlocked, the first housing and the second housing cooperating with each other to define a housing cavity, and the at least one battery assembly is accommodated in the housing cavity (see annotated fig. 1 below).
Regarding Claim 8,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 7, wherein the number of the at least one battery assembly is at least two, and the at least one battery assembly are disposed in the housing along a longitudinal or transverse direction (Fukinuki, first cell group and second cell group, 120a and 120b, Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 10,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 7, wherein the second housing is arranged with an upper housing and a lower housing that are vertically opposite to each other (Fukinuki, housing 110, Fig. 9); the upper housing defines an air inlet (Fukinuki, first air inlet, 113a, Fig. 9), the lower housing defines an air outlet (Fukinuki, air outlet, 112, Fig. 9), and the at least one battery assembly is disposed between the air inlet and the air outlet (Fukinuki, battery cells, 121, Fig. 9).
Regarding Claim 11,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein in each adjacent two of the at least two single-row cell sets, each cell in an upper single-row cell set is vertically opposite to a corresponding cell in a lower single-row cell set; a line connecting an axis of the cell in the upper single-row cell set and an axis of the corresponding cell in the lower single-row cell set is parallel to a vertical direction (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 12,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 11, wherein the axis of the cell in the upper single-row cell set and the axis of the corresponding cell in the lower single-row cell set are connected to form a cell column; a gap extending vertically is defined between each adjacent two the cell columns; the gap is connected to the air inlet and the air outlet; the gaps are distributed along a row (Fukinuki, “The advantage of this arrangement is that the phase change material 123 protruding from the outer surface of the cell 121 creates a gap between two adjacent cells 121 , so that more airflow can flow through the cell 121 , so that the cell 121 can be operated more efficiently. of heat dissipation.”, see pg. 4 ), and sizes of the gaps gradually increase from an outer section to a middle section of the row (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 13,
Fukinuki teaches a battery pack, comprising a housing; and a battery assembly disposed within the housing (Fukinuki, “The invention discloses a battery pack, comprising: a battery cell group, including a plurality of battery cells.”, see Abstract); wherein the housing comprises an upper housing and a lower housing that are vertically arranged (Fukinuki, housing, 110, Fig. 9); the upper housing defines an air inlet (Fukinuki, first air inlet, 113a, Fig. 9), the lower housing defines an air outlet (Fukinuki, air outlet, 112, Fig. 9), and the at battery assembly is disposed between the air inlet and the air outlet (Fukinuki, battery cells, 121, Fig. 9); the battery assembly comprises a plurality of cells and a cell bracket connected to longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells; wherein along a longitudinal view, the plurality of cells are divided into at least two single-row cell sets, and axes of cells in each single-row cell set are on a same arc of a circular arc (Fukinuki, first cell group and second cell group, 120b, Fig. 5); in each adjacent two of the at least two single-row cell sets, each cell in an upper single-row cell set is vertically opposite to a corresponding cell in a lower single-row cell set; a line connecting an axis of the cell in the upper single-row cell set and an axis of the corresponding cell in the lower single-row cell set is parallel to a vertical direction (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 14,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 13, wherein the axis of the cell in the upper single-row cell set and the axis of the corresponding cell in the lower single-row cell set are connected to form a cell column (see annotated figure below);
a gap extending vertically is defined between each adjacent two the cell columns; the gap is connected to the air inlet and the air outlet(Fukinuki, “The advantage of this arrangement is that the phase change material 123 protruding from the outer surface of the cell 121 creates a gap between two adjacent cells 121 , so that more airflow can flow through the cell 121 , so that the cell 121 can be operated more efficiently. of heat dissipation.”, see pg. 4 ), ; the gaps are distributed along a row, and sizes of the gaps gradually increase from an outer section to a middle section of the row (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 15,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 13, wherein the cell bracket comprises a first bracket disposed on one of the longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells and a second bracket disposed on the other of the longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells, the first bracket and the second bracket being connected to each other to fix the plurality of cells (Fukinuki, first half and second half, 161a and 161b, Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 16,
Fukinuki teaches the battery pack according to claim 15, wherein the cell bracket defines a plurality of mounting slots running along a longitudinal direction and through the first bracket and the second bracket, and the longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells are accommodated in the plurality of mounting slots and exposed on outer surfaces of the cell bracket (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 17,
Fukinuki teaches he battery pack according to claim 16, wherein each battery assembly further comprises a plurality of electrode sheets disposed at both longitudinal ends of the cell bracket; the plurality of electrode sheets are fixedly connected to the outer surfaces of the cell bracket and are affixed to the longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells (Fukinuki, cell connection components, 122, Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 19,
Fukinuki teaches a battery pack, comprising: a housing; and a battery assembly disposed within the housing (Fukinuki, “The invention discloses a battery pack, comprising: a battery cell group, including a plurality of battery cells.”, see Abstract); wherein the battery assembly comprises a plurality of cells and a cell bracket connected to longitudinal ends of the plurality of cells (Fukinuki, bracket, 160, Fig. 5);; wherein along a longitudinal view, the plurality of cells are divided into at least two single-row cell sets, and axes of cells in each single-row cell set are on a same arc of a circular arc (Fukinuki, first cell group and second cell group 120b, Fig. 5); a gap space between four adjacent cells in a middle section of the at least two single-row cell sets is larger than a gap space between four adjacent cells in an outer section of the at least two single-row cell sets on corresponding arcs (see annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (CN-111416077-A) hereinafter referred to as ‘Fukinuki’ in view of (US-20210273474-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Seibert’
Regarding Claim 9,
Fukinuki does not teach the battery pack according to claim 7, further comprising a button disposed on the first housing and a light source disposed within the first housing; wherein the button is made of a light-transmitting material and is disposed adjacent to the light source; light from the light source is emitted from the button out of the first housing.
Seibert teaches a button disposed on the first housing and a light source disposed within the first housing (Seibert, “Such an operating unit may preferably be designed as one or multiple push buttons that are located directly on the charging device”, see [0020]); wherein the button is made of a light-transmitting material and is disposed adjacent to the light source (Seibert, “Such an indicator may be designed, for example, as an LED indicator, as a touch-sensitive or non-touch-sensitive display (LCD, TFT, OLED, E-paper, etc.)”, see [0020]); light from the light source is emitted from the button out of the first housing (Seibert, “The buttons may thus be designed, for example, directly as light-emitting elements, in order to indicate directly to the user which charging mode he/she has selected”, see [0020]).
Seibert teaches that the light would indicate to the user information about the battery device (Seibert, “The buttons may thus be designed, for example, directly as light-emitting elements, in order to indicate directly to the user which charging mode he/she has selected”, see [0020]).
Fukinuki and Seibert and analogous as they are both of the same field of battery devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery has taught in Fukinuki with the LED button as taught in Seibert in order to convey to the user information which is relevant about the battery system.
Regarding Claim 18,
Fukinuki does not teach the battery pack according to claim 13, further comprising a button disposed on the first housing and a light source disposed within the first housing; wherein the button is made of a light-transmitting material and is disposed adjacent to the light source; light from the light source is emitted from the button out of the first housing.
Seibert teaches a button disposed on the first housing and a light source disposed within the first housing (Seibert, “Such an operating unit may preferably be designed as one or multiple push buttons that are located directly on the charging device”, see [0020]); wherein the button is made of a light-transmitting material and is disposed adjacent to the light source (Seibert, “Such an indicator may be designed, for example, as an LED indicator, as a touch-sensitive or non-touch-sensitive display (LCD, TFT, OLED, E-paper, etc.)”, see [0020]); light from the light source is emitted from the button out of the first housing (Seibert, “The buttons may thus be designed, for example, directly as light-emitting elements, in order to indicate directly to the user which charging mode he/she has selected”, see [0020]).
Seibert teaches that the light would indicate to the user information about the battery device (Seibert, “The buttons may thus be designed, for example, directly as light-emitting elements, in order to indicate directly to the user which charging mode he/she has selected”, see [0020]).
Fukinuki and Seibert and analogous as they are both of the same field of battery devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery has taught in Fukinuki with the LED button as taught in Seibert in order to convey to the user information which is relevant about the battery system.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752