DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been amended.
Claims 3, 6 and 14-16 have been withdrawn.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 2/18/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application no 18303633, Application no 18303627, Application no 18303623 and Application no 18303636 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argument A:
Fuisz explicitly teaches that deformation of the tobacco stick must be avoided, at least in part due to the disposable resistive heaters of the tobacco stick. For example, see [0079] of Fuisz which discusses that the heaters may be breached due to deformation. Reevell teaches that the article therein should be compressed and deformed (see Fig. 6 and accompanying description). Therefore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Fuisz cannot be modified using Reevell because the disclosures are not compatible. This is especially the case regarding in the embodiment of Reevell containing the non-compressible elements 52, 54. Reevell describes that the non-compressible elements 52, 54 are only present due to the desired compression of the article, namely, to ensure that the article is not compressed incorrectly by compressor 36 (see page 29 line 33 to page 31 line 13). Therefore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that there is no reason to import the non-compressible elements 52, 54 of Reevell into Fuisz. These elements are only present in Reevell because of the desired compression disclosed therein. Since Fuisz teaches that compression and deformation should be avoided and the user would not attempt to compress the tobacco stick described therein at any point, the elements non-compressible elements 52, 54 of Reevell would have no use in Fuisz, and there is no reason for them to be imported into Fuisz.
Examiner Response A:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Paragraph [0079] of Fuisz teaches one embodiment of the invention. This embodiment states that it is an object of certain embodiments of the present invention to allow a tobacco stick to be placed into the compound chamber without causing its deformation (or without causing substantial deformation). Thus, in this particular embodiment of Fuisz, some deformation may be possible, which one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have wanted to prevent by including the claimed cylindrical elements. Regardless, paragraph [0085] of Fuisz teaches that “It is an object of certain embodiments to provide for a compound chamber that is the same, or narrower, in diameter (or width) than the tobacco stick. In some embodiments, the diameter (or width) of the compound chamber and the tobacco stick may be equal, or within small positive differential, or within a small negative differential. By negative differential, we mean that the diameter (or width) of the tobacco stick is wider than the diameter or width of the compound chamber.” Therefore, Fuisz explicitly states that deformation does occur.
Examiner Argument B:
Applicant notes that claim 1 requires "the collapse-prevention elements being configured to prevent the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material". In Reevell, the non-compressible elements 52, 54 are not configured to prevent the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied thereto. The purpose of the non- compressible elements in Reevell is to make sure that the article is not compressed at an incorrect point, i.e. to make sure the heater 34 which compresses the article (see Figure 6) is aligned with the aerosol-forming substrate 10 (see page 29 line 33 to page 31 line 13). When the article is correctly aligned, the non-compressible elements 52, 54 do not prevent deformation of the article at all. Therefore, the non-compressible elements 52, 54 cannot be described as configured to prevent the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied thereto.
Examiner Response B:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Applicant is arguing one embodiment on page 29, which lists several embodiments. Reevell teaches two collapse-prevention elements (“non-compressible elements”, 52 and 54) disposed at respective ends of a portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material (10) (page 29, line 24- page 30, line 13). Reevell teaches that the non-compressible element may act to prevent a region of the aerosol-generating article from being compressed by an aerosol-generating device which ensures that the aerosol-generating article is compressed in the required region and not in the non-compression region (page 11, lines 18-22), thus the collapse- prevention elements are configured to prevent the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 7, 8, 11-13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuisz (US 20220218023, cited in IDS) in view of Reevell (GB 2534208, cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Fuisz teaches an article(“botanical stick”, abstract) for use with a smoking device (“vaporizer”, abstract), the article comprising a capsule (9) comprising:
a smoking material containing one or more active agents, such as tobacco and nicotine ([0180]);
one or more heating elements disposed within the capsule ([0010]) the one or more heating elements (18) being configured to vaporize one or more of the active agents from within the smoking material, by the one or more heating element being heated by the smoking device ([0190] and [0203]).
Fuisz does not expressly teach that two or more cylindrical collapse-prevention elements disposed at respective ends of a portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material, the collapse- prevention elements being configured to prevent the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material.
Reevell teaches an aerosol-generating article for use with an aerosol-generating device, wherein the article has a capsule (“aerosol forming substrate”, abstract). Reevell teaches that the capsule (“aerosol-forming substrate”) may be compressed, or collapsable, by a compressor in an aerosol-generating device (page 4, lines 34- page 5, line 5). Reevell teaches two collapse-prevention elements (“non-compressible elements”, 52 and 54) disposed at respective ends of a portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material (10) (page 29, line 24- page 30, line 13). Reevell teaches that the non-compressible elements may be disc-shaped, or cylindrical (page 11, lines 8-9). Reevell teaches that the non-compressible element may act to prevent a region of the aerosol-generating article from being compressed by an aerosol-generating device which ensures that the aerosol-generating article is compressed in the required region and not in the non-compression region (page 11, lines 18-22), thus the collapse- prevention elements are configured to prevent the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have included collapse- prevention elements in the article of Fuisz, as suggested by Reevell, because the non-compressible elements may act to prevent a region of the aerosol-generating article from being compressed by an aerosol-generating device which ensures that the aerosol-generating article is compressed in the required region and not in the non-compression region (Reevell, page 11, lines 18-22) .
Regarding claim 2, regarding the limitation, “wherein at least part of the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material is configured to be flattened by the smoking device,” this limitation is an intended use of the capsule. See MPEP 2114. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, since the capsule is capable of being flattened by the smoking device, the claimed capsule is not differentiated from the prior art.
Regarding the limitation, “wherein the cylindrical collapse-prevention elements are configured to prevent the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when at least part of the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material is flattened by the smoking device,” this limitation is also an intended use of the capsule. See MPEP 2114. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, since the cylindrical collapse-prevention elements are capable of preventing the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when at least part of the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material is flattened by the smoking device, the claimed capsule is not differentiated from the prior art.
Regarding claim 4, modified Fuisz teaches a tube-shaped collapse-prevention element (“support”) located within the capsule (“aerosol forming substrate”) (Reevell, page 7, lines 13-14 and page 8, lines 8-10). Modified Fuisz teaches that the support element may be made from a material selected to give structural support, the support element may be rigid and the support element may be substantially non-compressible (Reevell, page 8, lines 11-14).
Regarding the limitation, “the tube-shaped collapse-prevention element being configured to prevent the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material,” this limitation is a functional limitation of the tube-shaped collapse-prevention element. See MPEP 2114. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitation, then it meets the claim. Therefore, since the tube-shaped collapse-prevention element is capable of preventing at least a portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material, the claimed capsule is not differentiated from the prior art.
Regarding claim 5, regarding the limitation “wherein the cylindrical collapse-prevention elements are configured to facilitate adequate airflow through the capsule by preventing the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material,” this limitation is a functional not structural limitation. See MPEP 2114. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitation, then it meets the claim. Therefore, since the cylindrical collapse-prevention elements are capable of preventing the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material, the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitation of facilitating adequate airflow through the capsule, which is a result of the cylindrical collapse-prevention elements preventing the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material.
Regarding claim 7, modified Fuisz teaches that the smoking device includes two or more electrodes (Fuisz, “electrical contacts”, [0136]), and wherein the one or more heating elements comprise a metallic foil (Fuisz, [0122]) that is configured to be heated via resistive heating via the two or more electrodes (Fuisz, [0190]).
Regarding claim 8, regarding the limitation, “wherein the cylindrical collapse-prevention elements are configured to facilitate electrical contact between the two or more electrodes and the metallic foil by preventing the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material,” this limitation is a functional not structural limitation. See MPEP 2114. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the functional limitation, then it meets the claim. Therefore, since the cylindrical collapse-prevention elements are capable of preventing the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material, the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitation of facilitating electrical contact between the two or more electrodes and the metallic foil, which is a result of the cylindrical collapse-prevention elements preventing the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material from collapsing when mechanical pressure is applied to the portion of the capsule that contains the smoking material.
Regarding claim 11, regarding the limitation, “at least a portion of the capsule is configured to be flattened by the smoking device prior to the one or more heating elements being heated by the smoking device,” this limitation is an intended use of the capsule. See MPEP 2114. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, since at least a portion of the capsule is capable of being flattened by the smoking device prior to the one or more heating elements being heated by the smoking device, the claimed capsule is not differentiated from the prior art.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, modified Fuisz teaches that the capsule (“botanical stick,” 9) has a circular cross- sectional shape (Fuisz, “cylindrical,” [0180]).
Regarding the limitation that the capsule, “is configured to be flattened to define a non-circular cross-sectional shape having a ratio of more than 2:1 between a long side of the cross-sectional shape and a short side of the cross-sectional shape,” this limitation is an intended use of the capsule. See MPEP 2114. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, since the capsule is capable of being flattened to define a non-circular cross-sectional shape, the claimed capsule is not differentiated from the prior art.
Regarding claim 17, modified Fuisz teaches that the one or more heating elements comprise a metallic foil (Fuisz, [0122]) that is configured to be heated via resistive heating via the two or more electrodes (Fuisz, [0190]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Fuisz discloses that the smoking device includes two or more electrodes that are configured to drive an electrical current through the metallic foil (Fuisz, [0188] and [0190]).
Regarding the limitation, “wherein the capsule is configured to be flattened by the two or more electrodes,” this limitation is an intended use of the capsule. See MPEP 2114. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Therefore, since the capsule is capable of being flattened by the two or more electrodes, the claimed capsule is not differentiated from the prior art.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, modified Fuisz teaches that the capsule comprises an elongate capsule (“botanical stick”) having a length of 42.5 mm (Fuisz, [0086]) or 83 mm ([0087]), which falls within the claimed range of between 15 mm and 150 mm.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fuisz in view of Reevell as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Hubbard (US 20200093181).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, modified Fuisz does not expressly teach the thickness of the metallic foil.
Hubbard teaches an aerosol-generating article with a heat conductive material, specifically aluminum foil having a thickness of 0.01 mm (10 micron), circumscribing the aerosol-generating element ([0095]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have applied the aluminum foil thickness suggest by Hubbard to the aluminum foil of modified Fuisz with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755