DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 25-29 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The original election of Group I, claims 1-11, was made without traverse in the reply filed on 17 November 2025. Concurrent with this election, Applicant submitted new claims 21-29. The Office found that claims 25-29 were directed to a non-elected invention, and claims 25-29 were withdrawn by the Examiner in the action mailed 20 January 2026. No traversal to this finding was noted in Applicant’s reply of 22 June 2026.
Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to the claims and specification filed 22 June 2026 have been entered and considered for this action.
The prior rejections of claims 22 and 23 under 35 USC § 112 are withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The formatting of CO2 ([0007]), H2SO4 and HNO3 ([0057]) lack appropriate subscript formatting.
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 22 and 24 under 35 USC § 102 and 103, page 8 of the reply filed 22 June 2026, have been fully considered. The argument that Sceresini fails to teach the limitation wherein the adsorbent media comprises silica, as recited in the amended claim, is persuasive. Therefore, the prior rejections under 35 USC § 102 and 103 have been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Park et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 172, 447-458 (1995)), as analyzed below.
Applicant’s arguments that Sceresini failed to anticipate the unamended claim have been considered but are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 172, 447-458 (1995)) in view of Sceresini (US 5,427,606 A).
Regarding claim 21, Park teaches a method of extracting an element (copper), the method comprising:
mixing a solution having a first element with an extraction agent (complexing ligand; abstract) to form a first fluid having a first complex, the first complex including the first element bound to the extraction agent (p. 448, “Reagent” );
extracting the first element from the first fluid, at least by: adsorbing, via an adsorbent media, the first complex from the first fluid (p. 447, “Adsorption”; p. 450, col. 2 teaches that the complex is adsorbed),
wherein the adsorbent media comprises silica (silica gel; p. 447, “Adsorption”).
Park further teaches that their adsorption system for copper can be used in processes for the removal of trace metals from natural aquatic systems (p. 447, col. 2, ¶ 2).
Park does not teach removing the first complex from the adsorbent media,
separating the first element from the extraction agent in the first complex; or, recycling the extraction agent to be used in a further extracting step and the adsorbent media to be used in a further extracting step.
However, Sceresini also teaches a method to extract copper from aqueous solution using an extraction agent and adsorbent media (abstract) and further teaches removing the copper complex from the adsorbent media (stripping said cyano-base metal complex from said activated carbon; col. 2, l. 26-27), separating the copper from the extraction agent in the copper complex (subsequent recovery of the base metal values; col. 2, l. 28), recycling the extraction agent to be used in a further extracting step (recover… the cyanide for reuse; col. 10, l. 14-16) , and recycling the adsorbent media to be used in a further extracting step (recovery for reuse of barren activated carbon; col. 2, l. 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include in the method of Park the steps of removing the first complex from the adsorbent media,
separating the first element from the extraction agent in the first complex; and, recycling the extraction agent to be used in a further extracting step and the adsorbent media to be used in a further extracting step, as taught by Sceresini.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to recover the copper metal values and to reduce waste and costs by reusing the extraction agent and the adsorbent media.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (Journal of Colloid and Interface Science 172, 447-458 (1995)) in view of Sceresini (US 5,427,606 A), as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Lucien et al. (US 2004/0213715 A1).
Regarding claim 24, modified Park teaches the process of claim 21, as analyzed above, and Sceresini further discloses introducing the adsorbent media to a solvent to displace the first complex from the adsorbent media and separating the adsorbent media from the solvent and first complex (eluting said loaded carbon with an appropriate eluant; col. 7, lines 9-10). Sceresini teaches recovering metals that have been released from the adsorbent (col. 2, line 10), but neither Sceresini nor Park disclose evaporating the solvent from the first complex.
However, isolation of compounds from solution by removal of solvent via evaporation is well known in the art. For example, Lucien teaches the recovery metal complexes eluted from an adsorbent (abstract), and further teaches that these metal complexes can be recovered after being released from the adsorbent (eluted) by evaporation of the solvent (eluant) ([0048]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the first complex from the adsorbent media in the method of modified Park by introducing the adsorbent media to a solvent to displace the first complex from the adsorbent media and to separate the adsorbent media from the solvent and the first complex, as taught by Sceresini. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Sceresini teaches that such steps enable the recovery of the valuable copper and the reuse of the adsorbent media.
It would have been further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to evaporate the solvent from the first complex in the method of modified Park, as taught by Lucien. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Lucien teaches that evaporation of the solvent is one way to recover the metal values after eluting from adsorbent media.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11 are allowed.
Claims 22 and 23 are objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
A statement of the Examiner’s reasons for allowance appears in the Office action mailed 20 January 2026.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
F.W. Petersen and J. S. J. Van Deventer. “The behaviour of silica in gold cyanide solutions,” International Journal of Mineral Processing, 1997, 50(3), 211-225.
Peterson discloses that silica sand can be used to adsorb significant amount of gold cyanide (abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS A. PIRO/Assistant Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/PAUL A WARTALOWICZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735