DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 16-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as applied to Ratilainen et al (Pub No: 2019/0222967), and further in view of Hong (Pub No: 2023/0082017).
As to claim 1, Ratilainen teaches a communication control method used in a mobile communication system for providing a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network node to a user equipment (Ratilainen, [0017] Fig 1, method for a system of a network node and a user equipment for multicast/broadcast transmission service), the communication control method comprising:
receiving, by the user equipment from the network node information related to a multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], the wireless device UE receives from the network node control information for a multicast or broadcast transmission session); and
when there is temporarily no data for the multicast session, in response to receiving the information from the network node, stopping, by the user equipment, monitoring using a G-RNTI (Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for the multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], when multicast data transmission is completed (temporarily no data), the device can stop monitoring with a G-RNTI, in response to the explicit control signaling) .
Ratilainen does not explicitly teach a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session.
However, Hong teaches a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session. (Hong, [0167][0184], a RRC message is received by a UE from a base station with MBS (multicast) session information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “an RRC message with multicast session information” as taught by Hong in the system of Ratilainen, so that it would increase efficiency and service continuity during a MBS session in NR (Hong, [0004]).
As to claim 16, Ratilainen teaches a user equipment configured to receive a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network node (Ratilainen, [0017] [0128] Fig 1, a user equipment for multicast/broadcast transmission service with a network node), the user equipment comprising:
a receiver configured to receive from the network node, information related to a multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], the wireless device UE receives from the network node control information for a multicast or broadcast transmission session), and
a controller configured to, when there is temporarily no data for the multicast session, in response to receiving the information from the network node, stop monitoring using a G-RNTI (Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for the multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], when multicast data transmission is completed (temporarily no data), the device can stop monitoring with a G-RNTI, in response to the explicit control signaling) .
Ratilainen does not explicitly teach a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session.
However, Hong teaches a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session. (Hong, [0167][0184], a RRC message is received by a UE from a base station with MBS (multicast) session information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “an RRC message with multicast session information” as taught by Hong in the system of Ratilainen, so that it would increase efficiency and service continuity during a MBS session in NR (Hong, [0004]).
As to claim 17, Ratilainen teaches a chipset for a user equipment configured to receive a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from a network node (Ratilainen, [0017] [0128] Fig 1, a user equipment for multicast/broadcast transmission service with a network node),, the chipset configured to execute processing of:
receiving from the network node, information related to a multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], the wireless device UE receives from the network node control information for a multicast or broadcast transmission session); and
when there is temporarily no data for the multicast session, in response to receiving the information from the network node, stopping monitoring using a G-RNTI (Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for the multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], when multicast data transmission is completed (temporarily no data), the device can stop monitoring with a G-RNTI, in response to the explicit control signaling) .
Ratilainen does not explicitly teach a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session.
However, Hong teaches a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session. (Hong, [0167][0184], a RRC message is received by a UE from a base station with MBS (multicast) session information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “an RRC message with multicast session information” as taught by Hong in the system of Ratilainen, so that it would increase efficiency and service continuity during a MBS session in NR (Hong, [0004]).
As to claim 18, Ratilainen teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising, stored thereupon, computer program instructions for execution by a user equipment (Ratilainen, [0017] Fig 1, a user equipment with memory for multicast/broadcast transmission service), the program instructions being configured to cause the user equipment to execute processing of:
receiving from a network node, information related to a multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], the wireless device UE receives from the network node control information for a multicast or broadcast transmission session); and
when there is temporarily no data for the multicast session, in response to receiving the information from the network node, stopping monitoring using a G-RNTI (Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for the multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], when multicast data transmission is completed (temporarily no data), the device can stop monitoring with a G-RNTI, in response to the explicit control signaling) .
Ratilainen does not explicitly teach a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session.
However, Hong teaches a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session. (Hong, [0167][0184], a RRC message is received by a UE from a base station with MBS (multicast) session information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “an RRC message with multicast session information” as taught by Hong in the system of Ratilainen, so that it would increase efficiency and service continuity during a MBS session in NR (Hong, [0004]).
As to claim 19, Ratilainen teaches a system comprising: a network node, and a user equipment configured to receive a multicast broadcast service (MBS) from the network node (Ratilainen, [0017] Fig 1, a system of a network node and a user equipment for multicast/broadcast transmission service), wherein the user equipment is configured to
receive from the network node, information related to a multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], the wireless device UE receives from the network node control information for a multicast or broadcast transmission session), and
when there is temporarily no data for the multicast session, in response to receiving the information from the network node, stop monitoring using a G-RNTI (Group Radio Network Temporary Identifier) for the multicast session (Ratilainen, [0088], when multicast data transmission is completed (temporarily no data), the device can stop monitoring with a G-RNTI, in response to the explicit control signaling) .
Ratilainen does not explicitly teach a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session.
However, Hong teaches a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message including information related to a multicast session. (Hong, [0167][0184], a RRC message is received by a UE from a base station with MBS (multicast) session information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “an RRC message with multicast session information” as taught by Hong in the system of Ratilainen, so that it would increase efficiency and service continuity during a MBS session in NR (Hong, [0004]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Agiwal (Pub No: 2022/0369411) [0237]
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469