DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/1/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/1/2025. The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: a misspelling of the term “comprising.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 8, and their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, lines 4-6, recite “the rod comprising through-holes, and by screws for anchoring the rod configured to cross radially the rod, via the through-holes, and the bone, when the glenoid implant is implanted on the bone.” Claim 8 recites “two stabilizing ends configured to extend each side of the bone when the glenoid implant is implanted on the bone.” This language has grammatical and idiomatic errors and does not clearly define the metes and bounds of the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the thickness" in line 3. Claim 3 recites the limitation "the glenosphere" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bonin et al. (WO 2014/075037 A1; hereinafter “Bonin”).
Bonin discloses the following regarding claim 1: a glenoid implant for reverse shoulder prosthesis compring, a base (e.g., 112) for anchoring the implant to a bone formed by a rod (e.g., Figs. 3-4) configured to extend through the thickness of the bone from a glenoid fossa (Figs. 3-4), the rod comprising through-holes (114), and by screws (e.g., 130) for anchoring the rod configured to cross radially the rod (e.g., Figs. 3-4), via the through-holes, and the bone, when the glenoid implant is implanted on the bone (paras. 0005-0006, 0038-0039).
Bonin discloses the following regarding claim 3: the glenoid implant according to claim 1, wherein the rod comprises a surface (e.g., 150) for receiving a spacer (e.g., 140) for attaching the rod to the glenosphere (paras. 0038-0039). Please note that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Regarding claims 3 and 5, the spacer of Bonin is fully capable of attaching or connecting the rod to a glenosphere upon the full assembly of implant, as Bonin is designed to interact with a humeral head and/or a prosthetic implant (paras. 0005-0006, 0038).
Bonin discloses the following regarding claim 4: the glenoid implant according to claim 3, wherein the receiving surface comprises a bore (central opening in element 150) configured to collaborate with the spacer (Fig. 4) and a groove (please see annotated Figure A, below) surrounding the bore (Fig. 4), the groove being configured to interact with a tool for gripping and guiding the rod. Please note that the groove of Bonin is fully capable of interacting with a tool when the spacer is not inserted.
Figure A.
Bonin discloses the following regarding claim 5: the glenoid implant according to claim 3, wherein the spacer is formed by a first portion (lower, perimeter portion of element 140) for attaching the spacer to the rod (Fig. 4) and a second portion (upper, central portion) for attaching the spacer to the glenosphere, the first portion and the second portion being offset with respect to each other (Figs. 3-4).
Bonin discloses the following regarding claim 6: the glenoid implant according to claim 5, wherein the first portion and the second portion are inclined with respect to each other (Figs. 3-4).
Bonin discloses the following regarding claim 7: the glenoid according to claim 1, further comprising a part (e.g., 116) for stabilizing the glenoid implant with respect to the bone when the glenoid implant is implanted on the bone (para. 0038).
Bonin discloses the following regarding claim 8: the glenoid according to claim 7, wherein the stabilizing part comprises two stabilizing ends (medial and lateral ends of element 116) configured to extend each side of the bone when the glenoid implant is implanted on the bone (Figs. 3-4). The claim language is being interpreted to mean that the stabilizing ends extend into a bone.
Bonin discloses the following regarding claim 9: a reverse shoulder prosthesis compring a glenoid implant according to claim 1 (paras. 0005-0006, 0038-0039).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonin in view of Lappin (Pub. No.: US 2013/0261750 A1).
Bonin discloses the limitations of the claimed invention, as described above. It further recites that its glenoid implant articulates against a humeral head or a prosthetic implant (paras. 0005-0006, 0038). However, it does not explicitly recite that the prosthetic implant is a glenosphere. Lappin teaches that it is well known in the art that a shoulder implant comprises a glenoid device and a glenosphere (paras. 0004-0010, 0054), for the purpose of providing the patient with the desired shoulder motion and articulation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Bonin to comprise a glenosphere, as taught by Lappin, in order to allow for the desired shoulder motion and articulation. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ANN HU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774