DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 2, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-12 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 2, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the powder adhering to the raised portion of the first roller.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as “powder adhering to the raised portion of the first roller“ was not previously established*. For examination purposes, the claim will be interpreted as “the powder adhering to the raised portion of the first roller” (the word “the” was deleted).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected by virtue of their dependency on Claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enohara (JP2018063776A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith).
Regarding Claim 1, Enohara teaches a powder transfer roller device (Abstract) comprising:
a first roller having a raised portion provided in a part of a circumferential surface of the first roller (Fig. 1- transfer roll 12; Fig. 2- convex part 30);
a second roller opposed to the first roller (Fig. 1- supply roll 11), the second roller that compacts, between the second roller and the raised portion of the first roller, powder supplied between the first roller and the second roller [0011]; and
a powder supplying device configured to supply the powder between the first roller and the second roller ([0012]- An electrode material 22 is supplied by a feeder).
Regarding Claim 2, Enohara further teaches the second roller has a circumferential surface which is flat throughout (See Figs. showing flat supply roll 11).
The limitation of “the second roller has a recessed portion in an area of the circumferential surface of the second roller, the area excluding circumferential surfaces of both axial end parts of the second roller” is not given significant patentable weight because the claim recites “the second roller has a circumferential surface which is flat throughout, or the second roller has a recessed portion in an area of the circumferential surface of the second roller, the area excluding circumferential surfaces of both axial end parts of the second roller”. Since Enohara teaches the second roller has a circumferential surface which is flat throughout, the second roller has a recessed portion in an area of the circumferential surface of the second roller, the area excluding circumferential surfaces of both axial end parts of the second roller is not required thus rendering any further limitations regarding the second roller having a recessed portion not required. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, this limitation is addressed separately below.
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, Enohara further teaches the speed of the transfer roll and the supply roll may be the same or different [0029] thus meeting the instant limitations of the second roller rotates at a circumferential velocity greater than a circumferential velocity of the first roller and the first roller rotates at a circumferential velocity greater than a circumferential velocity of the second roller.
Regarding Claim 10, Enohara further teaches the powder is electrode material powder of a storage battery (Fig. 1- electrode material 22), and
the raised portion of the first roller is formed to have a shape and a size that correspond to the shape and the size of an electrode of the storage battery [0007]; [0014].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enohara (JP2018063776A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) in view of Jeong (PGPub 2023/0187600; foreign priority date: August 21 2020).
Regarding Claim 2, Enohara does not specify the second roller has a recessed portion in an area of the circumferential surface of the second roller, the area excluding circumferential surfaces of both axial end parts of the second roller.
Jeong teaches an alternative coating unit (Abstract) wherein the second roller has a recessed portion in an area of the circumferential surface of the second roller, the area excluding circumferential surfaces of both axial end parts of the second roller (Fig. 1- coating groove 122a) in order to uniformly apply material that passes through the transfer and discharge roller [0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the transfer device of Enohara to include a coating groove as taught by Jeong with reasonable expectation of success to uniformly apply material that passes through the transfer and discharge roller [0024].
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, Enohara further teaches the speed of the transfer roll and the supply roll may be the same or different [0029] thus meeting the instant limitations of the second roller rotates at a circumferential velocity greater than a circumferential velocity of the first roller and the first roller rotates at a circumferential velocity greater than a circumferential velocity of the second roller.
Claims 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enohara (JP2018063776A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) in view of Kusano et al (JP2020146625A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith).
Regarding Claims 4, 6, and 8, Enohara does not specify the device further comprising a sheet member that moves so as to contact the second (or first or third) roller, the sheet member moving at a moving velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the second (or first or third) roller.
Kusano teaches an alternative powder coating device [0001] comprising a sheet member that moves so as to contact a roller (Fig. 1- base material 20 on roll 16), the sheet member moving at a moving velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the roller ([0014]- VA<VB<VC) in order to suppress transfer defects [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Enohara to include a sheet member moving at a velocity greater than the respective roller in contact with the sheet as taught by Kusano with reasonable expectation of success to suppress transfer defects [0007] thus meeting the instant limitations of the device further comprising a sheet member that moves so as to contact the second (or first or third) roller, the sheet member moving at a moving velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the second (or first or third) roller.
Regarding Claim 7, Enohara further teaches a third roller which is opposed to the first roller (Fig. 1- backup roll 13) and has a circumferential surface that is flat throughout (See Figs. showing flat surface) and to which the powder adhering to the raised portion of the first roller is transferred [0031]-[0032].
Enohara teaches utilizing the relevant speed of a conventional backup roll [0031] but does not specify the third roller rotating at a circumferential velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the first roller.
Kusano teaches a third roller rotating at a circumferential velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the first roller ([0014]- VA<VB<VC) in order to suppress transfer defects [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Enohara and Jeong to include a third roller rotating at a circumferential velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the first roller as taught by Kusano with reasonable expectation of success to suppress transfer defects [0007].
Claims 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enohara (JP2018063776A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) in view of Jeong (PGPub 2023/0187600; foreign priority date: August 21 2020) and Kusano et al (JP2020146625A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith).
Regarding Claims 4, 6, and 8, Enohara and Jeong do not specify the device further comprising a sheet member that moves so as to contact the second (or first or third) roller, the sheet member moving at a moving velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the second (or first or third) roller.
Kusano teaches an alternative powder coating device [0001] comprising a sheet member that moves so as to contact a roller (Fig. 1- base material 20 on roll 16), the sheet member moving at a moving velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the roller ([0014]- VA<VB<VC) in order to suppress transfer defects [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Enohara and Jeong to include a sheet member moving at a velocity greater than the respective roller in contact with the sheet as taught by Kusano with reasonable expectation of success to suppress transfer defects [0007] thus meeting the instant limitations of the device further comprising a sheet member that moves so as to contact the second (or first or third) roller, the sheet member moving at a moving velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the second (or first or third) roller.
Regarding Claim 7, Enohara further teaches a third roller which is opposed to the first roller (Fig. 1- backup roll 13) and has a circumferential surface that is flat throughout (See Figs. showing flat surface) and to which the powder adhering to the raised portion of the first roller is transferred [0031]-[0032].
Enohara teaches utilizing the relevant speed of a conventional backup roll [0031] but does not specify the third roller rotating at a circumferential velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the first roller.
Kusano teaches a third roller rotating at a circumferential velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the first roller ([0014]- VA<VB<VC) in order to suppress transfer defects [0007].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Enohara and Jeong to include a third roller rotating at a circumferential velocity greater than the circumferential velocity of the first roller as taught by Kusano with reasonable expectation of success to suppress transfer defects [0007].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enohara (JP2018063776A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) in view of Kusano et al (JP2020146625A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) and Jamadar et al (PGPub 2021/0288302).
Regarding Claim 9, Enohara and Kusano do not specify a support roller which is opposed to the third roller and which presses, against the third roller, the sheet member disposed between the third roller and the support roller so as to support the sheet member.
Jamadar teaches an alternative coating device [0001] comprising a support roller (Fig. 1- roller 22h) which is opposed to the third roller and which presses, against the third roller (Fig. 1- roller 22h), the sheet member disposed between the third roller and the support roller so as to support the sheet member (Fig. 1- calendar roll 24) in order to calender the sheet material [0095].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Enohara and Kusano to include a support roller as taught by Jamadar with reasonable expectation of success to calender the sheet material [0095].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enohara (JP2018063776A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) in view of Jeong (PGPub 2023/0187600; foreign priority date: August 21 2020), Kusano et al (JP2020146625A with references to the machine English translation provided herewith) and Jamadar et al (PGPub 20210288302).
Regarding Claim 9, Enohara, Jeong, and Kusano do not specify a support roller which is opposed to the third roller and which presses, against the third roller, the sheet member disposed between the third roller and the support roller so as to support the sheet member.
Jamadar teaches an alternative coating device [0001] comprising a support roller (Fig. 1- roller 22h) which is opposed to the third roller and which presses, against the third roller (Fig. 1- roller 22h), the sheet member disposed between the third roller and the support roller so as to support the sheet member (Fig. 1- calendar roll 24) in order to calender the sheet material [0095].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Enohara, Jeong and Kusano to include a support roller as taught by Jamadar with reasonable expectation of success to calender the sheet material [0095].
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 1/7/26
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748